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CONNECTICUT’S CREDIT FREEZE LAW  

  

By: Kristen Miller, Associate Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

Summarize the state’s credit freeze law. This report 

updates OLR Report 2006-R-0211. 

SUMMARY 

Credit freeze laws generally prohibit a credit rating 

agency from releasing any information in a consumer’s 

credit report without the consumer’s express 

authorization. 

Connecticut’s law requires an agency to “freeze” a 

consumer’s credit report within five business days 

after a consumer’s request. It creates ways for a 

consumer to release the report permanently, 

temporarily, or to a specific third party. 

Under the law, credit rating agencies may charge 

certain consumers up to $10 for each freeze or release 

and up to $12 for a temporary removal for a third 

party. Victims of domestic violence or identity theft, anyone under age 18 or at 

least 62, or anyone with a court-appointed guardian or conservator are exempt 

from the fees. 

The law allows an agency to deny a request to implement a freeze, or to remove 

one, if it has a good faith belief the request involves fraud or misrepresentation.  

It authorizes most types of businesses to deem a credit application incomplete, and 

insurers to deny an application, if they find a consumer’s credit is frozen. Certain 

disclosures are exempt from a freeze. 

DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of the state’s 

credit report freeze law, a 

“credit report” is a credit 

rating agency’s written or oral 

report, recommendation, or 

representation about a 

consumer’s credit worthiness, 

standing, or capacity, 

including information sought 

to determine credit eligibility 

(CGS § 36a-695). 

A “security freeze” is a notice 

placed in a consumer’s credit 

report, at the consumer’s 

request, that bars a credit 

rating agency from releasing 

the report, or any information 

in it, without the consumer’s 

express authorization (CGS § 
36a-701). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2006/rpt/2006-R-0211.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_669.htm#sec_36a-695
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_669.htm#sec_36a-701
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_669.htm#sec_36a-701
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CREDIT FREEZE LAW 

Connecticut law allows a consumer to ask a credit rating agency to place a security 

freeze on his or her credit report (CGS §§ 36a-701 & 36a-701a, as amended by PA 

15-53).  

A consumer request to freeze a report must be made in writing by certified mail or 

by another secure method the agency authorizes. An agency must keep the freeze 

in effect unless temporarily or permanently removed at the consumer’s request. 

The law requires an agency to freeze the report within five business days after 

receiving the request. The agency must then send the consumer a written 

confirmation within 10 business days of the security freeze with a unique personal 

identification number or password, unless it has a good faith reason not to do so. 

Under the law, an agency may generally charge a consumer a fee of up to (1) $10 

for each freeze or for a temporary or permanent release of the freeze and (2) $12 

for a temporary release to a third party. It exempts from these fees the following 

people: 

1. an identity theft victim, or his or her spouse, who submits a copy of a 

police report to the agency; 

2. a person who submits a copy of a police report to the agency and is 
covered by the identity theft victim’s health insurance policy for certain 

services; 

3. anyone under age 18 or at least age 62; 

4. anyone with a court-appointed guardian or conservator; or 

5. a person who provides evidence to the agency that he or she is a 
domestic violence victim. 

The law also prohibits agencies from charging a fee the first time a consumer 

requests a replacement identification number. 

Removing or Suspending a Security Freeze 

The law allows a consumer to use the unique personal identifier or password sent 

by a credit rating agency to authorize a permanent or temporary removal of a 

freeze or to release a credit report to a specific third party. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_669.htm#sec_36a-701
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_669.htm#sec_36a-701
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=53
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=53
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If a consumer wants to remove the freeze, he or she must provide the agency with 

(1) proper identification and (2) the unique identifier or password. And if the 

consumer wants to disclose his or her credit report for a period of time or to a third 

party, the consumer must also give proper information about the time period during 

which the credit report will be available or the third party to receive the report. 

The law requires an agency that receives a request to remove a freeze, either 

temporarily or permanently, to do so within three business days after receiving the 

request. It allows agencies to develop procedures for receiving and processing 

these requests. The procedures must allow consumers to send their requests by 

fax, letter, or e-mail. 

Denying a Request to Implement or Remove a Freeze 

The law allows a credit agency to remove a credit freeze or refuse to implement 

one if the agency believes in good faith that the (1) request was part of a fraud that 

the consumer participated in or knew about and can be shown by circumstantial 

evidence or (2) report was frozen due to a material misrepresentation of fact by the 

consumer. 

It requires a credit agency to promptly notify the consumer in writing within five 

business days after refusing to implement a freeze or, if removing a freeze, prior to 

removing the freeze on the credit report. 

Requests for Information from Frozen Credit Reports 

Under the law, an insurer may deny an application if an applicant’s credit report is 

frozen and the applicant has not authorized the report’s disclosure to the insurer. 

The law also permits other third parties to deem a credit application incomplete if 

the party requests access to a consumer’s frozen credit report related to a credit 

application, or for another use, and the consumer has not authorized disclosure to 

the third party. 

Exempted Disclosures 

The law allows credit rating agencies to disclose frozen credit reports to: 

1. a person, or the person’s subsidiary, affiliate, agent, or assignee with who 
the consumer has or had an account, contract, or debtor-creditor 

relationship, to review the account or collect a debt; 

2. a subsidiary, affiliate, agent, assignee, or prospective assignee of 
someone to whom access was granted to facilitate extending credit or for 

another permissible use; 



July 24, 2015 Page 4 of 4 2015-R-0176 
 

3. anyone acting according to a court order, warrant, or subpoena; 

4. anyone for “prescreening” as allowed under the federal Fair Credit 

Reporting Act; 

5. anyone solely to provide credit file monitoring subscription services to 

which a consumer subscribes; 

6. a credit rating agency solely to provide a consumer with a copy of his or 
her own credit report on request; or 

7. a governmental entity, including a law enforcement agency, or court, or 
their agents or assignees pursuant to their statutory or regulatory duties. 

Businesses Exempt from Placing a Freeze 

Under the law, the following businesses are not required to freeze a consumer’s 

report, but they are subject to a freeze placed on a report by another agency: 

1. credit services or fraud prevention services companies that report on 
incidents of fraud or issue authorizations to approve or process negotiable 
instruments, electronic fund transfers, or similar payment methods; 

2. deposit account information service companies that issue reports on 
account closures due to fraud, substantial overdrafts, automated teller 

machine abuse, or similar information to inquiring banks or other financial 
institutions to use solely for reviewing a consumer’s request to open a 
deposit account; or 

3. credit rating agencies that (a) only resell credit information by assembling 
and merging it from a database of one or more credit reporting agencies 

and (b) do not keep a permanent database of credit information from 
which new credit reports are made. 

KLM:tjo 


