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AN ACT CONCERNING THE ADOPTION OF THE UNIFORM 
CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR VESSELS ACT 

SUMMARY: This act enacts the Uniform Certificate of Title for Vessels Act, 
which creates a certificate of title system for certain vessels that are principally 
used on Connecticut waters. It generally requires owners to apply to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a certificate when a vessel’s ownership 
changes or Connecticut becomes the vessel’s state of principal use. But the act 
does not apply to a number of different types of vessels, most notably those (1) 
with a model year of 2016 or earlier, (2) less than 19.5 feet long unless they are 
motor boats, or (3) covered by federal documentation or a foreign country’s 
registry. 

The act makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of ownership, sets 
rules for perfecting security interests on certificates and indicating transfers of 
interests in vessels, establishes penalties for fraudulent acts related to certificates, 
and requires DMV to maintain certain information in indexed files for public 
searches. The act also allows DMV to adopt regulations to implement the act’s 
provisions but requires regulations for certain subjects. 

The act establishes the fees DMV can charge for certificate filings and 
searches.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2016 

§§ 5 & 6 — CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENT 

The act requires the owner of certain vessels principally used in Connecticut 
to apply to DMV, with the appropriate fee, for a certificate of title within 20 days 
after the later of (1) obtaining ownership or (2) Connecticut becoming the state on 
whose waters the vessel is or will be used, operated, navigated, or employed more 
than on the waters of any other state during a year (i.e., state of principal use). 

Under the act, a vessel becomes covered by a certificate of title when an 
application and fee are delivered to (1) DMV or (2) the agency that creates a 
certificate in another jurisdiction. The law of the jurisdiction of the vessel’s 
certificate of title governs all issues relating to the certificate from the time the 
certificate covers the vessel until it (1) is covered by another certificate or (2) 
becomes a documented vessel. This applies even if there is no relationship 
between the jurisdiction and the vessel or its owner. 

Vessels Excluded from the Certificate Requirement 

The act prohibits issuing a certificate of title for a: 
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1. vessel designated by the manufacturer as having a model year of 2016 or 
earlier;  

2. vessel, other than a motor boat, that is less than 19.5 feet in length; 
3. vessel propelled solely by paddle or oar; 
4. seaplane on water; 
5. documented vessel (a vessel covered by a certificate of documentation 

issued by the U.S. Coast Guard under federal law, which applies to some 
large vessels and those owned by a federal entity); 

6. foreign-documented vessel (a vessel recorded in another country’s registry 
that identifies ownership interests and includes a unique alphanumeric 
designation for the vessel); 

7. barge; 
8. amphibious vehicle covered by a motor vehicle certificate of title in this or 

another state; 
9. vessel operating only on a permanently fixed, manufactured course with 

movement restricted to or guided by a mechanical device that is attached 
to or controls the watercraft; 

10. vessel owned by the United States, a foreign government, a state, or a 
political subdivision and used for government functions;  

11. vessel used solely as a lifeboat on another watercraft; 
12. vessel before delivery if it is under construction or completed under a 

contract;  
13. vessel held by a dealer for sale or lease;  
14. stationary floating structure that (a) does not have and is not designed to 

have its own propulsion; (b) needs a continuous hookup to shore for 
utilities; and (c) does not have sewage facilities or has a permanent, 
continuous hookup to shore for sewage;  

15. vessel manufactured or assembled before January 1, 2017, for which the 
manufacturer or assembler has not designated a model year; or 

16. vessel with a certificate from another state that becomes principally used 
in Connecticut but cannot receive a certificate in Connecticut under the 
act’s provisions. 

These exceptions do not apply to a vessel principally used in Connecticut that 
was a documented or foreign-documented vessel but no longer is. 

DMV cannot issue, transfer, or renew a certificate issued as required by 
federal law (this applies to certain vessels not documented under federal law) 
unless DMV (1) created the certificate or (2) receives an application and fee for a 
certificate.  

