Location:
LICENSING - REAL ESTATE;

OLR Research Report


REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON AND BROKER LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

By: Janet Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney

ISSUE

What are the requirements for obtaining real estate salesperson and broker licenses, including fees and reciprocity, in the 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia?

SUMMARY

All but nine of the U.S. states and the District of Columbia license real estate salespersons, who work for brokers. All of the jurisdictions license real estate brokers.

In most jurisdictions, salesperson license applicants must:

1. be at least age 18,

2. hold a high school diploma or its equivalent,

3. be of good moral character,

4. complete mandatory pre-licensing education specific to real estate, and

5. be competent to transact business as evidenced by passing a written examination.

At least 14 jurisdictions require newly licensed salespersons to complete some number of post-licensing education hours during the first year of licensure. In addition, at least 23 jurisdictions require applicants to submit to a background check or to have no prior convictions in order to be licensed.

Broker applicants are generally required to meet the same requirements as a salesperson, plus have (1) more extensive education and (2) prior real estate experience (often at least two years of experience as a salesperson).

In order to renew licenses, most jurisdictions require salespersons and brokers to complete a specified number of mandatory continuing education hours within the prior license period. Most jurisdictions issue licenses for a two-year period.

The initial and renewal license fees vary widely from one jurisdiction to another. And the majority of states offer some type of license reciprocity to applicants who are already licensed in another state. Most often, states will waive the national portion of the examination and some pre-licensing education requirements for applicants licensed in good standing elsewhere.

Tables 1 and 2 detail the license requirements, fees, and reciprocity provisions for U.S. real estate salespersons and brokers, respectively.

Table 1: Real Estate Salesperson Requirements in the United States

State

License Requirements

License Fees

Reciprocity Provisions

Alabama

Must:

1. Be at least age 19; be trustworthy and competent to transact business; be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally presiding in the United States; and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent

2. Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in another state within the past two years

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete a minimum 60-hour course in real estate approved by the Real Estate Commission (upon passing the examination, a temporary license is issued) and within 12 months after passing the examination, complete an approved 30-hour real estate course (upon completion an original, permanent license is issued)

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of continuing education (CE) course work each two-year period

(Ala. Code § 34-27-32, -33, & -35)

Temporary license fee: $150

Original license fee: $85 per year for each year of the license period (usually two years)

License renewal fee: $85 per year for each year of the license period

(Ala. Code § 34-27-35)

If holds a current license in another state, may obtain a reciprocal license in Alabama by:

1. Completing a six-hour course in Alabama real estate law

2. Passing the Alabama portion of the licensing examination

3. Submitting with the application an official “certification of licensure” form (license history) from the other state

(Ala. Code § 34-27-32(b))

Alaska

Must:

1. Be at least age 19

2. Pass examination

3. Not be under indictment for, or seven years have elapsed since completing sentence after conviction for, a felony or any other crime that affect's person's ability to practice as a salesperson (e.g., theft, fraud)

4. Complete 40 classroom hours of approved pre-licensing training and within one year of initial licensure, complete 30 hours of approved real estate education

Renewal

Must complete 20 hours of CE each two-year period

(AS §§ 08.88.171, 08.88.091, 08.88.095)

Initial license application fee: $125

Initial license fee: $450

Biennial license renewal fee: $400

(AS § 08.88.221, 12 AAC 02.360)

None

Arizona

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and provide evidence that he or she is honest, truthful, of good character, and competent

2. Not be convicted of a felony and incarcerated, on parole, or on probation for the conviction

3. Not have had a real estate license denied within one year or revoked within two years before applying

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete a minimum 90-hour real estate course approved by the state real estate commissioner

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE each 24-month period of licensure

(A.R.S. §§ 32-2124 & 32-2130)

State law sets a range of fees, as follows:

1. Initial license fee: between $35 and $125

2. Renewal license fee: between $60 and $200

Current fee schedule is:

1. Initial license: $50

2. Renewal license paid in person or mailed in: $125

3. Renewal license paid online: $75

(A.R.S. § 32-2132)

None

Arkansas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity; and have demonstrated no record of unprofessional conduct

2. Complete criminal history background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete, per the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, 60 hours of real estate education, 30 hours of which must be in basic principles (the law requires up to 90 hours of education)

5. Complete an 18-hour post-licensure education course within 12 months of being licensed

Renewal

Complete six hours of CE annually

(A.C.A. §§ 17-42-302 & 17-42-303)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $60

Annual license renewal fee: $60

(A.C.A. § 17-42-304)

Per Arkansas Real Estate Commission, reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Washington, and West Virginia

May request a waiver of the general portion of the licensure examination If licensed in another state

(A.C.A. § 17-42-305)

California

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, be in the United States legally, and demonstrate honesty and truthfulness

2. Pass written examination

3. Complete three college-level courses in specified real estate-related topics (California State Bar members are exempt from this requirement)

Renewal

Must have completed 45 hours of CE in the prior four-year period

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 10151, 10152, 10153, & 10170.5)

Initial license fee: $245 (licenses are issued for a four-year term)

Four-year license renewal fee: $245

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 10153.7 & 10215)

Eligible for licensure in California if California residents are eligible in the other jurisdiction

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 10151.5)

Colorado

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Connecticut

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Pass written examination

3. Complete 60 hours of education in real estate principles and practices

Renewal

Must complete at least 12 hours of CE in current real estate practices and licensing laws during every two-year period or pass written test

(CGS §§ 20-314, 20-316, & 20-319)

Initial license application fee: $80

Initial license fee: $285

Annual license renewal fee: $285

(CGS §§ 20-314 & 20-319)

Per the Department of Consumer Protection, mutual recognition agreements with: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Rhode Island

Must not have a disciplinary proceeding or unresolved complaint pending against him or her

(CGS § 20-317)

Delaware

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and competent to transact business

2. Not have received any administrative penalties regarding real estate services and must not have any impairment related to drugs, alcohol, or mental incompetence

3. Not have a criminal conviction or pending criminal charges related to real estate practices or have been convicted of fraud

4. Pass written state examination

5. Complete 99-hour pre-licensing education course and at least 12 hours of CE during first 12 months of licensure

Renewal

Must complete at least 21 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(24 Del. C. §§ 2907 & 2910 and 24 Del. Admin. Code 2900-11 & -13)

Initial license fee: $101 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year renewal fee announced prior to renewal per the Division of Professional Regulation

(24 Del. C. § 2908)

Must:

1. Present proof of at least three years of continuous licensure in another state immediately preceding application in Delaware

2. Have completed equivalent pre-licensing course

3. Complete Delaware law portion of pre-licensing course and pass state portion of licensing examination

(24 Del. C. § 2909)

District of Columbia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent

2. Not have been convicted of an offense that bears on the applicant's fitness to be licensed

3. Pass written examination

4. Not have had license application denied in the past year, be under license suspension, or have had license revoked in past three years

5. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework in Principles and Practices of Real Estate

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(DC ST § 47-2853.172 and 17 DCMR §§ 2602 & 2605)

Application fee: $65

Initial license fee: $295 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $130

(Per the D.C. Real Estate Commission)

License granted by waiver or reciprocity upon submitting proof that the:

1. Applicant is licensed in the same or a substantially similar profession

2. License is in good standing

3. License is from a jurisdiction that has standards similar to those of D.C.

4. Jurisdiction admits professionals licensed in D.C. in the same manner

Must pass the D.C. portion of the examination and complete a D.C. Fair Housing course

(17 DCMR §§ 2602 & 2611)

Florida

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, truthful, trustworthy, and of good character; have a good reputation for fair dealing; be competent and qualified; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Pass examination

3. Complete (a) 63 hours of pre-licensing education and, upon licensure, complete 45 hours of post-licensing education before the first renewal or (b) hold a four-year degree in real estate from an accredited higher education institution (Florida Bar members are exempt from the education requirement)

Renewal

Must complete at least 14 hours of CE in the prior two-year period, excluding the first renewal period (Florida Bar members are exempt from the CE requirement)

(F.S.A. §§ 475.17 & 475.182 and F.A.C. Rules 61J2-3.008, -3.009, & -3.020)

Initial license application fee: $20

Biennial license fee: $64

(F.A.C. Rule 61J2-1.011)

Per the Division of Real Estate, mutual recognition agreements with:

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Oklahoma

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not be a Florida resident at time of application

3. Have obtained real estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the other state

4. Hold a valid, current, and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the real estate licensing agency in the state from which the applicant is applying

5. Take the Florida portion of the state examination

(F.S.A. § 475.180)

Georgia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence; and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Not be convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude, or at least two years has passed since all terms and conditions have been satisfied (five years if multiple convictions)

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 75 hours of pre-licensing education and within first 12 months of initial licensure, complete 25-hour post-licensure course

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE during the prior four-year period and, effective January 1, 2015, 36 hours every four years

(Ga. Code Ann. §§ 43-40-8 & 43-40-15 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.05)

Initial license fee: $170 (licenses are issued for a four-year term)

Four-year license renewal fee: $125

(Ga. Code Ann. §§ 43-40-3 & 43-40-12 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04)

Must:

1. Be licensed in good standing in another state

2. Have passed an examination in and met all pre-licensing and CE requirements required by the other state

3. Have not had any disciplinary action imposed by the other state's licensing body

(Ga. Code Ann. § 43-40-9 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04)

Hawaii

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; possess reputation for competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing

2. Be U.S. citizen, national, or alien authorized to work in the United States

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 45 hours of pre-licensing education or have equivalent education

Renewal

Must complete 20 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

(HRS §§ 467-8, -9, -9.5, & -11.5 and Haw. Admin. Rules §§ 16-99-36 & -37)

Application fee: $25

Initial license fee: $50 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $50

