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QUESTION  

Provide an overview of Connecticut’s business tax structure. 

SUMMARY 

Businesses operating in Connecticut must pay various state and local taxes on the 

income they generate (e.g., corporation and personal income taxes); property they 

own, use, or transfer (e.g., property and conveyance taxes); goods and services 

they purchase (e.g., sales and motor fuels excise taxes); and people they employ 

(e.g., unemployment insurance tax).  Certain business entities, known as pass-

through entities, must also pay a business entity tax to operate in the state.  

Specified businesses must pay taxes on the earnings generated from certain 

business activities (e.g., distributing, refining, or importing certain petroleum 

products or providing certain utility services).   

For purposes of this report, we have excluded certain taxes businesses collect from 

people purchasing goods and services and remit to the state (e.g., excise taxes on 

tobacco and alcohol sales, admissions and dues taxes, and room occupancy taxes) 

and other taxes that apply to or affect specific types of businesses (e.g., hospital 

net patient revenue tax and dry cleaning tax). 

INCOME TAXES 

Corporation Income Tax 

Connecticut’s corporation tax applies only to businesses that are organized as “C” 

corporations and that do business in the state. It does not apply to other types of 

businesses organized as partnerships and limited partnerships, sole proprietorships, 

limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, or S corporations.  (These 

business entities are collectively referred to as “pass-through” entities, signifying 

that while they pay no corporation income tax, their owners pay personal income 

tax on the income they receive from the entity.) 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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Corporations must calculate tax liability in two ways. One method uses net income 

and the other the company’s “capital base” (outstanding stock, profits, and 

reserves). The net income calculation method uses the company’s federal taxable 

income as its starting point and therefore incorporates most federal income 

definitions, deductions, rules, and exclusions. 

Companies that do business in other states as well as Connecticut pay taxes only 

on the share of their net income or capital base attributable to Connecticut. They 

determine this share by apportionment formulas specified in Connecticut law that 

compare a company’s Connecticut operations with its overall operations. For most 

corporations, apportionment is based on three factors: sales, payroll, and property, 

with a double weight in the formula given to sales. For financial services companies, 

manufacturers, and broadcasters, apportionment is determined solely by their sales 

in Connecticut as a proportion of their national sales. 

For most corporations, the tax rate is 7.5% of net income or 3.1 mills per dollar of 

capital base, whichever produces the larger tax, but no less than $250.  Financial 

services companies, however, pay the greater of 7.5% of net income or $250.  For 

the 2012 through 2015 income years, a 20% tax surcharge applies to companies 

that have more than $250 in corporation tax liability and either (1) have at least 

$100 million in annual gross income in those years or (2) file combined or unitary 

returns. 

A company can reduce its tax bill by subtracting any corporation tax credits for 

which it may be eligible. But the reduction for credits is limited to 70% of its total 

liability and, in any event, every company must pay the minimum tax of $250 (CGS 

§ 12-213 et seq.). 

Personal Income Tax 

Rather than pay the corporate income tax, the owners, members, shareholders, 

and partners of pass-through entities doing business in the state must pay personal 

income taxes on their share of income the business generates. 

The tax applies to full-time residents who meet specific income thresholds or 

conditions and part-time residents and non-residents with income derived from 

sources within the state. The starting point for calculating the tax is the amount of 

federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) on a taxpayer’s federal tax return. 

Taxpayers make several additions or subtractions to federal AGI to determine the 

portion of their income subject to Connecticut’s income tax. For some filers, this 

amount is further reduced by a personal exemption. Taxpayers then apply tax rates 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#sec_12-213
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#sec_12-213
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that vary depending on the amount of taxable income and filing status.  There are 

six income brackets and six tax rates, ranging from 3% to 6.7%, as shown in Table 

1.   

Table 1: Connecticut Personal Income Tax Rates and Brackets 

TAX 
RATE 

CONNECTICUT TAXABLE INCOME 

Married Filing 
Jointly 

Single Head of Household 
Married Filing 

Separately 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But 
Not 
Over 

3.0% $0 $20,000 $0 $10,000 $0 $16,000 $0 $10,000 

5.0% 20,000 100,000 10,000 50,000 16,000 80,000 10,000 50,000 

5.5% 100,000 200,000 50,000 100,000 80,000 160,000 50,000 100,000 

6.0% 200,000 400,000 100,000 200,000 160,000 320,000 100,000 200,000 

6.5% 400,000 500,000 200,000 250,000 320,000 400,000 200,000 250,000 

6.7% Over $500,000 Over $250,000 Over $400,000 Over $250,000 

 

Taxpayers with CT AGI over certain thresholds are also subject to a (1) phase-out 

of the lowest tax bracket and (2) “benefit recapture” which eliminates the benefits 

they receive from having a portion of their taxable income taxed at lower marginal 

rates.  

