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ISSUE  

You asked for a summary of the maximum fees check-cashing businesses may 

charge in Connecticut, the other New England States, and New York as well as the 

penalties for violations. 

 

SUMMARY 

Check-cashing companies are generally regulated by each state's banking or 

financial services department.  The maximum fees these companies are allowed to 

charge for cashing checks and the penalties associated with any violation vary from 

state to state.  

  

The following information does not apply to banks and credit unions. 
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MAXIMUM FEES FOR CHECK-CASHING SERVICES IN SEVEN STATES 

Table 1 outlines the maximum fees check-cashing businesses are allowed to charge 

in New England and New York. 

Table 1. Maximum Check-Cashing Fees in Seven States 

State Definition General Checks Public 
Assistance 

Checks 

Personal Checks 

Connecticut* A facility engaged in the 
business of cashing checks, 
drafts, or money orders and 
must obtain a license from 
the banking commissioner 
(CGS § 36a-581 and 581) 

The greater of 2% of the 
check’s value or $1 if check 
is drawn from a depository 
institution; the banking 
commissioner is responsible 
for adopting regulations 
establishing the state fee 
schedule (CGS § 36a-585 & 
CONN. AGENCIES REGS. § 
36a-585-1). 

1% of the 
check’s value 
(CGS § 36a-584) 
 
 

N/A 

Maine* A “check cashing business” 
means any person who 
engages in the business of 
cashing checks for a fee 
(ME. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 32, 
§ 6132). 

The greater of 5% of the 
check’s value or $5 (ME. 
REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 32, § 
6138) 

The greater of 
3% of the 
check’s value (or 
4% if the 
customer does 
not have 
identification) or 
$5 (ME. REV. 
STAT. ANN. tit. 
32, § 6138) 

The greater of 10% of 
the check’s value or $5 
(ME. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 
32, § 6138) 

Massachusetts* A “casher of checks” is a 
licensed person or entity 
engaged in cashing checks, 
drafts, or money orders for 
at least $1 per item (MASS. 
GEN. LAWS ch. 169A, §1). 

There is no maximum fee, but each licensee must file an annual schedule of 
fees and charges with the banking commissioner (MASS. GEN. LAWS ch. 
169A, § 6). 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_668.htm#sec_36a-581
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_668.htm#sec_36a-581
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_668.htm#sec_36a-581
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State Definition General Checks Public 

Assistance 
Checks 

Personal Checks 

New Hampshire Not applicable – New Hampshire does not regulate check-cashing businesses. 

New York* A "licensed casher of 
checks" is anyone licensed 
by the superintendent of 
financial services to engage 
in check-cashing business 
(N.Y. BANKING LAW § 366). 

As of March 1, 2015, the 
greater of 2.01% of the 
check’s value or $1; Fees 
may be increased annually 
at the discretion of the 
superintendent of financial 
services. 

N/A N/A 

Rhode Island* A "check casher" is a person 
or entity engaged in the 
business of cashing checks 
for compensation (R.I. GEN. 
LAWS §19-14.4-1). 

The greater of 5% of the 
check’s value or $5 (R.I. 
GEN. LAWS §19-4-4) 

The greater of 
3% of the 
check’s value or 
$5 (R.I. GEN. 
LAWS §19-4-4) 

The greater of 10% of 
the check’s value or $5 
(R.I. GEN. LAWS §19-4-
4) 

Vermont* “Check cashing” is defined 
as receiving at least $500 in 
compensation within a 30-
day period for accepting 
checks in exchange for 
money without making any 
agreement regarding when 
the check will be presented 
for collection (VT. STAT. ANN. 
tit. 8, § 2500). 

The greater of 5% of the 
check’s value or $5 (VT. 
STAT. ANN. tit. 8 § 2519) 

The greater of 
3% of the 
check’s value or 
$2 (VT. STAT. 
ANN. tit. 8 § 
2519) 

The lesser of 10% of 
the check’s value or $5 
(VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 8 § 
2519) 

*State law mandates that check-cashing businesses conspicuously display the applicable fee schedule. 

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS 

Connecticut 

The commissioner may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew the license of any 

check-cashing licensee who violates the maximum fee provisions or other aspects 

of the licensing process (CGS § 36a-587).  The commissioner may also (1) issue a 

cease and desist order and (2) take action in court for an order for the licensee to 

pay back amounts wrongfully obtained, with interest, and any illegal profits (i.e., 

restitution and disgorgement) (CGS §§ 36a-50 & 52).  

 

Maine 

A registrant who violates Maine’s check-cashing laws may face a $5,000 penalty or 

actual damages, whichever is greater.  Also, the state banking administrator may 

suspend or revoke a registrant’s registration upon a violation of Maine’s check-

cashing statutes (ME. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 32, §§ 6142, 6143). 

http://www.dfs.ny.gov/legal/industry_circular/banking/il150215.htm
http://www.dfs.ny.gov/legal/industry_circular/banking/il150215.htm
http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_668.htm#sec_36a-587
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_664a.htm
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Massachusetts 

If any licensee violates the check-cashing laws, the banking commissioner may: 

 suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew the license or impose a fine up to $500 

per day for each violation;  
 issue a cease and desist order and take any action that will carry out the 

purpose of the law; and 
 file a civil action to restrain the violation and enforce the law (MASS. GEN. 

LAWS ch. 169A, §§ 8, 9, 12). 

 

New Hampshire 

New Hampshire does not regulate check-cashing businesses. 

New York 

If a licensee violates the requirements of the check-cashing laws, the 

superintendent of financial services may suspend or revoke the license or licenses 

after notice and a hearing.  Pending an investigation or a hearing, the 

superintendent of financial services may suspend the license or licenses for up to 

90 days, after determining suspension is in the public interest.  Additionally, any 

licensee who violates these requirements is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by 

imprisonment up to one year or a fine up to $500, or both (N.Y. BANKING LAW § 

373).   

 

Rhode Island 

Charging a fee above state limits is considered a deceptive trade practice under 

Rhode Island law.  Additionally, the operation of any unlicensed check-cashing 

businesses or the unlawful conduct or operation of any licensed check-cashing 

business constitutes unfair competition with licensed and legally operated check-

cashing businesses doing business in the same community.  A licensee operating 

legally in the same community has the right to apply to the superior court to obtain 

an injunction restraining this unfair competition (R.I. GEN. LAWS §§19-14.4-5 & 4-

9).   
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Vermont 

Licensees face several penalties for violations of Vermont check-cashing laws.  

Penalties include: administrative penalties of $1,000 for each day a violation 

continues along with the state’s costs for investigation and prosecution, an order to 

cease and desist after an administrative proceeding, and a revocation, suspension, 

or non-renewal of a licensee’s license.  Additionally, if a licensee has contracted a 

delegate to perform check-cashing duties and the delegate violates Vermont’s 

check-cashing laws, the delegate may be barred or suspended from acting as a 

delegate (VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 8 §§ 2545-48). 

 

MG:jk 

 