(HRS § 467-11 and Haw. Admin. Rules § 16-53-39)

Law allows license recognition agreements, but none in place, according to the Professional & Vocational Licensing Division of the Commerce and Consumer Affairs Department

(HRS § 467-7.5)

Idaho

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Not have had a real estate or other professional license suspended, surrendered, or non-renewed for, or been convicted of any misdemeanor involving, fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, or dishonorable dealing within the preceding five years

3. Not have had a (a) felony conviction or (b) real estate or other professional license revoked for fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, or dishonorable dealing (Five years after revocation, can request review to permit licensure)

4. Be fingerprinted for a national criminal history check

5. Pass written examination

6. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education and, after initial licensing, complete two Real Estate Commission core courses and a post-licensing course

Renewal

Must complete two Real Estate Commission core courses and 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(I.C. §§ 54-2012, -2022, & -2023)

Initial license fee: $160 (licenses are issued for up to two-year term until end of birthday month)

Two-year license renewal fee: $160

(I.C. §§ 54-2018 & -2020 and IDAPA 33.01.01.100)

Law allows license reciprocity agreements, but none in place

If licensed salesperson in another state, state waives the national portion of the examination and pre-licensing education requirements (Must provide a current, certified license history from the other state)

(I.C. § 54-2015)

Illinois

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Indiana

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Iowa

Must:

1. Be at least age 18

2. Not have had a real estate application rejected within the past 12 months or real estate license revoked in the past two years

3. Undergo national history criminal check

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 96 hours pre-licensing education, including 60 hours in real estate principles and practices and 12 hours in each of the following: professionalism and ethics, buying practices, and listing practices

Offenses and Prohibition Periods

The following time periods must elapse before a person convicted of the particular offense will be considered for licensure:

1. Felony, two years since completing any prison time, paying any fine, or fulfilling any other sentence

2. Forgery, embezzlement, theft, or crimes involving moral turpitude or a breach of fiduciary duty, five years (Licensure may still be denied based on conviction record)

Renewal

Must complete at least 36 hours of CE in the prior three-year period

(I.C.A. § 543B.15 and Iowa Admin. Code 193E-4.1(543B))

Initial license fee: $125 (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $150

(Iowa Admin. Code 193E-9.1(543B))

Per the Iowa Real Estate Commission, reciprocal licensing agreements with: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Dakota, and West Virginia

Licensed in Reciprocal State

Must:

1. Have taken an examination in the other state

2. Submit a certificate of license history

3. Undergo a criminal history background check

Licensed in Non-reciprocal State

1. Can apply to have the national portion of the examination waived

2. Must take the Iowa portion of the examination

(I.C.A. § 543B.21 and Iowa Admin. Code 193E-5.3(543B) and 193E-5.4(543B))

Kansas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competency to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history record check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete pre-licensing education, including a 30-hour principles of real estate course and 30-hour Kansas real estate practice course

Renewal

Must complete at least 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(K.S.A. 58-3039 and 58-3046a)

Application fee: $15

Initial license fee: a prorated fee based on a two-year amount of $100 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $100

(K.S.A. 58-3063 and K.A.R. 86-1-5)

Law allows license reciprocity agreements, but none in place, according to the Kansas Real Estate Commission

May waive education and examination requirements for applicant licensed in another state

(K.S.A. 58-3040)

Kentucky

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, be trustworthy and competent to transact business, and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Be fingerprinted and submit to a national criminal history check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete six academic credit hours from an accredited college or its equivalency (96 hours) in real estate courses

Renewal

Must complete six hours of CE annually (first-year renewals are exempt) and every four years, must complete a Real Estate Commission-approved “core course” in lieu of the CE hours

(KRS §§ 324.040, 324.045, 324.046, 324.085, & 324.090 and 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 11:230)

Initial license fee: $60

Annual license renewal fee: $60

(KRS § 324.090 and Kentucky Real Estate Commission)

Must:

1. Hold an active, unrestricted real estate license from another state

2. Submit to a criminal background check

3. File a certificate of licensure from the other state

4. Pass the Kentucky portion of the examination

(KRS § 324.141 and 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 11:215)

Louisiana

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Complete state application, including a criminal background history

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education and, after initial licensure, complete 45 hours of post-licensing education within 180 days

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE annually

(LSA-R.S. § 37:1437)

Initial license fee: $45

Annual license renewal fee: $35

(LSA-R.S. § 37:1443)

According to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission, reciprocal license agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania

Must provide proof of licensing by the reciprocal state

(La. Admin. Code tit. 46 §§ 4901 & 4903)

Maine

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair dealing, and competency; and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Complete a criminal background history

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete Real Estate Commission-approved pre-licensing course for sales agents

Licenses Nonrenewable

Licenses are issued for a two-year term and are non-renewable (A new sales agent license will not be issued within five years of when a previous license was issued)

(32 M.R.S.A. §§ 13191 & 13200 and 02-039 CMR Ch. 360, § 4)

License fee: $100 (license is issued for a two-year term and is non-renewable)

(32 M.R.S.A. § 13007 and 02-041 CMR Ch. 10, § 5)

Must:

1. Hold similar active license in good standing in another state to have education requirement waived

2. Take Maine portion of examination

(32 M.R.S.A. § 13193)

Maryland

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and of good character and reputation

2. Submit credit report

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE during the preceding two years (7.5 If holding law or real estate graduate degree)

(MD Code §§ 17-303 & 17-315 and COMAR 09.11.01.06 & 09.11.01.11)

Initial license fee: $110 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $90

(MD Code § 17-314 and COMAR 09.11.09.02)

According to the Maryland Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with Oklahoma and Pennsylvania

Licensed in Pennsylvania

Excused from examination and continuing education requirements

Licensed in Oklahoma

Must pass the Maryland portion of the examination but are excused from continuing education requirements

(MD Code § 17-308)

Massachusetts

Must:

1. Be of good moral character

2. Pass written examination

3. Complete (a) 40 hours of pre-licensing salesperson education or (b) a course in real property while enrolled in an accredited law school in Massachusetts

Renewal

Must complete between six and 12 hours of CE, as determined by the Real Estate Board of Registration, in prior 24 months

(M.G.L.A. 112 §§ 87SS, 87TT, & 87XX½ and 254 CMR 2.00)

Initial license fee: $103 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $103

(M.G.L.A. 112 §§ 87XX & 87ZZ)

According to the Massachusetts Real Estate Board of Registration, reciprocal license agreements with the following states, through which some or all of the salesperson education and examination requirements are waived: Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia

Licensed in Non-reciprocal State

May apply for an education waiver, but must take the entire examination

(M.G.L.A. 112 § 87WW and 254 CMR 2.00 (13))

Michigan

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and may be required to provide proof of business experience, competence, and good moral character

2. Pass written examination.

3. Complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education within the 36 months before applying

Renewal

Must complete at least 18 hours of CE in the prior three year period

(M.C.L.A. §§ 339.2504 & 339.2505 and Mic. Admin. Code R. 339.22201 et seq.)

Initial license fee: $88, but prorated if issued within three-year period (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $78

(M.C.L.A. § 339.2502a and Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs)

None

Minnesota

Must:

1. Be at least age 18

2. Pass written examination

3. Not have had real estate license revoked within two years of the application date

4. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (30 hours before taking examination and an additional 60 hours before applying for license)

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE in prior 24-month period

(M.S.A. §§ 82.58, 82.59, & 82.61)

Initial license fee: $120 (licenses are issued for a 24-month period)

Twenty-four month renewal license fee: $80

(M.S.A. §§ 82.57 & 82.63 and Minnesota Department of Commerce)

By law, must be licensed in good standing in reciprocal states to have education requirements waived

According to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, reciprocal agreements with: Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

(M.S.A. § 82.64)

Mississippi

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and trustworthy and competent to transact business

2. Pass written examination

3. Complete at least 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 16 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-35-7, 73-35-9, 73-35-13, & 73-35-18)

Application and initial one-year license fee: $120

Two-year license renewal fee: $120

(Miss. Code Ann. § 73-35-17 and Miss. Admin. Code 30-1601:2.1)

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission may waive pre-licensing education and examination requirements if:

1. Licensed in another state with equivalent requirements

2. The other state extends the same privilege to Mississippi real estate licensees

(Miss. Code Ann. § 73-35-7 and Miss. Admin. Code 30-1601:1.1)

Missouri

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be of good moral character; have a good reputation for honesty, integrity, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Submit fingerprints for state and federal criminal history background check

3. Pass examination

4. Complete 72 hours of pre-licensing education (48-hour salesperson pre-examination course and 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course)

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(V.A.M.S. § 339.040 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-3.010, -4.020, & -10.100)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $40 ($100 if nonresident) (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $40 ($100 if nonresident)

(V.A.M.S. § 339.060 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-4.020 & -5.020)

By law, the Missouri Real Estate Commission may issue licenses to nonresidents without examination if reciprocity is extended to Missouri residents

By regulation, must:

1. Hold current, active salesperson license in another state

2. Pass the Missouri portion of the examination

3. Complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course,

4. Submit a license history certification (The 48-hour salesperson pre-examination course is waived)

(V.A.M.S. § 339.090 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-4.080)

Montana

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, trustworthy, and competent to transact business; and have completed 10th grade or its equivalent

2. Pass examination

3. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education within 24 months before applying

4. Complete a 12-hour post-licensing education course (called the “rookie course”) before the first license renewal

Renewal

Must annually complete a “core course” and 12 additional hours of CE during prior year

(MCA §§ 37-51-302 & 37-51-303 and Mont. Admin. R. 24.210.611, .660, .661, & .667)

Initial license fee: $150 (license is issued for one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $150

(Montana Board of Realty Regulation)

According to the Montana Board of Realty Regulation, reciprocity agreement with Alberta, Canada