The amount of tax a filer actually pays may be offset by credits, including credits 

for (1) income taxes paid to other states and jurisdictions, (2) businesses creating 

jobs, and (3) taxpayers investing in eligible start-up companies (CGS § 12-700 et 

seq.). 

For your further information, OLR report 2011-R-0383 provides a more detailed 

description of the personal income tax. 

Income Tax Withholding 

Businesses that operate in Connecticut and are considered employers for federal 

income tax withholding purposes must withhold Connecticut income tax from the 

wages they pay resident employees and nonresident employees who work in 

Connecticut and remit these amounts to the state (CGS § 12-707). 

Unrelated Business Taxable Income Tax 

Nonprofit tax-exempt organizations must pay state tax on any trade or business 

they conduct that does not “substantially relate” to their tax-exempt purpose (i.e., 

unrelated business taxable income).  The tax is paid at the same rate as the 

corporation income tax (CGS § 12-242aa, bb).   

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_229.htm#sec_12-700
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0383.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_229.htm#sec_12-707
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208a.htm
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BUSINESS ENTITY TAX 

Businesses organized as limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, limited 

liability companies, or S corporations are subject to the business entity tax if they 

were formed under Connecticut law or are foreign entities doing business in the 

state.  The tax is $250 every other year (CGS § 12-284b). 

PROPERTY TAX  

Businesses, like other property owners, must pay local property taxes on their real 

and tangible personal property.  Real property includes land and improvements that 

are permanently attached to land.  Personal property is all property that is not 

classified as real property, including machinery, equipment, furniture, fixtures, and 

motor vehicles.  The tax is based on a portion of the property’s fair market value 

(i.e., its assessment) and the town’s mill rate. 

Generally, most business property is subject to taxation.  However, state law 

requires towns to exempt a number of business-related personal property, in whole 

or part, from the property tax, including: 

1. manufacturing machinery and equipment (CGS § 12-81 (76)); 
 
2. manufacturer, wholesaler, and retailer business inventories (CGS § 12-81 

(50) & (54)); 
 

3. tools used in certain trades and occupations (CGS § 12-81 (36)-(38)); 
 

4. certain new trucks, truck tractors, tractors, and semi trailers used 

exclusively to haul freight for hire (CGS § 12-81 (74)); 
 

5. state-certified air pollution control equipment (CGS § 12-81 (52));  
 

6. commercial fishing vessels (CGS § 12-81 (61)); and 

 
7. farm machinery up to $100,000 and livestock (CGS §§ 12-81 (39)-(42) & 

12-91)). 

There are also a number of mandatory limited-time property tax exemptions 

targeted to specific business incentive zones.  For example, state designated 

enterprise zones, targeted investment communities (i.e., towns with enterprise 

zones), distressed municipalities, and other specified designated areas (e.g., 

enterprise corridor zones or the Bradley Airport Development Zone) must exempt 

real and personal property taxes for manufacturers, financial service firms, and 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_213a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-91
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other specified businesses that build, expand, or rehabilitate a facility and install 

new or newly acquired machinery and equipment in it (CGS § 12-81 (59) and (60)). 

In addition to these mandatory property tax exemptions, state law allows towns the 

option of offering business tax incentives for a wide range of economic development 

purposes.  OLR report 2011-R-0312 lists these local option exemptions. 

SALES AND USE TAX ON BUSINESS PURCHASES 

Tax Rate 

Businesses must pay state sales and use taxes on certain goods and services they 

purchase.  The 6.35% tax applies, with some exceptions, to retail sales of tangible 

personal property purchased in the state and specific services provided by 

companies doing business here.  There are several exceptions to the 6.35% rate, 

including certain “luxury” goods taxed at 7%, computer and data processing 

services taxed at 1%, short-term stays in hotels and lodging houses taxed at 15%, 

and short-term car rentals taxed at 9.35% (CGS § 12-406 et seq.). 

Taxable Goods  

With the exception of “sale for resale” transactions (i.e., wholesale sales), 

businesses must pay sales and use taxes on the items they purchase or lease.  

Building contractors, for example, generally must pay sales and use tax on 

materials, supplies, and equipment used in their construction contracts (as well as 

charge sales tax on their services when appropriate) (see DRS’ Building 

Contractors’ Guide to Sales and Use Taxes for additional information). 

