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Rule 110A STANDARDS FOR GUARDIANS AD LITEM

(1) issue an order appointing the guardian ad litem on a form substantially in compliance with the judicial 
council form; and
(2) ensure compliance with this rule.

(a) Generally. Unless the appointing judge authorizes departure from these standards for good cause, these 
standards apply when the judge appoints a guardian ad litem for a child in a case under the Revised Kansas Code 
for Care of Children, K.S.A. 38-2201 et seq.; the Revised Kansas Juvenile Justice Code, K.S.A. 38 - 2301 et seq.; and 
the Kansas Family Law Code, K.S.A. Chapter 23. The judge must:

(A) Number of Hours; Timeframe. As a prerequisite to appointment, a guardian ad litem must 
complete at least 6 hours of education, including 1 hour of professional responsibility. An appointed 
guardian ad litem also must participate in continuing education consisting of at least 6 hours per 
year.

dynamics of abuse and neglect;•
roles and responsibilities;•
cultural awareness;•
communication skills, including communication with children;•
information gathering and investigatory techniques;•
advocacy skills;•
child development;•
mental health issues;•
permanency and the law;•
community resources;•
professional responsibility;•
special education law;•
substance abuse issues;•
school law; and•
the revised code for care of children.•

(B) Areas of Education. Areas of education should include, but are not limited to:

(1) Requirements.

(2) Waiver of Prerequisite. The appointing judge may waive the prerequisite education when necessary to 
make an emergency temporary appointment. The educational requirements must be completed within 6 
months after appointment.
(3) Continuing Education Requirements; Judicial Approval. If approved by the Continuing Legal Education 
Commission, the education hours required by paragraph ( 1 ) also can be counted to satisfy Supreme Court 
Rule 803's continuing legal education requirements. These standards do not modify the minimum total 
hours annually required under that rule. The appointing judge may approve prerequisite education and 
continuing education hours not otherwise approved by the Continuing Legal Education Commission.
(4) Recordkeeping. Each guardian ad litem must maintain a record of the guardian’s participation in 
prerequisite and continuing education programs. Upon request of the appointing judge, the guardian must 
provide evidence of compliance with this subsection.

(b) Prerequisite and Continuing Education.

(1) Conducting an Independent Investigation. A guardian ad litem must conduct an independent 
investigation and review all relevant documents and records, including those of social service agencies, 
police, courts, physicians, mental health practitioners, and schools. Interviews — either in person or by 
telephone — of the child, parents, social workers, relatives, school personnel, court-appointed special 

(c) Guardian Ad Litem Duties and Responsibilities. A guardian ad litem must comply with the following standards:

Return to indexRule 110A STANDARDS FOR GUARDIANS AD LITEM
Tuesday, September 17, 2013
7:30 AM

   KS Page 3    

http://www.kscourts.org/rules/New_Rules_and_Amendments/Rule%20803%20updated%20-%20Aug%202012/rule803new-updatedrule.pdf
http://www.casaforchildren.org/site/c.mtJSJ7MPIsE/b.5301295/k.BE9A/Home.htm


telephone — of the child, parents, social workers, relatives, school personnel, court-appointed special 
advocates (CASAs), caregivers, and others having knowledge of the facts are recommended. Continuing 
investigation and ongoing contact with the child are mandatory.

the child's age and sense of time;•
the child’s level of maturity;•
the child’s culture and ethnicity;•
degree of the child’s attachment to family members, including siblings;•
continuity;•
consistency;•
permanency;•
the child's sense of belonging and identity; and•
results of the investigation.•

(2) Determining the Best Interests of the Child. A guardian ad litem must determine the best interests of 
the child by considering such factors as:

(A) file appropriate pleadings and other papers on the child’s behalf;
(B) represent the best interests of the child at all hearings;
(C) present all relevant facts, including the child’s position;
(D) submit the results of the guardian’s independent investigation and the guardian’s 
recommendations regarding the child’s best interests; and

(i) calling, examining, and cross-examining witnesses;
(ii) submitting and responding to other evidence; and
(iii) making oral and written arguments based on the evidence that has been or is expected to 
be presented.

(E) vigorously advocate for the child’s best interests by:

(3) Representing in Court. A guardian ad litem must:

(4) Explaining to the Child. A guardian ad litem must explain the court proceedings and the guardian’s role 
in terms the child can understand.
(5) Making Recommendations for Services. A guardian ad litem must recommend appropriate services for 
the child and the child's family.
(6) Monitoring. A guardian ad litem must monitor implementation of service plans and court orders.

(d) When Recommendation Conflicts With Child’s Wishes. If the child disagrees with the guardian ad litem’s 
recommendation, the guardian must inform the court of the disagreement. The court may, for good cause, 
appoint an attorney to represent the child’s expressed wishes. If the court appoints an attorney for the child, 
that individual serves in addition to the guardian ad litem. The attorney must allow the child and the guardian to 
communicate with one another but may require the communications to occur in the attorney’s presence.

(e) Participation Limited by Rules of Professional Conduct. An attorney in a proceeding in which the attorney 
serves as guardian ad litem may submit reports and recommendations to the court and testify only as permitted 
by Kansas Rule of Professional Conduct 3.7(a).
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Kansas Statutes
Browsable and searchable archive of 2009 Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A.) 

Chapter 38: Minors
Article 22: Revised Kansas Code For Care Of Children

38-2201: Citation; construction of code; policy of state. •
38-2202: Definitions. •
38-2203: Jurisdiction; age of child, presumptions. •
38-2204: Venue. •
38-2205: Right to counsel; guardian ad litem•
38-2206: Appointment of special advocate. •
38-2207: Citizen review boards; members. •
38-2208: Same; duties and powers. •
38-2209: Confidentiality of child in need of care records; penalties; immunities. •
38-2210: Parties exchanging information. •
38-2211: Access to official and social file; preservation of records. •
38-2211a: •
38-2212: Appropriate and necessary access; exchange of information; court ordered disclosure; limited 
public information. 

•

38-2213: Records of law enforcement agencies; limited disclosure; exchange of information; access; 
court ordered disclosure. 

•

38-2214: Duties of county or district attorney. •
38-2215: Docket fee and expenses. •
38-2216: Expense of care and custody of child. •
38-2217: Health services. •
38-2218: Educational decisions; educational advocates for exceptional children. •
38-2219: Evaluation of development or needs of child. •
38-2220: Parentage. •
38-2221: Fingerprints and photographs. •
38-2222: Public information and educational program; reporting of suspected abuse or neglect. •
38-2223: Reporting of certain abuse or neglect of children; persons reporting; reports, made to whom; 
penalties; immunity from liability. 

•

38-2224: Same; employer prohibited from imposing sanctions on employee making report or 
cooperating in investigation; penalty. 

•

38-2225: Same; reporting of certain abuse or neglect of children in institutions operated by the 
secretary; rules and regulations. 

•

38-2226: Investigation of reports; coordination between agencies. •
38-2227: Child advocacy centers. •
38-2228: Multidisciplinary team. •
38-2229: Investigation of abuse or neglect; subpoena; request to quash. •
38-2230: Same; duties of SRS. •
38-2231: Child under 18, when law enforcement officers or court services officers may take into custody; 
sheltering a runaway. 

•

38-2232: Child under 18 taken into custody; duties of officers; referral of cases for proceedings under this 
code and interstate compact on juveniles; placed in shelter facility or with other person; application of 
law enforcement officer; release of child. 

•

38-2233: Filing of petition on referral by SRS or other person; filing by individual. •

Statutes:
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38-2233: Filing of petition on referral by SRS or other person; filing by individual. •
38-2234: Pleadings. •
38-2235: Procedure upon filing of petition. •
38-2236: Summons; persons to be served; notice of hearing. •
38-2237: Service of process. •
38-2238: Proof of service. •
38-2239: Service of other pleadings. •
38-2240: Subpoenas; witness fees. •
38-2241: Additional parties. •
38-2242: Ex parte orders of protective custody; application; determination of probable cause; period of 
time; placement; procedures; orders for removal of child from custody of parent, limitations. 

•

38-2243: Orders of temporary custody; notice; hearing; procedure; findings; placement; orders for 
removal of child from custody of parent, limitations. 

•

38-2244: Order for informal supervision; restraining orders. •
38-2245: Discovery. •
38-2246: Continuances. •
38-2247: Attendance at proceedings; confidentiality. •
38-2248: Stipulations and no contest statements. •
38-2249: Rules of evidence. •
38-2250: Degree of proof. •
38-2251: Adjudication. •
38-2252: Predispositional alternative; placement with person other than child's parent; conference; 
recommendations; immunity. 

•

38-2253: Dispositional hearing; purpose; time. •
38-2254: Same; notice. •
38-2255: Authorized dispositions. •
38-2256: Rehearing. •
38-2257: Permanency planning at disposition. •
38-2258: Change of placement; removal from home of parent, findings by court. •
38-2259: Emergency change of placement; removal from home of parent, findings of court. •
38-2260: Placement; order directing child to remain in present or future placement, application for 
determination that child has violated order; procedure; authorized dispositions; limitations on facilities 
used for placement; computation of time limitations. 

•

38-2261: Reports made by foster parents. •
38-2262: Placement; testimony of certain children. •
38-2263: Permanency planning. •
38-2264: Permanency hearing; purpose; procedure; time for hearing. •
38-2265: Same; notice. •
38-2266: Request for termination of parental rights or appointment of permanent custodian. •
38-2267: Procedure upon receipt of request. •
38-2268: Voluntary relinquishment; voluntary permanent custodianship; consent to adoption. •
38-2269: Factors to be considered in termination of parental rights; appointment of permanent 
custodian. 

•

38-2270: Custody for adoption. •
38-2271: Presumption of unfitness, when; burden of proof. •
38-2272: Appointment of permanent custodian. •
38-2273: Appeals; procedure; verification. •
38-2274: Temporary orders pending appeal; status of orders appealed from. •
38-2275: Fees and expenses. •
38-2276: Prohibiting detainment or placement of child in jail. •
38-2277: Determination of child support. •
38-2278: Journal entry for child support. •
38-2279: Withholding order for child support; filing; service. •
38-2280: Remedies supplemental not substitute. •
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38-2280: Remedies supplemental not substitute. •
38-2281: Family services and community intervention fund; child in need of care, purpose of expenditure 
of moneys. 

