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MASTER TEACHER CERTIFICATION  

  

By: Marybeth Sullivan, Legislative Analyst II 

 

 

QUESTIONS  

Has Connecticut addressed master teacher certification 

in recent legislation or law? Have any other states 

created this certificate? 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut has a “distinguished educator 

designation,” which teachers who hold the highest 

level teaching certificate may voluntarily pursue. This 

designation is similar to other states’ master teacher 

certification programs because it honors teachers for 

classroom experience and post-graduate education, 

and it gives them the opportunity to pursue additional 

mentorship duties. However, unlike some states, it 

does not provide any additional pay to those who earn 

it. 

In addition to this designation, established in PA 12-

116, §§ 37 & 38, the General Assembly has considered other variations of master 

teacher programs. Over the past 25 years, legislation has proposed master teacher 

programs that select skilled educators to assist in evaluating and mentoring other 

classroom teachers. It also has proposed a program that extends master teachers’ 

certification validity for those who have demonstrated expertise in a particular 

subject area. 

At least eight other states have some type of master teacher certification 

designation or program. 

 

CONNECTICUT’S PROGRAM 

Connecticut’s master teacher 

program, referred to in statute 

as the “distinguished educator 

designation,” is available to 

teachers who: 

 have taught for at least 

five years, 

 hold a professional 

educator certificate, 

 have an advanced 

education beyond a 

master’s degree, and 

 meet certain performance 

requirements established 

by the State Board of 

Education (CGS § 10-
145s). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=12-116&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=17&SUBMIT1.y=16
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=12-116&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=17&SUBMIT1.y=16
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_166.htm#sec_10-145s
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_166.htm#sec_10-145s


April 30, 2014 Page 2 of 5 2014-R-0128 
 

CONNECTICUT DISTINGUISHED EDUCATOR DESIGNATION 

State law requires the State Board of Education (SBE) to award a renewable 

distinguished educator designation to applying teachers who: 

1. completed at least five years of teaching in a public school or SBE-

approved private special education facility; 

2. earned professional educator certification, the highest Connecticut 

teaching certificate; 

3. acquired additional, advanced education beyond a master’s degree from a 

degree- or non-degree-granting institution, possibly in mentorship or 

teacher coaching; and 

4. met other performance requirements that the State Department of 

Education (SDE) establishes, with special consideration given to 

demonstrated distinguished practice. 

Teachers must pay a $200 nonrefundable fee when applying for this certificate 

designation, which the education commissioner can waive if the applicant 

demonstrates an inability to pay. The designation is renewable every five years if 

SDE or another approved entity verifies continued distinguished practice (CGS § 

10-145s(b)-(c)). 

CONNECTICUT MASTER TEACHER LEGISLATION 

Over the past 25 years, the General Assembly has occasionally considered 

establishing a master teacher program in Connecticut in various bills. Table 1 

describes three bills that proposed different types of master teacher programs and 

certificates.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_166.htm#sec_10-145s
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Table 1: Previous Master Teacher Legislation 

Bill Proposal Outcome 

sSB 524 (1989) Requires SBE, within available appropriations, to do a 
feasibility study on establishing a master teacher and 
evaluation program in public schools. 
The program would allow experienced teachers to evaluate 
and assist classroom teachers and develop curriculum. 

Senate passed; House 
recommitted to Education 
Committee 

sHB 5350 (2012) Requires the education commissioner to establish 
incentives, within available appropriations, for teachers who 
demonstrate improvement in kindergarten through grade 
three student reading. 
Incentives may include: 

1. master teacher designation for those who 
significantly improve student reading skills and 

2. an option to delay certification expiration for any 
teacher designated as a master teacher. 

House took no action 

Proposed Bill 401 (2013) Create a master teacher model to assist administrators in 
conducting written teacher performance evaluations. 

Referred to Education 
Committee; no action 

 

MASTER TEACHER CERTIFICATION IN OTHER STATES 

At least eight other states have some form of master teacher certificate or 

program. Six of these require teachers to become nationally certified or complete 

an additional rigorous state assessment process before earning the master teacher 

title (Alaska, Colorado, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, and Wisconsin). Others assign 

master teacher honors to those who teach in a particular subject area (New York, 

Texas) or have taught a number of years and show evidence of student 

achievement (Georgia). Table 2 describes each state’s program, eligibility 

requirements, financial or professional benefits, and associated laws.  
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Table 2: Master Teacher Certificates and Programs in Other States 

State Certificate / Program Eligibility Requirements 
Financial / Professional  

Benefits 
Associated 

Law 

Alaska Master Teacher 
Certificate 

 Hold either a current Alaska initial or professional 
certificate 

 Meet all professional certificate requirements 

 Hold current national certification issued by the National 
Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) 
Certification 

