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ISSUE  

List Connecticut criminal offenses that have 

mandatory minimum prison sentences. This report 

updates OLR Report 2013-R-0103 to reflect 

changes from the 2013 and 2014 legislative 

sessions. 

SUMMARY 

We identified 74 crimes that carry a mandatory 

minimum prison sentence of a specific duration. 

The mandatory minimum sentences range from a 

low of 48 hours, for a first offense of driving or 

boating under the influence if the offender is not 

sentenced to community service, to a high of life 

without possibility of release for murder with 

special circumstances. 

Of these 74 crimes, we identified 15 which can 

result in a person being punished as a persistent 

dangerous felony offender. By law, someone can 

be prosecuted as a persistent dangerous felony 

offender if he or she stands convicted of certain 

serious crimes and has prior convictions of certain 

serious crimes. This law enhances penalties for 

these offenders, including doubling or tripling the 

mandatory minimum sentence that would 

otherwise apply. 

We identified a number of changes to mandatory minimum sentencing laws 

since our 2013 report. These changes relate to gun offenses and kidnapping 

crimes. 

MANDATORY MINIMUM 

SENTENCES 

 Mandatory minimum 

sentences are minimum 

prison terms that a court 

must impose. 

 We identified 74 crimes 

with mandatory minimum 

sentences. 

 A court may impose a 

greater sentence, up to the 

maximum authorized for 

the specific crime. 

 Although the court must 

sentence an offender 

convicted of one of these 

crimes to at least the 

mandatory minimum 

prison term, an offender 

may be released from 

prison on supervision 

before completing a 

mandatory term if he or 

she meets the criteria and 

is granted a release under 

various statutes. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://cga.ct.gov/2013/rpt/pdf/2013-R-0103.pdf
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CHANGES FROM 2013 AND 2014 LEGISLATIVE SESSIONS 

Gun-Related Offenses 

PA 13-3 made many changes to Connecticut’s gun laws, including increasing 

penalties for a number of gun-related crimes.  The act imposed or increased 

mandatory minimum sentences for the following crimes: 

1. trafficking in firearms (CGS § 53-202aa); 

2. stealing a firearm (CGS § 53a-212); 

3. transferring a handgun to a prohibited person or violating transfer 
procedures (CGS § 29-33); 

4. making a false statement related to a handgun transfer (CGS § 29-

34(a)); 

5. transferring a pistol or revolver to someone under age 21 except for 

target or shooting range use (CGS § 29-34(b)); 

6. altering a firearm’s identification mark, number, or name (CGS § 29-

36); 

7. “straw man” transactions (which involve buying a firearm intending to 
transfer it to an ineligible person) (CGS § 29-37j); and 

8. criminal possession of a pistol or revolver (CGS § 53a-217c). 

1st Degree Kidnapping and 1st Degree Kidnapping with a 

Firearm 

PA 13-28 responded to a Connecticut Supreme Court ruling on the 

mandatory minimum sentences for 1st degree kidnapping and 1st degree 

kidnapping with a firearm. 

By statute, 1st degree kidnapping is a class A felony.  Ordinarily, 10 years of 

a sentence for a class A felony cannot be suspended. However, in State v. 

Jenkins, the Connecticut Supreme Court ruled that it was unconstitutional to 

subject a person convicted of 1st degree kidnapping to a higher mandatory 

minimum sentence than a person convicted of kidnapping with a firearm, 

which was punishable as a class A felony with only a one-year mandatory 

minimum sentence (198 Conn. 671 (1986)). The court ruled that the one-

year mandatory minimum sentence would apply to both crimes.  

http://cga.ct.gov/2013/ACT/PA/2013PA-00003-R00SB-01160-PA.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#sec_53-202a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-212
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-33
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-34
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-34
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-34
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-36
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-36
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-217c
http://cga.ct.gov/2013/ACT/PA/2013PA-00028-R00HB-06571-PA.htm
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PA 13-28 eliminated the one-year mandatory minimum for 1st degree 

kidnapping with a firearm, making both 1st degree kidnapping and 1st degree 

kidnapping with a firearm class A felonies subject to a 10-year mandatory 

minimum sentence.  

OFFENSES WITH MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCES 

In Table 1 below, we list offenses that carry a mandatory minimum sentence 

arranged by their classification, with crimes in statutory numerical order 

within each classification. These include class A felonies, which carry a 10-

year minimum sentence. (CGS §§ 53a-28 and 53a-29 prohibit suspension or 

reduction of any sentence for a class A felony, meaning that the 10-year 

minimum sentence for a class A felony becomes a mandatory minimum.) 

