Testimony of Florie Manasia In support of HB 6358 AN ACT CONCERNING A CAP ON DOCUMENTATION
FEES CHARGED BY AUTOMOBILE DEALERS

Transportation Committee Public Hearing
Monday, February 9, 2015
1:00pm Room 2C

February 5, 2015
Dear Transportation Committee Members,

| am writing in support of your Bill# HB 6358 for the state to put a cap on Documentation fees charged
when purchasing a car in the state of CT. 1am in the process of trying to purchase a car and one dealer
charges $499.00 and another charges $429.00. These fees are also taxable and do not include
registration fees. Why is it other states can process paperwork at a much lower cost than CT. Seemsto
be another tactic by CT dealers to legally up the cost of the car.

There are states that have capped the amount charged for these fees. These caps range from $75.00 to
$250.00.

Arkansas calls them "service and handling" fees and caps them at $129,
according to the Arkansas Automobile Dealers Association. Dealers cannot charge
a separate doc fee.

Louisiana caps doc fees at $100, but a bill that awaits Gov. Bobby Jindal's
signature could raise the cap to $200 by year's end, according to the Louisiana
Automobile Dealers Association.

Michigan caps doc fees at $200 or 5 percent of the price of the car,
whichever is less, according to Michigan's Department of State. The state
adjusts the cap every two years, and the next adjustment comes in 2015.

Michigan caps doc fees at $200 or 5 percent of the price of the car, whichever is
less, according to Michigan's Department of State. The state adjusts the cap every
two years, and the next adjustment comes in 2015.

Minnesota caps doc fees at $75, according to the state's Office of the Revisor of
Statutes.

Missouri caps the doc fee at $199.99, according to the Automobile Dealers
Association of Greater Kansas City.

New York caps doc fees at $75, according to the Greater New York Automobile
Dealers Association. '




Ohio caps doc fees at $250 or 10 percent of the price of the car, whichever is less,
according to the Greater Cleveland Automobile Dealers' Association.

Pennsylvania caps doc fees at $112 for manual processing and $133 for online
processing, according to the Pennsylvania Automotive Association, a dealer group

Rhode Island caps doc fees at $200, according to the Rhode Island Automobile
Dealers Association.

Washington caps doc fees at $150, according to the Washington state attorney
general's office.

West Virginia caps doc fees at $175, according to the West Virginia Automobile &
Truck Dealers Association.

I hope this bill passes as CT residents are already struggling without having to pay
for uncontrolled charges by dealers when they need to purchase a car.

Sincerely,

Florie Manasia

21 Fernwood Drive
Simsbury, CT 06070