May have the pre-licensing education and examination requirements waived if licensed in another state and that state has licensing standards substantially equivalent to Montana's

(MCA § 37-51-306 and Mont. Admin. R. 24.210.629)

Nebraska

Must:

1. Be at least age 19 and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Submit fingerprints for national criminal history background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete two real estate courses made up of at least 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 18 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(Neb. Rev. St. §§ 81-885.13 and 81-885.51)

Application fee: $135

Initial license fee: $100 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $200

(Neb. Rev. St. § 81-885.14 and Nebraska Real Estate Commission)

Nebraska Real Estate Commission may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states

(Neb. Rev. St. § 81-885.17(5))

Nevada

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity; and be competent to transact business

2. Be fingerprinted for a criminal history record check (If convicted of forgery, embezzlement, or other crime of moral turpitude, at least three years must have passed since all terms and conditions were satisfied)

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education and new licensees must complete (a) 30 hours of post-licensing education within one year of licensure and (b) 12 hours of CE within first two years of licensure

Renewal

For subsequent license renewal, must complete 24 hours of CE every two year period

(N.R.S. §§ 645.330, .343, .355, .460, & .490 and NAC §§ 645.100, .435, .4442, & .448)

Initial license fee: $210

(initial license is issued for a two-year term and subsequent licenses are renewed for four year terms)

Four-year license renewal fee: $360

(NAC § 645.100 and Nevada Real Estate Division)

Nevada Real Estate Division may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states

May have the national portion of the examination and some education requirements waived if licensed in good standing in another state

(N.R.S. §§ 645.332 & .343)

New Hampshire

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

2. Submit to a criminal records check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete a three-hour course real estate course and an additional 12 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

(N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 331-A:10, :10-a, & :20 and N.H. Code Admin. R. Rea 403.01)

Initial license fee: $90 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $90

(N.H. Rev. Stat. § 331-A:19 and N.H. Code Admin. R. Rea 301.02)

May apply for a license in New Hampshire by taking the state portion of the examination, if:

1. Licensed in good standing in another state

2. The other state has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission

(N.H. Rev. Stat. § 331-A:11-a)

New Jersey

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be of good moral character and able to prove honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history background check

3. Not have been convicted of forgery, robbery, conspiracy to defraud, or other similar offenses within the past five years

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 75 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(N.J.S.A. §§ 45:15-9, -10, -12.1, & -16.2a and N.J.A.C. §§ 11:5-2.1. -3.3, & -12.3)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $100 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $100

(N.J.S.A. §§ 45:15-9, -10, & -15 and N.J.A.C. § 11:5-3.1)

According to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission, no reciprocity with any state

May have pre-licensing education waived if:

1. Licensed in another state and

2. Have been actively engaged in the real estate business for at least three years

(N.J.A.C. § 11:5-2.1)

New Mexico

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

New York

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, trustworthy, and competent to transact business

2. Not have been convicted of a felony, a sex offense, or a sexually violent offense

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 75 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 22.5 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(N.Y. Real Property Law §§ 440-a & 441 and 19 NYCCR 177.1)

Initial license fee: $50 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $50

(N.Y. Real Property Law §§ 441 & 441-b)

Out-of-state license qualifies applicant for a New York license if the home state:

1. Issues licenses after written examination

2. Allows licensed New York residents to be licensed there without examination

According to the New York Division of Licensing Services, reciprocity agreements with: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia

(N.Y. Real Property Law § 442-g and New York Division of Licensing Services)

North Carolina

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

North Dakota

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Not have had a real estate license revoked within the prior two years

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 45 hours of pre-licensing education and, within one year of licensure, complete 15 hours of post-licensing education

May be required to submit to a state and national criminal history record check

Renewal

Must complete nine hours of CE annually

(NDCC §§ 43-23-08, -08.2, & -08.4 and NDAC 70-02-04-02)

Initial license fee: $100

(licenses are issued for a one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $100

(NDCC §§ 43-23-13 & -13.1 and the North Dakota Real Estate Commission)

North Dakota will recognize a licensee from another state if it has a reciprocity agreement with that state

According to the North Dakota Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with: Georgia, Iowa, and Minnesota

May have the national portion of the examination waived if licensed in a non-reciprocal state

(NDAC 70-02-01-06)

Ohio

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, truthful, and of good reputation; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude

3. Not have been judged by a court to have violated any civil rights laws relevant to the protection of real estate sellers or purchasers, or at least two years has passed since the decision

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete at least 120 hours of pre-licensing education and within 12 months of initial licensure, complete 10 hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE each three-year period

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.09 & 4735.141)

Initial license fee: $60 (this is the fee for the initial year of licensure, which ends on the licensee's birthday; licenses are subsequently renewed for three-year terms)

Three-year license renewal fee: $45 per year, or $135

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.09 & 4735.15 and OAC 1301:5-1-22)

May waive license requirements for a person who holds a real estate license in another state pursuant to a reciprocal agreement

According to the Ohio Department of Real Estate and Professional Licensing, reciprocal agreements with: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.09 & 4735.17)

Oklahoma

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and of good moral character

2. Submit to a national criminal history record check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (upon passing the examination, a 12-month provisional sales associate license is issued) and within 12 months of provisional licensure, complete 45 hours of post-licensing education (upon completion, a 36-month sales associate license is issued)

Offenses and Prohibition Periods

The following time periods must elapse before a person convicted of the particular offense will be considered for licensure:

1. Any specified serious crime (e.g., murder), at least 20 years must have passed since completing all terms and conditions

2. Felony involving forgery, fraud, or a similar offense, at least 10 years

3. Any other felony, at least five years

Renewal

Must complete at least 21 hours of CE in the prior 36-month period

(59 Okl. St. Ann. §§ 858-301.1, -302, -307.1, -307.2, & -307.4 and Okla. Admin. Code 605:10-3-6)

Initial provisional sales associate license fee: $75 (license is issued for a 12-month term)

Initial sales associate license fee: $165 (license is issued for a 36-month term)

36-month sales associate license renewal fee: $165

(59 Okl. St. Ann. § 858-307.1 and Oklahoma Real Estate Commission)

According to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and West Virginia

May have the national portion of the examination and education requirements waived if holds active license in a reciprocal state

(Okla. Admin. Code 605:10-7-9)

Oregon

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Pennsylvania

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business

2. Pass examination

3. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 14 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(63 P.S. §§ 455.404a, 455.501, & 455.521)

Application fee: $25

Initial license fee: $72 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $96

(49 Pa. Code § 35.203)

May have license requirements waived if applicant holds a current real estate license in good standing from another state and the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has reciprocal agreement with that state

According to the commission, reciprocal agreements with: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, and West Virginia

(49 Pa. Code §§ 35.223 & 35.255)

Rhode Island

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competency

2. Pass examination (waived for attorneys licensed in Rhode Island)

3. Complete at least 45 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-3 & -4 and R.I. Admin. Code 11-4-11:6, :7, & :30)

Application fee: $10

Initial license fee: $65 per year for each year of the license period (usually two years)

Two-year license renewal fee: $130 ($65 per year)

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-6 & -11 and R.I. Admin. Code 11-4-11:9)

The national portion of the examination is waived for applicant licensed in a state with which Rhode Island has reciprocal agreement

According to the Rhode Island Real Estate Division, reciprocal agreements with: Connecticut and Massachusetts

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-4 & -10)

South Carolina

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit to a credit report to demonstrate creditworthiness

3. Pass examination.

4. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education or hold a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university

5. Within one year of initial licensure, complete 30 hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete eight hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(SC ST §§ 40-57-80, -100, & -130)

Initial license fee: $25 (initial license is issued for one year; subsequent licenses are issued for two-year terms)

Two-year license renewal fee: $60

(S.C. Code of Regs. 105-13)

National portion of the examination is waived for applicant who holds a real estate license in another state

South Carolina Real Estate Commission may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states that waive education and examination requirements

Per commission, reciprocal agreements with: Georgia and West Virginia

(SC ST §§ 40-57-100 & -120)

South Dakota

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Tennessee

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

Texas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien; and demonstrate competence, honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check

3. Pass examination

4. Complete pre-licensing education of at least 12 semester hours, or equivalent classroom hours, of postsecondary education related to real estate

First Renewal

Must complete at least 18 semester hours, or equivalent classroom hours, of core real estate courses

Subsequent Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE in the prior-two-year period

(V.T.C.A. §§ 1101.3521, 1101.354, 1101.358, 1101.454, & 1101.455)

Initial license fee: $163 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $122

(V.T.C.A. § 1101.451 and Texas Real Estate Commission)

According to the Texas Real Estate Commission:

1. No reciprocity with any other states

2. May have the national portion of the examination waived if licensed in another state

Utah

Must

1. Be at least age 18; prove honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints and consent to a criminal background check

3. Not have been convicted of a (a) felony within the previous five years or (b) misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the previous three years

4. Pass examination

5. Complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education, be a Utah attorney, or have equivalent education

First Renewal

Must complete 12-hour new sales agent course and six hours of CE

Subsequent Renewal

Must complete 18 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(U.C.A. §§ 61-2f-203 & -204 and U.A.C. R162-2f-201, -202a, & -204)

Initial license fee: $152 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $42

(U.C.A. §§ 61-2f-105 & -204 and Utah Division of Real Estate)

May apply for a waiver of the education requirements and the national portion of the examination if currently and actively licensed in another state

According to the Division of Real Estate, reciprocal agreements with: Georgia and Mississippi

(U.A.C. R162-2f-202a)

Vermont

Must:

1. Be at least age 18

2. Pass examination

3. Complete at least 40 hours of pre-licensing education and within 90 days after licensure, complete eight hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 16 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(26 V.S.A. §§ 2292 & 2293)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $200 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $200