§ 7 — CERTIFICATE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 

With exceptions specified in the act, only an owner can apply for a certificate 
of title. The owner must file and sign an application form prescribed by the DMV 
commissioner, containing: 

1. the applicant’s name, principal residential street address, and, if different, 
mailing address; 

2. the name and mailing address of each other owner of the vessel; 
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3. the vessel’s hull identification number or an application to the Department 
of Energy and Environmental Protection for one; 

4. the vessel number or an application for one (existing law requires owners 
to register most vessels and obtain vessel registration numbers from 
DMV); 

5. a description of the vessel as required by DMV, including (a) any official 
number assigned by the U.S. Coast Guard; (b) the manufacturer’s, 
builder’s, or maker’s name; (c) the vessel’s model year or the year its 
construction was completed; and (d) the vessel’s length, type, hull material, 
and propulsion, engine drive, and fuel types; 

6. all security interests in the vessel known to the applicant and the secured 
parties’ names and mailing addresses; 

7. a statement that the vessel is not a documented or foreign-documented 
vessel; 

8. any title brand (a designation of previous damage, use, or condition 
described in a certificate) known to the applicant and the jurisdiction under 
whose law it was created; 

9. if the application is made because of a transfer of ownership, the transfer 
date, sales price, and transferor’s name, street address, and mailing address, 
if different;  

10. a statement identifying any jurisdiction known to the applicant where the 
vessel was registered or titled previously; and 

11. any further information the DMV commissioner reasonably requires to 
identify the vessel and determine whether (a) the owner is entitled to a 
certificate and (b) any security interests exist. 

The act allows an application to contain the owner’s, transferor’s, or secured 
party’s email address. 

With specific exceptions, the act also requires the application to include a 
certificate of title signed by the owner shown on the certificate that (1) identifies 
the applicant as the owner or (2) is accompanied by a record that identifies the 
applicant as the owner. When there is no certificate of title, the owner must 
submit: 

1. if the vessel was a documented vessel, a U.S. Coast Guard record showing 
the (a) vessel is no longer a documented vessel and (b) applicant is the 
owner; 

2. if the vessel was a foreign-documented vessel, a record from the foreign 
country showing the (a) vessel is no longer a foreign-documented vessel 
and (b) applicant is the owner; or 

3. in all other cases, a certificate of origin (a record created by a 
manufacturer or importer as proof of a vessel’s identity, other than a 
builder’s certificate), bill of sale, or other record that, to DMV’s 
satisfaction, identifies the applicant as the owner. 

The act makes a record submitted in connection with an application part of the 
application and requires DMV to keep the record in its files. 

Under the act, DMV may also require payment or evidence of payment of any 
or all fees and taxes payable by the applicant under state law, other than fees paid 
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in connection with the application or the vessel’s acquisition or use. 

§ 8 — CERTIFICATE CREATION, REJECTION, OR CANCELLATION 

The act requires DMV to create a certificate for a vessel after delivery of an 
application that satisfies the act’s requirements. But DMV must reject an 
application if the vessel is a documented or foreign-documented vessel. It can 
reject an application if: 

1. it does not comply with the act or state law, 
2. it does not contain sufficient documentation to determine whether the 

applicant is entitled to a certificate, or 
3. there is a reasonable basis to conclude that the application is fraudulent or 

issuing a certificate would facilitate fraud or an illegal act. 
The act allows DMV to cancel (make ineffective) a certificate it created if 

DMV: 
1. could have rejected the application under the act’s requirements,  
2. must cancel it under the act’s provisions, or 
3. receives satisfactory evidence that the vessel is a documented or foreign-

documented vessel. 

§§ 9 & 29 — CONTENTS OF CERTIFICATE 

The act requires a certificate of title to contain: 
1. the date it was created; 
2. the owner of record’s name and mailing address and, if not all owners are 

listed, an indication that there are additional owners in DMV’s files; 
3. the hull identification number; 
4. a description of the vessel, including the information the owner must 

submit in the application; 
5. the name and mailing address of the secured party of record, if any, and, if 

there are unlisted secured parties, an indication that there are other security 
interests in DMV’s files;  

6. all title brands indicated in DMV files including those from a certificate 
created by another jurisdiction that was delivered to DMV (the certificate 
must state the jurisdiction that created the title brand or the certificate 
containing it and, if the title brand’s meaning is not readily ascertainable 
or cannot be accommodated, state “previously branded in (name of 
jurisdiction)”); and 

7. other information the DMV commissioner requires. 
The act permits DMV to note on a certificate the name and mailing address of 

a secured party that is not a secured party of record. DMV must indicate on the 
certificate that the vessel was registered or titled in a foreign country if 
information in DMV’s files indicates it. 