•

38-2282: Newborn infant protection act. •
38-2283: Application to existing cases. •

38-2201: Citation; construction of code; policy of state. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2201 through 38-2283, and 
amendments thereto, shall be known as and may be cited as the revised Kansas code for care of children. 

(a) Proceedings pursuant to this code shall be civil in nature and all proceedings, orders, judgments 
and decrees shall be deemed to be pursuant to the parental power of the state. 

(b) The code shall be liberally construed to carry out the policies of the state which are to: 
(1) Consider the safety and welfare of a child to be paramount in all proceedings under the code; 
(2) provide that each child who comes within the provisions of the code shall receive the care, custody, 

guidance control and discipline that will best serve the child's welfare and the interests of the state, 
preferably in the child's home and recognizing that the child's relationship with such child's family is 
important to the child's well being; 

(3) make the ongoing physical, mental and emotional needs of the child decisive considerations in 
proceedings under this code; 

(4) acknowledge that the time perception of a child differs from that of an adult and to dispose of all 
proceedings under this code without unnecessary delay; 

(5) encourage the reporting of suspected child abuse and neglect; 
(6) investigate reports of suspected child abuse and neglect thoroughly and promptly; 
(7) provide for the protection of children who have been subject to physical, mental or emotional 

abuse or neglect or sexual abuse; 
(8) provide preventative and rehabilitative services, when appropriate, to abused and neglected 

children and their families so, if possible, the families can remain together without further threat to the 
children; 

(9) provide stability in the life of a child who must be removed from the home of a parent; and 
(10) place children in permanent family settings, in absence of compelling reasons to the contrary. 
(c) Nothing in this code shall be construed to permit discrimination on the basis of disability. 
(1) The disability of a parent shall not constitute a basis for a determination that a child is a child in 

need of care, for the removal of custody of a child from the parent, or for the termination of parental rights 
without a specific showing that there is a causal relation between the disability and harm to the child. 

(2) In cases involving a parent with a disability, determinations made under this code shall consider the 
availability and use of accommodations for the disability, including adaptive equipment and support 
services. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 1; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2202: Definitions. As used in the revised Kansas code for care of children, unless the context otherwise 
indicates: 

(a) "Abandon" or "abandonment" means to forsake, desert or, without making appropriate provision 
for substitute care, cease providing care for the child. 

(b) "Adult correction facility" means any public or private facility, secure or nonsecure, which is used 
for the lawful custody of accused or convicted adult criminal offenders. 

(c) "Aggravated circumstances" means the abandonment, torture, chronic abuse, sexual abuse or 
chronic, life threatening neglect of a child. 

(d) "Child in need of care" means a person less than 18 years of age at the time of filing of the petition 
or issuance of an ex parte protective custody order pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2242, and 
amendments thereto, who: 

(1) Is without adequate parental care, control or subsistence and the condition is not due solely to the 
lack of financial means of the child's parents or other custodian; 

(2) is without the care or control necessary for the child's physical, mental or emotional health; 
(3) has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused; 

•
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(3) has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused; 
(4) has been placed for care or adoption in violation of law; 
(5) has been abandoned or does not have a known living parent; 
(6) is not attending school as required by K.S.A. 72-977 or 72-1111, and amendments thereto; 
(7) except in the case of a violation of K.S.A. 21-4204a, 41-727, subsection (j) of K.S.A. 74-8810 or 

subsection (m) or (n) of K.S.A. 79-3321, and amendments thereto, or, except as provided in paragraph (12), 
does an act which, when committed by a person under 18 years of age, is prohibited by state law, city 
ordinance or county resolution but which is not prohibited when done by an adult; 

(8) while less than 10 years of age, commits any act which if done by an adult would constitute the 
commission of a felony or misdemeanor as defined by K.S.A. 21-3105, and amendments thereto; 

(9) is willfully and voluntarily absent from the child's home without the consent of the child's parent or 
other custodian; 

(10) is willfully and voluntarily absent at least a second time from a court ordered or designated 
placement, or a placement pursuant to court order, if the absence is without the consent of the person 
with whom the child is placed or, if the child is placed in a facility, without the consent of the person in 
charge of such facility or such person's designee; 

(11) has been residing in the same residence with a sibling or another person under 18 years of age, 
who has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected, or sexually abused; 

(12) while less than 10 years of age commits the offense defined in K.S.A. 21-4204a, and amendments 
thereto; or 

(13) has had a permanent custodian appointed and the permanent custodian is no longer able or 
willing to serve. 

(e) "Citizen review board" is a group of community volunteers appointed by the court and whose 
duties are prescribed by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2207 and 38-2208, and amendments thereto. 

(f) "Court-appointed special advocate" means a responsible adult other than an attorney guardian ad 
litem who is appointed by the court to represent the best interests of a child, as provided in K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2206, and amendments thereto, in a proceeding pursuant to this code. 

(g) "Custody" whether temporary, protective or legal, means the status created by court order or 
statute which vests in a custodian, whether an individual or an agency, the right to physical possession of 
the child and the right to determine placement of the child, subject to restrictions placed by the court. 

(h) "Extended out of home placement" means a child has been in the custody of the secretary and 
placed with neither parent for 15 of the most recent 22 months beginning 60 days after the date at which a 
child in the custody of the secretary was removed from the home. 

(i) "Educational institution" means all schools at the elementary and secondary levels. 
(j) "Educator" means any administrator, teacher or other professional or paraprofessional employee of 

an educational institution who has exposure to a pupil specified in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 72-89b03, and 
amendments thereto. 

(k) "Harm" means physical or psychological injury or damage. 
(l) "Interested party" means the grandparent of the child, a person with whom the child has been 

living for a significant period of time when the child in need of care petition is filed, and any person made 
an interested party by the court pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2241, and amendments thereto or Indian 
tribe seeking to intervene that is not a party. 

(m) "Jail" means: 
(1) An adult jail or lockup; or 
(2) a facility in the same building or on the same grounds as an adult jail or lockup, unless the facility 

meets all applicable standards and licensure requirements under law and there is: (A) Total separation of 
the juvenile and adult facility spatial areas such that there could be no haphazard or accidental contact 
between juvenile and adult residents in the respective facilities; (B) total separation in all juvenile and adult 
program activities within the facilities, including recreation, education, counseling, health care, dining, 
sleeping and general living activities; and (C) separate juvenile and adult staff, including management, 
security staff and direct care staff such as recreational, educational and counseling. 

(n) "Juvenile detention facility" means any secure public or private facility used for the lawful custody 
of accused or adjudicated juvenile offenders which must not be a jail. 

(o) "Juvenile intake and assessment worker" means a responsible adult authorized to perform intake 
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(o) "Juvenile intake and assessment worker" means a responsible adult authorized to perform intake 
and assessment services as part of the intake and assessment system established pursuant to K.S.A. 
75-7023, and amendments thereto. 

(p) "Kinship care" means the placement of a child in the home of the child's relative or in the home of 
another adult with whom the child or the child's parent already has a close emotional attachment. 

(q) "Law enforcement officer" means any person who by virtue of office or public employment is 
vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty 
extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes. 

(r) "Multidisciplinary team" means a group of persons, appointed by the court under K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2228, and amendments thereto, which has knowledge of the circumstances of a child in need of care. 

(s) "Neglect" means acts or omissions by a parent, guardian or person responsible for the care of a 
child resulting in harm to a child, or presenting a likelihood of harm, and the acts or omissions are not due 
solely to the lack of financial means of the child's parents or other custodian. Neglect may include, but shall 
not be limited to: 

(1) Failure to provide the child with food, clothing or shelter necessary to sustain the life or health of 
the child; 

(2) failure to provide adequate supervision of a child or to remove a child from a situation which 
requires judgment or actions beyond the child's level of maturity, physical condition or mental abilities and 
that results in bodily injury or a likelihood of harm to the child; or 

(3) failure to use resources available to treat a diagnosed medical condition if such treatment will 
make a child substantially more comfortable, reduce pain and suffering, or correct or substantially diminish 
a crippling condition from worsening. A parent legitimately practicing religious beliefs who does not 
provide specified medical treatment for a child because of religious beliefs shall not for that reason be 
considered a negligent parent; however, this exception shall not preclude a court from entering an order 
pursuant to subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2217, and amendments thereto. 

(t) "Parent" when used in relation to a child or children, includes a guardian and every person who is 
by law liable to maintain, care for or support the child. 

(u) "Party" means the state, the petitioner, the child, any parent of the child and an Indian child's tribe 
intervening pursuant to the Indian child welfare act. 

(v) "Permanency goal" means the outcome of the permanency planning process which may be 
reintegration, adoption, appointment of a permanent custodian or another planned permanent living 
arrangement. 

(w) "Permanent custodian" means a judicially approved permanent guardian of a child pursuant to 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2272, and amendments thereto. 

(x) "Physical, mental or emotional abuse" means the infliction of physical, mental or emotional harm 
or the causing of a deterioration of a child and may include, but shall not be limited to, maltreatment or 
exploiting a child to the extent that the child's health or emotional well-being is endangered. 

(y) "Placement" means the designation by the individual or agency having custody of where and with 
whom the child will live. 

(z) "Relative" means a person related by blood, marriage or adoption but, when referring to a relative 
of a child's parent, does not include the child's other parent. 

(aa) "Secretary" means the secretary of social and rehabilitation services or the secretary's designee. 
(bb) "Secure facility" means a facility which is operated or structured so as to ensure that all entrances 

and exits from the facility are under the exclusive control of the staff of the facility, whether or not the 
person being detained has freedom of movement within the perimeters of the facility, or which relies on 
locked rooms and buildings, fences or physical restraint in order to control behavior of its residents. No 
secure facility shall be in a city or county jail. 