(26 V.S.A. § 2255 & 2293)

Vermont Real Estate Commission may waive some licensure requirements (e.g., pre-licensing education and national portion of examination) if currently licensed in good standing in another state that has requirements substantially equal to Vermont's

If applicant holds a license in:

1. Massachusetts or Rhode Island, must take the 40-hour pre-licensing course

2. California, New York, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, or West Virginia, must take national portion of examination

(26 V.S.A. § 2292, Vt. Admin. Code 20-4-1800:2, and Vermont Office of Professional Regulation - Real Estate Commission)

Virginia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair dealing, and competency to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not have had a real estate license suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least four semester hours or 60 hours of pre-licensing education and, within one year after initial licensure, complete at least 30 hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 16 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(VA Code Ann. §§ 54.1-2105, -2105.01, & -2105.03 and 18 VAC 135-20-30 & -101)

Initial license fee: $150 (license are issued for two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $65

(18 VAC 135-20-80, -90, & -120)

May apply for licensure by reciprocity, through which the national portion of examination is waived, if licensed in good standing in another state

(18 VAC 135-20-60)

Washington

Does not issue a general real estate salesperson license (See real estate broker information)

   

West Virginia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be trustworthy, of good moral character, and competent to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check

3. Pass examination

4. Complete at least 90 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete seven hours of CE annually

(W. Va. Code §§ 30-40-11, -13, -14, & -16 and W. Va. Code St. R § 174-1-13)

Application fee: $25

Initial license fee: $75 (licenses are issued for one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $75

(W. Va. Code St. R §§ 174-1-13 & 174-2-2)

West Virginia Real Estate Commission may recognize a valid real estate license issued by another state as qualifying a nonresident to obtain a comparable license in West Virginia

According to the commission, it will issue a reciprocal license to an applicant who:

1. Resides in a reciprocal state

2. Holds a current real estate license obtained by written examination

Reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina

(W. Va. Code § 30-40-15)

Wisconsin

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and competent to transact business

2. Not have been convicted of a felony

3. Pass examination

4. Complete at least 72 hours of pre-licensing education or 10 semester-hour credits in real estate at an accredited higher education institution

Renewal

Must complete at least 18 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

(W.S.A. §§ 452.03, 452.05, & 452.25 and Wis. Adm. Code § REEB 12.01, 25.03, & 25.065)

Initial license fee: $75 (licenses are issued for two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $82

(W.S.A. § 440.08 and Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board)

According to the Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board, reciprocity agreements with: Illinois and Indiana

May have national portion of the examination and some pre-licensing education requirements waived if licensed in another state within past two years

(W.S.A. § 452.05 and Wis. Adm. Code §§ REEB 12.02 & 25.035)

Wyoming

Must:

1. Have attained the age of majority and have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 30 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete at least 45 hours of CE in the prior three-year period

(W.S. §§ 33-28-106, -107, & -118 and WY Rules and Regs. AI REAL Ch. 1 § 3 & Ch. 4 § 1)

Initial license fee: $300 (licenses are issued for three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $350

(W.S. § 33-28-108 and WY Rules and Regs. AI REAL Ch. 2 § 1)

None

Table 2: Real Estate Broker Requirements in the United States

State

License Requirements

License Fees

Reciprocity Provisions

Alabama

Must:

1. Be at least age 19; be trustworthy and competent to transact business; be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally presiding in the United States; and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent

2. Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in another state within the past two years

3. Pass written examination

4. Have been real estate licensee for at least 24 months of the prior 36-month period

5. Complete a minimum 60-hour course in real estate approved by the Real Estate Commission

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE course work each two-year period

(Ala. Code § 34-27-32, -33, & -35)

Original license fee: $150

License renewal fee: $95 per year for each year of the license period (usually two years)

(Ala. Code § 34-27-35)

If holds a current license in another state, may obtain a reciprocal license in Alabama by:

1. completing a six-hour course in Alabama real estate law,

2. passing the Alabama portion of the licensing examination, and

3. submitting with the application an official “certification of licensure” form (license history) from the other state

(Ala. Code § 34-27-32(b))

Alaska

Must:

1. Pass examination

2. Not be under indictment for, or seven years have elapsed since completing sentence after conviction for, a felony or any other crime that affect's person's ability to practice as a broker (e.g., theft, fraud)

3. Have been real estate licensee for at least 24 months of the prior 36-month period

4. Complete 15 classroom hours of approved broker training and, within one year of receiving initial license, complete 30 hours of approved real estate education

Renewal

Must complete 20 hours of CE each two-year period

(AS §§ 08.88.171, 08.88.091, & 08.88.095)

Initial license application fee: $125

Initial license fee: $450

Biennial license renewal fee: $400

(AS § 08.88.221, 12 AAC 02.360)

None

Arizona

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and provide evidence that he or she is honest, truthful, of good character, and competent

2. Not be convicted of a felony and incarcerated, on parole, or on probation for the conviction

3. Not have had a real estate license denied within one year or revoked within two years before applying

4. Pass written examination

5. Have at least three years of experience as a licensed real estate salesperson or broker during the past five years

6. Complete a minimum 90-hour real estate brokers' course approved by the state real estate commissioner

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE each 24-month period of licensure

(A.R.S. §§ 32-2124 & 32-2130)

State law sets a range of fees, as follows:

1. Initial license fee: between $75 and $250

2. Renewal license fee: between $100 and $400

Current fee schedule is:

1. Initial license: $125

2. Renewal license paid in person or mailed in: $250

3. Renewal license paid online: $175

(A.R.S. § 32-2132)

None

Arkansas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity; and have demonstrated no record of unprofessional conduct

2. Complete criminal history background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Have been real estate licensee for at least 24 months of the prior 48 months (requirement may be waived if other acceptable experience is attained)

5. Complete, per the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, 60 hours of real estate education, at least 45 hours of which must be the commission-developed broker pre-license education course (the law requires up to 120 hours of education)

6. Complete a 30-hour post-licensure education course within 12 months of being licensed

Renewal

Must complete six hours of CE annually

(A.C.A. §§ 17-42-302 & 17-42-303)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $80

Annual license renewal fee: $80

(A.C.A. § 17-42-304)

For real estate brokers already licensed in another state, the Arkansas Real Estate Commission has reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Washington, and West Virginia

Applicants licensed in another state may request a waiver of the general portion of the licensure examination

(A.C.A. § 17-42-305)

California

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, be in the United States legally, and demonstrate honesty and truthfulness

2. Pass written examination

3. Have been licensed real estate salesperson for at least two of the prior five years or have equivalent experience

4. Complete eight college-level courses in specified real estate-related topics (California State Bar members are exempt from this requirement)

Renewal

Must have completed 45 hours of CE in the prior four-year period

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 10150, 10150.6, 10152, 10153, 10153.2, & 10170.5)

Initial license fee: $300 (licenses are issued for a four-year term)

Four-year license renewal: $300

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 10153.6 & 10210)

May become licensed real estate broker by conforming to all provisions of California law

Eligible for licensure in California if California residents are eligible in the other jurisdiction

(Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 10131.5 & 10151.5)

Colorado

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and provide evidence that he or she is honest, truthful, of good character, and competent

2. Submit fingerprints for background criminal history record check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 168 hours of pre-licensing education

Special Requirements by License Type

1. Licenses issued in three forms: associate broker, independent broker, and employing broker

2. Independent broker and employing broker applicants must have had a real estate broker license for at least two years

3. Employing broker applicants must complete 24 hours of brokerage administration training

Renewal

Must have completed 24 hours of CE in the prior three-year period

(C.R.S. §§ 12-61-102, 12-61-103, & 12-61-110.5)

Initial application and license fee: $570 (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal: $165

(C.R.S. §§ 12-61-110 & 12-61-111.5)

May obtain Colorado real estate broker license if:

1. Have been real estate licensee in another state for at least two years

2. Satisfies limited examination and pre-licensing education requirements

3. Submits a Certificate of License History

(C.R.S. § 12-61-103 and 4 CCR 725-1 Rule A-11)

Connecticut

Must

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Pass written examination

3. Have been licensed real estate salesperson for at least two years

4. Complete 120 hours of education (60 hours in real estate principles and practices, 30 in real estate appraisal, and 30 in other approved real estate courses)

Renewal

Must complete at least 12 hours of CE in current real estate practices and licensing laws during every two-year period or pass written test

(CGS §§ 20-314, 20-316, & 20-319)

Initial license application fee: $120

Initial license fee: $565

Annual license renewal fee: $375

(CGS §§ 20-314 & 20-319)

Per the Department of Consumer Protection, mutual recognition agreements with: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island

Must not have a disciplinary proceeding or unresolved complaint pending against him or her

(CGS § 20-317)

Delaware

Must:

1. Be at least age 23 and competent to transact business

2. Not have received any administrative penalties regarding real estate services and must not have any impairment related to drugs, alcohol, or mental incompetence

3. Not have a criminal conviction or pending criminal charges related to real estate practices. Must not have been convicted of fraud

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 99-hour pre-licensing education course and at least 12 hours of CE during first 12 months of licensure

Experience Requirement

1. For associate broker: must have held real estate license for five continuous years immediately before applying

2. For broker: must have been licensed salesperson or associate broker for three years immediately before applying

Renewal

Must complete at least 21 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(24 Del. C. §§ 2907 & 2910 and 24 Del. Admin. Code 2900-3, -4, 11, & -13)

Initial license fee: $182 (broker) and $165 (associate broker) (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year renewal fee announced prior to renewal per the Division of Professional Regulation

(24 Del. C. § 2908)

Must:

1. Present proof of at least three years of continuous licensure in another state immediately preceding application in Delaware

