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QUESTION  

Do any states offer tax incentives to encourage 

trucking companies to ship freight by barge or ferry 

rather than on state highways? 

SUMMARY 

An online search found no state statute meant to 

encourage trucking companies to ship freight by water 

rather than by road. However, Virginia offers a tax 

credit to cargo owners who transport by barge or rail 

rather than by road.  

At least four states, including Georgia, North Carolina, 

South Carolina, and Virginia, provide indirect 

incentives for increased port use by offering tax credits 

to taxpayers who increase the volume of goods they 

ship through their ports. We briefly describe these 

laws below. 

We also attach OLR Report 2010-R-0305, which includes information about other 

port-specific tax incentives. 

 WHAT IS A TEU? 

A TEU is a standard unit for 

measuring a ship’s carrying 

capacity or a port’s handling 

capacity. Some states award 

tax credits to businesses that 

increase the number of TEUs 

they ship through the state’s 

ports. 

TEU, which stands for 

“twenty-foot equivalent unit,” 

refers to the dimensions of the 

containers in which cargo is 

often stored so that it can be 

more efficiently handled.  

A TEU container is commonly 

20 feet long by 8 feet wide by 
8 feet, 6 inches high.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2010/rpt/2010-R-0305.htm
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VIRGINIA’S BARGE AND RAIL USAGE CREDIT 

Virginia offers a barge and rail usage tax credit for eligible cargo owners who ship 

by barge or rail rather than by truck. The credit is $25 per “20-foot equivalent unit 

(TEU)” or for each 16 tons of non-containerized cargo, moved by barge or rail in 

excess of that shipped by barge or rail during the immediately preceding taxable 

year. (A TEU is a measurement unit based on the dimensions of the containers (20’ 

x 8’ x 8’6”) in which cargo is frequently shipped.) 

The taxpayer can claim the credit against the state’s individual or corporate income 

taxes, tax on estates and trusts, bank franchise tax, insurance premiums tax, or 

tax on public service corporations. The credit is available for tax years from January 

1, 2011 through December 31, 2016. 

The tax commissioner cannot issue more than $1.5 million in these tax credits in a 

fiscal year. Unused credits can be carried forward for five years (Code of Virginia § 

58.1-439.12:09).  

The Virginia Port Authority and the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Marine 

Administration have tracked the amount of money these credits have saved so far 

in reduced highway congestion and road maintenance costs, as shown in Table 1, 

below. 

Table 1: Traffic Congestion and Highway Maintenance Savings 

Measure 2011 2012 January 

through June 

2013 

Trips Avoided 8,772 16,810 6,468 

Total Avoided Vehicle Miles Traveled 912,288 1,748,240 672,672 

Congestion Savings $219,861 $421,326 $162,114 

Maintenance Savings $293,757 $562,933 $216,600 

Total Savings $513,618 $984,259 $378,714 

Cumulative Savings 2011 through June 

2013 

N/A N/A $1,876,591 
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PORT CARGO VOLUME INCREASE TAX CREDITS 

Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia offer tax credits to taxpayers 

who substantially increase the volume of goods they ship through their ports. 

Georgia, South Carolina, and Virginia measure the volume in terms of cargo. North 

Carolina measures volume in terms of wharf use and handling fees. 

Georgia 

Georgia offers “tax credit bonus awards” to new or expanding Georgia companies 

that increase imports or exports through a Georgia port by at least 10% over the 

previous year. The company must have base-year traffic of at least 75 net tons, 

five containers, or 10 TEUs. If the company’s base year traffic is less than that, the 

above figures become the base on which increases are calculated. 

Unused credits can be carried forward for up to 10 years, as long as traffic remains 

above the minimum levels (Georgia Statutes § 48-7-40.15 and 15A). 

North Carolina 

North Carolina offers taxpayers income tax credits for increased use of the ports at 

Morehead City and Wilmington. The credit is earned on cargo wharfage and 

handling fees, and is the amount by which the current year’s fees exceed the 

average fees for the current and the two preceding taxable years.  Taxpayers can 

carry forward unused credits for five years. A taxpayer cannot claim cumulative 

credits of more than $2 million (North Carolina Statutes §105-130.41, but repealed 

for taxable years starting January 1, 2014). 

South Carolina  

South Carolina offers a tax credit to taxpayers who increase the volume of port 

cargo over their base year volume by at least 5% in a single calendar year. The 

state Coordinating Council for Economic Development determines the credit. The 

maximum amount of port cargo credits for all qualified taxpayers is $8 million per 

year. 

In 2013, South Carolina expanded the types of businesses eligible for the credit. In 

addition to those engaged in warehousing, manufacturing, or distribution, eligible 

businesses now include those engaged in freight forwarding, freight handling, goods 

processing, cross-docking (receiving and shipping goods with little or no storage 

time), transloading (transferring goods from one form of transportation to another), 

or wholesaling of goods through South Carolina ports (South Carolina Statutes § 

12-6-3375, as amended by Bill H.3557). 
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Virginia  

Virginia offers a tax credit to taxpayers engaged in the manufacture of goods or 

distribution of manufactured goods (including processed agricultural products) that 

increase their port cargo volume by at least 5% in a single calendar year over their 

base year cargo volume. The credit is $50 per TEU in excess of the base-year cargo 

volume. 

Under the law, the base year is either (1) 2011 or (2) the first year a company 

moved 10 containers or 75 non-containerized tons through Virginia ports. The state 

may waive the volume increase requirement for a major facility located in Virginia 

projected to import or export freight through a port in excess of 25,000 TEUs in its 

first calendar year. Taxpayers may claim the credit against their individual or 

corporate income tax. Virginia generally sets the annual cap per taxpayer at 

$250,000, but may increase or decrease it depending on available funding. The 

maximum amount of credits for all eligible taxpayers in a calendar year is $3.2 

million. Taxpayers may carry unused credits forward for five years (Code of Virginia 

§ 58.1-439.12:10). 

 

PF:ro 