(cc) "Sexual abuse" means any contact or interaction with a child in which the child is being used for 
the sexual stimulation of the perpetrator, the child or another person. Sexual abuse shall include allowing, 
permitting or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution or to be photographed, filmed or depicted in 
pornographic material. 

(dd) "Shelter facility" means any public or private facility or home other than a juvenile detention 
facility that may be used in accordance with this code for the purpose of providing either temporary 
placement for children in need of care prior to the issuance of a dispositional order or longer term care 
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placement for children in need of care prior to the issuance of a dispositional order or longer term care 
under a dispositional order. 

(ee) "Transition plan" means, when used in relation to a youth in the custody of the secretary, an 
individualized strategy for the provision of medical, mental health, education, employment and housing 
supports as needed for the adult and, if applicable, for any minor child of the adult, to live independently 
and specifically provides for the supports and any services for which an adult with a disability is eligible 
including, but not limited to, funding for home and community based services waivers. 

(ff) "Youth residential facility" means any home, foster home or structure which provides 24-hour-a-
day care for children and which is licensed pursuant to article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes 
Annotated, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 2; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 1; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 1; July 1. 

38-2203: Jurisdiction; age of child, presumptions. (a) Proceedings concerning any child who may be a child 
in need of care shall be governed by this code, except in those instances when the court knows or has 
reason to know that an Indian child is involved in the proceeding, in which case, the Indian child welfare 
act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. §1901 et seq.) applies. The Indian child welfare act may apply to: The filing to initiate 
a child in need of care proceeding (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2234, and amendments thereto); ex parte custody 
orders (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2242, and amendments thereto); temporary custody hearing (K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2243, and amendments thereto); adjudication (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2247, and amendments 
thereto); burden of proof (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2250, and amendments thereto); disposition (K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2255, and amendments thereto); permanency hearings (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2264, and 
amendments thereto); termination of parental rights (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2267, 38-2268 and 38-2269, 
and amendments thereto); establishment of permanent custodianship (K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2268 and 
38-2272, and amendments thereto); the placement of a child in any foster, pre-adoptive and adoptive 
home and the placement of a child in a guardianship arrangement under chapter 59, article 30 of the 
Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 

(b) Subject to the uniform child custody jurisdiction and enforcement act, K.S.A. 38-1336 through 
38-1377, and amendments thereto, the district court shall have original jurisdiction of proceedings 
pursuant to this code. 

(c) The court acquires jurisdiction over a child by the filing of a petition pursuant to this code or upon 
issuance of an ex parte order pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2242, and amendments thereto. When the 
court acquires jurisdiction over a child in need of care, jurisdiction may continue until the child has: (1) 
Become 18 years of age, or until June 1 of the school year during which the child became 18 years of age if 
the child is still attending high school unless there is no court approved transition plan, in which event 
jurisdiction may continue until a transition plan is approved by the court or until the child reaches the age 
of 21; (2) been adopted; or (3) been discharged by the court. Any child 18 years of age or over may 
request, in writing to the court, that the jurisdiction of the court cease. The court shall give notice of the 
request to all parties and interested parties and 30 days after receipt of the request, jurisdiction will cease. 

(d) When it is no longer appropriate for the court to exercise jurisdiction over a child, the court, upon 
its own motion or the motion of a party or interested party at a hearing or upon agreement of all parties or 
interested parties, shall enter an order discharging the child. Except upon request of the child pursuant to 
subsection (c), the court shall not enter an order discharging a child until June 1 of the school year during 
which the child becomes 18 years of age if the child is in an out-of-home placement, is still attending high 
school and has not completed the child's high school education. 

(e) When a petition is filed under this code, a person who is alleged to be under 18 years of age shall 
be presumed to be under that age for the purposes of this code, unless the contrary is proved. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 3; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 2; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 2; July 1. 

•

38-2204: Venue. (a) Venue of any case involving a child in need of care shall be in the county of the child's 
residence or in the county where the child is found. 

(b) Upon application of any party or interested party and after notice to all other parties and 
interested parties, the court in which the petition was originally filed alleging that a child is a child in need 
of care may order the proceedings transferred to the court of the county where: (1) The child is physically 
present; (2) the parent or parents reside; or (3) other proceedings are pending in this state concerning 
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present; (2) the parent or parents reside; or (3) other proceedings are pending in this state concerning 
custody of the child. The judge of the court in which the case is pending shall consult with the judge of the 
proposed receiving court prior to transfer of the case. If the judges do not agree that the case should be 
transferred or if a hearing is requested, a hearing shall be held on the desirability of the transfer, with 
notice to parties or interested parties, the secretary and the proposed receiving court. If the judge of the 
transferring court orders the case transferred, the order of transfer shall include findings stating why the 
case is being transferred and, if available, the names and addresses of all interested parties to whom the 
receiving court should provide notice of any further proceedings. The receiving court shall accept the case. 
Upon a judge ordering a transfer of venue, the clerk shall transmit the contents of the official file and a 
complete copy of the social file to the court to which venue is transferred, and, upon receipt of the record, 
the receiving court shall assume jurisdiction as if the proceedings were originally filed in that court. The 
transferring judge, if an adjudicatory hearing has been held, shall also transmit recommendations as to 
disposition. The court may return the case to the court where it originated if the child is not present in the 
receiving county or, the receiving county is not the residence of the child's parent or parents. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 4; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2205: Right to counsel; guardian ad litem . (a) Appointment of guardian ad litem and attorney for child; 
duties. Upon the filing of a petition, the court shall appoint an attorney to serve as guardian ad litem for a 
child who is the subject of proceedings under this code. The guardian ad litem shall make an independent 
investigation of the facts upon which the petition is based and shall appear for and represent the best 
interests of the child. When the child's position is not consistent with the determination of the guardian ad 
litem as to the child's best interests, the guardian ad litem shall inform the court of the disagreement. The 
guardian ad litem or the child may request the court to appoint a second attorney to serve as attorney for 
the child, and the court, on good cause shown, may appoint such second attorney. The attorney for the 
child shall allow the child and the guardian ad litem to communicate with one another but may require 
such communications to occur in the attorney's presence. 

(b) Attorney for parent or custodian. A parent of a child alleged or adjudged to be a child in need of 
care may be represented by an attorney, in connection with all proceedings under this code. At the first 
hearing in connection with proceedings under this code, the court shall distribute a pamphlet, designed by 
the court, to the parents of a child alleged or adjudged to be a child in need of care, to advise the parents 
of their rights in connection with all proceedings under this code. 

(1) If at any stage of the proceedings a parent desires but is financially unable to employ an attorney, 
the court shall appoint an attorney for the parent. It shall not be necessary to appoint an attorney to 
represent a parent who fails or refuses to attend the hearing after having been properly served with 
process in accordance with K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto. A parent or custodian 
who is not a minor, a mentally ill person or a disabled person may waive counsel either in writing or on the 
record. 

(2) The court shall appoint an attorney for a parent who is a minor, a mentally ill person or a disabled 
person unless the court determines that there is an attorney retained who will appear and represent the 
interests of the person in the proceedings under this code. 

(3) As used in this subsection: (A) "Mentally ill person" shall have the meaning ascribed thereto in 
K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto; and (B) "disabled person" shall have the meaning ascribed 
thereto in K.S.A. 77-201, and amendments thereto. 

(c) Attorney for interested parties. A person who, pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2241, and 
amendments thereto, is an interested party in a proceeding involving a child alleged to be a child in need 
of care may be represented by an attorney in connection with all proceedings under this code. At the first 
hearing in connection with proceedings under this code, the court shall distribute a pamphlet, designed by 
the court, to interested parties in a proceeding involving a child alleged or adjudged to be a child in need of 
care, to advise interested parties of their rights in connection with all proceedings under this code. It shall 
not be necessary to appoint an attorney to represent an interested party who fails or refuses to attend the 
hearing after having been properly served with process in accordance with K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and 
amendments thereto. If at any stage of the proceedings a person who is an interested party under 
subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2241, and amendments thereto, desires but is financially unable to 
employ an attorney, the court may appoint an attorney for the interested party. 
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employ an attorney, the court may appoint an attorney for the interested party. 
(d) Continuation of representation. A guardian ad litem appointed to represent the best interests of a 

child or a second attorney appointed for a child as provided in subsection (a), or an attorney appointed for 
a parent or custodian shall continue to represent the client at all subsequent hearings in proceedings under 
this code, including any appellate proceedings, unless relieved by the court upon a showing of good cause 
or upon transfer of venue. 

(e) Fees for counsel. An attorney appointed pursuant to this section shall be allowed a reasonable fee 
for services, which may be assessed as an expense in the proceedings as provided in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2215, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 5; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2206: Appointment of special advocate. (a) The court at any stage of a proceeding pursuant to this code 
may appoint a special advocate for the child who shall serve until discharged by the court and whose 
primary duties shall be to advocate the best interests of the child and assist the child in obtaining a 
permanent, safe and homelike placement. The court-appointed special advocate shall have such 
qualifications and perform such specific duties and responsibilities as prescribed by rule of the supreme 
court. 

(b) Any person participating in a judicial proceeding as a court-appointed special advocate shall be 
presumed prima facie to be acting in good faith and in so doing shall be immune from any civil liability that 
otherwise might be incurred or imposed. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 6; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2207: Citizen review boards; members. (a) Subject to the availability of funds in the permanent families 
account of the family and children investment fund for citizen review boards, and subject to a request from 
a judicial district, there shall be citizen review boards in judicial districts, or portions of such districts. 

(b) The chief judge of the judicial district, or another judge designated by the chief judge, shall appoint 
three to seven citizens from the community to serve on each citizen review board. Such members shall 
represent the various socioeconomic and ethnic groups of the judicial district, and shall have a special 
interest in children. Such judge may also appoint alternates when necessary. 