2. Have completed equivalent pre-licensing course

3. Complete Delaware law portion of pre-licensing course and pass state portion of licensing examination

(24 Del. C. § 2909)

District of Columbia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent

2. Not have been convicted of an offense that bears on the applicant's fitness to be licensed

3. Pass written examination

4. Have been real estate licensee, or had acceptable equivalent experience, for two years immediately preceding application date

5. Not have had license application denied in the past year, be under license suspension, or have had license revoked in past three years

6. Complete 135 hours of pre-licensing coursework

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(DC ST §§ 47-2853.162 & 47-2853.172 and 17 DCMR §§ 2601 & 2605)

Application fee: $65

Initial license fee: $295 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $170

(Per the D.C. Real Estate Commission)

License granted by waiver or reciprocity upon submitting proof that the:

1. Applicant is licensed in the same or a substantially similar profession

2. License is in good standing

3. License is from a jurisdiction that has standards similar to those of D.C.

4. Jurisdiction admits professionals licensed in D.C. in the same manner

Must pass the D.C. portion of the examination and complete a D.C. Fair Housing course

(17 DCMR §§ 2601 & 2611)

Florida

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, truthful, trustworthy, and of good character; have a good reputation for fair dealing; be competent and qualified; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Pass examination

3. Have been real estate licensee for at least 24 months during the preceding five years

4. Complete (a) 72 hours of pre-licensing education and, upon licensure, must complete 60 hours of post-licensing education before the first renewal or (b) hold a four-year degree in real estate from an accredited higher education institution (Florida Bar members are exempt from the pre-licensing education requirement)

Renewal

Must complete at least 14 hours of CE in the prior two-year period, excluding the first renewal period (Florida Bar members are exempt from the CE requirement)

(F.S.A. §§ 475.17 & 475.182 and F.A.C. Rules 61J2-3.008, -3.009, & -3.020)

Initial license application fee: $20

Biennial license fee: $72

(F.A.C. Rule 61J2-1.011)

Per the Division of Real Estate, mutual recognition agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Oklahoma

Must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not be a Florida resident at time of application

3. Have obtained real estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the other state

4. Hold a valid, current, and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the real estate licensing agency in the state from which the applicant is applying

5. Take the Florida portion of the state examination

(F.S.A. § 475.180)

Georgia

Must:

1. Be at least age 21; have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence; and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Not be convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude, or at least two years has passed since all terms and conditions have been satisfied (five years if multiple convictions and 10 years if for forgery, embezzlement, or related offenses)

3. Pass written examination

4. Have had active real estate license for three of the prior five years

5. Complete at least 60 hours of broker pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE during the prior four-year period and, effective January 1, 2015, 36 hours every four years

(Ga. Code Ann. §§ 43-40-8 & 43-40-15 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.05)

Initial license fee: $170 (licenses are issued for a four-year term)

Four-year license renewal fee: $125

(Ga. Code Ann. §§ 43-40-3 & 43-40-12 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04)

Must:

1. Be licensed in good standing in another state

2. Have passed an examination in and met all pre-licensing and CE requirements required by the other state

3. Have not had any disciplinary action imposed by the other state's licensing body

(Ga. Code Ann. § 43-40-9 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04)

Hawaii

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; possess reputation for competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing

2. Be U.S. citizen, national, or alien authorized to work in the United States

3. Pass written examination

4. Have current Hawaii real estate salesperson's license or current, unencumbered real estate license from another state with equivalent real estate license law

5. Have full-time experience as Hawaii real estate salesperson associated with Hawaii-licensed broker for three of the past five years or equivalent experience in another state

6. Complete at least 46 hours of pre-licensing education or have equivalent education

Renewal

Must complete 20 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

(HRS §§ 467-8, -9, -9.5, & -11.5 and Haw. Admin. Rules §§ 16-99-36 & -37)

Application fee: $25

Initial license fee: $50 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $50

(HRS § 467-11 and Haw. Admin. Rules § 16-53-39)

Law allows license recognition agreements, but none in place, according to the Professional & Vocational Licensing Division of the Commerce and Consumer Affairs Department

(HRS § 467-7.5)

Idaho

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Not have had a real estate or other professional license suspended, surrendered, or non-renewed for, or been convicted of any misdemeanor involving, fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, or dishonorable dealing within the preceding five years

3. Not have had a (a) felony conviction or (b) real estate or other professional license revoked for fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, or dishonorable dealing (Five years after revocation, can request review to permit licensure)

4. Be fingerprinted for a national criminal history check

5. Pass written examination

6. Have been full-time, licensed real estate salesperson for two of the preceding five years

7. Complete four specified courses in advanced real estate study, for a minimum of 90 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete two Real Estate Commission core courses and 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(I.C. §§ 54-2012, -2022, & -2023)

Initial license fee: $160 (licenses are issued for up to two-year term until end of birthday month)

Two-year license renewal fee: $160

(I.C. §§ 54-2018 & -2020 and IDAPA 33.01.01.100)

Law allows license reciprocity agreements, but none in place

If licensed in another state, state waives the national portion of the examination and pre-licensing education requirements (Must provide a current, certified license history from the other state)

(I.C. § 54-2015)

Illinois

Must:

1. Be at least age 21 (or at least age 18 and have completed at least four semesters of college-level study with a major emphasis on real estate courses); of good moral character; and a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Pass written examination

3. Complete at least 90 hours of pre-licensing education and, before first license renewal, complete 30 hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE for in the prior two-year period

(225 ILCS 454/5-27, -50, & -70 and 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1450.450)

Initial license fee: $125 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $150

(225 ILCS 454/5-65 and 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1450.130)

Per the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation, reciprocal license agreements with: Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

Must:

1. Have active broker's license in good standing in a reciprocal state

2. Have no complaints pending against him or her

3. Pass the Illinois portion of the examination

(225 ILCS 454/5-60 and 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1450.440)

Indiana

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and have a high school or equivalent diploma

2. Not have a conviction for any act that would be grounds for disciplinary sanction or any crime having a bearing on competency or indicating a propensity to endanger the public

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 90 hours of pre-licensing education and within first two years of licensure, complete 30 hours of post-licensing education

Experience Requirement

1. Broker: none

2. Managing broker: must have been a licensed broker for at least two years and complete 24 hours of broker management courses

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE annually

(IC 25-34.1-3-4.1, 25-34.1-4-0.5, 25-34.1-5-5, & 25-34.1-9-11 and 876 IAC 7-4-2 & 7-5-1)

Initial license fee: $50 (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $50

(IC 25-1-8-2 & 25-34.1-1-4 and 876 IAC 5-3-1)

Per the Indiana Real Estate Commission, Indiana no longer holds reciprocal agreements with any state

If holds a license in another state, may qualify for licensure if the other state has licensing requirements substantially similar to those in Indiana

Iowa

Must:

1. Be at least age 18

2. Not have had a real estate application rejected within the past 12 months or real estate license revoked in the past two years

3. Undergo national criminal history check

4. Pass written examination

5. Have been licensed salesperson actively engaged in real estate for at least 24 months before applying or have equivalent experience

6. Complete 72 hours of pre-licensing education during the 24 months before taking the examination

Offenses and Prohibition Periods

The following time periods must elapse before a person convicted of a particular offense will be considered for licensure:

1. Felony, two years since completing any prison time, paying any fine, or fulfilling any other sentence

2. Forgery, embezzlement, theft, or crimes involving moral turpitude or a breach of fiduciary duty, five years (Licensure may still be denied based on conviction record)

Renewal

Must complete at least 36 hours of CE in the prior three-year period

(I.C.A. § 543B.15 and Iowa Admin. Code 193E-3.1(543B))

Initial license fee: $170 (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $195

(Iowa Admin. Code 193E-9.1(543B))

Per the Iowa Real Estate Commission, Iowa has entered into reciprocal licensing agreements with: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Dakota, and West Virginia

Licensed in Reciprocal State

Must:

1. Have taken an examination in the other state

2. Submit a certificate of license history

3. Undergo a criminal history background check

Licensed in Non-reciprocal State

1. Can apply to have the national portion of the examination waived

2. Must take the Iowa portion of the examination

(I.C.A. § 543B.21 and Iowa Admin. Code 193E-5.3(543B) and 193E-5.4(543B))

Kansas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competency to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history record check

3. Pass written examination

4. Be licensed in Kansas as salesperson or in another state as salesperson or broker and actively engaged in real estate business for at least two of the immediately preceding five years or have equivalent experience

5. Complete 24 hours of pre-licensing education and, if nonresident, complete four-hour Kansas real estate course

Renewal

Must complete at least 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(K.S.A. 58-3039 and 58-3046a)

Application fee: $15

Initial license fee: a prorated fee based on a two-year amount of $150 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $150

(K.S.A. 58-3063 and K.A.R. 86-1-5)

Law allows license reciprocity agreements, but none in place, according to the Kansas Real Estate Commission

May waive education, examination, and experience requirements for applicant licensed in another state

(K.S.A. 58-3040)

Kentucky

Must:

1. be at least age 18, be trustworthy and competent to transact business, and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Be fingerprinted and submit to a national criminal history check

3. Pass written examination

4. Have experience working as a licensed real estate sales associate for at least 20 hours a week during the prior 24-month period

5. Complete 21 academic credit hours from an accredited college or its equivalency (336 hours) in real estate courses

Renewal

Must complete six hours of CE annually (first-year renewals are exempt) and every four years, must complete a Real Estate Commission-approved “core course” in lieu of the CE hours

(KRS §§ 324.040, 324.045, 324.046, 324.085, & 324.090 and 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 11:230)

Initial license fee: $60

Annual license renewal fee: $60

(KRS § 324.090 and Kentucky Real Estate Commission)

Must:

