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QUESTIONS  

Does Connecticut require landscapers to be licensed?  Which states require 

landscape contractors to be licensed? 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut does not require landscapers to be licensed.  But “landscaping” falls 

within the definition of “home improvement” and home improvement contractors 

doing work above certain monetary thresholds must register with the Department 

of Consumer Protection (DCP) (CGS § 20-419).  A contractor does not have to 

register if the total price for an improvement is less than $200 and less than $1,000 

for all of his or her contracts in a 12-month period. 

We identified five states that require landscape contractors to be licensed.  These 

are California, Hawaii, Mississippi, Nevada, and Utah.  All of these states define 

landscaping differently.  Thus, the purpose for which a license is required varies 

from state-to-state, as do the license fees and penalties for violations.  All five 

states have minimum experience and examination requirements for licensure.  

CONNECTICUT 

Connecticut only requires home improvement contractors to register with DCP and 

annually pay (1) a $120 registration fee (CGS § 20-421) and (2) $100 to the Home 

Improvement Guarantee Fund, which was established to reimburse people unable 

to recover losses suffered because a registered contractor failed to fulfill a contract 

(CGS § 20-432). 

CALIFORNIA 

California defines a “landscape contractor” as someone who constructs, maintains, 

repairs, installs, or subcontracts the development of landscape systems and 

facilities for public and private gardens and other areas designed to aesthetically, 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_400.htm#sec_20-419
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_400.htm#sec_20-421
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_400.htm#sec_20-432
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architecturally, horticulturally, or functionally improve the grounds within or 

surrounding a structure or a tract or plot of land. A landscape contractor also 

prepares and grades plots and areas of land for the installation of any architectural, 

horticultural, and decorative treatment or arrangement (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16 § 

832.27). 

Anyone seeking to be licensed as a landscape contractor must submit an application 

to the California Department of Consumer Affairs along with a $300 fee (Cal. Code 

Regs. tit. 16 § 811).  He or she must also have four years’ experience, within the 

last 10 years immediately before the application, at a journey level or as a 

foreman, supervising employee, contractor, or owner-builder. The experience must 

be verified by a qualified and responsible person, such as a homeowner, employer, 

fellow employee, journeyman, contractor, union representative, building inspector, 

architect, or engineer (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16 § 825).  Comparable knowledge or 

training may be substituted for experience (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16 § 826). 

California also requires landscape contractors to pass a landscaping-specific exam 

(Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16 § 840).  (For California’s landscaping contractor 

examination study guide, see 

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/StudyGuides/C27StudyGuide.pdf.) 

Penalties for violations of pertinent laws vary depending on severity and other 

factors, but can range from a civil fine of $100 to $5,000 (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16 § 

884).  

HAWAII 

Hawaii defines a “landscaping contractor” as someone who: 

1. prepares plots of land for architectural horticulture;  

2. provides decorative treatment and arrangement of gardens, lawns, and 
other vegetation;  

3. constructs conservatories, hot and greenhouses, drainage and sprinkler 
systems, among other things; and 

4. places hydro-mulching for ground cover and for soil containment, which 

includes installing certain irrigation control wiring (Haw. Code R. Chapter 
77, Exhibit A, Specialty Contractor Classifications). 

 

Anyone seeking to be licensed as a landscape contractor must submit an application 

to the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs with a $50 

application fee, $75 examination fee, and a $415 or $545 license fee depending on 

the application date (http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/faqs/contractor_faq.pdf).  

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/StudyGuides/C27StudyGuide.pdf
http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/faqs/contractor_faq.pdf
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An applicant must have, within the 10 years immediately before the application, at 

least four years of experience in the particular classification he or she intends to 

work (Haw. Code R. § 16-77-18).  The contracting board may accept training or 

other equivalent knowledge or experience to satisfy the experience requirement 

(Haw. Code R. § 16-77-20).  An applicant is also generally required to take and 

pass a written examination testing his or her knowledge in landscaping (Haw. Code 

R. § 16-77-40). 

The contracting board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a license for any 

violation of the contracting provisions.  It may also impose a bond, fine, or other 

condition that is acceptable to all interested parties (Haw. Code R. § 16-77-63). 

