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Chairman Megna, Chairman Crisco and members of the Insurance and Banking
Comuniitee, we represent the Connecticut Real Estate Appraisal Commission. We are
here fo speak in unanimous OPPOSITION to H.B. 6677. The mandate of the Real Estate
Appraisal Commission is to license and certify real estate appraisers in Connecticut under
the aegis of the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). It is the opinion of this
commission, which is based on experiences (collectively more than 75 years) in the fields
of tax assessment, commercial real estate appraising, residential real estate appraising,
banking, investing, commission meetings and as a public member on the commission,
that passing H.B 6677 is a major step backwards by removing existing protection for
Connecticut Consumers.

The five major reasons why we oppose H.B. 6677 are as follows:

1) Passing H.B 6677 negates industry advances to provide oversight, enforcement
and accountability to the appraisal process to protect the consumer

2) Passing of H.B. 6677 undermines a layer of regulations surrounding licensing /
certification of appraisers created over the past 25 years to protect the consumer.

3) Passing of H.B. 6677 will create the need for more regulations, as there are no
current regulations pertaining to a Brokers Price Opinion (BPO) or a
Competitive Market Analysis (CMA).

4) Passing of H.B. 6677 is not nccessary as the existing law works.

5) Passing of H.B. 6677 will create public confusion and open the door for adverse
financial circumstances that the heavily regulated appraisal industry has worked
so hard to avoid.
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In the 1980’s — we experienced the Savings & Loan Crisis —a major cost to the tax payer.
The Savings & Loan Crisis exposed the problems caused by the lack of regulation with
the appraisal process, especially with regard to who could complete an appraisal for
lending purposes. As a result, the Federal Government adopted the Financial Institutions
Reform Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA). The Act created the
Appraisal Foundation, a quasi-governmental body, who enacted the Uniform Standards
of Appraisal Practice (USPAP), which mandates guidelines and regulates to performance
of real estate appraisals. Passing H.B 6677 negates industry advance that have been
completed to date.

In Connecticut, USPAP is the standard of our state law used to strengthen the regulation
of appraisers and protect consumers. The need for an UNBIASED OPINION OF
VALUE was recognized by federal regulating agencies as an essential requirement of
market stability; thus, avoiding a loss in tax dollars due to potential fraud and abuses
within the mortgage lending process — AND it is paramount io provide a necessary layer
of financial protection for the end users of the realty valuation process: the consumer —
home owners — and investors. In Connecticut, this protection is provided by licensing /
certification of appraisers.

The Federal Act, FIRREA, required cach state to create a Real Estate Appraisal
Commission to enact its licensing procedures for appraisers. Each State had the option to
pass its own laws pertaining to Appraisal licensing and certification. To date, 38 states
are considered Mandatory states, where appraisers are required to obtain a license /
certification. Another 11 states have Mandatory licensing / certification Hmited to
Federal Related Transactions (FRT). Of the remaining few states that have voluntary
licensing / certification, nearly all are rural states, where there historically has been a
shortage of appraisers (i.e. Alaska, North Dakota, Wyoming, etc.). Within Connecticut,
there is no shortage of appraisers, as evidence by typical turnaround times (from order to
delivery) within the market.

The Real Estate Appraisal Commission is annually examined by the Appraisal
Subcommittee (ASC). During the last Federal exam the commission was informed by the
Federal Regulators that the country is trending towards MORE regulation and mandatory
licensing / certification rather than away from regulation of the appraisal process. In the
state of Connecticut, we have made great strides in restoring Public Trust in the appraisal
process and consumer protection has increased. Over the past several years, the CT Real
Estate Appraisal Commission has raised the bar on the requirements to become a certified
/ licensed Appraiser in Connecticut,

Continued on the following page ...
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performing a Bpo or a CMA. [In Connecticut, we have regulatory oversight and
enforcement ovey the appraisal process, The bill in question would undermine this to the
detriment of Comnecticut Consumers by allowing two gets of standards with only one

An objective of FIRREA was to improve the professionalism of the appraisers and to
protect consumers, By stripping away the appraisal process from the brokerage / lending
equation, the regulated '

Trust, and bprofect the consumer, In Connecticut, only brokers, not salespersons, have
the option of taking one basic appraisal course, po more; however, licensed / certified
appraisers are required to take 28 hours of continuing appraisal education every 2 years,

The last concern pertains to publjc confusion, A BpQ ; CMA that provides an estimate
of value is an appraisal, 1t is ap opinion of valye determined by the professionaj creating
the documen, This opinion of value would pe used by consumers to make major

education requirements, accountably and enforcement, the consumer will be jeft
vulnerable and unprotected,