But there are certain exemptions for business inputs purchased by manufacturers, 

fabricators, and processors.  They include: 

1. machinery used directly in the manufacturing production process, 

including repair, replacement, component, or enhancement parts for the 
machinery (CGS § 12-412 (34)); 
 

2. materials that become an ingredient or component part of the products to 
be sold (CGS § 12-412 (18)); 

 
3. tools, fuel, and materials used directly in an industrial plant in the actual 

fabrication of finished products to be sold (CGS § 12-412 (18));  

 
4. calibration services for manufacturing machinery, equipment, or 

instrumentation (CGS § 12-412 (104)); and 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0312
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-406
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubsip/2006/ip06-35.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubsip/2006/ip06-35.pdf
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412
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5. materials, tools, fuel, machinery, and equipment used in manufacturing 
that is not otherwise eligible for a sales tax exemption (exemption applies 

to 50% of the gross receipts from such items) (CGS § 12-412i). 

The Department of Revenue Services (DRS) Sales and Use Taxes Guide for 

Manufacturers, Fabricators, and Processors provides detailed information on these 

and other exemptions applicable to such businesses.  

Taxable Services 

The sales and use tax applies to services specifically enumerated in the statutes, 

including several services purchased primarily by businesses (so called “business-

to-business” services).  They include: 

1. computer and data processing services (taxed at 1%); 
 

2. business analysis, management, management consulting, and public 
relations; 

 

3. advertising and public relations not related to developing media or direct 
mail advertising; 

 
4. credit information and reporting; 

 
5. employment agencies and agencies providing personnel services; 

 

6. telephone answering services; 
 

7. lobbying or consulting services for representing a client’s interests in 
relation to any governmental body; 

 

8. maintenance and janitorial services; 
 

9. window cleaning services; 
 

10.sales agent services for selling tangible personal property; and 

 
11.piped-in music provided to business or professional establishments (CGS 

§ 12-407 (a)(37)). 

However, the sales tax does not apply to services between two affiliated 

businesses.  To qualify, one of the businesses participating in the transaction must 

own a controlling interest in the other or a third person or company must own a 

controlling interest in both of them (CGS § 12-412 (62)). 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412i
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubsip/2009/ip09-13.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubsip/2009/ip09-13.pdf
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-407
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-407
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_219.htm#sec_12-412
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CONVEYANCE TAXES 

Real Estate Conveyance Tax  

With certain exceptions, businesses that sell or transfer real property valued at 

$2,000 or more must pay the state’s real estate conveyance tax.  The tax has two 

parts: a state tax and a municipal tax.  The applicable state and municipal rates are 

combined to get the total tax rate for a particular transaction.  The seller pays the 

tax. 

The state portion of the tax is 0.75% of (1) the first $800,000 of the sale price of a 

residential property and (2) the full sale price of unimproved land and certain bank 

foreclosures for mortgage delinquencies.  A 1.25% rate applies to (1) sales of 

nonresidential property other than unimproved land (e.g., commercial real estate) 

and (2) any portion of the sale price of a residential dwelling that exceeds 

$800,000. 

The municipal portion of the tax is 0.25% for all towns, plus an additional tax of up 

to 0.25% in 18 towns that are permitted by law to impose this additional rate. 

An additional tax of up to 10% applies if the property is transferred within 10 years 

after receiving the statutory tax benefit granted to farmland, open space, forest, 

and maritime heritage property (“490 program”).  Such classified property is 

assessed based on its current use, rather than its fair market value, which could 

result in a lower tax bill (CGS § 12-494 et seq.). 

Controlling Interest Transfer Tax  

A business that owns certain real property in the state must pay a tax on any sale 

or transfer of a “controlling interest” in the business.  In a corporation, a 

“controlling interest” means more than 50% of the total voting power of its stock.  

For other business entities, “controlling interest” means more than 50% of the 

capital, profits, or beneficial interest in the entity. 

The tax applies to any person or business transferring a controlling interest in a 

corporation, partnership, association, trust, LLC or other entity that owns, directly 

or indirectly, an interest in Connecticut real property with a value of at least 

$2,000.  The tax is 1.11% of the sale or transfer, with 1% going to the state and 

0.11% to the town in which the real property is located, and is payable by the 

person or business selling or transferring the controlling interest.   

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_223.htm#sec_12-494
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As with the real estate conveyance tax, an additional tax applies if the entity has an 

interest in “490 program” property that is transferred within 10 years after its 

classification (CGS § 12-638a et seq.). 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX 

Connecticut businesses are liable for unemployment insurance taxes depending on: 

(1) the amount of wages they paid that are included in their taxable wage base, (2) 

the amount of unemployment benefits paid to their workers (the experience rate), 

and (3) the solvency of the unemployment trust fund (the fund balance rate). Since 

2011, the state’s employers must also repay the principal and interest on loans 

from the federal government.   