Unclassified crimes are listed at the end of the table.  

By law, attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime “are crimes of the same 

grade and degree as the most serious offense which is attempted or is an 

object of the conspiracy, except that an attempt or conspiracy to commit a 

class A felony is a class B felony” (CGC § 53a-51). Thus, if someone is 

convicted of attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime that carries a 

mandatory minimum sentence other than a class A felony, the offender 

would be subject to that mandatory minimum sentence (see State v. Moran, 

264 Conn. 593 (2003)).  

It also appears that someone who is an accomplice in committing a crime 

that is punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence would be subject to 

that mandatory minimum. By law, someone is criminally liable for the acts of 

another if he or she acts with the mental state required to commit a crime 

and solicits, requests, commands, or intentionally aids another to engage in 

criminal conduct. These offenders can be prosecuted and punished as if they 

were the principal offenders (CGS § 53a-8).  

 

http://cga.ct.gov/2013/ACT/PA/2013PA-00028-R00HB-06571-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-28.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-29.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-51.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_951.htm#Sec53a-8.htm
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Table 1: Crimes with Mandatory Minimum Sentences 
 

Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

Class A Felonies Murder with special 
circumstances 
(53a-54b) 

Life imprisonment without possibility of 
release 

Same 

Murder 
(53a-54a) 

25 years 60 years 

Felony murder 
(53a-54c) 

25 years 60 years 

Assault of pregnant woman 
resulting in termination of 
pregnancy  
(53a-59c) 

10 years 25 years 

Aggravated sexual assault of a 
minor  
(53a-70c) 

 1st offense: 25 years 

 Subsequent offense: 50 years  

50 years 

Kidnapping 1st degree  
(53a-92) 

10 years (+) 25 years 

Kidnapping 1st degree with a 
firearm 
(53a-92a) 

10 years (+) 25 years 

Home invasion  
(53a-100aa) 

10 years (+) 25 years 

Employing a minor in an 
obscene performance  
(53a-196a) 

10 years 25 years 

Class A or B Felonies 
(Depending on 
Circumstances) 

Sexual assault 1st degree 
(53a-70) 

Two, five, or 10 years depending on the 
conduct and victim's age * ^ + 

20 or 25 years depending on the 
conduct and victim's age 

Aggravated sexual assault 1st 
degree 
(53a-70a) 

Five, 10, or 20 years depending on the 
conduct and victim's age * ^ + 

20 or 25 years depending on the 
conduct and victim's age 

Class B Felonies 
 

Transferring a handgun to a 
prohibited person or violating 
transfer procedures, knowing 
the transferred weapon is stolen 
or has an altered identification 
mark 
(29-33) 

Three years 20 years 

Straw man gun purchase 
violations when offender had 
felony conviction in past five 
years  
(29-37j(c)) 

Three years 20 years 

Injury or risk of injury to a minor 
(involving contact with intimate 
parts of a minor under age 13)  
(53-21) 

Five years 20 years 

Trafficking in firearms 
(53-202aa) 

Three years 20 years 

Manslaughter 1st degree with a Five years (+) 40 years 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-54b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-54a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-54c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-59c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-70c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-92.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-92a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-100aa.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-196a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-70.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-70a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-33
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_939.htm#Sec53-21.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#sec_53-202a


Table 1 (continued) 
 

   

February 24, 2015 Page 5 of 12 2015-R-0055 

 

Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

firearm  
(53a-55a) 

Assault 1st degree  
(53a-59) 

 Five years if cause injury using a 
deadly weapon (+) 

 10 years if the victim is under age 
10 or a witness (+) 

20 years 

Assault 1st degree of elderly, 
blind, disabled, or pregnant 
person or person with 
intellectual disability  
(53a-59a) 

Five years (+) 20 years 

Promoting prostitution 1st 
degree (including someone 
under age 18) (53a-86(b)) 

Nine months 20 years 

Enticing a minor (when minor 
under age 13) 
(53a-90a) 

 1st offense: five years 

 Subsequent offense: 10 years 

20 years 

Kidnapping 2nd degree  
(53a-94) 

Three years (+) 20 years 

Kidnapping 2nd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-94a) 