(c) The term of appointment shall be two years and members may be reappointed. 
(d) Members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for mileage for out-of-county 

reviews. 
(e) Each citizen review board shall meet quarterly and may meet monthly if the number of cases to 

review requires such meetings. 
(f) Members and alternates appointed to citizen review boards shall receive at least six hours of 

training before reviewing a case. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 7; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2208: Same; duties and powers. (a) The citizen review board shall have the duty, authority and power 
to: 

(1) Review each case referred to them, and such additional cases as the board deems appropriate, of a 
child who is the subject of a child in need of care petition or who has been adjudicated a child in need of 
care, receive verbal information from all persons with pertinent knowledge of the case and have access to 
materials contained in the court's files on the case; 

(2) determine the progress which has been made to acquire a permanent home for the child in need of 
care; 

(3) suggest an alternative case goal if progress has been insufficient; and 
(4) make recommendations to the judge regarding further actions on the case. 
(b) The initial review by the citizen review board may take place any time after a petition is filed for a 

child in need of care. 
(c) The citizen review board will review each referred case at least once each year. 
(d) The judge shall consider the citizen review board recommendations in making an authorized 

dispositional order pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2255, and amendments thereto, and may incorporate 
the citizen review board's recommendations into an order in lieu of a hearing. 
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the citizen review board's recommendations into an order in lieu of a hearing. 
(e) Three members of the citizen review board shall be present to review a case. 
(f) The court shall provide a place for the reviews to be held. The citizen review board members shall 

travel to the county of the family residence of the child being reviewed to hold the review. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 8; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2209: Confidentiality of child in need of care records; penalties; immunities. (a) Confidentiality 
requirements. In order to protect the privacy of children who are the subject of a child in need of care 
record or report, the records identified in this section shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed 
except as provided in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210 through 38-2213, and amendments thereto. Confidential 
records that are disclosed pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210 through 38-2213, and amendments 
thereto, shall not be further disclosed except to persons or entities authorized to receive them as provided 
in those sections, or by being presented as admissible evidence. 

(1) Court records. Court records include both the official file and the social file. 
(A) Official file. The official file of proceedings pursuant to this code shall consist of the pleadings, 

process, service of process, orders, writs and journal entries reflecting hearings held and judgments and 
decrees entered by the court. The official file shall be kept separate from other records of the court. 

(B) Social file. The social file of proceedings pursuant to this code shall consist of reports and 
information received by the court, other than the official file. The social file shall be kept separate from 
other records of the court. 

(2) Agency records. Agency records shall consist of all records and reports in the possession or control 
of the secretary or any agent of the secretary or of a juvenile intake and assessment agency concerning 
children alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care. 

(3) Law enforcement records. Law enforcement records shall consist of all records and reports in the 
possession of a law enforcement agency concerning children alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care 
and shall, to the extent practical, be kept separate from other records held by a law enforcement agency. 

(b) Penalties for improper disclosure of confidential records. No individual, association, partnership, 
corporation or other entity shall willfully or knowingly disclose, permit or encourage disclosure of the 
contents of records or reports in violation of the confidentiality requirements of this section. The court in a 
child in need of care proceeding may impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000 on any person or entity that 
violates this section. Violation of this section is a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 

(c) Immunity. The following immunities shall apply to the disclosure of confidential information: 
(1) Anyone who participates in providing or receiving information without malice under the provisions 

of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210 through 38-2213, and amendments thereto, shall have immunity from any 
civil liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed. Any such participant shall have the same 
immunity with respect to participation in any judicial proceedings resulting from providing or receiving 
information. 

(2) The sharing of any information pursuant to this code by any person licensed or registered by the 
behavioral science regulatory board shall not be subject to review under any rules or regulations adopted 
by the behavioral sciences regulatory board. 

(d) Risk of harm to child or others. Access to or disclosure of information pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2210 through 38-2213, and amendments thereto, is not required if the person or entity in possession of 
a record or report has reason to believe the person requesting such information may harm a child or other 
person as a result of such access or disclosure. The court may enter an order compelling or prohibiting 
access to, or disclosure of information. 

History: L. 2004, ch. 178, § 1; July 1. 

•

38-2210: Parties exchanging information. To facilitate investigation and ensure the provision of necessary 
services to children who may be in need of care and such children's families, the following persons and 
entities with responsibilities concerning a child who is alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care shall 
freely exchange information: 

(a) The secretary. 
(b) The commissioner of juvenile justice. 
(c) The law enforcement agency receiving such report. 
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(c) The law enforcement agency receiving such report. 
(d) Members of a court appointed multidisciplinary team. 
(e) An entity mandated by federal law or an agency of any state authorized to receive and investigate 

reports of a child known or suspected to be in need of care. 
(f) A military enclave or Indian tribal organization authorized to receive and investigate reports of a 

child known or suspected to be in need of care. 
(g) A county or district attorney with responsibility for filing a petition pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 

38-2214, and amendments thereto. 
(h) A court services officer who has taken a child into custody pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2231, 

and amendments thereto. 
(i) An intake and assessment worker. 
(j) Any community corrections program which has the child under court ordered supervision. 
(k) The department of health and environment or persons authorized by the department of health and 

environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-512, and amendments thereto, for the purpose of carrying out 
responsibilities relating to licensure or registration of child care providers as required by article 5 of 
chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2004, ch. 178, § 2; July 1. 

38-2211: Access to official and social file; preservation of records. (a) Access to the official file. The 
following persons or entities shall have access to the official file of a child in need of care proceeding 
pursuant to this code: 

(1) The court having jurisdiction over the proceedings, including the presiding judge and any court 
personnel designated by the judge. 

(2) The parties to the proceedings and their attorneys. 
(3) The guardian ad litem for a child who is the subject of the proceeding. 
(4) A court appointed special advocate for a child who is the subject of the proceeding or a paid staff 

member of a court appointed special advocate program. 
(5) Any individual, or any public or private agency or institution, having custody of the child under 

court order or providing educational, medical or mental health services to the child or any placement 
provider or potential placement provider as determined by the secretary or court services officer. 

(6) A citizen review board. 
(7) The commissioner of juvenile justice or any agents designated by the commissioner. 
(8) Any other person when authorized by a court order, subject to any conditions imposed by the 

order. 
(9) The commission on judicial performance in the discharge of the commission's duties pursuant to 

article 32 of chapter 20 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 
(b) Access to the social file. The following persons or entities shall have access to the social file of a 

child in need of care proceeding pursuant to this code: 
(1) The court having jurisdiction over the proceeding, including the presiding judge and any court 

personnel designated by the judge. 
(2) The attorney for a party to the proceeding or the person or persons designated by an Indian tribe 

that is a party. 
(3) The guardian ad litem for a child who is the subject of the proceeding. 
(4) A court appointed special advocate for a child who is the subject of the proceeding or a paid staff 

member of a court appointed special advocate program. 
(5) A citizen review board. 
(6) The secretary. 
(7) The commissioner of juvenile justice or any agents designated by the commissioner. 
(8) Any other person when authorized by a court order, subject to any conditions imposed by the 

order. 
(c) Preservation of records. The Kansas state historical society shall be allowed to take possession for 

preservation in the state archives of any court records related to proceedings under the Kansas code for 
care of children whenever such records otherwise would be destroyed. No such records in the custody of 
the Kansas state historical society shall be disclosed directly or indirectly to anyone for 70 years after 
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the Kansas state historical society shall be disclosed directly or indirectly to anyone for 70 years after 
creation of the records, except as provided in subsections (a) and (b). Pursuant to subsections (a)(8) and (b)
(8), a judge of the district court may allow inspection for research purposes of any court records in the 
custody of the Kansas state historical society related to proceedings under the Kansas code for care of 
children. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 182, § 6; L. 1988, ch. 139, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 318, § 1; L. 1996, ch. 229, § 32; L. 2004, 
ch. 178, § 3; L. 2008, ch. 145, § 7; L. 2009, ch. 143, § 15; July 1. 

38-2211a: 
History: L. 1982, ch. 182, § 6; L. 1988, ch. 139, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 318, § 1; L. 1996, ch. 229, § 32; L. 2004, 

ch. 178, § 3; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 3; Repealed, L. 2009, ch. 143, § 37; July 1. 

•

38-2212: Appropriate and necessary access; exchange of information; court ordered disclosure; limited 
public information. (a) Principle of appropriate access. Information contained in confidential agency 
records concerning a child alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care may be disclosed as provided in this 
section. Disclosure shall in all cases be guided by the principle of providing access only to persons or 
entities with a need for information that is directly related to achieving the purposes of this code. 

(b) Free exchange of information. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210, and amendments thereto, 
the secretary, agents of the secretary and juvenile intake and assessment agencies shall participate in the 
free exchange of information concerning a child who is alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care. 

(c) Necessary access. The following persons or entities shall have access to information from agency 
records. Access shall be limited to information reasonably necessary to carry out their lawful 
responsibilities, to maintain their personal safety and the personal safety of individuals in their care, or to 
educate, diagnose, treat, care for or protect a child alleged to be in need of care. Information authorized to 
be disclosed pursuant to this subsection shall not contain information which identifies a reporter of a child 
who is alleged or adjudicated to be a child in need of care. 

(1) A child named in the report or records, a guardian ad litem appointed for the child and the child's 
attorney. 

(2) A parent or other person responsible for the welfare of a child, or such person's legal 
representative. 

(3) A court-appointed special advocate for a child, a citizen review board or other advocate which 
reports to the court. 

(4) A person licensed to practice the healing arts or mental health profession in order to diagnose, care 
for, treat or supervise: (A) A child whom such service provider reasonably suspects may be in need of care; 
(B) a member of the child's family; or (C) a person who allegedly abused or neglected the child. 

(5) A person or entity licensed or registered by the secretary of health and environment or approved 
by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services to care for, treat or supervise a child in need of care. 