The act requires a written certificate of title to contain a form that (1) allows 
all owners indicated on the certificate to sign to consent to a transfer of an 
ownership interest and (2) includes a certification, signed under penalty of false 
statement, that the statements made are true and correct to the best of each 
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owner’s knowledge, information, and belief. 

Statement About Security Interests 

The act requires a certificate of title to state that the vessel may be subject to 
security interests not shown on the certificate when (1) Connecticut becomes the 
vessel’s state of principal use in place of another state, (2) the vessel was not a 
documented or foreign-documented vessel immediately before the certificate 
application, and (3) the vessel’s immediately previous state of principal use did 
not issue or does not require a certificate of title for the vessel.  

§§ 8 & 11 — WRITTEN OR ELECTRONIC CERTIFICATES 

The act imposes the following rules on creating written or electronic 
certificates. 

1. If DMV creates electronic certificates of title, it can only issue a written 
one on application by the secured party of record (the secured party 
indicated in DMV’s files or the first secured party indicated if there is more 
than one) or, if none, owner of record (the owner indicated in DMV’s files 
or the first owner indicated if there is more than one). 

2. DMV must send a written certificate to the secured party or owner of 
record at the person’s address in DMV’s files. 

3. DMV must send a record evidencing an electronic certificate to the owner 
of record and, if there is one, secured party of record, at the person’s 
mailing address or any electronic address indicated. 

4. Creating a written certificate cancels an electronic certificate and DMV 
must maintain the date and time of cancellation in its files. 

5. A person holding a written certificate must surrender it to DMV before 
DMV can create an electronic certificate. 

6. If DMV creates an electronic certificate, it must destroy or cancel the 
surrendered written certificate and maintain the date and time of 
destruction or cancellation in its files. If a written certificate is not 
destroyed, DMV must indicate on the certificate’s face that it has been 
cancelled. 

§ 12 — CERTIFICATE AS EVIDENCE OF OWNERSHIP 

The act makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of the accuracy of the 
information in it and a certified copy of it prima facie evidence of ownership in a 
criminal proceeding. 

§ 17 — INACCURATE OR INCOMPLETE INFORMATION 

A certificate of title or other record required or authorized by the act is 
effective even if it contains incorrect information or does not contain required 
information, subject to the law regarding priority of security interests in goods 
covered by a certificate of title. 
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§ 21 — REPLACEMENT CERTIFICATES 

When a written certificate of title is lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed, 
unavailable, or illegible, the act allows the secured party of record or, if there is 
none in DMV’s files, the owner of record, to apply for a replacement certificate. 
The application must be signed and, except as otherwise permitted by DMV, meet 
the requirements for an original application. It must include the existing certificate 
unless it is unavailable. 

The act requires a replacement certificate to contain the same information as 
an original, with an indication that it is a replacement. If a person receiving a 
replacement certificate subsequently obtains the original written certificate, he or 
she must destroy the original. 

§§ 10 & 33 — DOCUMENTS AND INFORMATION IN DMV FILES 

For each record relating to a certificate of title, the act requires DMV to 
maintain (1) the hull identification number and (2) all the information submitted 
with the application to which the record relates, including the date and time the 
record was delivered to DMV. DMV must maintain the files for public inspection 
and index them. 

DMV must maintain in its files (1) the information contained in all certificates 
it creates, searchable by the vessel’s number, hull identification number, owner of 
record’s name, and any other method DMV uses; (2) all title brands and names of 
secured parties and people claiming an ownership interest that DMV knows 
about; and (3) all stolen-property reports received. 

The act requires DMV to give federal, state, or local governments the 
information in its files relating to any vessel for which it issued a certificate, on 
request, for safety, security, or law-enforcement purposes. 

The act makes information in a certificate of title a public record and allows 
DMV to disclose records related to vessels and their certificates of title. The law 
otherwise limits when DMV may disclose personal information or permit 
inspection of motor vehicle records containing personal information. 

§ 24 — DMV RETENTION OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 

The act requires DMV to retain: 
1. the evidence used to determine the accuracy of information in its files 

relating to the current ownership of a vessel and the information on the 
certificate of title and 

2. all information received regarding a security interest in a vessel for at least 
10 years after receiving a termination statement for the security interest, 
with the information accessible by hull identification number and other 
methods DMV uses. 

