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FORMING CORPORATIONS IN MARYLAND 

  

By: Christopher Reinhart, Chief Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

What are the requirements for forming a corporation in 

Maryland? 

This report focuses on forming a for-profit, stock 

corporation.  Other rules may apply to forming non-

profit, nonstock corporations and other types of 

corporations such as benefit corporations. 

FORMING A CORPORATION IN MARYLAND 

Corporate Name 

Maryland law contains a number of requirements for 

forming stock corporations.  Someone seeking to form such a corporation must 

reserve and record a name for the corporation (Md. Code, Corps. §§ 1-505 and 2-

106).  The Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation (DAT) charges a $25 

nonrefundable processing fee to reserve a corporate name (Md. Code, Corps. § 1-

203).  A person who seeks to do business or trade under a designation or name 

other than his or her own must also file a written certificate affirmed or 

acknowledged under oath stating the: 

1. names and addresses of the business’ principals or owners; 

2. business’ character and location; and 

3. business’ name, title, or designation. 

DAT records the name, effective for five years and renewable for five year periods, 

for a $25 fee (Md. Code, Corps. § 1-406). 

FORMING A MARYLAND 

CORPORATION 

 Reserve a corporate name 

 File articles of 

incorporation 

 Designate an agent for 

service of process 

 Pay various document 

processing fees and an 

organization and 
capitalization fee 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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Articles of Incorporation 

Individuals acting as incorporators must sign and acknowledge articles of 

incorporation and file them with DAT.  When accepted by DAT, the corporation 

comes into existence (Md. Code, Corps. § 2-102).  The articles must include a 

number of items including the names and addresses of incorporators; the 

corporation’s name, purpose, and principal office; a resident agent’s name and 

address (a Maryland resident, corporation, or limited liability company designated 

to receive service of process); and information about shares and directors.  The law 

authorizes the articles to contain a number of other provisions (Md. Code, Corps. § 

2-104). 

DAT charges a $100 nonrefundable processing fee for articles of incorporation.  

Incorporators can also request (1) preclearance of certain documents or draft 

documents, such as articles of incorporation, for a $275 nonrefundable processing 

fee and (2) expedited service for recording certain documents, including articles of 

incorporation, for a $425 fee (Md. Code, Corps. § 1-203).  Expedited processing 

requires DAT to process documents (1) within two hours of receipt if they were filed 

at least two hours before close of business and (2) on the same day if practicable 

when they were filed within the last two hours of the business day (Md. Code, 

Corps. §§ 1-201 and 1-203.2). 

A corporation must also pay an organization and capitalization fee based on the 

value of its stock (minimum $20) before it can record its articles of incorporation 

(Md. Code, Corps. § 1-204).   

Other Requirements 

The law requires each corporation to have a principal office in Maryland and at least 

one resident agent.  The corporation must file a form with the agent’s written 

consent with DAT, unless the department waives the requirement (Md. Code, 

Corps. §§ 1-208 and 2-108).   

Other requirements may apply.  For example, corporations may be required to file 

state or local tax documents, acquire business licenses, and file employment 

documents. 

Once formed, the law imposes a number of requirements on corporations such as 

keeping correct and complete records of accounts and transactions and minutes of 

board proceedings (Md. Code, Corps. § 2-111).  Other provisions govern issuing 

stock, convening the first board meeting, and preparing bylaws. 
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On-Line Registration 

Maryland websites provide further information on starting a business and allow on-

line registration (http://business.maryland.gov/start/the-process and 

https://egov.maryland.gov/Easy).  The latter site charges a 3% service and 

convenience fee for the third party who processes the credit card payments for 

required fees. 

CR:tjo 

http://business.maryland.gov/start/the-process
https://egov.maryland.gov/Easy