1. Hold an active, unrestricted real estate license from another state

2. Submit to a criminal background check

3. File a certificate of licensure from the other state

4. Pass the Kentucky portion of the examination

(KRS § 324.141 and 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 11:215)

Louisiana

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competent to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Complete a criminal background history

3. Pass written examination

4. Have worked actively as licensed salesperson for four years

5. Complete 150 hours of pre-licensing education and, after initial licensure, complete 45 hours of post-licensing education within 180 days

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE annually

(LSA-R.S. § 37:1437)

Initial license fee: $120

Annual license renewal fee: $70

(LSA-R.S. § 37:1443)

According to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission, reciprocal license agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania

Must provide proof of licensing by the reciprocal state

(La. Admin. Code tit. 46 §§ 4901 & 4903)

Maine

Must

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair dealing, and competency; and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Complete criminal background history

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete the applicable Real Estate Commission-approved pre-licensing course for brokers

Experience Requirement

1. Associate broker: must have been licensed sales agent for two of the immediately preceding five years

2. Designated broker: must have been licensed associate broker for two of the immediately preceding five years

Renewal

Must complete at least 21 hours CE during the prior two years

(32 M.R.S.A. §§ 13191, 13197, & 13200 and 02-039 CMR Ch. 360, § 4)

Initial license fee: $100 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year renewal license fee: $100

(32 M.R.S.A. § 13007 and 02-041 CMR Ch. 10, § 5)

Must:

1. Hold similar active license in good standing in another state to have education and experience requirements waived

2. Take Maine portion of examination

(32 M.R.S.A. § 13193)

Maryland

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and be of good character and reputation

2. Submit credit report

3. Pass written examination

4. Have been active, licensed real estate salesperson for three years (waived if qualified to practice law in Maryland)

5. Complete 135 hours or nine semester credits of pre-licensing education (waived if qualified to practice law in Maryland)

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE during the preceding two years (7.5 If holding law or real estate graduate degree)

(MD Code §§ 17-304, 17-305, & 17-315 and COMAR 09.11.01.06 & 09.11.01.14)

Initial license fee:

$210 for broker and $150 for associate broker (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $190 for broker and $130 for associate broker

(MD Code § 17-314 and COMAR 09.11.09.02)

According to the Maryland Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with Oklahoma and Pennsylvania

Licensed in Pennsylvania

Excused from examination and continuing education requirements

Licensed in Oklahoma

Must pass the Maryland portion of the examination but are excused from continuing education requirements.

(MD Code § 17-308)

Massachusetts

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, of good moral character, and a U.S. citizen or have declared intent to become one

2. Pass written examination (waived for Massachusetts attorneys)

3. Have principle place of abode within Massachusetts for at least one year (waived for Massachusetts attorneys)

4. Have been licensed salesperson actively associated with a broker for at least three years and working at least 25 hours a week under the broker's supervision

5. Complete 40 hours of pre-licensing broker education

6. Execute a bond for $5,000

Renewal

Must complete between six and 12 hours of CE, as determined by the Real Estate Board of Registration, in prior 24 months

(M.G.L.A. 112 §§ 87SS, 87TT, & 87XX½ and 254 CMR 2.00)

Initial license fee: $142 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $142

(M.G.L.A. 112 §§ 87XX & 87ZZ)

According to the Massachusetts Real Estate Board of Registration, Massachusetts has reciprocal license agreements with the following states, through which some or all of the broker education and examination requirements are waived: Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Maine, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia

Licensed in Non-reciprocal State

May apply for an education waiver, but must take the entire examination

(M.G.L.A. 112 § 87WW and 254 CMR 2.00 (13))

Michigan

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and may be required to provide proof of business experience, competence, and good moral character

2. Not have been convicted of embezzlement or misappropriation of funds

3. Pass written examination

4. Have three years full-time experience as real estate salesperson or equivalent experience

5. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing broker education within the 36 months before applying

Renewal

Must complete at least 18 hours of CE in the prior three year period

(M.C.L.A. §§ 339.2504 & 339.2505 and Mic. Admin. Code R. 339.22201 et seq.)

Initial license fee: $143, but prorated if issued within three-year period (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $108

(M.C.L.A. § 339.2502a and Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs)

None

Minnesota

Must:

1. Be at least age 18

2. Pass written examination

3. Not have had real estate license revoked within two years of the application date

4. Have at least three years actual experience within the prior five years as licensed real estate salesperson or be similarly experienced through education or practical experience (may be waived if applicant holds real estate degree from accredited college or university or is licensed practicing attorney with real estate law practice)

5. Complete 30 hours of pre-licensing broker education within 12 months of applying

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE in prior 24-month period

(M.S.A. §§ 82.58, 82.59, & 82.61)

Initial license fee: $200 (licenses are issued for a 24-month period)

Twenty-four month renewal license fee: $140

(M.S.A. §§ 82.57 & 82.63 and Minnesota Department of Commerce)

By law, must be licensed in good standing in reciprocal state to have the education requirements waived

According to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, reciprocal agreements with: Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

(M.S.A. § 82.64)

Mississippi

Must:

1. Be at least age 21; trustworthy and competent to transact business; legally domiciled in the state; and subject to the state's jurisdiction, including its income tax laws

2. Pass written examination

3. Have been licensed, active real estate salesperson for the preceding 12 months or have completed at least 150 hours of college-level real estate courses

4. Complete at least 120 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete at least 16 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-35-7, 73-35-9, 73-35-13, & 73-35-18)

Application and initial one-year license fee: $150

Two-year license renewal fee: $150

(Miss. Code Ann. § 73-35-17 and Miss. Admin. Code 30-1601:2.1)

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission may waive pre-licensing education and examination requirements if:

1. Licensed in another state with equivalent requirements

2. The other state extends the same privilege to Mississippi real estate licensees

(Miss. Code Ann. § 73-35-7 and Miss. Admin. Code 30-1601:1.1)

Missouri

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be of good moral character; have a good reputation for honesty, integrity, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Submit fingerprints for state and federal criminal history background check

3. Pass examination

4. Have been active, licensed Missouri real estate salesperson, or active real estate licensee in another state, for at least 24 of the 30 months preceding the application date

5. Complete 48-hour broker pre-examination course

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(V.A.M.S. § 339.040 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-3.010, -4.020, & -10.100)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $80 ($150 if nonresident) (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $50 ($150 if nonresident)

(V.A.M.S. § 339.060 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-4.020 & -5.020)

By law, the Missouri Real Estate Commission may issue licenses to nonresidents without examination if reciprocity is extended to Missouri residents

By regulation, must:

1. Hold current, active broker license in another state

2. Meet the experience requirements

3. Pass the Missouri portion of the examination

4. Submit a license history certification (48-hour broker pre-examination course waived)

(V.A.M.S. § 339.090 and 20 Mo. CSR 2250-4.080)

Montana

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, trustworthy, and competent to transact business; and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Pass examination

3. Have been actively engaged as licensed real estate salesperson for two years or have equivalent experience

4. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education within 18 months before applying

Renewal

Must annually complete a “core course” and 12 additional hours of CE during prior year

(MCA §§ 37-51-302 & 37-51-303 and Mont. Admin. R. 24.210.611, .660, & .667)

Initial license fee: $175 (licenses are issued for one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $175

(Montana Board of Realty Regulation)

According to the Montana Board of Realty Regulation, reciprocity agreement with Alberta, Canada

May have the pre-licensing education and examination requirements waived if licensed in another state and that state has licensing standards substantially equivalent to Montana's

(MCA § 37-51-306 and Mont. Admin. R. 24.210.629)

Nebraska

Must:

1. Be at least age 19 and be a high school graduate or hold an equivalent certificate

2. Submit fingerprints for national criminal history background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Have (a) been full-time, active, licensed salesperson for two years (or part-time equivalent) and completed 60 hours of pre-licensing education in addition to the 60 hours required for a salesperson (four courses total) or (b) completed 18 credit hours of college-level real estate courses or 180 hours (six courses) of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 18 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(Neb. Rev. St. §§ 81-885.13 and 81-885.51)

Application fee: $135

Initial license fee: $130 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $260

(Neb. Rev. St. § 81-885.14 and Nebraska Real Estate Commission)

Nebraska Real Estate Commission may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states

(Neb. Rev. St. § 81-885.17(5))

Nevada

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity; and be competent to transact business

2. Be fingerprinted for a criminal history record check (If convicted of forgery, embezzlement, or other crime of moral turpitude, at least three years must have passed since all terms and conditions were satisfied)

3. Have been actively engaged as real estate licensee for at least two of the preceding four years

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 64 semester units of pre-licensing education and new licensees must complete (a) 30 hours of post-licensing education within one year of licensure (may be waived based on real estate experience) and (b) 12 hours of CE within first two years of licensure

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE in every two year period

(N.R.S. §§ 645.330, .343, .355, .460, & .490 and NAC §§ 645.100, .102, .120, .4442, & .448)

Initial license fee: $250

(initial license is issued for a two-year term and subsequent licenses are renewed for four year terms)

Four-year renewal license fee: $440

(NAC § 645.100 and Nevada Real Estate Division)

Nevada Real Estate Division may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states

May have the national portion of the examination and some education requirements waived if licensed in good standing in another state

(N.R.S. §§ 645.332 & .343)

New Hampshire

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

2. Submit to a criminal records check

3. Have worked the equivalent of one year full-time or 2,000 hours part-time as a licensed real estate salesperson within the preceding five-year period or have equivalent experience

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete a three-hour real estate course and an additional 12 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

Surety Bond

Principal or managing brokers must submit a $25,000 surety bond to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 331-A:10, :10-a, :14, & :20 and N.H. Code Admin. R. Rea 403.01)

Initial license fee: $110 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $110

(N.H. Rev. Stat. § 331-A:19 and N.H. Code Admin. R. Rea 301.02)