Three years (+) 20 years 

Burglary 1st degree (with 
explosive, deadly weapon, or 
dangerous instrument)  
(53a-101) 

Five years (+) 20 years 

Robbery 1st degree (with deadly 
weapon) 
(53a-134) 

Five years (+) 20 years 

Importing child pornography  
(53a-196c) 

Five years 20 years 

Possessing child pornography 
1st degree  
(53a-196d) 

Five years 20 years 

Computer crime in furtherance 
of terrorism (when directed 
toward public safety agency)  
(53a-301) 

Five years  20 years 

Class B or C Felonies 
(Depending on 
Circumstances) 

Sexual assault 2nd degree  
(53a-71) 

Nine months 10 or 20 years, depending on the 
circumstances 

Sexual assault 3rd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-72b) 

Two years ^ + 10 or 20 years, depending on the 
circumstances 

Class C Felonies 
 

Transferring a handgun to a 
prohibited person or violating 
transfer procedures 
(29-33) 

Two years 10 years 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-55a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-59.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-59a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-86.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-90a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-94.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-94a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-101.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-134.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-196c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-196d.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-301.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-71.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-72b.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-33
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Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

Making a false statement 
related to a handgun transfer or 
transferring handgun illegally to 
someone under age 21  
(29-34) 

Two years 10 years 

Altering firearm identification 
mark, number, or name  
(29-36) 

Two years 10 years 

Buying a firearm intending to 
transfer it to an ineligible person 
(straw man transactions) 
(29-37j(a)) 

Two years 10 years 

Ineligible person soliciting or 
using a straw man to obtain a 
firearm and actually obtaining 
one  
(29-37j(b)) 

Two years 10 years 

Selling or transporting assault 
weapon  
(53-202b) 

 Two years 

 Six years if sale is to a minor 

10 years 

Manslaughter 2nd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-56a) 

One year (+) 10 years 

Burglary 2nd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-102a) 

One year (+) 10 years 

Hindering prosecution 1st 
degree  
(53a-165aa) 

Five years 10 years 

Possessing child pornography 
2nd degree  
(53a-196e) 

Two years 10 years 

Stealing a firearm 
(53a-212) 

Two years 10 years 

Criminal possession of a 
firearm, ammunition, or 
electronic defense weapon  
(53a-217)  

Two years 10 years 

Criminal possession of a pistol 
or revolver 
(53a-217c) 

Two years 10 years 

Contaminating public water or 
food for terrorism  
(53a-303) 

Five years 10 years 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-34
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-36
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#Sec53-202b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-102a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-165aa.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-196e.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-217.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-217c
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-303.htm
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Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

Class D Felonies Increasing speed to elude 
police after signaled to stop 
(involving death or serious 
physical injury)  
(14-223(b)) 

Subsequent offense: One year Five years 

Refusing to stop boat when 
ordered by officer in law 
enforcement vessel and 
interfering with or endangering 
a boat, people, or property or 
increasing speed to escape or 
elude (causing death or serious 
physical injury) 
(15-154(c)) 

Subsequent offense: One year Five years 

Ineligible person soliciting or 
using a straw man to obtain a 
firearm  
(29-37j(b)) 

One year Five years 

Possession of an assault 
weapon  
(53-202c) 

One year Five years 

Assault 2nd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-60a) 

One year Five years 

Assault or larceny of elderly, 
blind, disabled, or pregnant 
person or person with 
intellectual disability 2nd degree  
(53a-60b) 

Two years Five years 

Assault of elderly, blind, 
disabled, or pregnant person or 
person with intellectual disability 
2nd degree with a firearm  
(53a-60c) 

Three years Five years 

Burglary 3rd degree with a 
firearm  
(53a-103a) 

One year Five years 

Possessing child pornography 
3rd degree  
(53a-196f) 

One year Five years 

Criminal use of a firearm or 
electronic defense weapon 
(53a-216)  

Five years Five years 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-223.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_268.htm#Sec15-154.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#Sec53-202c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-103a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-196f.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-216.htm
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Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

Class A Misdemeanors Assault 3rd degree (causing 
physical injury with deadly 
weapon, dangerous instrument, 
or electronic defense weapon) 
(53a-61)  

One year One year 

Assault of elderly, blind, 
disabled, or pregnant person or 
person with intellectual disability 
3rd degree  
(53a-61a) 

One year One year 

Class A or C Misdemeanor 
(Depending on 
Circumstances) 