§ 24 — REQUESTS TO DMV FOR INFORMATION  

The act requires DMV to send or make available in a record certain 
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information to anyone who requests it and pays all applicable fees. Generally, 
DMV must disclose whether its files include a certificate of title, security interest, 
termination statement, or title brand for a vessel identified by a hull identification 
or vessel number or owner. The information must be as of a date and time 
specified by DMV, but no more than 10 calendar days before receiving the 
request. For a request related to a vessel, DMV must provide: 

1. the name and address of any owner or secured party in the files or on the 
certificate of title, the effective date of information related to a secured 
party, and a copy of any termination statement in the files and its effective 
date and 

2. a copy of any vessel certificate of origin, secured party transfer statement, 
transfer-by-law statement, and other evidence of previous or current 
transfers of ownership. 

The act allows DMV to provide requested information in any medium but, on 
request and payment of fees, must provide it in a written document. 

Acknowledgment of Submissions 

The act allows a person who submits a record or information to DMV to 
request an acknowledgment of the submission. DMV must send an 
acknowledgment showing the (1) hull identification number of the vessel to 
which the record or submission relates, (2) information in the filed record or 
submission, and (3) date and time the record was received or the submission was 
accepted. The request must contain the hull identification number and be 
delivered by DMV-authorized means. 

§ 28 — DMV FEES 

The act sets various DMV fees and charges, as displayed in Table 1. The act 
exempts from these fees vessels (1) leased to a state agency or (2) owned by the 
state, a state agency, or a municipality. 

Table 1: DMV Fees Created by the Act 
Document or Service Fee 

Application for certificate of title $25 
Security interest or assignment of one noted on 
a certificate or maintained in the electronic title 
file 

$10 

Record copy search $20 
Application for a replacement certificate (but a 
fee for the duplicate certificate is not required) 

$25 

Filing (1) notice of a security interest, (2) 
assignment of a security interest, or (3) 
termination statement relating to a security 
interest 

$10 

Filing (1) secured party’s transfer statement or 
(2) transfer-by-law statement 

$25 

Filing application for transfer of ownership or 
termination of a security interest without a 
certificate of title 

$25 

Certificate of search of DMV records, for each $20 
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name or hull identification number searched 
Search of a vessel certificate of title record, 
when requested by someone other than the 
vessel’s owner of record 

$20 

Certified copy of any document, information, or 
record maintained or created by DMV 

$20 

 
The act requires DMV to collect a penalty equal to the amount of the required 

fee if an application, certificate, or other document which the act requires to be 
delivered to DMV is not delivered within 10 days after its due date. 

§§ 29-31 — DMV PROCEEDINGS, RULES, AND REGULATIONS  

The act requires the DMV commissioner to prescribe and provide suitable 
forms for applications, certificates of title, notices of security interests, and all 
other notices and forms necessary to carry out the act’s provisions. 

To carry out the act’s provisions, the commissioner can (1) conduct necessary 
investigations to procure required information and (2) adopt and enforce 
reasonable rules. 

The act requires the commissioner to adopt regulations about including title 
brands on certificates of title. The commissioner must consider whether special 
branding categories like “hull damaged” should be included. The act allows the 
commissioner to adopt regulations to (1) implement the act’s provisions and (2) 
place additional indications on a certificate concerning the condition or status of a 
vessel’s title.  

These regulations must provide an opportunity for a hearing for anyone 
aggrieved by any DMV action, omission, or decision. Under the act, an aggrieved 
person (1) is entitled to an administrative hearing on request and (2) can appeal to 
the Superior Court in the judicial district of New Britain after completing the 
administrative proceedings. 

§ 14 — SECURITY INTERESTS IN VESSELS 

By law, a creditor’s interest (a “security interest”) can attach to the debtor’s 
property. A secured party who “perfects” his or her security interest has priority 
over other parties, such as a creditor who gets a judicial lien, bankruptcy trustee, 
and others who later take a security interest in the collateral.  