To calculate its UI tax liability, the employer multiplies its taxable wage base by its 

wage rate.  Connecticut’s taxable wage base is currently $15,000, meaning that the 

first $15,000 of every covered employee’s salary is taxable.  An employer’s tax rate 

is determined by adding its experience rate and fund balance rate.  The experience 

rate is based on a three year ratio of the employer’s benefit charges to its payroll 

and ranges from 0.5% to 5.4%.  The fund balance rate is based on the state’s 

unemployment trust fund’s solvency and is set each year by the labor 

commissioner.  The rate can reach a maximum of 1.4%, which is the current fund 

balance rate.  Thus, under current requirements, an employer’s total tax rate can 

be between 1.9% and 6.8%. 

Employers must also pay a special assessment to repay the principal and interest 

on loans the federal government made to Connecticut when its unemployment trust 

fund became insolvent in 2009.  The assessment is currently $1 per thousand 

dollars of taxable payroll (about $15 per full-time employee).  Annual special 

assessments will continue until the loans are repaid in full.   

In addition to the state’s UI tax and special assessment, employers must also pay a 

federal tax to help pay the costs of administering the federal unemployment 

account trust fund (FUTA) (CGS § 31-222 et seq.) 

OTHER BUSINESS TAXES 

Fuel Taxes 

Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax.  The motor vehicle fuel tax is levied on fuel distributors, 

but it is passed through to consumers at the pump.  Businesses must pay the tax 

on the same basis as other consumers.  The tax on gasoline and gasohol is 25 cents 

per gallon.  The tax on diesel is currently 54.5 cents per gallon and is comprised of  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_228b.htm#sec_12-638a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_567.htm#sec_31-222
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two parts: (1) a flat base rate of 29 cents per gallon and (2) a variable rate based 

on the average wholesale per-gallon price of diesel for the prior year and the 

petroleum products gross earnings tax rate in effect for the upcoming year starting 

every July 1 (CGS § 12-455a et seq.). 

Petroleum Products Gross Earnings Tax.  Companies refining, distributing, 

or importing petroleum products in Connecticut must pay a tax on their gross 

earnings from the first sale of certain petroleum products within the state.  Taxable 

products include gasoline, aviation fuel, kerosene, diesel fuel, number 2 heating oil, 

greases, lubricants, mineral oils, and motor oil.  The tax is 8.1% of the revenue 

from the initial sale, but taxable gross earnings from first sales of gasoline and 

gasohol are limited to the first $3 per gallon. 

Other businesses who purchase taxable petroleum products from a retailer are not 

liable for paying the tax, but the cost of the tax payment is likely reflected in the 

retail price (CGS §12-587 et seq.). 

Motor Carrier Road Tax.  Motor carriers operating qualified motor vehicles in 

Connecticut must pay a tax on the fuel they use in the state.  The tax rate is 

equivalent to the Connecticut motor vehicle fuels tax rate.  Motor carriers receive a 

credit for any motor vehicle fuels tax paid on fuel purchases in the state (CGS § 12-

478 et seq.). 

Insurance Premiums Tax 

Insurance companies must pay a 1.75% annual tax on the total net direct 

premiums they receive from policies written on property or risks in Connecticut.  

Health care centers (e.g. health maintenance companies or HMOs), with certain 

exceptions, must also pay a 1.75% annual tax on the total net direct subscriber 

charges they receive on any new or renewal contract or policy approved by the 

insurance commissioner.  Any insured in Connecticut who obtains insurance from 

an unauthorized insurer (an insurance company not licensed to do business in the 

state) must pay an annual tax of 4% of gross premiums charged for the insurance 

and applicable to the risks or exposures located in Connecticut (CGS § 12-201 et 

seq.) 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_221.htm#sec_12-455a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_227.htm#sec_12-587
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_222.htm#sec_12-478
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_222.htm#sec_12-478
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_207.htm#sec_12-201
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Public Service Companies Tax 

The public service companies tax applies to gross earnings from certain utility 

companies.  Tax rates are: 

1. for community antenna TV system companies, certified competitive video 
service providers, and satellite TV companies, 5.25% (including 0.25% 

tax used to fund the public, educational, and governmental programming 
and education technology investment account) (CGS §§ 12-256 et seq. & 

16-331cc); 
 

2. for electric companies, 8.5% for nonresidential customers and 6.8% for 

residential customers (CGS § 12-264 et seq.);  
 

3. for gas companies, 4% for residential customers and 5% for all other 
customers, less certain deductions (CGS § 12-264 et seq.); and  

 

4. for railroad companies, 2% to 3.5% (CGS § 12-249 et seq.). 

 
RP:ts 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_211.htm#sec_12-256
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_289.htm#sec_16-331cc
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_209.htm#sec_12-246
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_209.htm#sec_12-246
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_210.htm#sec_12-249

