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QUESTIONS 

What are Connecticut’s licensure requirements for barbers and hairdressers, 

including applicants currently licensed in other states?  Does the state offer 

apprenticeship programs for these professions? 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut has regulated barbers and hairdressers since 1949. Currently, the 

Department of Public Health (DPH) issues one license to barbers and another to 

hairdressers and cosmeticians. Separate laws govern each license category (CGS 

Chapter 386 for barbers; CGS Chapter 387 for hairdressers and cosmeticians). But, 

the law allows licensed hairdressers to work in barbershops and, conversely, 

licensed barbers to work in hairdressing shops (CGS § 20-248).  

The law establishes similar application requirements for both licenses. Applicants for 

both must pay a $100 fee and pass a DPH-prescribed exam. Additionally: 

1. barbers must complete (a) the eighth grade or pass an equivalency exam 
and (b) at least 1,000 hours of approved coursework and  

2. hairdressers must complete (a) the ninth grade or pass an equivalency 

exam and (b) at least 1,500 hours of approved coursework (PA 14-231). 

The law generally allows a person licensed as a barber or hairdresser in another 

state or U.S. territory or possession to become licensed in Connecticut by 

endorsement (i.e., without examination) if the other jurisdiction required an exam, 

education, and training for a license.  The fee for licensure by endorsement in 

Connecticut is $100 for barber applicants and $50 for hairdresser applicants. 

Hairdresser applicants trained in other countries must show that they have similar 

training to Connecticut’s requirements and pass an exam.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_386.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_386.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_386.htm#sec_20-248
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=231&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=8
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Currently, the state does not offer apprenticeship programs for barbers or 

hairdressers.  In 2013, the legislature passed a bill (Special Act 13-12) requiring 

the Connecticut State Apprenticeship Council, in consultation with the DPH 

commissioner, to study the feasibility of establishing a barbershop apprenticeship 

program within the Labor Department. We contacted the council regarding the 

status of this report, but did not receive a response.    

BARBER AND HAIRDRESSER LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

Below, we summarize the licensure requirements for barbers and hairdressers.  

More information is available on DPH’s website. 

In order to obtain a DPH license, an applicant must: 

1. have graduated (a) eighth grade for barbers, (b) ninth grade for 
hairdressers, or their equivalent (DPH’s website explains how a person 
can show equivalency, including passing the General Educational 
Development (GED) test or other specified examinations); 

 
2. for barbers, have successfully completed at least 1,000 hours of study in 

a barber school approved by the Connecticut State Board for Barbers, 
Hairdressers, and Cosmeticians, or if trained outside the state, in a school 
with equivalent requirements to those of a Connecticut school;  

 
3. for hairdressers, have successfully completed at least 1,500 hours of 

study in a hairdressing and cosmetology school meeting specified 
requirements, under the supervision of the State Board of Education, or if 
trained outside of the state, in a school with equivalent requirements to 
those of a Connecticut school; 

 
4. pass a written DPH-prescribed examination; and 
 
5. pay a $100 fee. 

 
The application forms are available online.  Licenses must be renewed every two 
years for the same fee (CGS § 20-253). 

 

Licensure By Endorsement 

A person licensed (1) as a barber or hairdresser or (2) to perform similar services in 

another state, the District of Columbia, or a U.S. commonwealth or territory can be 

licensed without examination, if the other jurisdiction required education, training, 

and an exam for licensure.  The fee is $100 for barber applicants and $50 for 

hairdresser applicants. The fee is waived for an applicant who has held a barber 

license from another jurisdiction for at least 40 years. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&bill_num=12&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=17
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389526&dphNav_GID=1821
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389526&dphNav_GID=1821
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-253
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Licensure by endorsement is not available to an applicant who is the subject of 

pending professional disciplinary action or an unresolved complaint (CGS § 20-

254). 

Foreign-Trained Hairdresser Applicants and Guest Permits 

According to DPH’s website, foreign-trained hairdresser applicants may qualify for 

licensure if they meet the requirements for licensure by examination or by 

endorsement.  According to a representative of DPH’s licensing division, an 

applicant licensed in another country would have to provide information verifying 

his or her training or education; if it was determined to be inadequate compared to 

Connecticut’s requirements, the applicant would need to take additional training or 

education. The applicant must also complete a Connecticut exam.  

The law also allows someone licensed as a hairdresser or cosmetologist by another 

state, the District of Columbia, a U.S. territory, or another country to obtain a 

temporary guest permit to work at a hairdressing or cosmetology educational show 

or demonstration limited to Connecticut licensees. The permit is valid for the 

duration of the show or demonstration and cannot exceed one week. The permit fee 

is $25 (CGS § 20-255a). (There are no similar provisions for barber applicants.) 

Disciplinary Action and Penalties 

Anyone who practices without a license, or violates other provisions of the barber or 

hairdresser and cosmetician laws for which no other penalty is provided, is subject 

to a $100 fine for a first offense.  A subsequent offense is a class D misdemeanor, 

punishable by up to 30 days in prison, a fine of up to $250, or both (CGS § 20-

265).   

DPH can revoke the license of a person convicted of violating any provision of the 

barber or hairdresser and cosmetician laws.  The department can also take its full 

range of disciplinary action against a licensee for (1) drug or alcohol abuse and (2) 

physical, emotional, or mental illness or loss of motor skill. For licensed 

hairdressers, DPH can also take such action for (1) fraud or deception in obtaining a 

license; (2) fraud or material deception in professional services or activities; and 

(3) illegal, incompetent, or negligent conduct in professional activities.  DPH must 

give notice and an opportunity for a hearing before revoking or suspending a 

license (CGS §§ 20-238 & 20-263).  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-254http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-254http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389336
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-255a
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-265
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-265
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_387.htm#sec_20-263
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LINKS 

DPH, Barber Licensure (last visited July 17, 2014): 

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=521220  

DPH, Hairdresser Licensure (last visited July 17, 2014): 

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389338&dphNav_GID=1821 

 
ND:ts 

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=521220
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389338&dphNav_GID=1821