May apply for a license in New Hampshire by taking the state portion of the examination if:

1. Licensed in good standing in another state

2. The other state has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission

(N.H. Rev. Stat. § 331-A:11-a)

New Jersey

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be of good moral character and able to prove honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history background check

3. Not have been convicted of forgery, robbery, conspiracy to defraud, or other similar offenses within the past five years

4. Have been licensed, full-time salesperson for three years preceding application

5. Pass written examination

6. Complete 150 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete 12 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(N.J.S.A. §§ 45:15-9, -10, -12.1, & -16.2a and N.J.A.C. §§ 11:5-2.1. -3.3, & -12.3)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $200 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $200

(N.J.S.A. §§ 45:15-9, -10, & -15 and N.J.A.C. § 11:5-3.1)

According to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission, no reciprocity with any state

May waive 90 hours of pre-licensing education and the experience requirement if:

1. Held license in another state

2. Have been actively engaged in the real estate business for at least three years

(N.J.A.C. §§ 11:5-2.1 and -3.8)

New Mexico

Must:

1. Have reached the age of majority; be a legal U.S. resident; and be honest, trustworthy, of good repute, and competent to transact business

2. Be fingerprinted for state and national criminal history background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (To upgrade from associate broker to qualifying broker, must complete a 30-hour brokerage administration course)

Experience Requirement

1. Associate broker: none

2. Qualifying broker: must have been licensed as an associate broker or held an equivalent real estate license for at least two of the five years preceding the application date

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE during the prior three-year period

(N.M.S.A. §§ 61-29-9, -10, & -11 and N.M. Admin. Code §§ 16.61.3, .7, & .13)

Initial license fee: $270 (licenses are issued for a three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $270

Upgrade from associate broker to qualifying broker: no fee

(N.M.S.A. § 61-29-8 and New Mexico Real Estate Commission)

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission will waive up to 60 hours of the pre-licensing education if currently licensed in another state

License recognition agreements, through which the pre-licensing education and examination requirements are waived, with: Georgia, Louisiana, and Massachusetts

(N.M.S.A. § 61-29-9 and N.M. Admin. Code § 16.61.3)

New York

Must:

1. Be at least age 20, a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien, trustworthy, and competent to transact business

2. Not have been convicted of a felony, a sex offense, or a sexually violent offense

3. Have been licensed real estate salesperson for at least two years or have at least three years of experience in the real estate business

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete at least 120 hours of pre-licensing education (the 75-hour salesperson education and a 45-hour broker course)

Renewal

Must complete at least 22.5 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(N.Y. Real Property Law §§ 440-a & 441 and 19 NYCCR 177.1)

Initial license fee: $150 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $150

(N.Y. Real Property Law §§ 441 & 441-b)

Out-of-state license qualifies applicant for a New York license if home state:

1. Issues licenses after written examination

2. Allows licensed New York residents to be licensed there without examination

According to the New York Division of Licensing Services, reciprocity agreements with: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia

(N.Y. Real Property Law § 442-g and New York Division of Licensing Services)

North Carolina

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and possess competency, honesty, truthfulness, integrity, good moral character, and general fitness, including mental and emotional fitness

2. Obtain and submit a criminal record report

3. Pass examination

4. Complete at least 75 hours of pre-licensing education or have equivalent education or experience

Provisional Broker License

1. Upon initial licensure, provisional license is issued

2. Must complete 90 hours of post-licensing education within three years of licensure, after which the provisional license converts to standard license

Broker-in-Charge Requirements

To serve as broker-in charge, must:

1. Have at least two years of full-time real estate brokerage experience, equivalent part-time experience within the previous five years, or equivalent education and experience

2. Complete an additional 12 hours of education

Renewal

Upon second annual license renewal, and each subsequent annual renewal, must complete eight hours of CE annually (waived if a U.S. Congress or North Carolina General Assembly member)

(N.C.G.S.A. §§ 93A-4, -4.1, & -4.2 and 21 NCAC 58A.1702 & .1902)

Initial license fee: $30 (licenses are issued for a one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $45

(N.C.G.S.A. § 93A-4 and 21 NCAC 58A.0503)

Exempt from the national portion of the examination if holds current real estate license that has been on active status within the previous three years in another state

(N.C.G.S.A. § 93A-9 and 21 NCAC 58A.0511)

North Dakota

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing; and be competent to transact business

2. Not have had a real estate license revoked within the prior two years and may be required to submit to a state and national criminal history record check

3. Have been active, licensed real estate salesperson for at least two years preceding the application, or have equivalent experience

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete at least 60 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete nine hours of CE annually

(NDCC §§ 43-23-08, -08.2, & -08.4 and NDAC 70-02-04-02)

Initial license fee: $120 (licenses are issued for a one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $120

(NDCC §§ 43-23-13 & -13.1 and the North Dakota Real Estate Commission)

North Dakota will recognize a licensee from another state if it has a reciprocity agreement with that state

According to the North Dakota Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with: Georgia, Iowa, and Minnesota

May have the national portion of the examination waived if licensed in a non-reciprocal state

(NDCC § 43-23-10 and NDAC 70-02-01-06)

Ohio

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be honest, truthful, and of good reputation; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude

3. Not have been judged by a court to have violated any civil rights laws relevant to the protection of real estate sellers or purchasers, or at least two years has passed since the decision

4. Have (a) held real estate license for at least two years, (b) worked as real estate salesperson or broker during at least two of the past five years for at least 30 hours a week, and (c) completed at least 20 real estate transactions or equivalent experience

5. Pass written examination

6. Complete (a) 120 hours of pre-licensing education; (b) courses in financial management, human resources, applied business economics, and business law; and (c) at least two years of post-secondary education or the equivalent of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE each three-year period

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.07 & 4735.141)

Initial license fee: $100 (this is the fee for the initial year of licensure, which ends on the licensee's birthday; licenses are subsequently renewed for three-year terms)

Three-year license renewal fee: $60 per year, or $180

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.06 & 4735.15 and OAC 1301:5-1-22)

May waive license requirements for a person who holds a real estate license in another state pursuant to a reciprocal agreement

According to the Ohio Department of Real Estate and Professional Licensing, reciprocal agreements with: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming

(Ohio R.C. §§ 4735.07 & 4735.17)

Oklahoma

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and of good moral character

2. Submit to a national criminal history record check

3. Hold a renewable sales associate license and have had two years of experience within the past five years as a licensed sales associate or provisional sales associate

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 90 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Offenses and Prohibition Periods

The following time periods must elapse before a person convicted of a particular offense will be considered for licensure:

1. Any specified serious crime (e.g., murder), at least 20 years must have passed since completing all terms and conditions

2. Felony involving forgery, fraud, or a similar offense, at least 10 years

3. Any other felony, at least five years

Renewal

Must complete at least 21 hours of CE in the prior 36-month period

(59 Okl. St. Ann. §§ 858-301.1, -303, -307.1, -307.2, & -307.4 and Okla. Admin. Code 605:10-3-6)

Initial license fee: $225 (license is issued for a 36-month term)

36-month license renewal fee: $225

(59 Okl. St. Ann. § 858-307.1 and Oklahoma Real Estate Commission)

According to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, reciprocity agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and West Virginia

May have the national portion of the examination, education, and experience requirements waived if holds active license in a reciprocal state

(Okla. Admin. Code 605:10-7-9)

Oregon

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, be trustworthy and competent to transact business, and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for criminal history record check

3. Pass written examination

Experience Requirement

1. Broker: none

2. Principle broker: must have three years of active, licensed real estate experience or its equivalent

Education Requirement

1. Broker: must complete 150 hours of pre-licensing education

2. Principle broker: must complete additional 40-hour brokerage administration and sales supervision course

Renewal

Must complete 30 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(O.R.S. §§ 696.022 & 696.174 and OAR §§ 863-014-0010, et seq. & 863-022-0010)

Initial license fee: $230 (license is issued for two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $230

(O.R.S. § 696.270 and OAR § 863-014-0050)

Oregon Real Estate Commissioner may prescribe terms and conditions for license recognition of someone who holds a real estate license in another state

According to the Oregon Real Estate Agency, reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota

(O.R.S. § 696.265)

Pennsylvania

Must:

1. Be at least age 21; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Have been licensed real estate salesperson for at least three years or have equivalent education or experience

3. Pass examination

4. Complete 240 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 14 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(63 P.S. §§ 455.404a, 455.501, & 455.511)

Application fee: $75

Initial license fee: $94.50 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $126

(49 Pa. Code § 35.203)

May have license requirements waived if applicant holds a current real estate license in good standing from another state and the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has entered into reciprocal agreement with that state

According to the commission, reciprocal agreements with: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, and West Virginia

(49 Pa. Code §§ 35.222 & 35.255)

Rhode Island

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; a citizen or legal U.S. resident; and have good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competency

2. Pass examination (waived for attorneys licensed in Rhode Island)

3. Have (a) been a full-time licensed real estate salesperson for at least two years, (b) received a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university, or (c) completed at least 90 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 24 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-3 & -4 and R.I. Admin. Code 11-4-11:6, :7, & :30)

Application fee: $10

Initial license fee: $85 per year for each year of the license period (usually two years)

Two-year license renewal fee: $170 ($85 per year)

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-6 & -11 and R.I. Admin. Code 11-4-11:9)

The national portion of the examination is waived for applicant licensed in a state with which Rhode Island has a reciprocal agreement

According to the Rhode Island Real Estate Division, it has reciprocal agreements with Connecticut and Massachusetts

(Gen. Laws §§ 5-20.5-4 & -10)

South Carolina

Must:

1. Be at least age 21 and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit to a credit report to demonstrate creditworthiness

