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THE TIP CREDIT IN OTHER
STATES

Seven states have no tip
credit and require
employers to pay the full
state minimum wage to
tipped employees.

26 states provide a tip
credit, but require
employers to pay a tipped
minimum wage that is
higher than the $2.13 per
hour required by federal
law.

17 states allow employers
to pay the $2.13 per hour
tipped minimum wage
allowed by federal law.
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THE TIP CREDIT

By: Lee Hansen, Associate Analyst

ISSUE

What is the “tip credit” and how is it applied under
federal and state laws?

SUMMARY

Under federal and state laws, the “tip credit” generally
allows an employer to count certain employees’ tips
towards a portion of their minimum wage requirement.
In effect, it reduces the employer’s share of the
minimum wage, allowing the employer to pay a lower
“tipped minimum wage,” as long as the employee’s
tips make up the difference. If the tipped minimum
wage plus the employee’s tips do not meet the
minimum wage requirement, the employer must make
up the difference.

Federal and state tip credit laws use different methods

to calculate an employer’s tip credit, but both effectively allow employers to pay
their tipped employees a tipped minimum wage that is lower than the minimum
wage. Federal law allows a $5.12/hour tip credit and a $2.13/hour tipped minimum
wage. It also allows states to set higher minimum wage requirements and base
their tip credits on this higher wage, as Connecticut has done. Connecticut law
currently allows a $3.37/hour tip credit and a $5.78 tipped minimum wage for most
hotel and restaurant employees in positions that customarily receive tips (i.e., wait
staff). It also allows a $1.69/per hour tip credit and $7.46/per hour tipped
minimum wage for bartenders.

Like Connecticut, most other states require employers to pay a tipped minimum
wage greater than the federal minimum. However, 17 states allow employers to
pay the $2.13/ hour tipped minimum wage required by federal law and seven
states require employers to pay the full minimum wage with no tip credit.
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FEDERAL TIP CREDIT

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to pay their tipped
employees at least $2.13 per hour, as long as their tips make up the rest of the
federal minimum wage requirement. The federal $2.13 tipped minimum wage has
been in place since 1991. At that time, when the federal minimum wage was
$4.25, it effectively allowed employers to take $2.12 per hour tip credit. However,
the tipped minimum wage has not increased since that time, even as the federal
minimum wage increased in 1996, 1997, 2007, 2008, and 2009. Thus, under the
current $7.25 federal minimum wage, the $2.13 tipped minimum wage effectively
provides employers with a $5.12 per hour tip credit.

Under the FLSA, “tipped employees” are those who customarily and regularly
receive more than $30 per month in tips. For additional information about the
federal tip credit law, see http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs15.htm.

CONNECTICUT’S TIP CREDIT

The FLSA establishes minimum wage requirements that all the states must meet,
but it also allows them to set their own minimum wage requirements, including tip
credits, if they are more beneficial for employees. Thus, in Connecticut, the state’s
$9.15 minimum wage requirement supersedes the $7.25 federal minimum wage.

Unlike federal law, which sets a minimum dollar amount which employers must pay
their tipped employees, Connecticut law sets its tip credit as a percentage of the
minimum wage and allows employers to use an employee’s tips to meet that
percentage of their minimum wage requirement. Thus, as the state’s minimum
wage increases, the value of the tip credit and the tipped minimum wage also
increase (unless legislation adjusts the tip credit percentage separately).

Connecticut law also differentiates between bartenders and other tipped employees
in the hotel and restaurant industry who customarily and regularly receive tips.
While it provides a tip credit for bartenders’ employers, the credit is smaller than
the credit otherwise provided for other hotel and restaurant wait staff. Table 1
shows the tip credit and the employer’s share of the minimum wage under the
current minimum wage and increases scheduled for 2016 and 2017.
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http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs15.htm

Table 1. Connecticut’s Tip Credit, 2015-2017

Year Minimum Wage Tip Credit Tipped Minimum Wage
2015 $9.15 Wait staff: 36.8% ($3.37) $5.78
Bartenders: 18.5 % ($1.69) $7.46
2016 $9.60 Wait staff: 36.8% ($3.53) $6.07
Bartenders: 18.5% ($1.78) $7.82
2017 $10.10 Wait Staff: 36.8% ($3.72) $6.38
Bartenders: 18.5% ($1.87) $8.23

THE TIP CREDIT IN OTHER STATES

Table 2 shows the value of the tip credit and tipped minimum wage by state, as of
January 1, 2015, according to the U.S. Department of Labor.

Table 2. The Tip Credit and Tipped Minimum Wage by State (as of 1/1/15)

State Minimum Tip Credit Tipped Minimum Wage
Wage

Alabama $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Alaska $8.75 None None
Arizona $8.05 $3.00 $5.05
Arkansas $7.50 $4.87 $2.63
California $9.00 None None
Colorado $8.23 $3.02 $5.21
Connecticut $9.15 $3.37 (wait staff) $5.78

$1.69 (bartenders) $7.46
Delaware $7.75 $5.52 $2.23
Georgia $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Florida $8.05 $3.02 $5.03
Hawaii $7.75 $0.50 $7.25
Idaho $7.25 $3.90 $3.35
lllinois $8.25 $3.30 $4.95
Indiana $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
lowa $7.25 $2.90 $4.35
Kansas $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Kentucky $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Louisiana $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Maine $7.50 $3.75 $3.75
Maryland $8.50 $4.37 $3.63
Massachusetts $9.00 $6.00 $3.00
Michigan $8.15 $5.05 $3.10
Minnesota $8.00 None None
Mississippi $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Missouri $7.65 $3.83 $3.82
Montana $8.05 None None
Nebraska $8.00 $5.87 $2.13
Nevada $8.25 None None
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Table 2 (continued)

State Minimum Tip Credit Tipped Minimum Wage
Wage
New Hampshire $7.25 $3.99 $3.26
New Jersey $8.38 $6.25 $2.13
New Mexico $7.50 $5.37 $2.13
New York $8.75 $3.75 (food service) $5.00
$3.10 (other service) $5.65
$3.85 (certain resort hotels) $4.90
North Carolina $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
North Dakota $7.25 $2.39 $4.86
Ohio $8.10 $4.05 $4.05
Oklahoma $7.25 $3.63 $3.62
Oregon $9.25 None None
Pennsylvania $7.25 $4.42 $2.83
Rhode Island $9.00 $6.11 $2.89
South Carolina $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
South Dakota $8.50 $4.25 $4.25
Tennessee $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Texas $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Utah $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Vermont $9.15 $4.58 $4.57
Virginia $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Washington $9.47 None None
Wisconsin $7.25 $4.92 $2.33
West Virginia $8.00 $5.60 $2.40
Wyoming $7.25 $5.12 $2.13
Source: U.S. Department of Labor (http:/www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot2)
LH:jk
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