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 April 23, 2015 

Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Legislative Office Building, Room 3700 
Hartford, CT 06106 

RE: HB 7059, AN ACT ESTABLISHING REGISTRATION FEES FOR SELLERS AND 
MANUFACTURERS OF ELECTRONIC CIGARETTE PRODUCTS 

Chairman Berger, Chairman Fonfara and members of the Committee, thank you for the 
opportunity to provide testimony today.  My name is Steve Ryan and I am the Executive 
Director of the New England   Convenience Store Association (NECSA).  NECSA’s 
membership consists of independent, family owned convenience stores, independently 
owned franchise stores as well as chain-operated convenience stores.   According to 
the National Association of Convenience Stores [‘NACS’] there are over 1500 
convenience and/or fuel retailers operating in Connecticut employing over 18,000 
people.   

On behalf of our members here in Connecticut, I am here to express NECSA’s strong 
opposition to the fees proposed in HB 7059 for the application and renewal of an 
electronic nicotine delivery system certificate of dealer registration. By any reasonable 
measure, including the costs for other business licenses, these proposed fees are 
extraordinarily high and would be a significant expense for many businesses.     

The proposed five hundred dollar annual fee per location for the electronic nicotine 
delivery system certificate of dealer registration is actually ten times higher than the fifty 
dollar per location fee for a cigarette dealer license in Connecticut.  In addition, the 
typical convenience store already pays a wide array of licenses and registrations every 
year including the following:  milk retailers license, lottery license, frozen dessert retailer 
license, non-legendary drug license(for non-prescription drugs), retail gasoline license, 
weights and measures registration, food service certification, liquor permit, WIC vendor 
certification, SNAP program registration and possibly many others.  I have attached a 
list of these licenses that I printed from the state of Connecticut’s Business Response 
Center Website’s Q&A under the heading “What licenses may be required for 
a grocery store or convenience store?”.  As you can see, the list is extensive and the 
compliance costs for Connecticut businesses are already significant-both in terms of 
actual fees as well as many work hours for paperwork and applications to meet existing 
laws and regulations.  We believe that adding another large fee to small businesses is 
clearly the wrong direction for the state.                    

In addition, the one hundred dollar application fee just to apply for the electronic nicotine 
dealer registration is four times higher than the twenty-five dollar fee in neighboring 
Rhode Island for a similar application.  This means that retailers in Connecticut that 
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want to sell these products will incur a $600 expense for the first year and a $500 
expense thereafter for each location.  For the owner of 5 stores, this would be a $3,000 
expense in the first year alone and then $2,500 per year thereafter.  When you add in all 
the other fees they are already paying for the licenses I listed previously and you 
consider that data shows that the average convenience store makes a pre-tax profit of 
just under $48,000 per year, it is clear that these are not insignificant costs to small 
businesses.         

Convenience stores are local businesses and employers and they support their 
communities. They work hard to sell age-restricted products such as nicotine delivery 
systems responsibly.  For some retailers, these costs will make carrying these products 
uneconomical even though some customers seeking an alternative to tobacco 
cigarettes may want them.  As a result, many of these sales could be lost to the internet 
or other sources where sales taxes may not be paid and age verification may not occur. 
 This outcome would not be good for consumers, stores or our state.      

I respectfully urge you to not support these extraordinary fees on stores here in 
Connecticut for the sale of electronic nicotine delivery systems. 

Thank you for your time and consideration of our concerns.   
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What licenses may be required for a grocery store or convenience 

store?  
Depending on the products the business sells, you may be required to file 

for the following licenses/registrations: 

Check with the local zoning official, health and fire marshal for 

additional requirements. 

The Connecticut Department of Agriculture requires stores that sell milk 

to obtain the Milk, Retail Store License.  Contact the agency: (860) 713-

http://www.ct-clic.com/default.asp
http://www.ct-clic.com/default.asp
http://www.ct-clic.com/Site-Map/default.asp
http://www.ct-clic.com/LoginArea/default.asp
http://www.ct-clic.com/Content/Smart_Start_for_Business.asp
http://www.ct.gov/ctportal/cwp/view.asp?a=843&q=257266
http://www.ct.gov/doag
http://www.ct.gov/doag/cwp/view.asp?a=1366&q=259012
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2568 or paula.butler@ct.gov  Visit: www.ct.gov/doag  

 

The following licenses may be required through the Connecticut 

Department of Consumer Protection: 

Frozen Dessert Retailer -  the production of frozen desserts for retail sale 

(for example, the sale of ice cream/"slushy" through softserve 

machines).  If selling scoop and serve ice cream be sure to check with the 

local health department 

Bakery - the production of baked goods for sale 

Non-legendary Drug - the sale of non-legendary drugs (over the counter 

drugs) 

Pharmacy - both pharmacy and staff 

Liquor - the sale of liquor 

Retail, Gasoline Dealer Permit -  if selling gasoline at retail (Weights & 

Measures) 

Weights & Measures Device Registration - if serving food through a deli 

be sure that the scales used to weigh the food are properly registered.  