Contivued on the Jollowing page ..,
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Because there are no regulations over the BPO process, neither the Real Estate Appraisal
Commission, nor the Real Estate Commission, has enforcement power, today or in the
future, to protect the consumer. Consequently, the consumer has no recourse.
Eventually, public trust will be undermined. '

Simply put, though we have a tremendous respect for the role of the real estate broker /
salesperson in the market place, that role should not be co-mingled with the roll of the
appraiser. Existing Connecticut law works. The existing law was a joint effort between
real estate appraiscrs and real estate salespeople / brokers, Within Connecticut, there is
transparency in the appraisal process, regulatory oversight, and enforcement, It is our
concern that passing of H.B. 6677 will not only confuse the consumer, erode public trust
with the appraisal process, and create a venue to allow value opinions to be provided with
no enforceable accountability, but collectively opens a door for adverse financial
circumstances for our Connecticut consumers,

In summary, the five major reasons why we oppose H.B. 6677 are as follows:

Iy Passing HB 6677 negates industry advances to provide oversight,
enforcement and accountability to the appraisal process to protect the
consuimer

2) Passing of H.B. 6677 undermines a layer of regulations surrounding
licensing / certification of appraisers created over the past 25 years to protect
the consumer,

3) Passing of H.B. 6677 will create the need for more regulations, as there are
no current regulations pertaining to a Brokers Price Opinion (BPO) or a
Competitive Market Analysis (CMA). :

4} Passing of H.B. 6677 is not necessary as the existing law works.

5) Passing of H.B. 6677 will create public confusion and open the door for
adverse financial circumstances that the heavily regulated appraisal industry
has worked so hard to avoid,

Respectfully,

Connecticut Real Estate Appraisal Commission
Christopher A Italia, MAT

Gerald V., Rasmussen, MAL, FRICS

Norris Hawkins

John J. Galvin, MAI

Shawna M. Baron, CCMA 11
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izl THE APPRAISAL FOUNDATION

(A1l Aurborized by Congress as the Source of Appraisal
Standards and Appraiser Qualifications

1
g I

APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS BOARD

UPCOMING CHANGES TO REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS

On December 9, 2011, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the Real
Property Appraiser Qualification Criferia that will become effective January 1, 2015, These changes represent
minimum national requirements that each state must implement no later than January 1, 2015.

National Uniform Licensing
and Certification Examinations

Education and exp'erience must be completed prior to taking the
AQB-approved National Uniform Licensing and Certification
Examination.

Background Checks*

All candidates for a real property appraiser credential must undergo
background screening. State appraiser regulatory agencies are
strongly encouraged to perform background checks on evisting
credential holders as well.

College Degree Acceptance and
Core Curriculum Requirements

Credit towards qualifying education requirements may be obtained
via the completion of a degree program in Real Estate from an
accredited degree-granting college or university provided the
college or university has had its curriculum reviewed and approved
by the AQB.

Deletion of the Segmented Approach
to Criteria Implementation

States had the option to implement the 2008 Real Property
Appraiser Qualification Criteria via the “segmented approach.”
This implementation option will no longer be valid effective
January 1, 2015.

Restriction on Continuing Fducation
Course Offerings

Aside from complying with the requirements to complete the 7-
Hour National USPAP Update Course (or its AQB-approved
equivalent), appraisers may not receive credit for completion of the
same continuing education course offering within an appraiser’s
continuing education cycle,

Distance Education Requirements

A wrilten, proctored examination is required for all qualifying
education distance course offerings. The term written refers to an
cxamination that might be written on paper or administered
clectronically on a computer workstation or other device.

Revisions to Subtopics in Guide Note 1
(GN-1) and Continuing Education Topics

Added topics on green building (qualifying and continuing
education), seller concessions (qualifying and continuing
education) and developing opinions of real property value in
appraisals that also include personal property and/or business value

(continuing education only).

*Atits April 11, 2014 Public Meeting, the AQB voted to delay impiementation of Section VI, Background

Checks, until January 1,2017.

1155 15th Steeet, NW, Suite 1101
Woshingtor, 0 20005
12023417771
FH234.nn




CLASSIFICATION - CURRENT REQUIREMENTS 171715 REQUIREMENTS

Trainee Appraiser None None

30 semester credit hours of college-
level education from an accredited
Licensed Residential Appraiser None college, junior college, community
college, or university OR an Associate’s
degree or higher (in any field),

21 semester credit hours in | Bachelor’s degree or higher (in any
specified collegiate subject matter | field) from an accredited college or
Certified Residential Appraiser | courses from an accredited college | university.

or university OR an Associate’s
degree or higher,

30 semester credit hours in specific | Bachelor’s degrec or higher (in any
collegiate subject matter courses | field) from an accredited college or
Certified General Appraiser | from an accredited college or | university.

university OR a Bachelor’s degree
or higher.