(6) A coroner or medical examiner when such person is determining the cause of death of a child. 
(7) The state child death review board established under K.S.A. 22a-243, and amendments thereto. 
(8) An attorney for a private party who files a petition pursuant to subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 

38-2233, and amendments thereto. 
(9) A foster parent, prospective foster parent, permanent custodian, prospective permanent 

custodian, adoptive parent or prospective adoptive parent. In order to assist such person's in making an 
informed decision regarding acceptance of a particular child, to help the family anticipate problems which 
may occur during the child's placement, and to help the family meet the needs of the child in a 
constructive manner, the secretary shall seek and shall provide the following information to such person's 
as the information becomes available to the secretary: 

(A) Strengths, needs and general behavior of the child; 
(B) circumstances which necessitated placement; 
(C) information about the child's family and the child's relationship to the family which may affect the 

placement; 
(D) important life experiences and relationships which may affect the child's feelings, behavior, 

attitudes or adjustment; 
(E) medical history of the child, including third-party coverage which may be available to the child; and 
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(E) medical history of the child, including third-party coverage which may be available to the child; and 
(F) education history, to include present grade placement, special strengths and weaknesses. 
(10) The state protection and advocacy agency as provided by subsection (a)(10) of K.S.A. 65-5603 or 

subsection (a)(2)(A) and (B) of K.S.A. 74-5515, and amendments thereto. 
(11) Any educational institution to the extent necessary to enable the educational institution to 

provide the safest possible environment for its pupils and employees. 
(12) Any educator to the extent necessary to enable the educator to protect the personal safety of the 

educator and the educator's pupils. 
(13) Any other federal, state or local government executive branch entity or any agent of such entity, 

having a need for such information in order to carry out such entity's responsibilities under the law to 
protect children from abuse and neglect. 

(d) Specified access. The following persons or entities shall have access to information contained in 
agency records as specified. Information authorized to be disclosed pursuant to this subsection shall not 
contain information which identifies a reporter of a child who is alleged or adjudicated to be a child in need 
of care. 

(1) Information from confidential agency records of the department of social and rehabilitation 
services, a law enforcement agency or any juvenile intake and assessment worker of a child alleged or 
adjudicated to be in need of care shall be available to members of the standing house or senate committee 
on judiciary, house committee on corrections and juvenile justice, house committee on appropriations, 
senate committee on ways and means, legislative post audit committee and any joint committee with 
authority to consider children's and families' issues, when carrying out such member's or committee's 
official functions in accordance with K.S.A. 75-4319 and amendments thereto, in a closed or executive 
meeting. Except in limited conditions established by 2/3 of the members of such committee, records and 
reports received by the committee shall not be further disclosed. Unauthorized disclosure may subject 
such member to discipline or censure from the house of representatives or senate. The secretary of social 
and rehabilitation services shall not summarize the outcome of department actions regarding a child 
alleged to be a child in need of care in information available to members of such committees. 

(2) The secretary of social and rehabilitation services may summarize the outcome of department 
actions regarding a child alleged to be a child in need of care to a person having made such report. 

(3) Public disclosure of information from confidential reports or records of a child alleged or 
adjudicated to be a child in need of care shall be limited to: 

(A) Confirmation of factual details with respect to how the case was handled, provided, however, that 
the information does not violate the privacy of the child, or the child's siblings, parents or guardians. 

(B) Confidential information may be released to the public only with the express written permission of 
the individuals involved or their representatives. 

(e) Court order. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a court of competent jurisdiction, after 
in camera inspection, may order disclosure of confidential agency records pursuant to a determination that 
the disclosure is in the best interests of the child who is the subject of the reports or that the records are 
necessary for the proceedings of the court and otherwise admissible as evidence. The court shall specify 
the terms of disclosure and impose appropriate limitations. 

(f) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, except as provided in paragraph (2), 
in the event that child abuse or neglect results in a child fatality or near fatality, reports or records of a 
child in need of care received by the department of social and rehabilitation services, a law enforcement 
agency or any juvenile intake and assessment worker shall become a public record and subject to 
disclosure pursuant to K.S.A. 45-215, and amendments thereto. Within seven days of receipt of a request 
in accordance with the procedures adopted under K.S.A. 45-220, and amendments thereto, the secretary 
shall notify any affected individual that an open records request has been made concerning such records. 
The secretary or any affected individual may file a motion requesting the court to prevent disclosure of 
such record or report, or any select portion thereof. If the affected individual does not file such motion 
within seven days of notification, and the secretary has not filed a motion, the secretary shall release the 
reports or records. In reviewing such motion, the court shall consider the effect such disclosure may have 
upon an ongoing criminal investigation, a pending prosecution, or the privacy of the child, if living, or the 
child's siblings, parents or guardians. Nothing herein is intended to require that an otherwise privileged 
communication lose its privileged character. If the court grants such motion, the court shall make written 

   KS Page 16    

http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_22a/Article_2/22a-243.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_65/Article_56/65-5603.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_74/Article_55/74-5515.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_75/Article_43/75-4319.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_45/Article_2/45-215.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_45/Article_2/45-220.html
http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_45/Article_2/45-218.html


communication lose its privileged character. If the court grants such motion, the court shall make written 
findings on the record justifying the closing of the records. For reports or records requested pursuant to 
this subsection, the time limitations specified in this subsection shall control to the extent of any 
inconsistency between this subsection and K.S.A. 45-218, and amendments thereto. As used in this section, 
"near fatality" means an act that, as certified by a person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, places 
the child in serious or critical condition. 

(2) Nothing in this subsection shall allow the disclosure of reports, records or documents concerning 
the child and such child's biological parents which were created prior to such child's adoption. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 182, § 7; L. 1983, ch. 140, § 14; L. 1985, ch. 145, § 1; L. 1988, ch. 138, § 2; L. 1990, 
ch. 147, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 318, § 2; L. 1996, ch. 229, § 33; L. 1997, ch. 156, § 41; L. 1998, ch. 171, § 7; L. 1999, 
ch. 116, § 43; L. 2000, ch. 150, § 5; L. 2002, ch. 135, § 1; L. 2004, ch. 178, § 4; July 1. 

38-2213: Records of law enforcement agencies; limited disclosure; exchange of information; access; court 
ordered disclosure. (a) Principle of limited disclosure. Information contained in confidential law 
enforcement records concerning a child alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care may be disclosed as 
provided in this section. Disclosure shall in all cases be guided by the principle of providing access only to 
persons or entities with a need for information that is directly related to achieving the purposes of this 
code. 

(b) Free exchange of information. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210, and amendments thereto, a 
law enforcement agency shall participate in the free exchange of information concerning a child who is 
alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care. 

(c) Access to information in law enforcement records. In order to discharge their official duties, the 
following persons or entities shall have access to confidential law enforcement records concerning a child 
alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care. 

(1) The court having jurisdiction over the proceedings, including the presiding judge and any court 
personnel designated by the judge. 

(2) The secretary. 
(3) The commissioner of juvenile justice. 
(4) Law enforcement officers or county or district attorneys or their staff. 
(5) Any juvenile intake and assessment worker. 
(6) Members of a court-appointed multidisciplinary team. 
(7) Any other federal, state or local government executive branch entity, or any agent of such entity, 

having a need for such information in order to carry out such entity's responsibilities under law to protect 
children from abuse and neglect. 

(8) Persons or entities allowed access pursuant to subsection (f) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2212, and 
amendments thereto. 

(d) Necessary access. The following persons or entities shall have access to information from law 
enforcement records when reasonably necessary to carry out their lawful responsibilities, to maintain their 
personal safety and the personal safety of individuals in their care, or to educate, diagnose, treat, care for 
or protect a child alleged or adjudicated to be in need of care. Information authorized to be disclosed in 
this subsection shall not contain information which identifies a reporter of a child alleged or adjudicated to 
be a child in need of care. 

(1) Any individual, or public or private agency authorized by a properly constituted authority to 
diagnose, care for, treat or supervise a child who is the subject of a report or record of child abuse or 
neglect, including physicians, psychiatrists, nurses, nurse practitioners, psychologists, licensed social 
workers, child development specialists, physician assistants, community mental health workers, alcohol 
and drug abuse counselors, and licensed or registered child care providers. 

(2) School administrators shall have access to but shall not copy law enforcement records and may 
disclose information to teachers, paraprofessionals and other school personnel as necessary to meet the 
educational needs of the child or to protect the safety of students and school employees. 

(3) The department of health and environment or persons authorized by the department of health and 
environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-512, and amendments thereto, for the purposes of carrying out 
responsibilities relating to licensure or registration of child care providers as required by article 5 of 
chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 
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chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 
(e) Legislative access. Information from law enforcement records of a child alleged or adjudicated to 

be in need of care shall be available to members of the standing house or senate committee on judiciary, 
house committee on corrections and juvenile justice, house committee on appropriations, senate 
committee on ways and means, legislative post audit committee and any joint committee with authority to 
consider children's and families' issues, when carrying out such member's or committee's official functions 
in accordance with K.S.A. 75-4319 and amendments thereto, in a closed or executive meeting. Except in 
limited conditions established by 2/3 of the members of such committee, records and reports received by 
the committee shall not be further disclosed. Unauthorized disclosure may subject such member to 
discipline or censure from the house of representatives or senate. 

(f) Court order. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a court of competent jurisdiction, after 
in camera inspection, may order disclosure of confidential law enforcement records pursuant to a 
determination that the disclosure is in the best interests of the child who is the subject of the reports or 
that the records are necessary for the proceedings of the court and otherwise admissible as evidence. The 
court shall specify the terms of disclosure and impose appropriate limitations. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 182, § 8; L. 1983, ch. 140, § 15; L. 1984, ch. 153, § 2; L. 1992, ch. 318, § 3; L. 1996, 
ch. 229, § 35; L. 1997, ch. 156, § 42; L. 2004, ch. 178, § 5; July 1. 

