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QUESTION  

What are the laws and associated penalties in 

southern U.S. states for heatstroke-related 

deaths resulting from leaving a child in a vehicle 

unattended?  How many such fatalities occurred 

in those states in the past five years? Is there a 

correlation between the incidents and associated 

penalties?  

SUMMARY 

For this report, we examined laws and data for 

Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, 

Mississippi, New Mexico, and Texas. Of these 

states, three (Florida, Louisiana, and Texas) 

specifically criminalize the act of leaving a child 

unattended in a motor vehicle. The Texas and 

Louisiana laws have been in place for over a 

decade; the Florida law took effect in January, 

2013. The other five states do not specifically criminalize this behavior, but they all 

have laws under which, depending on the circumstances, someone may be charged 

when a child dies after being left unattended in a hot vehicle.  These include 

murder, manslaughter, and risk-of-injury to a minor statutes.  

From 2009-2013, a reported 100 children died in these states after being left 

unattended in a hot vehicle, according to the University of San Francisco’s 

Department of Earth and Climate Sciences. Because of the limited data and the 

limited number of statutes that specifically address this issue, we were unable to 

determine whether there is a correlation between the severity of the penalty and 

HEAT STROKE DEATHS 

According to the University of 

San Francisco’s Department of 

Earth and Climate Sciences, 

from 1998-2014, 623 children 

in the U.S. died from 

heatstroke after being left 

unattended in vehicles (an 

average of 38 children per 

year). 

Approximately 30% of those 

children were under age one 

when they died.  

Source: Heat Stroke Deaths of 

Children in Vehicles, University of 

San Francisco, Department of 

Earth and Climate Sciences. 
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the number of these deaths. But Texas, which had the most deaths (38), 

criminalizes leaving a child unattended (punishable by a $500 fine) while New 

Mexico, which had the fewest deaths (2), does not specifically criminalize this 

behavior.  

Please see OLR report 2014-R-0202 for relevant laws and data for New York and 

the New England states. 

LEGISLATION PROHIBITING LEAVING A CHILD UNATTENDED IN A 

VEHICLE 

Florida 

Under Florida law, it is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days 

in prison and a $500 fine, for a person responsible for a child under age six to leave 

the child unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle for more than 15 minutes. 

It is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable by a fine between $50 and $500, to 

leave the child unattended or unsupervised for any period of time if (1) the vehicle 

is running, (2) the child’s health is in danger, or (3) the child appears to be in 

distress.  It is a class C felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a 

$5,000 fine, if the action, in either case, results in great bodily harm, permanent 

disability, or permanent disfigurement to the child (Fla. Stat. § 316.6135). 

Louisiana 

Louisiana law prohibits a driver or vehicle operator from leaving a child under age 

six unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle. A child is (1) “unattended” if left 

in the vehicle when the driver or operator is more than 10 feet away and unable to 

continuously observe him or her and (2) “unsupervised” if left unattended and a 

person age 10 or older is not also in the vehicle.  A violation is punishable by up to 

six months imprisonment, up to a $500 fine, or both. Each subsequent violation is 

punishable by one to two years imprisonment (“with or without hard labor”), a fine 

between $1,000 and $2,000, or both  (La. Rev. Stat. § 295.3).  

Texas 

Under Texas law, it is a class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500, 

for a person to intentionally or knowingly leave a child in a vehicle for over five 

minutes, if the person knows that the child is (1) under age seven and (2) not in 

the vehicle with someone who is at least age 14 (Tex. Penal Code § 22.10). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/rpt/pdf/2014-R-0202.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=316.6135&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.6135.html
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=181442
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/PE/htm/PE.22.htm#22.10
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DATA ON CHILD HEATSTROKE DEATHS 

Table 1 shows five-year data (2009-2013) on reported heatstroke deaths of 

children left in vehicles in eight southern U.S. states.  

Table 1: Child Heatstroke Deaths (2009-2013) 

State Deaths 

 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Total 
Alabama 0 2 1 1 4 8 

Arizona 0 3 0 1 2 6 

Florida 9 6 2 3 5 25 

Georgia 0 3 3 0 0 6 

Louisiana 3 1 2 2 1 9 

Mississippi 0 1 1 2 2 6 

New Mexico 0 1 0 1 0 2 

Texas 6 13 9 5 5 38 
Source: Heat Stroke Deaths of Children in Vehicles, University of San Francisco, Department of Earth and Climate 

Sciences.  
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