Under the act, a security interest in a vessel is generally the same as for other 
secured transactions. The act specifies that it does not include the special property 
interest of a buyer of a vessel on identification of that vessel to a contract for sale, 
but the buyer may also acquire a security interest by complying with the secured 
transaction laws. Except as provided in other law, the act provides that a seller’s 
or lessor’s rights under the Uniform Commercial Code to retain or acquire 
possession of the vessel is not a security interest, but he or she may acquire a 
security interest by complying with the secured transactions law. The retention or 
reservation of title by a seller of a vessel notwithstanding shipment or delivery to 
the buyer under the Uniform Commercial Code’s provisions is limited to a 
reservation of a security interest.  
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Previously, a security interest in a vessel was usually perfected by filing a 
financing statement in the secretary of the state’s office. The act instead requires 
filing an application with DMV (1) for a certificate of title or (2) to add a security 
interest to a certificate already created by DMV.  

For an application for a certificate of title, the act specifies that identifying 
someone as owner, lessor, consignor, or bailor alone does not make someone a 
secured party. 

When a DMV-issued certificate of title already exists, the act allows DMV to 
set the application form for perfecting an interest but requires it to include the 
owner’s or secured party’s signature and the: 

1. owner of record’s name; 
2. secured party’s name and mailing address; 
3. vessel’s hull identification number; and 
4. certificate, if DMV created a written one. 

When Security Interest Perfected 

Under the act, perfection occurs on the later of the application’s delivery and 
payment of applicable fees to DMV or attachment of the security interest under 
the law of secured transactions. 

New Certificate 

On delivery of an application and payment of applicable fees, the act requires 
DMV to create a new certificate and deliver it in the same way it creates an 
original certificate. DMV must maintain in its files the date and time of an 
application’s delivery to the department. 

Assignment 

Under the act, if a secured party assigns a perfected security interest in a 
vessel, DMV need not receive a statement providing the assignee’s name as a 
secured party to continue the perfected status of the security interest against 
creditors of, and transferees from, the original debtor. But a purchaser who 
obtains a release from the secured party indicated in the DMV files or on the 
certificate takes the vessel free of the security interest and the transferee’s rights 
unless the transfer is indicated in DMV’s files or on the certificate. 

Exceptions from the Security Interest Requirements 

The act excludes from these provisions security interests in a vessel: 
1. that is inventory (a) held for sale or lease by the person creating the 

interest or (b) leased by the person as lessor if the person is in the business 
of selling vessels; 

2. for which a certificate of title is not permitted; or 
3. before delivery, if the vessel is under construction, or completed, pursuant 

to contract and for which no application for a certificate has been 
delivered to DMV. 
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Other Provisions 

The act preserves perfection of a security interest for four months or until it is 
perfected under the act, whichever is sooner, when (1) a certificate of 
documentation for a documented vessel is deleted or cancelled and (2) a security 
interest in the vessel was valid, immediately before deletion or cancellation, 
against a third party as a result of compliance with federal law. 

For certain types of security interests in a vessel, the act specifies that the 
interest is perfected on attachment but becomes unperfected when the debtor 
possesses the vessel, unless the security interest was perfected before then under 
the act. This applies to Uniform Commercial Code provisions governing 
reservations of security interests after passage of title or a seller’s shipment of 
goods and a buyer’s or lessee’s security interest on rejection of goods. 

The act requires provisions of other secured transactions law to apply to 
security interests (1) in a vessel as proceeds of other collateral or (2) perfected 
under the law of another jurisdiction. 

§ 15 — TERMINATION STATEMENT BY SECURED PARTY 

Under the act, a security interest ceases to be perfected when a termination 
statement authorized by the secured party is delivered to DMV. The act sets the 
following rules for these termination statements. 

1. A secured party must deliver a termination statement on a DMV-prescribed 
form to DMV and, on the debtor’s request, to the debtor, within (a) 20 days 
after receiving a signed demand for a termination statement from an owner, 
when there is no obligation secured by the vessel and no commitment to 
make advances, incur obligations, or give value secured by the vessel or (b) 
if the vessel is a consumer good, 30 days after there is no obligation 
secured by the vessel and no commitment to make advances, incur 
obligations, or give value secured by the vessel. 

2. When a termination statement is required and the secured party has a 
DMV-issued written certificate of title, the secured party must deliver the 
certificate to the debtor or DMV with the statement. If the certificate is lost, 
stolen, mutilated, destroyed, unavailable, or illegible, the act requires the 
secured party to deliver with the statement an application for a replacement 
certificate. 

