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ISSUES  

When did Connecticut adopt its ban on hunting within 

500 feet of an occupied building, and was there any 

public comment about it? What do New York and the 

other New England states require for hunting distance 

from an occupied building? 

SUMMARY 

Language about discharging hunting devices within 

certain distances from buildings entered Connecticut 

statute in 1955 (PA 535). The act authorized the State 

Board of Fisheries and Game to adopt hunting 

regulations that could, among other things, prohibit 

discharging firearms and other hunting devices within 

specified distances of buildings (CGS § 26-66). 

The board adopted regulations on August 15, 1955 that 

prohibited hunting, discharging firearms, or carrying 

loaded firearms within 500 feet of a building (1) 

occupied by people or domestic animals or (2) used to 

store flammable or combustible material. They also 

prohibited discharging a firearm toward a person, 

building, or domestic animal when within range. 

The hunting regulations were published in the 

Connecticut Law Journal on September 27, 1955. While 

they have been amended numerous times since 1955, 

they still contain the 500-foot requirement (see side 

box). 

CONNECTICUT’S BAN ON 

HUNTING NEAR 

OCCUPIED BUILDINGS 

Connecticut regulations 

generally prohibit a person 

from hunting with firearms, 

discharging firearms, or 

carrying loaded firearms 

within 500 feet of a building 

occupied by people or 

domestic animals or used to 

store flammable or 

combustible materials, 

unless the person has, and 

carries with him or her 

while hunting, written 

permission from the 

building’s owner allowing 

hunting from closer 

distances. (The ban does 

not apply to landowners or 

their spouses or lineal 

descendants when hunting 

within 500 feet of buildings 

owned by them.) The 

regulations also ban 

discharging any hunting 

weapon toward a person, 

building, or domestic animal 

when they are within range 

(Conn. Agencies Reg., § 26-

66-1(d) & (e)).  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_490.htm#sec_26-66
http://www.sots.ct.gov/sots/lib/sots/regulations/title_26/066.pdf
http://www.sots.ct.gov/sots/lib/sots/regulations/title_26/066.pdf
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According to the legislative history of the 1955 act, there was no public comment 

about the hunting distance from buildings requirement. State agencies are the 

repository of records, including public comments, for proposed regulations from 

that era. The Legislative Library contacted the Department of Energy and 

Environmental Protection (DEEP) for historical records about the original 

regulations. Should DEEP provide any public comment related to the 1955 

regulation, we will update this report. 

New York and the other New England states each legislate hunting distance from 

occupied buildings, but in varying ways. In general, all but Vermont prohibit 

hunting within a specified distance from occupied buildings: Maine – 100 yards; 

Massachusetts – 500 feet; New Hampshire – 300 feet; New York – 500 feet 

(firearm), 250 feet (crossbow), or 150 feet (long bow); and Rhode Island – 500 

feet. Vermont authorizes property owners to establish a 500-foot no hunting safety 

zone around occupied buildings. 

SELECTED STATES 

Maine 

In Maine, it is generally unlawful to discharge a firearm or crossbow, or cause a 

projectile to pass, within 100 yards of a building or residential dwelling without 

permission from the owner, or in the owner’s absence, an adult occupant (Me. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 11209).  Under the law, “building” means any residential, 

commercial, retail, educational, religious, or farm structure designed to be occupied 

by people or domestic animals or used to shelter machines or harvested crops. 

“Projectile” includes a bullet, pellet, shot, shell, ball, bolt, or other object propelled 

or launched from a firearm or crossbow. 

Massachusetts 

Massachusetts law prohibits a person from possessing a loaded firearm or hunting 

by any means on another person’s land within 500 feet of a dwelling in use, unless 

allowed by the dwelling’s owner or occupant (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 131, § 58). 

New Hampshire 

In New Hampshire, it is illegal to discharge a firearm or shoot with a bow and arrow 

or crossbow and bolt within 300 feet of a permanently occupied dwelling without 

permission from the (1) dwelling’s owner or occupant or (2) owner of the land on 

which the person is situated (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 207:3-a). 
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New York 

New York law generally prohibits anyone from discharging a firearm within 500 

feet, a crossbow within 250 feet, or a long bow within 150 feet from an occupied or 

used dwelling house, farm building, or farm structure; school building; school 

playground; public structure; or occupied factory or church. The ban does not apply 

to an owner or lessee of a dwelling house, immediate family members, or 

employees or guests acting with the consent of the owner or lessee (N.Y. Envtl. 

Conserv. Law § 11-0931). 

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island law prohibits anyone, while hunting or pursuing wild birds or animals, 

from discharging a firearm or other deadly weapon within 500 feet of any (1) 

dwelling house, residence, or other building occupied by human beings or (2) barn, 

stable, or other building used in connection with them, without the owner’s or 

tenant’s permission (R.I. Gen. Laws § 20-13-7). 

Vermont 

In Vermont, hunting on private property is generally allowed unless the property is 

properly posted to prohibit it. The law allows a property owner to establish a 500-

foot safety zone around an occupied dwelling, residence, barn, stable, or other 

building by posting signs provided by the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department. The 

signs must (1) contain the words “safety zone, shooting prohibited” and (2) be 

placed at each corner of the property and no more than 200 feet apart. A person 

cannot discharge a firearm or take a wild animal from within a safety zone without 

the owner’s or occupant’s advance permission (Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, § 4710). 

JKL:ts 


