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QUESTION  

What are the laws and associated penalties in New 

York and the New England states for leaving a child in 

a vehicle who dies from resulting heatstroke? How 

many children in those states died from heatstroke in 

the past five years after being left unattended in 

vehicles? Is there a correlation between these 

occurrences and the penalty associated with it?  

SUMMARY 

Of the New England states and New York, only 

Connecticut specifically criminalizes, in certain 

circumstances, the act of leaving a child in a vehicle unattended. The other states 

do not specifically criminalize this behavior. But every state, including Connecticut, 

has laws under which, depending on the circumstances, someone may be charged 

when a child dies after being left in a hot vehicle. These include murder, 

manslaughter, and risk on injury to a minor statutes. In Connecticut, the penalties 

for these crimes range from a class C felony (punishable by one to 10 years in 

prison, a fine of up to $10,000 , or both) for risk of injury to a minor to life in prison 

without the possibility of parole for murder with special circumstances.  

Although Rhode Island does not specifically criminalize leaving a child in a hot 

vehicle unattended, it authorizes police officers to issue verbal warnings in such 

circumstances. Also, Massachusetts is currently considering a bill that would subject 

a person to a fine for such an act.  

HEAT STROKE  

According to the federal 

Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention, heatstroke 

occurs when “the body’s 

temperature rises rapidly, the 

sweating mechanism fails, and 

the body is unable to cool 

down. Body temperature may 

rise to 106°F or higher within 

10 to 15 minutes. Heat stroke 

can cause death or permanent 

disability if emergency 

treatment is not provided.” 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/faq.asp
http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/extremeheat/faq.asp
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From 2009-2013, there have been a total of six reported child deaths in New York 

and New England resulting from the child being left unattended in a hot vehicle. 

None of the deaths occurred in Connecticut. (One child is suspected to have died in 

Connecticut under these circumstances in July 2014 but the death is still under 

investigation.) We were unable to draw a correlation based on the limited data 

between the severity of the penalty and the incidences of these deaths.  

LEGISLATION PROHIBITING LEAVING A CHILD UNATTENDED IN A 

VEHICLE 

Connecticut 

Under Connecticut law, it is a class A misdemeanor (punishable by up to a year in 

prison, up to a $2,000 fine, or both) to knowingly leave a child under age 12 

unsupervised in a motor vehicle for a time period that presents substantial risk to 

the child’s health or safety. It is a class C felony (punishable by one to 10 years in 

prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both) if the child is left between the hours of 

8:00pm and 6:00am (CGS § 53-21a). 

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island law authorizes law enforcement officers to issue a verbal warning to 

anyone who leave a child under age seven unattended in a motor vehicle. It 

prohibits the officer from imposing a fine or sanction for violating this law. It also 

specifies that law enforcement may not maintain a record of the warning (R.I. Gen 

Laws § 31-22-22.1). 

Massachusetts 

A bill currently before the Massachusetts Legislature imposes a fine on a person 

who leaves a child age eight or younger in a vehicle unaccompanied by a person at 

least age 14. It subjects violators to a $200 fine for the first offense and $500 for a 

second or subsequent offense (H.1261 (2014)). 

DATA ON CHILD HEATSTROKE DEATHS 

Table 1 lists five-year data (2009-2013) on reported heatstroke deaths of children 

left in vehicles in New York and New England.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_939.htm#sec_53-21a
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE31/31-22/31-22-22.1.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE31/31-22/31-22-22.1.HTM
https://malegislature.gov/Bills/188/House/H1261


July 15, 2014 Page 3 of 3 2014-R-0202 
 

Table 1: Child Heatstroke Deaths (2009-2013) 

State 
Deaths 

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Total 
Connecticut 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Maine 0 1 0 0 0 1 

Massachusetts 0 0 1 1 0 2 

New Hampshire 0 0 0 0 0 0 

New York 0 1 0 0 1 2 

Rhode Island 1 0 0 0 0 1 

Vermont 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Source: Heat Stroke Deaths of Children in Vehicles, University of San Francisco, 

Department of Geosciences.  
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