 Complete application and fees 

 Master teacher certificate is valid for 10 
years, instead of five (professional) or 
three (initial) 

Not applicable 

Colorado Master Teacher 
Certificate 

 Hold a valid Colorado professional teacher license 

 Demonstrate advanced teaching competencies or 
expertise by attaining NBPTS certification 

 Master teacher certificate extends the 
professional license from five to seven 
years 

CRS § 22-60.5-
112.5  

Georgia Master Teacher 
Certification Program 

 Teach full-time in Georgia public schools for at least three 
years under a Clear Renewable Certificate 

 Show evidence of student achievement and progress 

 Master Teacher designation is listed on 
the teaching certificate for up to seven 
years 

Ga. Code Ann. § 
20-2-205 
 

Nebraska Master Teacher Program  Complete at least three years teaching in a public or 
private Nebraska school accredited by Nebraska’s 
Department of Education 

 Hold a current Nebraska teaching certificate 

 Attain a national credential  

 Annual $5,000 salary bonus, up to a 
statewide total of $1 million, within 
available appropriations (reduced 
equally among teachers if statewide 
total exceeds $1 million) 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 
79-8,124 to 79-
8,131 

New York New York State Master 
Teacher Program for 
Science, Technology, 
Engineering, and 
Mathematics (STEM) 
 

 Teach full-time in a public New York high school with 60% 
of classroom hours in STEM disciplines 

 Participate in at least 50 hours of participation in Master 
Teacher-sponsored programming each school year 

 Receive an “effective” or “highly effective” rating on the 
annual performance evaluation 

 Remain in good standing at school and demonstrate 
professional educator qualities 

 $15,000 stipend per year over four 
years for participation in the program 
(total compensation $60,000 per 
teacher) 

 Peer mentoring and intensive content-
oriented professional development 
opportunities 

Not applicable 

Teachers of Tomorrow: 
New York State Master 
Teacher Program 

 Possess NBPTS certification 

 Work full-time in a low-performing public school  

 Serve for at least one year, or possibly up to three years 
with certain evaluation ratings 

 Initial annual award of $10,000, 
renewable for two additional years with 
an “effective” or “highly effective” 
evaluation rating, for a maximum of 
$30,000 

 Award is additional to the teacher’s 
base salary 

N.Y. Education 
Law § 3612(6) 
(McKinney 2014) 

http://education.alaska.gov/TeacherCertification/master.html
http://education.alaska.gov/TeacherCertification/master.html
http://cde.state.co.us/cdeprof/master_teacher
http://cde.state.co.us/cdeprof/master_teacher
http://www.gamasterteachers.org/
http://www.gamasterteachers.org/
http://www.education.ne.gov/legal/webrulespdf/clean22.pdf
https://www.suny.edu/MasterTeacher/
https://www.suny.edu/MasterTeacher/
https://www.suny.edu/MasterTeacher/
https://www.suny.edu/MasterTeacher/
https://www.suny.edu/MasterTeacher/
http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/resteachers/documents/2013-17totrfp.pdf
http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/resteachers/documents/2013-17totrfp.pdf
http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/resteachers/documents/2013-17totrfp.pdf
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Table 2 (continued) 
 

State Certificate / Program Eligibility Requirements 
Financial / Professional  

Benefits 
Associated 

Law 

Ohio Master Teacher Program  Hold a valid professional teaching license or certificate 

 Complete at least seven years of teaching 

 Work at least 120 days during the current school year 
under contract 

 Achieve exemplary scores in four out of five areas in the 
Ohio Standards for the Teaching Profession 

 Eligibility for an advanced license 

 5% pay supplement applied to salary 
base 

Ohio Rev. Code 
Ann.  
§ 3319.61,  
§ 124.181(L)(4) 

Texas Master Teacher 
Certificates 
 

 To be eligible for a master teacher certificate in reading, 
mathematics, technology, or science, teachers must:  
- hold a teaching certificate, 
- complete specified preparation courses,  
- have at least three years of teaching experience, and 
- pass an examination 

 Opportunities to mentor other teachers Tex. Education 
Code Ann. §§ 
21.0481-21.0484 

Wisconsin Master Educator License 
 

 Master’s degree 

 Hold, or qualify to hold, a professional educator license 

 Formal assessment by a team of three educators 

 Demonstration of exemplary classroom performance 

 Complete either NBPTS certification or the Wisconsin 
master educator assessment process 

 Master Educator License is valid for 10 
years instead of five, and is renewable 
(initial and professional licenses)  

Wis. Admin Code 
Pl 34.19 

 

 

MS:am 

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Professional-Development/Master-Teacher
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index.aspx?id=5742
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index.aspx?id=5742
http://tepdl.dpi.wi.gov/licensing/master-educator-license