3. If the security interest was indicated on the certificate of title, DMV must 
create a new certificate and deliver it or a record evidencing an electronic 
certificate. DMV must maintain in its files the date and time the statement 
was delivered.  

4. A secured party who does not comply with these requirements is liable for 
(a) any loss that the secured party had reason to know might result from 
failure to comply and that could not reasonably have been prevented and 
(b) the cost of an application for a certificate of title. 

The act allows the DMV commissioner to require a secured party to submit a 
termination statement electronically. 
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§ 27 — SECURITY INTERESTS CREATED BEFORE JANUARY 1, 2016 

A security interest enforceable before January 1, 2016 (the date the act takes 
effect) that has priority over the rights of someone who becomes a lien creditor at 
that time is a perfected security interest under the act. Under the act, a “lien 
creditor” is a creditor with a lien on the vessel by attachment, levy, or similar 
means; an assignee for benefit of creditors from the time of assignment; a 
bankruptcy trustee from the date the petition is filed; or a receiver in equity from 
the time of appointment. 

A security interest in a vessel required to have a certificate of title under the 
act that is perfected before January 1, 2016 remains perfected until (1) the time 
perfection would end under the law that created the perfection or (2) January 1, 
2019, whichever is earlier. 

The act does not affect the priority of a security interest that was enforceable 
and perfected and had its priority established before January 1, 2016. 

§ 23 — RIGHTS OF SECURED PARTIES 

The act provides that perfection, nonperfection, and priority of a security 
interest with respect to a purchaser’s or creditor’s rights, including a lien creditor, 
are governed by the Uniform Commercial Code with the following exception. 

If a security interest in a vessel is perfected under the act’s provisions and 
DMV creates a certificate of title that does not indicate that the vessel is subject to 
the security interest or contain a statement that it may be subject to security 
interests not indicated on the certificate: 

1. a buyer of the vessel, other than someone in the business of selling or 
leasing vessels of that kind, takes it free of the security interest if the 
buyer, acting in good faith and without knowledge of the security interest, 
gives value and receives possession of the vessel and 

2. the security interest is subordinate to a conflicting security interest in the 
vessel perfected under the act’s provisions after creation of the certificate 
and without the secured party’s knowledge of the conflicting security 
interest. 

§§ 16 & 18-20 — TRANSFERS 

§ 16 — Voluntary Transfer of Ownership Interest 

The act sets the following rules for voluntarily transferring an ownership 
interest in a vessel covered by a certificate of title.  

1. If the certificate of title is written and notes the transferor’s interest, the 
transferor must sign it and deliver it to the transferee. If the transferor does 
not possess the certificate, the person who does must help the transferor 
comply with this requirement. A secured party does not have a duty to do 
so if the security agreement prohibits the proposed transfer. 

2. If the certificate of title is electronic, the transferor must sign and deliver to 
the transferee a record showing the transfer of ownership. 

3. The transferee can require the transferor to perform these duties to meet 
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these requirements. 
Creating a certificate of title that identifies the transferee as the owner of 

record satisfies the act’s requirements. 
Failing to comply with these provisions or apply for a new certificate does not 

make the transfer ineffective. But, except as otherwise provided by the act, a 
transfer that does not comply with these provisions is not effective against another 
person claiming an interest in the vessel. 

The act provides that a transferor who complies with these provisions is not 
liable as an owner for events occurring after the transfer, regardless of whether the 
transferee applies for a new certificate of title. 

§ 18 — Secured Party’s Transfer Statement 

The act allows a secured party to file a “secured party’s transfer statement” 
with DMV when the secured party of record (the first secured party indicated in 
DMV’s files) has a right to transfer ownership in the vessel due to default on an 
obligation. 

Under the act, the secured party must sign the statement which indicates: 
1. there has been a default on an obligation to the secured party of record 

secured by the vessel; 
2. that party is exercising or has exercised post-default remedies with respect 

to the vessel and, as a result, has the right to transfer an owner’s interest 
(and must state the owner’s name); 

3. the name and last-known mailing address of the owner of record and the 
secured party of record; 

4. the transferee’s name; 
5. other information that the act requires in an application for a certificate; 

and 
6. that either the (a) certificate of title is electronic or (b) the secured party is 

delivering the written certificate of title to DMV with the transfer 
statement or does not possess the written certificate created in the owner 
of record’s name. 