3. Pass examination

4. (a) Complete 150 hours of pre-licensing education (includes the 90 hours of salesperson education) and have three years of experience as a licensed real estate salesperson; (b) hold a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a Baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university; or (c) have related education and at least five years of experience closely related to real estate transactions immediately preceding application

Renewal

Must complete eight hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(SC ST §§ 40-57-80, -100, & -130)

Initial license fee: $250 for broker-in-charge and $125 for broker (license is issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $120 for broker-in-charge and $80 for broker

(S.C. Code of Regs. 105-13)

National portion of the examination waived for applicant who holds a real estate license in another state

South Carolina Real Estate Commission may enter into reciprocal agreements with other states that waive education and examination requirements

Reciprocal agreements with: Georgia and West Virginia

(SC ST §§ 40-57-100 & -120)

South Dakota

Must:

1. Be at least age 18, of reputable character, competent to transact business, and a U.S. citizen

2. Not have had a real estate (a) license application rejected in the past year or (b) license revoked in within the past five years

3. Not have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete 116 hours of pre-licensing education and, upon licensure, complete 60 hours of post-licensure education (30 during first licensing period and 30 during second licensing period)

Renewal

Must complete at least 24 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(SDCL §§ 36-21A-30, -30.1, -30.2, 33, -36, & -62)

Initial license fee: $225 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $125

(SDCL § 36-21A-61 and ARSD 20:69:03:10 & :13)

Law allows reciprocal agreements, but none in place, according to the South Dakota Real Estate Commission

(SDCL § 36-21A-54 and ARSD 20:69:03:21)

Tennessee

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business; and have been a state resident for at least 45 days

2. Submit fingerprints for criminal background check (Tennessee Real Estate Commission may deny license if convicted of, or pleaded guilty or nolo contender to, forgery, embezzlement, or any similar offense)

3. Pass examination

Experience Requirement

1. Affiliate broker: none

2. Broker: must have held an active real estate license for at least 36 months or, if has a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate, for at least 24 months

Education Requirement

1. Affiliate broker: must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education (60-hour principles course and 30-hour course for new affiliates)

2. Broker: must complete (a) 120 hours of pre-licensing education, including 30-hour office and brokerage management course, and (b) during first three years of licensure, 120 hours of post-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete 16 hours of CE in prior two-year period

(T.C.A. §§ 62-13-303, -304,

Initial license fee: $100

(licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $80

(T.C.A. §§ 62-13-307 & -308 and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1260-01-.12)

Law authorizes Tennessee Real Estate Commission to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states, but none in place

An applicant who holds a real estate license in another state may be excused from the uniform portion of the examination

(T.C.A. § 62-13-314 and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1260-01-.02)

Texas

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien; and demonstrate competence, honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check

3. Have at least four years of active experience as real estate licensee during the previous 60 months

4. Pass examination

5. Complete pre-licensing education of at least 60 semester hours, or equivalent classroom hours, of post-secondary education related to real estate

Renewal

Must complete at least 15 hours of CE in the prior-two-year period

(V.T.C.A. §§ 1101.3521, 1101.354, 1101.356, & 1101.455)

Initial license fee: $364 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $523

(V.T.C.A. § 1101.451 and Texas Real Estate Commission)

According to the Texas Real Estate Commission:

1. No reciprocity with any other states

2. May have the national portion of the examination waived if licensed in another state

Experience and education requirements do not apply if licensed as a real estate broker by another state that has license requirements comparable to Texas' requirements

(V.T.C.A. § 1101.356)

Utah

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; prove honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints and consent to a criminal background check

3. Not have been convicted of a (a) felony within the previous five years or (b) misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the previous three years

4. Have had three years of full-time experience as licensed sales agent within the previous five years and have accumulated at least 60 experience points based on prior transactions

5. Pass examination

6. Complete 120 hours of pre-licensing broker education or have equivalent education

Renewal

Must complete 18 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(U.C.A. §§ 61-2f-203 & -204 and U.A.C. R162-2f-201, -202b, , 202c, & -204)

Initial license fee: $158 (license are issued for a two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $48

(U.C.A. §§ 61-2f-105 & -204 and Utah Division of Real Estate)

Reciprocity agreements with Georgia and Mississippi for salesperson license applicants, but they appear to not apply to broker applicants

Vermont

Must:

1. Have at least two years of experience as a licensed salesperson and at least eight separate and unrelated closed transactions

2. Pass examination

3. Complete at least 40 hours of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete at least 24 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(26 V.S.A. §§ 2292 & 2293)

Application fee: $50

Initial license fee: $200 (licenses are issued for a two-year term)

Biennial license renewal fee: $200

(26 V.S.A. § 2255 & 2293)

Vermont Real Estate Commission may waive some licensure requirements (e.g., pre-licensing education and national portion of examination) if currently licensed in good standing in another state that has requirements substantially equal to Vermont's

If applicant holds a license in

1. Alaska, Indiana, Kansas, or Tennessee, must take the 40-hour pre-licensing course

2. California, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Puerto Rico, or West Virginia, must take the national portion of the examination

(26 V.S.A. § 2292, Vt. Admin. Code 20-4-1800:2, and Vermont Office of Professional Regulation - Real Estate Commission)

Virginia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; have good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair dealing, and competency to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Not have had a real estate license suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action

3. Have been actively engaged as a full-time real estate salesperson for at least 36 of the 48 months preceding application

4. Pass written examination

5. Complete at least 12 semester hours (or 180 classroom hours) of pre-licensing broker education

Renewal

Must complete at least 24 hours of CE in the prior two-year period

(VA Code Ann. §§ 54.1-2105 & -2105.03 and 18 VAC 135-20-30, -40, & -101)

Initial license fee: $190 (licenses are issued for two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $80

(18 VAC 135-20-80, -90, & -120)

May apply for licensure by reciprocity, through which the national portion of the examination is waived, if licensed in good standing in another state

(18 VAC 135-20-60)

Washington

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; prove honesty, truthfulness, and good reputation; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal background check

3. Pass examination

Experience Requirement

1. Broker: none

2. Managing broker: must have at least three years of experience as a full-time real estate broker in the previous five years

Education Requirement

1. Broker: must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education, including real estate fundamentals and practices, and, by first license renewal, 90 hours of post-licensing education, including real estate law and advanced practices

2. Managing broker: must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education, including brokerage management, business management, and advanced real estate law

Renewal

Must complete at least 30 hours of CE within 48 months of the renewal date (At least 15 must be completed within 24 months of the current renewal date)

(RCWA §§ 18.85.101, .111, .171, & .211 and WAC 308-124A-785 & -790)

Application fee: $138.25

Initial license fee: $146.25 for broker and $210 for managing broker (licenses are issued for two-year term)

Two-year renewal license fee: $146.25 for broker and $210 for managing broker

(RCWA § 18.85.191 and WAC 308-124A-775)

May have the national portion of the examination waived if holds real estate license in good standing in another state

(WAC 308-124A-720)

West Virginia

Must:

1. Be at least age 18; be trustworthy, of good moral character, and competent to transact business; and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check

3. Have been licensed salesperson for at least two years or had equivalent experience

4. Pass examination

5. Complete at least 180 hours of pre-licensing education

Renewal

Must complete seven hours of CE annually

(W. Va. Code §§ 30-40-11, -12, -14, & -16 and W. Va. Code St. R §§ 174-1-4 & -13)

Application fee: $25

Initial license fee: $150 (licenses are issued for one-year term)

Annual license renewal fee: $150

(W. Va. Code St. R §§ 174-1-13 & 174-2-2)

West Virginia Real Estate Commission may recognize a valid real estate license issued by another state as qualifying a nonresident to obtain a comparable license in West Virginia

According to the commission, it will issue a reciprocal license to an applicant who:

1. Resides in a reciprocal state

2. Holds a current real estate license that was obtained by written examination

Reciprocal agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina

(W. Va. Code § 30-40-15)

Wisconsin

Must:

1. Be at least age 18 and competent to transact business

2. Not have been convicted of a felony

3. Have (a) been licensed salesperson under the direct supervision of licensed broker for at least two of the preceding four years and (b) accrued at least 40 experience points based on number of closed transactions

4. Pass examination

5. Complete at least 72 hours of pre-licensing education or 20 semester hour credits in real estate at an accredited higher education institution

Renewal

Must complete at least 18 hours of CE during the prior two-year period

(W.S.A. §§ 452.03, 452.05, 452.09, & 452.25 and Wis. Adm. Code § REEB 12.01, 25.02, & 25.065)

Initial license fee: $75 (license are issued for two-year term)

Two-year license renewal fee: $82

(W.S.A. § 440.08 and Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board)

According to the Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board, reciprocity agreements with: Illinois and Indiana

May have national portion of the examination and some pre-licensing education requirements waived if licensed in another state within past two years

(W.S.A. § 452.05 and Wis. Adm. Code §§ REEB 12.02 & 25.025)

Wyoming

Must:

1. Have attained the age of majority and have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact business

2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record background check

3. Pass written examination

4. Complete at least 60 hours of pre-licensing education

Experience Requirement

1. Associate broker: must have been active, licensed real estate salesperson for two of the four preceding years or hold a degree in real estate from an accredited university or college

2. Responsible broker: must have been active, licensed real estate salesperson or associate broker for two of the four preceding years

Renewal

Must complete at least 45 hours of CE in the prior three-year period and, if responsible broker, also complete an eight-hour broker management course during each licensing period

(W.S. §§ 33-28-106, -107, & -118 and WY Rules and Regs. AI REAL Ch. 1 § 3 & Ch. 4 § 1)

Initial license fee: $300 (licenses are issued for three-year term)

Three-year license renewal fee: $350

(W.S. § 33-28-108 and WY Rules and Regs. AI REAL Ch. 2 § 1)

None

JKL:ro