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Eleventh District
- New Haven, Hamden € North Haven

- Iﬁ support of:

5.B. 651 AN ACT CONCERNING A TEMPORARY HOLD FOR
CERTAIN FAMILY VIOLENCE ARRESTEES.

Good Merning Senator Coleman, Representative Tong, members of the Judiciary Committee, thank
you for the opportunity to testify on §.B. 651 AN ACT CONCERNING A TEMPORARY HOLD FOR
CERTAIN FAMILY VIOLENCE ARRESTEES.

The purpose of this bill is to provide protection for victims of domestic violence who face an
immediate threat of violence. If a person is charged with a crime involving domestic violence, the
victim is likely in immediate danger of retaliation. In order that the victim can make provisions for
his or her safety, this bill requires that the perpetrator is confined for 12 hours without bond under
certain specific circumstances,

Specifically, under this proposal, any person charged with commission of a family violence crime
(as defined in section 46b-38a), or violation of a restraining or protective order issued pursuant to
46b-15 or 46b-38c (e}, must be held without bond for a period of 12 hours following his arrest if at
the time of arrest or any time preceding release, the police officer finds any of the following factors:
{1} the use or threatened use of a deadly weapon by the arrested person or a pattern of prior
conduct invelving the use or threatened use of violence with a firearm against the victim; (2)
threats to seriously injure or kill the victim or minor child by the arrested person; (3) threats to
commit suicide by the arrested person; or (4) serious physical injuries inflicted upon the victim or
minor child by the arrested person.

Half a dozen other states have similar laws. Alabama requires a domestic violence suspect to go
before a magistrate prior to posting bail, within 12 hours of arrest. Indiana requires that a domestic
violence suspect be held for at least 8 hours. Massachusetts requires that a domestic violence
suspect be held for 6 hours following arrest before posting bail. Mississippi requires an arrestee to
go before a judge before bail is posted, and allows the judge to establish a hold period of up to 24
hours from either the time of arrest or the subsequent setting of bail. Nevada requires that a
domestic violence suspect cannot post bail until 12 hours after his arrest, and Tennessee requires

- suspects to be held for 12 hours if the Court finds that the suspect poses a threat to the victim,
unless the court finds a shorter hold period is sufficient to protect the victim.

Turge you to take this important step to provide victims of domestic violence with a meaningful
period of time to take steps to ensure safety for themselves and their families. Please support S.B.
651. Thank you.