Use, possession, or delivery of 
drug paraphernalia near school 
by non-student (unless it relates 
to less than 0.5 oz. of 
marijuana) 
(21a-267(c)) 

One year 
Judges can depart from this sentence 
under certain circumstances#% 

In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the 
underlying drug crime 

Unclassified Crimes 
   

   

Operating a motor vehicle 
without a license or with a 
suspended or revoked 
license(two or more prior 
offenses)  
(14-36(i)) 

90 days  One year 

Operating a motor vehicle with 
a revoked, suspended, or 
refused license or registration. 
(two prior violations of this or 
operating in violation of license 
conditions) 
(14-215(b)(2)) 

90 days One year 

Driving during license 
suspension for driving under the 
influence (DUI) or DUI related 
offenses, or for violating ignition 
interlock restrictions or court 
orders resulting from such 
offenses 
(14-215(c)) 

 30 days unless mitigating 
circumstances% 

 

 If offense is after 2nd suspension for 
DUI related offenses: 120 days 
unless mitigating circumstances% 

 

 If offense is after 3rd or subsequent 
suspension for DUI related 
offenses: one year unless 
mitigating circumstances% 

 One year 
 
 

 If after 2nd suspension: two 
years  

 
 

 If after 3rd or subsequent 
suspension: three years 

DUI (includes snowmobiles and 
all-terrain vehicles) 
(14-227a(g)) 

 1st offense: 48 hours if not given 
community service% 

 

 2nd offense: 120 days % 
 

 Subsequent offenses: one year% 

 1st offense: six months 
 
 

 2nd offense: two years 
 

 Subsequent offenses: three 
years 

Boating under the influence  
(15-133(b)) 

 1st offense: 48 hours if not given 
community service 

 

 2nd offense: 120 days  

 1st offense: six months 
 
 

 2nd offense: two years 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-61.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-61a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-267.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-36.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-215.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-215.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_268.htm#Sec15-133.htm
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Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

 

 Subsequent offenses: one year 

 

 Subsequent offenses: three 
years 

Operating boat while certificate 
or right to operate is suspended 
or revoked for drunken boating 
or refusing to stop  
(15-156(d)(1)) 

30 days unless mitigating circumstances One year 

Operating boat while certificate 
or right to operate is suspended 
or revoked for reckless boating 
1st or 2nd degree while under the 
influence  
(15-156(d)(2)) 

30 days unless mitigating circumstances One year 

Manufacture or sale of heroin, 
methadone, cocaine, or crack 
by non-dependent person  
(21a-278(a)) 

Five years but the court may suspend it if 
the person (1) was under age 18 at the 
time or (2) had significantly impaired 
mental capacity 
Judges can also depart from this 
sentence under certain circumstances# 

20 years or 60 years 

Manufacture or sale of narcotic, 
hallucinogen, amphetamine, or 
at least 1 kg marijuana by non-
dependent person  
(21a-278(b)) 

 1st offense: five years 

 Subsequent offense: 10 years 
The court may suspend it if the person 
(1) was under age 18 at the time or (2) 
had significantly impaired mental 
capacity 
Judges can also depart from this 
sentence under certain circumstances# 

 1st offense: 20 years  

 Subsequent offense: 25 
years 

Sale of drugs to minor  
(21a-278a(a))  

Two years In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the 
underlying drug crime 

Sale of drugs to minor near 
school, public housing project, 
or day care center  
(21a-278a(b)) 

Three years 
Judges can depart from this sentence 
under certain circumstances# 

In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the 
underlying drug crime 

Using person under 18 to sell 
drugs  
(21a-278a(c)) 

Three years In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the 
underlying drug crime 

Possess narcotic, hallucinogen, 
or controlled substance near 
school or day care center  
(21a-279(d)) 

Two years 
Judges can depart from this sentence 
under certain circumstances#% 

In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the 
underlying drug crime 

Carry handgun without a permit  
(29-37(b))  

One year if no mitigating circumstances Five years 

Commit class A, B, or C felony 
with firearm  
(53-202k) 

Five years  In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the felony 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_268.htm#Sec15-156.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_268.htm#Sec15-156.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-278.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-278.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-278a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-278a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-278a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-279.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#Sec29-37.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#Sec53-202k.htm
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Classification Crime 
(CGS §) 

Mandatory Minimum Sentence Maximum Prison Sentence 

Carjacking  
(53a-136a) 