MISSISSIPPI  

Mississippi defines “landscape gardening” as horticultural and floricultural work, 

which is receiving fees for landscaping and setting of plants or selling any plants for 

which there is a contract for future services (Miss. Code Ann. § 69-19-5). 

An applicant for a license must have: 

1. graduated from an accredited college or university with at least 15 
semester hours in landscaping or its equivalency, 

2. obtained at least two years of college or university training with special 
training in landscaping, 

3. graduated from high school and have one year’s experience with a 
licensed landscaper within the past two years, or 

4. proof that he or she has at least two years’ experience with a licensed 

landscaper within the past three years (2-1-3 Miss. Code R. § 11.04). 
 

Anyone seeking a landscape horticulturist license must submit an application to the 
Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce.  There is no fee for taking the 
examination or for the license.   

 
Applicants must take a written examination that covers the professional services 

provided as a landscape contractor.  The examination may be waived if the 
applicant is (1) licensed by a state with similar standards or (2) a licensed 
landscape architect (2-1-3 Miss. Code R. § 11.04). 

 
Penalties for violations vary depending on severity and other factors, but can be up 

to a civil fine of $5,000 (2-1-3 Miss. Code R. § 07). 
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NEVADA  

Nevada defines a “landscape contractor” as anyone who:  

1. grades and prepares land for architectural horticulture;  
2. decoratively treats, arranges, plants, and maintains gardens, lawns, 

shrubs, and other vegetation;  
3. constructs drainage and landscape irrigation systems;  

4. installs rocks, sand, and other landscape material; 
5. controls soil erosion;  
6. installs non-engineered landscape ponds or other objects; and 

7. installs certain walkways and patio areas (Nev. Admin. Code § 624.280). 
 

Anyone seeking a license as a landscape contractor must submit an application to 
the Nevada State Contractors’ Board along with a $300 application fee and a $600 
license issuance fee (Nev. Admin. Code § 624.130). 

 
An applicant must submit, among other things, four notarized certificates 

supporting his or her landscaping experience (Nev. Admin. Code § 624.590).  He or 
she must also take an examination administered by an independent testing service.  
The landscape contracting board may waive the test if it determines the applicant 

has enough experience or qualifications to justify granting the license without 
examination (Nev. Admin. Code § 624.600). 

 
Penalties for violations vary depending on severity and other factors, but can be up 

to a civil fine of $50,000 (Nev. Admin Code § 624.7251).   

UTAH 

Utah defines a “landscaping contractor” as someone who: 

1. grades and prepares land for architectural, horticultural, or decorative 
treatment; 

2. arranges and plants gardens, lawns, shrubs, and other vegetation; 
3. constructs small decorative pools, tanks, fountains, and other structures; 

4. constructs certain retaining walls, except those intended to hold 
structures or other equipment; and 

5. constructs certain patio areas (Utah Admin. Code R156-55a). 

 

Anyone seeking a license as a landscape contractor must submit an application to 

the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing along with a $210 

licensing fee (http://dopl.utah.gov/apps/contractor_2014-02-10.pdf).  

Utah generally requires an applicant for licensure to have a minimum of two years’ 

experience within the last 10 years under the general supervision of a licensed 

contractor.  This experience must be directly related to landscaping, but the 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing may substitute a passing 

http://dopl.utah.gov/apps/contractor_2014-02-10.pdf
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examination score for outdated experience (Utah Admin. Code R156-55a-

302b(1)(f)).  An applicant must sign an affidavit verifying his or her experience 

before sitting for any examination (Utah Admin Code R156-55a-302a(4)(a)). 

An applicant must pass two examinations, including a general Utah Contractor 

Business Law examination and a landscaping contractor specific examination (Utah 

Admin. Code R156-55a-302a).  

Penalties for violations vary depending on severity and other factors, but can be up 

to a civil fine of $4,000 (Utah Admin. Code R156-55a-503). 
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