Typically the company that leases scales is responsible for registering the 

scales.  If purchasing the scales, be sure to ask the company that is selling 

you the scales if they register the scales. 

 

Contact the agency:  (860) 713-6160 or food.standards@ct.gov (Food & 

Standards), (860) 713-6200 or liquor.control@ct.gov (Liquor), (860) 

713-6065 or drug.control@ct.gov  (Drug & Pharmacy), 860-713-6160 

(Weights & Measures) 

Visit: www.ct.gov/dcp  

 

There are no trade or occupational licenses required for food services in 

Connecticut.  However, a food service certification may be required.  For 

more information please check with the local health department.  For 

information on the Food Protection Program contact the Connecticut 

Department of Public Health. Contact the agency: (860) 509-7297   

Visit:  www.ct.gov/dph   

 

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection also offers 

guidance on food safety.  Contact the agency: (860) 713-6160 or 

food.standards@ct.gov   Visit:  www.ct.gov/dcp 

The U.S. Department of Justice Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms 

requires retailers of alcohol and tobacco to register.  The Bureau also 

regulates the operation of importers and wholesalers.  For additional 

information please contact the district or Connecticut offices: Hartford 

mailto:paula.butler@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/doag
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446448
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446448
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446726
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446726
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=288378&PM=1&dcpNav=%7C
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446720
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1622&q=446722
mailto:food.standards@ct.gov
mailto:liquor.control@ct.gov
mailto:drug.control@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.ct.gov/ctportal/cwp/view.asp?a=843&q=257266
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3140&q=387486&dphNav_GID=1828
http://www.ct.gov/dph/
http://www.ct.gov/dph/
http://www.ct.gov/dph
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1621&q=434780
mailto:food.standards@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.atf.gov/
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(860) 240-3400   New Haven (203) 773-2060 or visit www.atf.gov 

As of the 1/1/03 the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), 

is responsible for all inquiries in regards to regulating the alcohol and 

tobacco industries imposed on manufacturers and importers of these 

products.  Visit the Bureau's web site for more details www.ttb.gov 

If selling gasoline, register as a petroleum products vendor with the 

Office of Policy and Management.  Contact the agency: (860) 418-6232  

Visit: www.ct.gov/opm  

 

Register for sales & use tax (REG-1), cigarettes dealer's license (over 

the counter sales) (Addendum A), motor vehicles fuel tax  - petroleum 

products gross earnings tax (Addendum C), alcoholic beverages tax 

(Addendum D) by filing REG-1 and appropriate Addendum(s) with the 

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. File either online or by  

mail.   Also, retailers should be familiar with the resale certificate.  

Contact the agency:  1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut only) or (860) 297-

5962   Visit:  www.ct.gov/drs  

 

The sale of lottery products requires an application to be filed with the 

Connecticut State Lottery. Contact the agency: (860) 713-6000 for visit 

the agency website for further details.  Once the application is completed 

with CT Lottery, it is submitted to Connecticut Department of Consumer 

Protection's Gaming Division for final approval. 

 

The Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program with 

the Connecticut Department of Public Health is state subsidy that 

provides milk, cheese and various food items for women and their 

infants/children.  Open enrollment is available each year on October 1.  

Request a WIC application in writing including the store name, address 

and phone number as well as the owner's name.  If purchasing an existing 

business, the existing WIC vendor stamp is not transferable and the new 

owner must apply as a new vendor.  Contact the agency: 1-800-741-2142 

or (860) 509-8084  Visit: www.ct.gov/dph   

 

Retailers wanting to accept and redeem food stamps must be registered 

through the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (formerly 

known as the  Food Stamp Program) of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture.  Contact the agency: 1-800-842-1508  Visit:  www.usda.gov 

 