Three years  In addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the robbery 

Acts of terrorism (when commit 
a class B felony) 
(53a-300) 

10 years (this law authorizes the court to 
impose the penalty for the next most 
serious degree of felony; if the felony is a 
class B felony, this law would impose the 
penalty for a class A felony which would 
carry a 10-year mandatory minimum 
sentence) 

25 years 

+ These crimes are subject to the persistent dangerous felony offender law which, depending on the offender's record, 
could double or triple the mandatory minimum sentence the court imposes.  
* The law also sets a 10-year mandatory minimum period of combined imprisonment and special parole for these 
crimes.  
^ An offender convicted of this crime could, based on his or her record, be prosecuted as a persistent dangerous sexual 
offender, which requires a combined prison sentence and period of special parole that constitutes a life sentence 
(statutorily defined as 60 years) instead of the statutory sentence for the crime.  
# Judges can impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence if no one was hurt during the crime and the 

defendant (1) did not use or attempt or threaten to use physical force; (2) was unarmed; and (3) did not use, threaten 
to use, or suggest that he or she had a deadly weapon or other instrument that could cause death or serious injury. 
Defendants must show good cause and can invoke this provision only once (CGS § 21a-283a). 
% An offender convicted of these crimes could be released to home confinement by the correction commissioner after a 

needs and risk assessment.  

 

NO MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCE FOR 1ST DEGREE ARSON 

By statute, 1st degree arson is a class A felony, and 10 years of a sentence for a 

class A felony cannot be suspended.  In State v. O'Neill, the Connecticut Supreme 

Court ruled that it was unconstitutional to subject a person convicted of 1st degree 

arson to a 10-year mandatory minimum while allowing the suspension of a 

sentence for arson murder, a more serious crime (200 Conn. 268 (1986)).  

PERSISTENT DANGEROUS FELONY OFFENDERS 

Of the 74 crimes that carry a mandatory minimum sentence, we identified 15 which 

can result in a person being punished as a persistent dangerous felony offender. By 

law, someone can be prosecuted as a persistent dangerous felony offender if he or 

she stands convicted of certain serious crimes and has prior convictions of certain 

serious crimes (CGS § 53a-40). This law enhances penalties for these offenders, 

including doubling or tripling the mandatory minimum sentence that would 

otherwise apply. 

For those with one of the required prior convictions, the penalty is a range between 

twice the minimum penalty for the crime the person stands convicted of, including 

twice any mandatory minimum sentence that applies, to a maximum of 40 years or 

twice the maximum penalty for the crime the person stands convicted of, whichever 

is longer. (This is often referred to as “two strikes.”) 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-136a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-300.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#Sec21a-283a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-40.htm
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For those with two of the required prior convictions, the penalty is a range between 

three times the minimum penalty for the crime the person stands convicted of, 

including three times any mandatory minimum sentence that applies, and life in 

prison (statutorily defined as 60 years). (This is often referred to as “three 

strikes.”) 

In addition to mandatory minimum prison sentences, the law sets a 10-year 

mandatory minimum period of combined imprisonment and special parole for 

aggravated 1st degree sexual assault and 1st degree sexual assault. Similarly, 

persistent dangerous sexual offenders are subject to a mandatory combined prison 

sentence and period of special parole that constitutes a life sentence (statutorily 

defined as 60 years) instead of the statutory sentence for the underlying crime 

(CGS § 53a-40(i)). A persistent dangerous sexual offender is a person awaiting 

sentencing for 1st or 3rd degree sexual assault, aggravated 1st degree sexual 

assault, or 3rd degree sexual assault with a firearm who has previously been 

sentenced to at least one year in prison for one of these crimes, attempt to commit 

one of them, similar crimes under predecessor statutes, or substantially similar 

crimes prosecuted elsewhere (CGS § 53a-40(b)).  

Other persistent offender provisions allow the court to impose a harsher sentence 

than otherwise authorized for the crime, including authorizing a three year 

mandatory minimum for a persistent felony offender (CGS § 53a-40(m)), but these 

provisions do not require the court to impose the enhanced penalties. 

The law contains a list of crimes that someone can stand convicted of, to be eligible 

for sentencing as a persistent dangerous felony offender. Some of the crimes carry 

a mandatory minimum prison sentence. Table 2 shows the crimes and how that 

mandatory minimum sentence would be doubled or tripled for a persistent 

dangerous felony offender.  