38-2214: Duties of county or district attorney. It shall be the duty of the county or district attorney or the 
county or district attorney's designee to prepare and file the petition alleging a child to be a child in need 
of care, and to appear at the hearing on the petition and to present evidence as necessary, at all stages of 
the proceedings, that will aid the court in making appropriate decisions. The county or district attorney or 
the county or district attorney's designee shall also have the other duties required by this code. Pursuant 
to a written agreement between the secretary and the county or district attorney, the attorneys for the 
secretary may perform the duties of the county or district attorney after disposition has been determined 
by the court. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 9; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2215: Docket fee and expenses. (a) Docket fee. The docket fee for proceedings under this code, if one is 
assessed as provided in this section, shall be $34. Only one docket fee shall be assessed in each case. 
Except as provided further, the docket fee established in this section shall be the only fee collected or 
moneys in the nature of a fee collected for the docket fee. Such fee shall only be established by an act of 
the legislature and no other authority is established by law or otherwise to collect a fee. On and after July 
1, 2009 through June 30, 2010, the supreme court may impose an additional charge, not to exceed $10 per 
docket fee, to fund the costs of non-judicial personnel. 

(b) Expenses. The expenses for proceedings under this code, including fees and mileage allowed 
witnesses and fees and expenses approved by the court for appointed attorneys, shall be paid by the board 
of county commissioners from the general fund of the county. 

(c) Assessment of docket fee and expenses. (1) Docket fee. The docket fee may be assessed or waived 
by the court conducting the initial dispositional hearing and the docket fee may be assessed against the 
complaining witness or person initiating the proceedings or a party or interested party other than the 
state, a political subdivision of the state, an agency of the state or of a political subdivision of the state, or a 
person acting in the capacity of an employee of the state or of a political subdivision of the state. Any 
docket fee received shall be remitted to the state treasurer pursuant to K.S.A. 20-362, and amendments 
thereto. 

(2) Expenses. Expenses may be assessed against the complaining witness, a person initiating the 
proceedings, a party or an interested party, other than the state, a political subdivision of the state, an 
agency of the state or of a political subdivision of the state or a person acting in the capacity of an 
employee of the state or of a political subdivision of the state. When expenses are recovered from a 
person against whom they have been assessed the general fund of the county shall be reimbursed in the 
amount of the recovery. If it appears to the court in any proceedings under this code that expenses were 
unreasonably incurred at the request of any party the court may assess that portion of the expenses 
against the party. 

(d) Cases in which venue is transferred. If venue is transferred from one county to another, the court 
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(d) Cases in which venue is transferred. If venue is transferred from one county to another, the court 
from which the case is transferred shall send to the receiving court a statement of expenses paid from the 
general fund of the sending county. If the receiving court collects any of the expenses owed in the case, the 
receiving court shall pay to the sending court an amount proportional to the sending court's share of the 
total expenses owed to both counties. The expenses of the sending county shall not be an obligation of the 
receiving county except to the extent that the sending county's proportion of the expenses is collected by 
the receiving court. All amounts collected shall first be applied toward payment of the docket fee. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 10; L. 2008, ch. 95, § 9; L. 2009, ch. 116, § 17; July 1. 

38-2216: Expense of care and custody of child. (a) How paid. (1) If a child alleged or adjudged to be a child 
in need of care is not eligible for assistance under K.S.A. 39-709, and amendments thereto, expenses for 
the care and custody of the child shall be paid out of the general fund of the county in which the 
proceedings are brought. For the purpose of this section, a child who is a nonresident of the state of 
Kansas or whose residence is unknown shall have residence in the county where the proceedings are 
instituted. 

(2) When a law enforcement officer has taken a child into custody as authorized by subsection (b) of 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2231, and amendments thereto, and delivered the child to a person or facility 
designated by the secretary or when custody of a child is awarded to the secretary, the expenses of the 
care and custody of the child may be paid by the secretary, even though the child does not meet the 
eligibility standards of K.S.A. 39-709, and amendments thereto. 

(3) When the custody of a child is awarded to the secretary, the expenses of the care and custody of 
the child shall not be paid out of the county general fund. 

(4) Nothing in this section shall be construed to mean that any person shall be relieved of legal 
responsibility to support a child. 

(b) Reimbursement to county general fund. (1) When expenses for the care and custody of a child 
alleged or adjudged to be a child in need of care have been paid out of the county general fund, the court 
may fix a time and place for hearing on the question of requiring payment or reimbursement of all or part 
of the expenses by a person who by law is liable to maintain, care for or support the child. 

(2) The court, after notice to the person who by law is liable to maintain, care for or support the child, 
may hear and dispose of the matter and may enter an order relating to payment of expenses for care and 
custody of the child. If the person willfully fails or refuses to pay the sum, the person may be adjudged in 
contempt of court and punished accordingly. 

(3) The county may bring a separate action against a person who by law is liable to maintain, care for 
or support a child alleged or adjudged to be a child in need of care for the reimbursement of expenses paid 
out of the county general fund for the care and custody of the child. 

(c) Reimbursement to secretary. (1) When expenses for the care and custody of a child alleged or 
adjudged to be a child in need of care have been paid by the secretary, the secretary may recover the 
expenses pursuant to K.S.A. 39-709, 39-718b or 39-755, and amendments thereto, or as otherwise 
provided by law, from any person who by law is liable to maintain, care for or support the child. 

(2) The secretary shall have the power to compromise and settle any claim due or any amount claimed 
to be due to the secretary from any person who by law is liable to maintain, care for or support the child. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 11; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2217: Health services. (a) Physical or mental care and treatment. (1) When a child less than 18 years of 
age is alleged to have been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused, no 
consent shall be required to medically examine the child to determine whether the child has been abused 
or neglected. Unless the child is alleged or suspected to have been abused by the parent or guardian, the 
investigating officer shall notify or attempt to notify the parent or guardian of the medical examination of 
the child. 

(2) When the health or condition of a child who is subject to jurisdiction of the court requires it, the 
court may consent to the performing and furnishing of hospital, medical, surgical or dental treatment or 
procedures, including the release and inspection of medical or dental records. A child, or parent of any 
child, who is opposed to certain medical procedures authorized by this subsection may request an 
opportunity for a hearing thereon before the court. Subsequent to the hearing, the court may limit the 
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opportunity for a hearing thereon before the court. Subsequent to the hearing, the court may limit the 
performance of matters provided for in this subsection or may authorize the performance of those matters 
subject to terms and conditions the court considers proper. 

(3) The custodian or agent of the custodian is the personal representative for the purpose of 
consenting to disclosure of otherwise protected health information and may give consent to the following: 

(A) Dental treatment for the child by a licensed dentist; 
(B) diagnostic examinations of the child, including but not limited to the withdrawal of blood or other 

body fluids, x-rays and other laboratory examinations; 
(C) releases and inspections of the child's medical history records; 
(D) immunizations for the child; 
(E) administration of lawfully prescribed drugs to the child; 
(F) examinations of the child including, but not limited to, the withdrawal of blood or other body fluids 

or tissues for the purpose of determining the child's parentage; and 
(G) subject to limitations in K.S.A. 59-3075(e)(4), (5) and (6), and amendments thereto, medical or 

surgical care determined by a physician to be necessary for the welfare of such child, if the parents are not 
available or refuse to consent. 

(4) When the court has adjudicated a child to be in need of care, the custodian or an agent designated 
by the custodian is the personal representative for the purpose of consenting to disclosure of otherwise 
protected health information and shall have authority to consent to the performance and furnishing of 
hospital, medical, surgical or dental treatment or procedures or mental care or treatment other than 
inpatient treatment at a state psychiatric hospital, including the release and inspection of medical or 
hospital records, subject to terms and conditions the court considers proper and subject to the limitations 
of K.S.A. 59-3075 (e)(4), (5) and (6), and amendments thereto. 

(5) Any health care provider who in good faith renders hospital, medical, surgical, mental or dental 
care or treatment to any child or discloses protected health information as authorized by this section shall 
not be liable in any civil or criminal action for failure to obtain consent of a parent. 

(6) Nothing in this section shall be construed to mean that any person shall be relieved of legal 
responsibility to provide care and support for a child. 

(b) Care and treatment requiring court action. If it is brought to the court's attention, while the court is 
exercising jurisdiction over the person of a child under this code, that the child may be a mentally ill person 
as defined in K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto, or a person with an alcohol or substance abuse 
problem as defined in K.S.A. 59-29b46, and amendments thereto, the court may: 

(1) Direct or authorize the county or district attorney or the person supplying the information to file 
the petition provided for in K.S.A. 59-2957, and amendments thereto, and proceed to hear and determine 
the issues raised by the application as provided in the care and treatment act for mentally ill persons or the 
petition provided for in K.S.A. 59-29b57, and amendments thereto, and proceed to hear and determine the 
issues raised by the application as provided in the care and treatment act for persons with an alcohol or 
substance abuse problem; or 

(2) authorize that the child seek voluntary admission to a treatment facility as provided in K.S.A. 
59-2949, and amendments thereto, or K.S.A 59-29b49, and amendments thereto. 

The application to determine whether the child is a mentally ill person or a person with an alcohol or 
substance abuse problem may be filed in the same proceedings as the petition alleging the child to be a 
child in need of care, or may be brought in separate proceedings. In either event, the court may enter an 
order staying any further proceedings under this code until all proceedings have been concluded under the 
care and treatment act for mentally ill persons or the care and treatment act for persons with an alcohol or 
substance abuse problem. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 12; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 4; July 1. 

38-2218: Educational decisions; educational advocates for exceptional children. (a) When the court has 
granted legal custody of a child in a hearing under the code to an agency, association or individual, the 
custodian or an agent designated by the custodian shall have authority to make educational decisions for 
the child if the parents of the child are unknown or unavailable. When the custodian of the child is the 
secretary, and the parents of the child are unknown or unavailable, and the child appears to be an 
exceptional child who requires special education, the secretary shall immediately notify the state board of 
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exceptional child who requires special education, the secretary shall immediately notify the state board of 
education, or a designee of the state board, and the school district in which the child is residing that the 
child is in need of an education advocate. As used in this section, a parent is unavailable if: 

(1) Repeated attempts have been made to contact the parent to provide notice of an IEP meeting and 
secure the parent's participation and such attempts have been unsuccessful; 

(2) having been provided actual notice of an IEP meeting, the parent has failed or refused to attend 
and participate in the meeting; or 

(3) the parent's whereabouts are unknown so that notice of an IEP meeting cannot be given to the 
parent. As soon as possible after notification, the state board of education, or its designee, shall appoint an 
education advocate for the child. 