The Connecticut Department of Energy & Environmental Protection 

regulates activities that may impact the state's natural resources and 

http://www.atf.gov/
http://www.ttb.gov/
http://www.ttb.gov/
http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/pdpd_energy/form2008.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/opm
http://www.ct.gov/opm
http://www.ct.gov/drs
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1433&q=265880
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1509&q=450280
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/forms/1995forms/resalecert.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs
http://www.ctlottery.org/Modules/Retailers/default.aspx
http://www.ctlottery.org/
http://www.ctlottery.org/Modules/Retailers/default.aspx
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3137&q=395460&dphNav_GID=1862
http://www.ct.gov/dph
http://www.ct.gov/dph
http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/
http://www.usda.gov/
http://www.usda.gov/
http://www.usda.gov/
http://www.ct.gov/dep
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environment.  DEP administers permitting programs that protect the 

state's resources by regulating the emissions of pollutants, facility 

operations, and land use activities. If your activity has the potential to 

impact the environment or the state's natural resources, you may need to 

apply for and obtain one or more permits. Contact the agency:  (860) 

424-3003 or dep.webmaster@ct.gov  Visit:  www.ct.gov/dep  

 

Labeling 

Food labeling requirements are under the jurisdiction of the federal U.S. 

Food & Drug Administration - Compliance Branch.  Food labeling 

questions can be e-mailed to industry@fda.gov or call 888-463-6332 

(888-INFO-FDA).  Visit:  www.fda.gov   

In addition, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Public Health 

Security and Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002 (the 

Bioterrorism Act 2002) requires the owner, operator, or agent in charge 

of a domestic or foreign food processing facility to submit a registration 

to the Secretary of the FDA. For a foreign facility, the registration must 

include the name of the U.S. agent for the facility. 

Additionally, the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection can 

assist with food labeling requirements.  Contact the agency 860-713-

6160 or food.services@ct.gov  Visit:  www.ct.gov/dcp  

Note:  Smaller businesses with low volume may apply for a labeling 

exemption. 

Contact the Connecticut Licensing Info Center (CT-CLIC.com), to learn 

about further registration considerations. 1-800-392-2122 or Contact 

form. 
 

 

 

What licenses are required for a liquor store? 
  

The sale of liquor or alcoholic beverages requires a liquor license 

through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. 

Contact the agency: (860) 713-6200 or liquor.control@ct.gov. 

 

The U.S. Department of Justice Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms 

requires retailers to register.  The Bureau also regulates the operation of 

importers and wholesalers.  Contact the agency: Hartford (860) 240-

3400   New Haven (203) 773-2060.  

As of  1/1/03 the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), is 

  

mailto:dep.webmaster@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/dep
http://www.fda.gov/
http://www.fda.gov/
http://www.fda.gov/Food/LabelingNutrition/default.htm
mailto:industry@fda.gov
http://www.fda.gov/
http://www.fda.gov/EmergencyPreparedness/Counterterrorism/BioterrorismAct/default.htm
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1621&Q=276030&PM=1&dcpNav=%7C&dcpNav_GID=1545
mailto:food.services@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
http://www.ct-clic.com/
http://www.ct-clic.com/ContactForm/default.asp
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1623&Q=288378&PM=1&dcpNav=%7C
http://www.ct.gov/dcp
mailto:liquor.control@ct.gov
http://www.atf.gov/
http://www.ttb.gov/
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responsible for all inquiries regarding the alcohol and tobacco industries' 

regulations imposed on manufacturers and importers of these products.  

Visit the Bureau's web site for more details. 

 

The sale of lottery products requires a lottery sales agent's license with 

the Connecticut Division of Special Revenue.  Contact the agency: (860) 

594-0643 or dosr@po.state.ct.us. 

 

According to the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, the sale 

of cigarettes over the counter requires a cigarettes dealer's license (over 

the counter sales) registration and the sale of most products is subject to 

the sales and use tax.  Apply for both by filing REG-1 and Addendum A 

(Cigarette).  REG-1 (online, mail).  Contact the agency: 800-382-9463 

(Connecticut only) or (860) 297-5962 or drs@po.state.ct.us. 

Contact the Connecticut Licensing Info Center (CT-CLIC.com) to learn 

about further registration considerations or if you require additional 

assistance: 1-800-392-2122 or Contact form . 
 

http://www.ttb.gov/
http://www.ct.gov/dosr/cwp/view.asp?a=2031&q=290922&dosrNav=%7C
http://www.ct.gov/dosr
mailto:dosr@po.state.ct.us
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1509&q=450280
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1433&q=265880
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1509&q=450280
mailto:drs@po.state.ct.us
http://www.ct-clic.com/
http://www.ct-clic.com/ContactForm/default.asp