After delivery of the statement to DMV, and payment of fees and taxes other 
than under the act, connected with the statement or the acquisition or use of the 
vessel, the act requires DMV to: 

1. accept the statement; 
2. amend its files to reflect the transfer; and 
3. if the name of the owner whose ownership interest is being transferred is 

indicated on the certificate of title, (a) cancel the certificate even if it has 
not been delivered to DMV, (b) create a new certificate with the transferee 
as owner, and (c) deliver the new certificate or a record evidencing an 
electronic certificate. 

The act allows DMV to reject a secured party’s transfer statement if (1) the 
application does not comply with the act’s or existing law’s requirements, (2) the 
application lacks information to determine whether the applicant is entitled to a 
certificate, or (3) there is a reasonable basis to conclude that the application is 
fraudulent or issuance would facilitate fraud or illegal acts. 



O L R  P U B L I C  A C T  S U M M A R Y  

 Page 13 of 16  

An application for or the creation of a certificate of title under these 
provisions does not dispose of the vessel or relieve the secured party of its duties 
under the law on secured transactions. 

§ 19 — Transfer by Operation of Law 

The act allows a transferee to sign a “transfer-by-law statement” stating that 
he or she has acquired or has the right to acquire an ownership interest in a vessel 
pursuant to law or judicial order (1) because of death, divorce, or other family law 
proceeding, merger, consolidation, dissolution, or bankruptcy; (2) by exercising 
the rights of a lien creditor or a person having a lien created by statute or rule of 
law; or (3) through some other legal process. 

Under the act, the statement must contain: 
1. the name and last-known mailing address of the owner of record and 

transferee and other information required in an application for a 
certificate; 

2. documentation sufficient to establish the transferee’s ownership interest or 
right to acquire the ownership interest; 

3. a statement that the (a) certificate of title is electronic or (b) transferee is 
delivering the written certificate to DMV with the statement or does not 
possess the written certificate created in the name of the owner of record; 
and 

4. except for transfers because of death, divorce, or other family law 
proceeding, merger, consolidation, dissolution, or bankruptcy, evidence 
that notification of the transfer and the intent to file the statement has been 
sent to all people indicated in DMV’s files as having an interest, including 
a security interest, in the vessel. 

The act requires DMV to accept the statement after delivery and payment of 
fees and taxes, except for those under the act. DMV must also: 

1. amend its files to reflect the transfer and 
2. if the name of the owner whose interest is being transferred is indicated on 

the certificate of title, (a) cancel the certificate even if it has not been 
delivered to the department, (b) create a new certificate indicating the 
transferee as owner, (c) indicate on the new certificate any security interest 
indicated on the cancelled certificate, unless a court order provides 
otherwise, and (d) deliver the new certificate or a record evidencing an 
electronic certificate. 

The act allows DMV to reject a transfer-by-law statement for the same 
reasons it may reject a secured party’s transfer statement or if the statement does 
not include satisfactory documentation as to the transferee’s ownership interest or 
right to acquire the ownership interest. 

The act specifies that these provisions do not apply to a transfer of an interest 
in a vessel by a secured party on default. 

§ 20 — Application for Transfer of Ownership or Termination of Security Interest 
Without Certificate 

If DMV receives an application for a new certificate due to transfer of 
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ownership or a termination statement from a secured party, without a signed 
certificate, the act allows DMV to create a new certificate if the: 

1. act’s requirements for creating a certificate are met; 
2. applicant provides an affidavit showing he or she is entitled to a transfer of 

ownership or termination statement; 
3. (a) applicant provides satisfactory evidence in a DMV-prescribed form 

that notification of the application was sent to the owner of record and all 
people indicated in DMV’s files as having an interest in the vessel, (b) at 
least 45 days have passed since notice was sent, and (c) DMV has not 
received an objection; and 

4. applicant submits any other information DMV requires as evidence of 
ownership or the right to terminate a security interest and there is no 
credible information of theft, fraud, or an undisclosed or unsatisfied 
security interest, lien, or other claim to an interest in the vessel. 

