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PA 14-201—sSB 241 
Environment Committee 
 

AN ACT CONCERNING YOUTH HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSES, 
REVISING CERTAIN HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE FEES AND 
REQUIRING REGISTRATION BY HUNTING AND FISHING GUIDE 
SERVICES 

SUMMARY:  This act makes various changes in the state’s hunting and fishing 
statutes.  Among other things, it: 

1. requires 16-year-olds to obtain fishing licenses to fish in Connecticut 
waters, to conform to current licensing practices; 

2. exempts from the fishing license requirement secondary school students 
participating in school fishing events or field trips that teach fishing 
techniques; 

3. changes certain hunting and fishing license fees, including reducing 
specific fees by 50% for 16- and 17-year-old residents; 

4. allows the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) to 
designate up to two days each calendar year when it can issue free one-day 
sport fishing licenses; 

5. allows DEEP, with the Office of Policy and Management’s (OPM) 
approval, to occasionally offer reduced fees for hunting and fishing 
licenses and permits; 

6. requires instructors to offer hunting, trapping, and archery safety courses 
online or in a classroom and allows them to charge a course fee the DEEP 
commissioner establishes; 

7. requires hunting and fishing guides to annually register with DEEP and 
pay a $100 fee; and 

8. allows the DEEP commissioner to adopt regulations to implement the 
hunting and fishing guide requirements. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2015, except for the provisions related to safety 
courses, which are effective October 1, 2014. 

§ 1 — FISHING LICENSES 

Age Requirement 
The act lowers the age for obtaining a fishing license from over age 16 to age 

16, thus conforming the statute to DEEP’s current practice of licensing 16-year-
olds. 

Exemption for Certain Students 
The act exempts from the fishing license requirement, with the DEEP 
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commissioner’s written authorization, Connecticut secondary school students 
(i.e., grades nine through 12) participating in school fishing events or field trips 
that teach fishing techniques.  The fishing event or field trip must be part of a 
school course, and the school must apply for the commissioner’s authorization on 
a form he prescribes. 

§ 2 — HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE FEES 

Changed License Fees 
The act (1) increases one resident combination hunting and fishing license fee, 

(2) reduces two resident super sport combination license fees, and (3) reduces the 
group fishing license fee, as Table 1 shows. 

 
Table 1: Hunting and Fishing License Fees 

 
License Prior Law The Act 

Combination (all-waters fishing and 
firearms hunting) 

$38 $40 

Firearms super sport (all-waters 
fishing, firearms hunting, deer on 
private land with shotgun or rifle, and 
wild turkey in spring on private land) 

80 70 

Firearms super sport (all-waters 
fishing, firearms hunting, migratory 
bird conservation stamp, and 
migratory bird harvest permit) 

60 50 

Group fishing license 250 125 
 
Fees Charged 16- and 17-Year-Olds 

The act reduces by 50%, rounded to the next highest dollar, the fees charged 
to 16- and 17-year-old residents for any firearms or archery hunting, trapping, or 
sport fishing (1) license or (2) permit, tag, or stamp for taking waterfowl, salmon, 
pheasant, turkey, migratory game birds, deer, or small game. 

Free One-Day Sport Fishing License 
The act allows the DEEP commissioner to designate up to two days each year 

when he may issue free one-day sport fishing licenses.  He can make free licenses 
available to all members of (1) the public or (2) an age group he designates.  The 
law already requires him to designate one day each year when no license is 
required for sport fishing. 

DEEP’s Authority to Offer Reduced Fees 
The act allows the DEEP commissioner, with the OPM secretary’s 

concurrence, to occasionally offer reduced fees for certain hunting and fishing 
licenses, permits, tags, and stamps in order to increase participation in such 
activities.  These include firearms or archery hunting, trapping, or sport fishing 
licenses and permits, tags, or stamps for taking waterfowl, salmon, pheasant, 
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turkey, migratory game birds, deer, or small game. 
Reduced fees must be allowed only for a portion of a year and be effective 

during the calendar year in which the reduction is offered.  Also, the 
commissioner may offer reduced fees only if the reduction is offered to (1) all 
members of the public; (2) all members of a certain age group; or (3) people who 
successfully complete a fishing education or hunting, trapping, or archery safety 
course within that calendar year. 

§ 3 — HUNTING, TRAPPING, AND ARCHERY SAFETY COURSES 

The act requires hunting, trapping, and archery safety courses to be provided 
online or in a classroom.  Prior law allowed the courses to be provided by any 
means. The act also allows anyone authorized to conduct hunting, trapping, or 
archery courses to charge a reasonable course fee the DEEP commissioner 
establishes.  Prior law only allowed trapping instructors to charge a fee the DEEP 
commissioner established by regulation. 

§§ 4 & 5 — HUNTING OR FISHING GUIDES 

Registration 
The act prohibits people from providing hunting or fishing guide services in 

Connecticut unless they annually (1) register with DEEP on a form the 
commissioner prescribes and (2) pay a $100 registration fee.  The form must 
include the registrant’s name, residential and business addresses, business 
telephone number, and services offered.  Registrations are nontransferable and 
expire on December 31 following their issuance. 

The act also prohibits a person from operating a vessel to provide hunting or 
fishing guide services on state waters unless he or she (1) is registered with DEEP 
as a hunting or fishing guide and (2) holds a current U.S. Coast Guard passenger-
for-hire license. 

Under the act, a user, operator, or crew member of a registered charter, party, 
or head boat is exempt from these requirements. 

The act defines “hunting or fishing guide services” as aiding, assisting, or 
instructing anyone, in exchange for payment, in the taking of fish or wildlife 
while in Connecticut fields or forests or on Connecticut waters. 

Limitation 
The act limits to two the number of customers that a fishing guide can have on 

a vessel when taking or landing marine species. 

Penalties 
A violator of the hunting or fishing guide requirements commits an infraction 

punishable by a fine of up to $90 and can pay the fine by mail without making a 
court appearance. 

Regulations 



O L R  P U B L I C  A C T  S U M M A R Y  

 Page 4 of 4  

The act authorizes the DEEP commissioner to adopt regulations to implement 
the hunting and fishing guide requirements. 
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