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AN ACT CONCERNING IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES 

SUMMARY: This act makes a number of changes affecting driving under the 
influence (DUI), driver’s license suspensions, and ignition interlock device (IID) 
requirements, starting July 1, 2015. It affects penalties imposed when a person is 
(1) administratively found to have violated drunk driving laws (administrative per 
se) or (2) convicted of DUI. 

Among other things, the act: 
1. reduces the license suspension period for all administrative per se 

violations to 45 days, but imposes ignition interlock requirements after the 
suspension ends (§§ 1 & 6);  

2. eliminates the 90-day waiting period for a special operator’s permit for a 
first administrative per se violation for refusing to submit to a blood 
alcohol content (BAC) test (§ 2); 

3. changes the required license suspension period for someone who fails to 
use an IID as required (§ 3);  

4. specifically allows the motor vehicles (DMV) commissioner to impose IID 
requirements on Connecticut residents following an out-of-state DUI 
conviction that occurs within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction in 
Connecticut or another state (§ 4); and 

5. decreases, in some cases, the suspension period for drivers under age 21 
convicted of DUI for the second time (§ 5). 

The act also makes technical and conforming changes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2015 

§§ 1 & 6 — ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE LICENSE SUSPENSION AND IID 
REQUIREMENTS 

By law, motorists implicitly consent to be tested for drugs or alcohol when 
they drive. The law establishes administrative license suspension procedures for 
drivers who refuse to submit to a test or whose test results indicate an elevated 
BAC, which is generally .08% or more for drivers age 21 or older. (These 
provisions are called “implied consent” and “administrative per se,” respectively.) 

Table 1 displays the administrative per se license suspension periods under 
prior law. For drivers under age 21, prior law doubled the suspension period, 
except a first violation for a 16- or 17-year-old resulted in a suspension for (1) one 
year if the driver tested with an elevated BAC or (2) 18 months if the driver 
refused to take the test. (Drivers younger than age 21 have an elevated BAC if it 
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is found to be .02% or more.) 
 

Table 1: Administrative Per Se License Suspension Periods for Drivers Age 21 or Older, Under 
Prior Law 

Per Se Offense First 
Suspension 

Second 
Suspension 

Third or 
Subsequent 
Suspension 

BAC of (1) .08% 
or more or (2) 
.04% or more if 
operating a 
commercial 
vehicle 

90 days 9 months 2 years 

BAC of .16% or 
more 

120 days 10 months 2 ½ years 

Test Refusal 6 months 1 year 3 years 
 
The act reduces the license suspension period for all administrative per se 

violations to 45 days but imposes ignition interlock requirements after the 
suspension period. An IID requires the driver to breathe into it. If the device 
detects a BAC above a certain threshold, it prevents the vehicle from being 
started.  

The act (1) requires the driver to install and maintain an IID on each motor 
vehicle he or she owns or operates as a condition of license restoration and (2) 
prohibits the driver from operating a vehicle without an IID during the period 
when the IID requirements apply. The required periods of IID use are shown in 
Table 2. 

 
Table 2: Required Periods of IID Use Under the Act, After Administrative Per Se License 

Suspension 

IID Requirement (After 45-Day License 
Suspension) 

Per Se Offense First 
Suspension 

Second 
Suspension 

Third or 
Subsequent 
Suspension 

Age 21 or older: 
BAC of (1) .08% 
or more or (2) 
.04% or more if 
operating a 
commercial 
vehicle 

6 months 1 year 2 years 

Under Age 21: 
BAC of .02% or 
more 

1 year 2 years 3 years 

Test refusal, 
regardless of age 1 year 2 years 3 years 

 
The act provides that any longer period of IID use for a DUI conviction 

applies in place of these periods. By law, in addition to license suspension and IID 
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requirements, a person convicted of DUI is subject to imprisonment, probation, 
and fines.  

The act also specifies that notwithstanding these provisions on administrative 
suspensions, someone whose license is permanently revoked for a third DUI 
conviction is subject to existing requirements regarding applications for 
reinstatement and required IID use. Among other things, these provisions allow 
the person to request restoration after two years, subject to various conditions. If 
the DMV commissioner restores the license, she must require lifetime use of an 
IID, but the person can request removal of the IID for good cause after 15 years 
(CGS § 14-111(i)(2)). 

By law, the DMV commissioner must adopt regulations to implement the 
administrative per se license suspension and related provisions.   

§ 2 — SPECIAL OPERATOR’S PERMIT 

By law, certain people whose driver’s licenses have been suspended may 
apply for a special permit that allows them to drive to and from (1) work or (2) a 
higher education institution or private occupational school in which they are 
enrolled. 

Prior law prohibited DMV from issuing such a permit to someone whose 
license was suspended for a first violation of refusing to submit to a test, until the 
person had served at least 90 days of the suspension. The act removes this 
prohibition. (As noted above, the act reduces this suspension period to 45 days 
and requires IID use after that period.)  

§ 3 — FAILURE TO USE IID 

Under prior law, someone who failed to use an IID as required was subject to 
an additional license suspension as the DMV commissioner prescribed, up to the 
length of the original suspension. The act instead requires a suspension until the 
person demonstrates to the commissioner’s satisfaction that he or she intends to 
install and maintain the IID for the required period. 

§ 4 — IID AND OUT-OF-STATE CONVICTIONS  

By law, DMV must suspend a person’s driver’s license for the period required 
for a DUI conviction in Connecticut if a member jurisdiction of the interstate 
Driver License Agreement reports a conviction in that jurisdiction. For license 
suspension purposes, the commissioner can consider such an out-of-state 
conviction to be a second or subsequent conviction if the person was convicted of 
DUI within the previous 10 years in Connecticut or another state. The act 
specifies that DMV may impose IID requirements as well as license suspensions 
for these second or subsequent DUI convictions. 

§ 5 — DUI CONVICTIONS 

Under prior law, someone under age 21 convicted of DUI for a second time 
received a license suspension for the longer of 45 days or until he or she reached 
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age 21. The act instead subjects these drivers to the same penalties as drivers age 
21 or over. This limits the license suspension period to 45 days, eliminating a 
potentially longer period for some drivers until reaching age 21.  As under prior 
law, the license suspension is followed by three years of IID use.  During  the first 
year the person may only drive to and from work, school, an alcohol or drug 
treatment program, an IID service center, or an appointment with a probation 
officer.  

The act eliminates a separate provision that required DMV to suspend the 
driver’s license of someone under age 18 convicted of DUI until the person 
reached age 18 if it was a longer period than otherwise required by law. 

Under prior law, the DMV commissioner had to allow someone whose license 
had been suspended for a first or second DUI conviction to operate a vehicle if the 
person (1) had served the required suspension under the DUI conviction, even if 
the person had not completed any administrative per se suspension and (2) 
complied with IID requirements. The act instead specifies that the commissioner 
must let such a person operate a vehicle if the person has served either of the 
required suspension periods and complies with IID requirements. 
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