The act requires DMV to indicate on a new certificate that it was created 
without having a signed certificate or termination statement. If DMV does not 
receive credible information of theft, fraud, or an undisclosed or unsatisfied claim 
within one year after creating the certificate, it must remove the indication from 
the certificate on request in a form and manner it requires. 

Before creating a new certificate for a vessel with a value of at least $5,000 as 
determined by DMV, the act allows DMV to require the applicant to post a bond 
or provide an indemnity or security equal to twice the vessel’s value. The bond, 
indemnity, or security must be in a form required by DMV and provide for 
indemnification of any owner, purchaser, or claimant for any expense, loss, delay, 
or damage. This includes reasonable attorney’s fees and costs but not incidental or 
consequential damages from creating or amending the certificate. 

If DMV does not receive a claim within one year of creating a certificate, the 
act requires it to release any bond, indemnity, or security on request in a form and 
manner it requires. 

§§ 3-4, 13, & 25-27 — APPLICATION OF THE ACT’S PROVISIONS 

The act provides the following rules for applying its provisions. 
1. The act applies to any transaction, certificate of title, or record relating to a 

vessel, even if the transaction was entered into or the document was created 
before January 1, 2016. 

2. The rights, duties, and interests from a transaction, certificate of title, or 
record relating to a vessel that was validly entered into or created before 
January 1, 2016 that would have been subject to the act’s provisions if 
occurring after that date, remain valid. 

3. The act does not affect an action or proceeding begun before January 1, 
2016. 

4. Unless the act’s provisions provide otherwise, the principals of law and 
equity supplement them. 

The act specifies that: 
1. possession of a certificate of title does not, by itself, provide a right to 

obtain possession of a vessel; 
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2. garnishment, attachment, levy, replevin, or other judicial process against 
the certificate is not effective to determine possessory rights to the vessel; 

3. it does not prohibit enforcement under other law of a security interest in, 
levy on, or foreclosure of a lien on a vessel; and 

4. absence of an indication of a lien on a certificate does not invalidate the 
lien. 

In applying and construing its provisions, the act requires consideration of the 
need to promote uniformity with respect to its subject matter among states that 
have enacted the uniform provisions. 

The act provides that it modifies, limits, and supersedes the federal Electronic 
Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act (E-SIGN). But it does not (1) 
modify, limit, or supersede E-SIGN’s provisions on consumer disclosures (such 
as when consumers are considered to have consented to electronic disclosures) or 
(2) authorize electronic delivery of specified notices that are not subject to E-
SIGN. 

§ 22 — BUYERS IN THE ORDINARY COURSE OF BUSINESS 

The act provides that a buyer in the ordinary course of business has certain 
protections under the Uniform Commercial Code even if (1) an existing certificate 
of title has not been signed and delivered to the buyer or (2) a new certificate 
listing the buyer as owner of record was not created. The protections concern (1) 
goods entrusted to a merchant with power to transfer rights to a buyer in the 
ordinary course of business and (2) buyers in the ordinary course generally taking 
goods free of a security interest created by the seller even if the security interest is 
perfected and the buyer knows about it. 

Except as otherwise provided in the act, the act specifies that the rights of a 
vessel’s purchaser, who is not a buyer in the ordinary course of business or a lien 
creditor, are governed by the Uniform Commercial Code.  

§ 32 — PENALTIES FOR FRAUD 

The act punishes, with one to five years in prison, a fine of $500 to $1,000, or 
both, anyone who, with fraudulent intent:  

1. alters, forges, or counterfeits a certificate of title;  
2. alters or forges an assignment of a certificate of title or an assignment or 

release of a security interest or a termination statement, on a certificate of 
title or DMV form;  

3. possesses or uses a certificate of title knowing it is altered, forged, or 
counterfeited; or  

4. uses a false or fictitious name or address, makes a material false statement, 
fails to disclose a security interest, or conceals any other material fact in an 
application for a certificate of title. 

The act punishes, with up to two years in prison, a fine of up to $1,000, or 
both, anyone who: 

1. with fraudulent intent, permits someone who is not entitled to do so to use 
or possess a certificate of title;  
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2. willfully fails to deliver an application for a certificate to DMV within 10 
days after the time required by the act;  

3. willfully fails to deliver to a transferee a certificate of title within 10 days 
after the time required by the act; or  

4. willfully violates any of the act’s provisions where the act does not 
otherwise provide a criminal penalty.  
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