STATES THAT LICENSE CARPENTERS
By: Duke Chen, Associate Analyst
Which states license carpenters?
At least six states (Alabama, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and Utah) require people to be licensed to perform certain types of carpentry.
All of these states require applicants to have a certain amount of work experience (ranging from two to four years) and pass a business examination and a specific carpentry trade examination. Additionally, they all require licensees to be bonded, have liability insurance, or both.
Alabama law requires contractors to have a specialty license to do framing, millwork, finish carpentry, and other similar projects for which the contractor is paid more than $5,000.
An applicant for a carpentry license must document three completed projects, have three years of experience in carpentry, and provide proof of liability insurance. He or she must also pass the business and project management examination for contractors and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.
The application fee is $300, plus a $100 construction education fee, and a $96 examination fee. The license is renewable every two years for a $200 fee (http://genconbd.alabama.gov/FORMS/applications/PrimeApp_w_Citizenship.pdf).
For more information, see Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractor's website at http://genconbd.alabama.gov/HowtoApply.aspx.
Arizona regulations require a contractor to have a specialty carpentry license to install or repair hardware, millwork, metal studs, and metal doors or frames (Ariz. Admin. Code § R4-9-103).
Arizona requires all contractors to be bonded, as follows: (1) residential specialty contractors, $4,250 for projects valued at less than $375,000 and $7,500 for those over $375,000 and (2) commercial specialty contractors, between $2,500 and $50,000 for projects ranging from $150,000 or less to over $10 million (Ariz. Admin. Code § R4-9-103).
The applicant must have at least four years of experience and pass the business management examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.
The initial application fee is $100 and the biennial license renewal fee is $380. The applicant must also pay a $270 Recovery Fund assessment.
For more information, see Arizona Registrar of Contractors website at http://www.azroc.gov/l_Exp.html.
California regulations require carpentry contractors to have a specialty license to perform, among other things, certain work that involves framing a building's structural components (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16, § 832.05).
The applicant must have at least four years' experience and pass the state law and business examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade. Additionally, California law requires all contractors to file a $12,500 contractor's bond (Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 7071.6).
The application fee is $300; initial license fee is $180; and biennial renewal fee is $360.
For more information, see California Contractors State License Board's website at http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/.
Hawaii regulations require carpentry contractors to receive a specialty license for certain carpentry work, including certain framing or installing, among other things, cabinets, doors, and nonbearing partitions that become part of a structure (Haw. Code R. § 16-77-32).
An applicant must have four years of full-time experience within 10 years immediately preceding the application and pass an examination on business and law and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade. The contractor must have a certificate of liability insurance with the following minimum amounts: (1) $100,000 for each person and $300,000 for each occurrence of bodily injury and (2) $50,000 for each occurrence of property damage (Haw. Code R. § 16-77-10).
The license application fee is $50 and the examination fee is $130. The biennial renewal fee is either $415 or $545, depending on when the license is issued.
For more information, see Hawaii Professional and Vocational Licensing's website at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/.
Nevada requires special carpentry licensing for contractors who, among other things, install, repair, and finish cabinets; perform framing, rough carpentry, or similar work; or install certain doors, insulation, or drywall (Nev. Admin. Code § 624.210).
Applicants must post a bond as a condition of licensure (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 624-270). The bond amount varies from $1,000 to $500,000 depending on the contractor's financial and professional responsibility and size of the operations.
An applicant must have four years of full-time experience within the 10 years immediately preceding the application and pass a general business and law examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.
The application fee is $300 and the examination fee is $95. The license is valid for two years and renewable for $600.
For more information, see Nevada State Contractors Board's website, at http://www.nscb.nv.gov/contractor_license_requirements.html.
Utah requires a specialty license for anyone who constructs wood or other material for structural purposes and is known as a carpenter in the building industry (Utah Admin. Code r. 156-55a).
Contractors must have proof of certain insurance, including liability insurance of at least $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 total (Utah Code Ann. § 58-55-302).
An applicant must have two years of full-time paid employment in the construction trade and pass a general business and law examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.
The application fee is $210 and the examination fee is $144. The license is valid for a year and renewable for $113.
For more information, see Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing's website at http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html.