(b) If the secretary changes the placement of a pupil from one school district to another or to another 
school within the same district, it shall be the duty of the secretary to transfer, or make provision for the 
transfer, of all school records of such pupil to the district or school to which the pupil is transferred. Such 
school records shall be transferred at the same time that the pupil is transferred or as soon as possible 
thereafter. 

(c) As used in this section, the terms "exceptional child", "special education", and "education 
advocate" have the meanings respectively ascribed thereto in the special education for exceptional 
children act, K.S.A. 72-961 et seq., and amendments thereto. The term "pupil" means a child living in a 
school district as a result of a placement therein by the secretary pursuant to this code. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 13; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2219: Evaluation of development or needs of child. (a) Of the child. (1) Psychological or emotional.
During proceedings under this code, the court, on its own motion or the motion of the guardian ad litem
for the child, a party or interested party, may order an evaluation and written report of the psychological 
or emotional development or needs of a child who is the subject of the proceedings. The court may refer 
the child to a state institution for the evaluation if the secretary advises the court that the facility is a 
suitable place to care for, treat or evaluate the child and that space is available. The expenses of 
transportation to and from the state facility may be paid as a part of the expenses of temporary care and 
custody. The child may be referred to a mental health center or qualified professional for evaluation and 
the expenses of the evaluation may be considered as expenses of the proceedings and assessed as 
provided in this code. If the court orders an evaluation as provided in this section, a parent of the child 
shall have the right to obtain an independent evaluation at the expense of the parent. 

(2) Medical. During proceedings under this code, the court may order an examination and report of 
the medical condition and needs of a child who is the subject of the proceedings. The court may also order 
a report from any physician who has been attending the child stating the diagnosis, condition and 
treatment afforded the child. 

(3) Educational. During proceedings under this code, the court may order the chief administrative 
officer of the school which the child attends or attended to provide to the court information that is readily 
available which the school officials believe would properly indicate the educational needs of the child. The 
order may direct that the school conduct an educational needs assessment of the child and send a report 
of the assessment to the court. The educational needs assessment may include a meeting involving any of 
the following: The child's parents; the child's teachers; the school psychologist; a school special services 
representative; a representative of the secretary; the child's court-appointed special advocate; the child's 
foster parents, legal guardian and permanent custodian; a court services officer; and other persons that 
the chief administrative officer of the school or the officer's designee considers appropriate. 

(b) Physical, psychological or emotional status of parent or custodian. During proceedings under this 
code, the court may order: (1) An examination, evaluation and report of the physical, mental or emotional 
status or needs of a parent, a person residing with a parent or any person being considered as one to 
whom the court may grant custody; and 

(2) written reports from any qualified person concerning the parenting skills or ability to provide for 
the physical, mental or emotional needs and future development of a child by a parent or any person being 
considered as one to whom the court may grant custody. 

(c) Confidentiality of reports. (1) Reports of court ordered examination or evaluation. No confidential 
relationship of physician and patient, psychologist and client or social worker and client shall arise from an 
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relationship of physician and patient, psychologist and client or social worker and client shall arise from an 
examination or evaluation ordered by the court. 

(2) Report from private physician, psychologist or therapist. When any interested party or party to 
proceedings under this code wishes the court to have the benefit of information or opinion from a 
physician, psychologist, registered marriage and family therapist or social worker with whom there is a 
confidential relationship, the party or interested party may waive the confidential relationship but restrict 
the information to be furnished or testimony to be given to those matters material to the issues before the 
court. If requested, the court may make an in camera examination of the proposed witness or the file of 
the proposed witness and excise any matters that are not material to the issues before the court. 

(d) Reports prepared by a court-appointed special advocate or by the secretary. All reports prepared by 
a court-appointed special advocate or by the secretary shall be filed with the court and shall be made 
available as provided in subsection (e). 

(e) Availability of reports. (1) All reports provided for in this section shall be filed with the court and 
shall be made available to counsel for any party or interested party prior to any scheduled hearing on any 
matter addressed by the report. If any party or interested party is not represented by counsel, the report 
shall be made available to that party. 

(2) All reports provided for in this section may be read by the court at any stage of a proceeding under 
this code, but no fact or conclusion derived from a report shall be used as the basis for an order of the 
court unless the information has been admitted into evidence following an opportunity for any party or 
interested party to examine, under oath, the person who prepared the report. If the court is in possession 
of a report that has not been offered into evidence, the court shall inquire whether there is an objection to 
admitting the report into evidence. If there is no objection, the court may admit the report into evidence. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 14; L. 2007, ch. 57, § 2; Apr. 5. 

38-2220: Parentage. (a) If the court determines that the information contained in the petition concerning 
parentage of the child may be incomplete or incorrect, the court shall determine whether the question has 
been previously adjudicated and whether service of process should be made on some additional person. 

(b) If it appears that the issue of parentage needs to be adjudicated, the court shall stay child support 
proceedings, if any are pending in the case, with respect to that alleged parent and child relationship, until 
the dispute is resolved by agreement, by a separate action under the Kansas parentage act, K.S.A. 38-1110
et seq., and amendments thereto, or otherwise. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to limit the 
power of the court to carry out the purposes of the code. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 15; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2221: Fingerprints and photographs. (a) Fingerprints or photographs of a person alleged or adjudicated 
to be a child in need of care may be taken: 

(1) By a person authorized to investigate an allegation or suspicion of child abuse or neglect to obtain 
and preserve evidence or to determine the identity of a child; 

(2) as authorized by K.S.A. 38-1611, and amendments thereto; or 
(3) if authorized by a judge of the district court having jurisdiction. 
(b) Fingerprints and photographs taken under subsection (a) (3): (1) Shall be kept separate from those 

of persons of the age of majority; and 
(2) may be sent to a state or federal repository only if authorized by a judge of the district court having 

jurisdiction. 
(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude the custodian of the child from authorizing photographs or 

fingerprints of the child to: 
(1) Be used in any action under the Kansas parentage act; 
(2) assist in the apprehension of a runaway child; 
(3) assist in the adoption or other permanent placement of a child; or 
(4) provide the child or the child's parents with a history of the child's life and development. 
(d) For purposes of this section, the term photograph means an image or likeness of a child made or 

reproduced by any medium or means. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 16; Jan. 1, 2007. 
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38-2222: Public information and educational program; reporting of suspected abuse or neglect. The 
secretary shall conduct a continuing public information and educational program concerning the reporting 
of suspected abuse or neglect for local staff of the department of social and rehabilitation services, for 
persons required to report under this code and for other appropriate persons. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 17; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2223: Reporting of certain abuse or neglect of children; persons reporting; reports, made to whom; 
penalties; immunity from liability. (a) Persons making reports. (1) When any of the following persons has 
reason to suspect that a child has been harmed as a result of physical, mental or emotional abuse or 
neglect or sexual abuse, the person shall report the matter promptly as provided in subsections (b) and (c); 

(A) The following persons providing medical care or treatment: Persons licensed to practice the 
healing arts, dentistry and optometry; persons engaged in postgraduate training programs approved by the 
state board of healing arts; licensed professional or practical nurses; and chief administrative officers of 
medical care facilities; 

(B) the following persons licensed by the state to provide mental health services: Licensed 
psychologists, licensed masters level psychologists, licensed clinical psychotherapists, licensed social 
workers, licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed clinical marriage and family therapists, licensed 
professional counselors, licensed clinical professional counselors and registered alcohol and drug abuse 
counselors; 

(C) teachers, school administrators or other employees of an educational institution which the child is 
attending and persons licensed by the secretary of health and environment to provide child care services 
or the employees of persons so licensed at the place where the child care services are being provided to 
the child; and 

(D) firefighters, emergency medical services personnel, law enforcement officers, juvenile intake and 
assessment workers, court services officers and community corrections officers, case managers appointed 
under K.S.A. 23-1001 et seq., and amendments thereto, and mediators appointed under K.S.A. 23-602, and 
amendments thereto. 

(2) In addition to the reports required under subsection (a)(1), any person who has reason to suspect 
that a child may be a child in need of care may report the matter as provided in subsection (b) and (c). 

(b) Form of report. (1) The report may be made orally and shall be followed by a written report if 
requested. Every report shall contain, if known: The names and addresses of the child and the child's 
parents or other persons responsible for the child's care; the location of the child if not at the child's 
residence; the child's gender, race and age; the reasons why the reporter suspects the child may be a child 
in need of care; if abuse or neglect or sexual abuse is suspected, the nature and extent of the harm to the 
child, including any evidence of previous harm; and any other information that the reporter believes might 
be helpful in establishing the cause of the harm and the identity of the persons responsible for the harm. 

(2) When reporting a suspicion that a child may be in need of care, the reporter shall disclose 
protected health information freely and cooperate fully with the secretary and law enforcement 
throughout the investigation and any subsequent legal process. 

(c) To whom made. Reports made pursuant to this section shall be made to the secretary, except as 
follows: 

(1) When the department of social and rehabilitation services is not open for business, reports shall be 
made to the appropriate law enforcement agency. On the next day that the department is open for 
business, the law enforcement agency shall report to the department any report received and any 
investigation initiated pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2226, and amendments thereto. The reports may 
be made orally or, on request of the secretary, in writing. 

(2) Reports of child abuse or neglect occurring in an institution operated by the secretary of social and 
rehabilitation services or the commissioner of juvenile justice shall be made to the attorney general. All 
other reports of child abuse or neglect by persons employed by or of children of persons employed by the 
department of social and rehabilitation services shall be made to the appropriate law enforcement agency. 