*These requirements are effective for individuals seeking a real property appraiser credential affer January 1,
2015. However, in some cases, the requirements may also apply to existing real property appraisers (for example,
a state may require a credentialed appraiser to meet the new Criteria if he or she moves from a state that does not
have reciprocity with that state. Or some states may require appraisers seeking to change their credential level to
meet all of the 2015 Criteria prior to obtaining the new credential). Credentialed appraisers are urged to
confact the applicable state appraiser regulatory agencies if they are contemplating relocation or changing
cedential levels.

SUPERVISORY APPRAISER TRAINEE APPRAISER

State-certified Supervisory Appraiser shall be in good
standing with the training jurisdiction and not subjcct
to any disciplinary action within the last three (3)
years that affects the Supervisory Appraiser’s legal
ability to engage in appraisal practice. Shall have
been state certified for a minimum of three (3) years
prior to being eligible to become a Supervisory
Appraiser.

All qualifying education must be completed within the five
(5) year period prior to the date of submission of an
application for a Trainee Appraiser credential.

A Supervisory Appraiser may not supervise more
than three Trainee Appraisers at one time, unless a
state program in the licensing jurisdiction provides to | A Trainee Appraiser is permitted to have more than one
progress monitoring, supervising certified appraiser | Supervisory Appraiser.

qualifications, and supervision oversight '
requirements for Supervisory Appraisers.

Shared reéponsibility to ensure the appraisal experience log for the Trainee Appraiser is accurate, current, and
complies with the requirements of the Trainee Appraiser’s credentialing jurisdiction.

Both the Trainece Appraiser and Supervisory Appraiser shall be required to complete a course that, at a minimum,
complies with the specifications for course content established by the AQB. The course will be oriented toward the
requirements and responsibilities of Supervisory Appraisers and expectations for Trainee Appraisers. The course
must be completed by the Trainee Appraiser prior to obtaining a Trainee Appraiser credential, and completed by
the Supervisory Appraiser prior to supervising a Trainee Appraiser.




State Operations and Requirements - ASC - Appraisal Subcomnittee

Home > Stale Agpraiser Requlatory Programs > Siate Qperations and Requirerneais

State Operations and Requirements

Home
e o State slatutes governing appraiser cenification and licensing can be characterized in three ways:
- Resources For b
T e Mandatory (Man) - Cedifiediicensed appraisers required for any service for which an opinion of valug {evaluation or
i About the ASC » appraisal} for real preperly is developed;
Resources and Records > Mandatory for Federally Related Transactions {M/FRY) - Certified/licensed appraisers required o perform appraisals in
i : any faderatly related transactions and rea! estate related financial iransactions when Federal faw requires the services of
National Registry b such appraisers; and
Legal Framework b Voluntary (Vo!} - Ce.yrtiﬁed.'licensed appraisers not re.quixed for any appraisalfevaluation a.assignment.s. If appraisers wish {o
R perform appraisals in such federally related fransactions and seal estaie related transaclions, appraisers can choose fo
State Appraiser Regu!atory ) bacome cerifiedflicensed and submit to the State's regulatory jurisdiction.
: Programs '
Sla_'_le."_'. RS o Law Type! : - --.'_!'.a_'w'._Typg”
Alabama Man. MIFRT
Alaska Vol, Man
Arizona Man Man.
Arkansas MIFRT MIFRT
Califaraia MIFRT Man
Frequently Asked Colorado Man. Man
: Q_UBSUOﬂS _ o Com_monwealth of the Northemn Man. MERT
: Mariana Islands
| About this Site b Connecticut Man, Man.
g e o Delaware Man. Val,
Appraisal Complaint District of Columbia pan. MIERT
National Houm_? Florida Mar. Vol,
. . ) Georgia MIFRT Man.
Adwsory“_Commlttee }  Guam Man. Man
Hawali Man. Man,
ldaho Man. Man,
Hiinois Man. Man,
indiana Man. Man.
lowa Vol. Man.
Kansas Man. Man.
Kentucky MFRT Man,
Lousiana Man. Man.
Malne Man. MIFRT
Maryland MIFRT Man.
Massachusetis Vol Man.
Michigan Man. Man,
Minnesota Man, MIFRT
3 Misslssippi Man. Vol.
Missour Man
i
: Through our Stale agency directory, you will find website links and contact information for each of the Stale
appraisal regulatory agencies to use to make inquiries regarding their particular appraiser licensing credentialg,

hitps:/Awww.ase.gov/State- A ppraiser-Reguletory-Programs/StateQperationsAndRequirements aspx [2/13/2015 11:54:02 AM]