Table 2: Penalties Under the Persistent Dangerous Felony Offender Statute for Crimes With 
Mandatory Minimum Sentences 

 

Current Conviction Penalty With One Prior Conviction Penalty With Two Prior Convictions 

Manslaughter 1st degree with a firearm  
(CGS § 53a-55a) 

10 to 80 years; 10 year mandatory minimum 15 to 60 years; 15 year mandatory minimum 

Manslaughter 2nd degree with a firearm  
(CGS § 53a-56a) 

2 to 40 years; 2 year mandatory minimum 3 to 60 years; 3 year mandatory minimum 

Kidnapping 1st degree or 1st degree with 
firearm  
(CGS §§ 53a-92 and 53a-92a) 

20 to 50 years; 20 year mandatory minimum 30 to 60 years; 30 year mandatory minimum 

Kidnapping 2nd degree or 2nd degree with a 
firearm  
(CGS §§ 53a-94 and 53a-94a) 

2 to 40 years; 6 year mandatory minimum 3 to 60 years; 9 year mandatory minimum 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-40.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-40.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-40.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-55a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-92.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-92a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-94.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-94a.htm
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Current Conviction Penalty With One Prior Conviction Penalty With Two Prior Convictions 

Robbery 1st degree  

(CGS § 53a-134) 
2 to 40 years; 10 year mandatory minimum if 
armed with a deadly weapon 

3 to 60 years; 15 year mandatory minimum if 
armed with a deadly weapon 

Assault 1st degree  

(CGS § 53a-59) 
2 to 40 years; 10 year mandatory minimum if used 
a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument to 
cause serious physical injury or 20 year 
mandatory minimum if victim under age 10 or a 
witness 

3 to 60 years; 15 years mandatory minimum if 
used a deadly weapon or dangerous 
instrument to cause serious physical injury or 
30 year mandatory minimum if victim under 
age 10 or a witness 

Assault of elderly, blind, disabled, or 
pregnant person or person with intellectual 
disability 1st degree  
(CGS § 53a-59a) 

2 to 40 years; 10 year mandatory minimum 3 to 60 years; 15 year mandatory minimum 

Home invasion  
(53a-100aa) 

20 to 50 years; 20 year mandatory minimum 30 to 60 years; 30 year mandatory minimum 

Burglary 1st degree  

(CGS § 53a-101) 
2 to 40 years; 10 year mandatory minimum if 
armed with explosives, deadly weapon, or 
dangerous instrument 

3 to 60 years; 15 year mandatory minimum if 
armed with explosives, deadly weapon, or 
dangerous instrument 

Burglary 2nd degree with a firearm  
(CGS § 53a-102a) 

2 to 40 years; 2 year mandatory minimum 3 to 60 years; 3 year mandatory minimum 

Sexual assault 1st degree  

(CGS § 53a-70) 
Depending on the circumstances and age of the 
victim: 2 to 40 years or 20 to 50 years; mandatory 
minimum of 4, 10, or 20 years 

Depending on the circumstances and age of 
the victim: 3 to 60 years or 30 to 60 years; 
mandatory minimum of 6, 15, or 30 years 

Aggravated sexual assault 1st degree  

(CGS § 53a-70a) 
2 to 40 years or 20 to 50 years if victim under 16 
years; 10 year mandatory minimum or 40 year 
mandatory minimum if victim under 16 and force 
used or threatened 

3 to 60 years or 30 to 60 years if victim under 
16 years; 15 year mandatory minimum or 60 
year mandatory minimum if victim under 16 
and force used or threatened 

Sexual assault 3rd degree with a firearm, 
when victim under age 16  
(CGS § 53a-72b) 

2 to 40 years; 4 year mandatory minimum 3 to 60 years; 6 years mandatory minimum 

 

The persistent dangerous felony offender statute uses the terms “manslaughter,” 

“arson,” “kidnapping,” and “assault in the first degree.” These do not refer to 

specific criminal statutes but they appear to apply to all of the crimes listed in the 

table above. For example, “manslaughter” appears to include the crimes of 1st 

degree manslaughter, 1st degree manslaughter with a firearm, 2nd degree 

manslaughter, 2nd degree manslaughter with a firearm, and 2nd degree 

manslaughter with a motor vehicle.  

CR:cmg 

 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-134.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-59.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-59a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-100aa.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-101.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-102a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-70.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-70a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-72b.htm