(d) Death of child. Any person who is required by this section to report a suspicion that a child is in 
need of care and who knows of information relating to the death of a child shall immediately notify the 
coroner as provided by K.S.A. 22a-242, and amendments thereto. 
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coroner as provided by K.S.A. 22a-242, and amendments thereto. 
(e) Violations. (1) Willful and knowing failure to make a report required by this section is a class B 

misdemeanor. It is not a defense that another mandatory reporter made a report. 
(2) Intentionally preventing or interfering with the making of a report required by this section is a class 

B misdemeanor. 
(3) Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false report pursuant to this section or makes a 

report that such person knows lacks factual foundation is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. 
(f) Immunity from liability. Anyone who, without malice, participates in the making of a report to the 

secretary or a law enforcement agency relating to a suspicion a child may be a child in need of care or who 
participates in any activity or investigation relating to the report or who participates in any judicial 
proceeding resulting from the report shall have immunity from any civil liability that might otherwise be 
incurred or imposed. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 18; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2224: Same; employer prohibited from imposing sanctions on employee making report or cooperating 
in investigation; penalty. (a) No employer shall terminate the employment of, prevent or impair the 
practice or occupation of, or impose any other sanction on, any employee because the employee made an 
oral or written report to, or cooperated with an investigation by, a law enforcement agency or the 
secretary relating to harm inflicted upon a child which was suspected by the employee of having resulted 
from the physical, mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse of the child. 

(b) Violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 19; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2225: Same; reporting of certain abuse or neglect of children in institutions operated by the secretary; 
rules and regulations. The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations governing the reporting of suspected 
child abuse or neglect that occurs in an institution operated by the secretary. Such rules and regulations 
shall specify those types of incidents which are required to be reported. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 20; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2226: Investigation of reports; coordination between agencies. (a) Investigation for child abuse or 
neglect. The secretary and law enforcement officers shall have the duty to receive and investigate reports 
of child abuse or neglect for the purpose of determining whether the report is valid and whether action is 
required to protect a child. Any person or agency which maintains records relating to the involved child 
which are relevant to any investigation conducted by the secretary or law enforcement agency under this 
code shall provide the secretary or law enforcement agency with the necessary records to assist in 
investigations. In order to provide such records, the person or agency maintaining the records shall receive 
from the secretary or law enforcement: (1) A written request for information; and (2) a written notice that 
the investigation is being conducted by the secretary or law enforcement. If the secretary and such officers 
determine that no action is necessary to protect the child but that a criminal prosecution should be 
considered, such law enforcement officers shall make a report of the case to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency. 

(b) Joint investigations. When a report of child abuse or neglect indicates: (1) That there is serious 
physical harm to, serious deterioration of or sexual abuse of the child; and (2) that action may be required 
to protect the child, the investigation shall be conducted as a joint effort between the secretary and the 
appropriate law enforcement agency or agencies, with a free exchange of information between them 
pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2210, and amendments thereto. If a statement of a suspect is obtained 
by either agency, a copy of the statement shall be provided to the other. 

(c) Investigation of certain cases. Suspected child abuse or neglect which occurs in an institution 
operated by the secretary shall be investigated by the attorney general. Any other suspected child abuse or 
neglect by persons employed by the department of social and rehabilitation services shall be investigated 
by the appropriate law enforcement agency. 

(d) Coordination of investigations by county or district attorney. If a dispute develops between 
agencies investigating a reported case of child abuse or neglect, the appropriate county or district attorney 
shall take charge of, direct and coordinate the investigation. 

(e) Investigations concerning certain facilities. Any investigation involving a facility subject to licensing 
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(e) Investigations concerning certain facilities. Any investigation involving a facility subject to licensing 
or regulation by the secretary of health and environment shall be promptly reported to the state secretary 
of health and environment. 

(f) Cooperation between agencies. Law enforcement agencies and the secretary shall assist each other 
in taking action which is necessary to protect a child regardless of which agency conducted the initial 
investigation. 

(g) Cooperation between school personnel and investigative agencies. (1) Educational institutions, the 
secretary and law enforcement agencies shall cooperate with each other in the investigation of reports of 
suspected child abuse or neglect. The secretary and law enforcement agencies shall have access to a child 
in a setting designated by school personnel on the premises of an educational institution. Attendance at an 
interview conducted on such premises shall be at the discretion of the agency conducting the interview, 
giving consideration to the best interests of the child. To the extent that safety and practical considerations 
allow, law enforcement officers on such premises for the purpose of investigating a report of suspected 
child abuse or neglect shall not be in uniform. 

(2) The secretary or a law enforcement officer may request the presence of school personnel during an 
interview if the secretary or officer determines that the presence of such person might provide comfort to 
the child or facilitate the investigation. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 21; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2227: Child advocacy centers. (a) A child advocacy center in this state shall: 
(1) Be a private, nonprofit incorporated agency or a governmental entity. 
(2) Have a neutral, child-focused facility where forensic interviews take place with children in 

appropriate cases of suspected or alleged physical, mental or emotional abuse or sexual abuse. All agencies 
shall have a place to interact with the child as investigative or treatment needs require. 

(3) Have a minimum designated staff that is supervised and approved by the local board of directors or 
governmental entity. 

(4) Have a multidisciplinary team that meets on a regularly scheduled basis or as the caseload of the 
community requires. The team shall include, but not be limited to, representatives from the state or local 
office prosecuting such case, law enforcement, child protective services, mental health services, a victim's 
advocate, child advocacy center staff and medical personnel. 

(5) Provide case tracking of child abuse cases seen through the center. A center shall also collect data 
on the number of child abuse cases seen at the center, by sex, race, age, and other relevant data, the 
number of cases referred for prosecution, and the number of cases referred for medical services or mental 
health therapy. 

(6) Provide medical exam services or mental health therapy, or both, on site at the child advocacy 
center, or provide referrals for medical exams or mental health therapy, or both, to a facility not on the 
site of the child advocacy center. 

(7) Have an interagency commitment, in writing, covering those aspects of agency participation in a 
multidisciplinary approach to the handling of cases involving physical, mental or emotional abuse. 

(8) Provide that child advocacy center employees and volunteers at the center are trained and 
screened in accordance with K.S.A. 65-516, and amendments thereto. 

(9) Provide training for child advocacy center staff who interview children in forensic children's 
interview technique. 

(b) Any child advocacy center within this state that meets the standards prescribed by this section shall 
be eligible to receive state funds that are appropriated by the legislature. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 22; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2228: Multidisciplinary team. The court on its own motion or upon request may, at any time, appoint a 
multidisciplinary team to assist in gathering information regarding a child who may be or is a child in need 
of care. The team may be a standing multidisciplinary team or may be appointed for a specific child. Any 
person appointed as a member of a multidisciplinary team may decline to serve and shall incur no civil 
liability as the result of declining to serve. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 23; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

   KS Page 25    

http://kansasstatutes.lesterama.org/Chapter_65/Article_5/65-516.html


38-2229: Investigation of abuse or neglect; subpoena; request to quash. (a) The secretary, a law 
enforcement officer, or a multidisciplinary team appointed pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2228, and 
amendments thereto, may request disclosure of documents, reports or information in regard to a child, 
who is the subject of a report of abuse or neglect, by making a written verified application to the district 
court. Upon a finding by the court that there is probable cause to believe the information sought will assist 
in the investigation of a report of child abuse or neglect, the court may issue a subpoena, subpoena duces 
tecum or an order for the production of the requested documents, reports or information and directing the 
documents, reports or information to be delivered to the applicant at a specific time, date and place. 

(b) The time and date of delivery shall not be sooner than five days after the service of the subpoena 
or order, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. The court issuing the subpoena or order shall keep all 
applications filed pursuant to this subsection and a copy of the subpoena or order in a special file 
maintained for that purpose. Upon receiving service of a subpoena, subpoena duces tecum or an order for 
production pursuant to this section, the person or agency served shall give oral or written notice of service 
to any person known to have a right to assert a privilege or assert a right of confidentiality in regard to the 
documents, reports or information sought at least three days before the date of delivery. 

(c) Any parent, child, guardian ad litem, person or entity subpoenaed or subject to an order of 
production or person or entity who claims a privilege or right of confidentiality may request in writing that 
the court issuing the subpoena or order of production quash the subpoena, subpoena duces tecum or 
order for production issued pursuant to this section. The request shall automatically stay the operation of 
the subpoena, subpoena duces tecum or order for production and the documents, reports or information 
requested shall not be delivered until the issuing court has held a hearing to determine if the documents, 
reports or information are subject to the claimed privilege or right of confidentiality, and whether it is in 
the best interests of the child for the subpoena or order to produce to be honored. The request to quash 
shall be filed with the district court issuing the subpoena or order at least 24 hours prior to the specified 
time and date of delivery, excluding Saturdays, Sundays or holidays, and a copy of the written request must 
be given to the person subpoenaed or subject to the order for production at least 24 hours prior to the 
specified time and date of delivery. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 24; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2230: Same; duties of SRS. Whenever any person furnishes information to the secretary that a child 
appears to be a child in need of care, the department shall make a preliminary inquiry to determine 
whether the interests of the child require further action be taken. Whenever practicable, the inquiry shall 
include a preliminary investigation of the circumstances which were the subject of the information, 
including the home and environmental situation and the previous history of the child. If reasonable 
grounds to believe abuse or neglect exist, immediate steps shall be taken to protect the health and welfare 
of the abused or neglected child as well as that of any other child under the same care who may be 
harmed by abuse or neglect. After the inquiry, if the secretary determines it is not otherwise possible to 
provide those services necessary to protect the interests of the child, the secretary shall recommend to the 
county or district attorney that a petition be filed. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 25; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2231: Child under 18, when law enforcement officers or court services officers may take into custody; 
sheltering a runaway. (a) A law enforcement officer or court services officer shall take a child under 18 
years of age into custody when: 

(1) The law enforcement officer or court services officer has a court order commanding that the child 
be taken into custody as a child in need of care; or 

(2) the law enforcement officer or court services officer has probable cause to believe that a court 
order commanding that the child be taken into custody as a child in need of care has been issued in this 
state or in another jurisdiction. 

(b) A law enforcement officer shall take a child under 18 years of age into custody when: 
(1) The law enforcement officer reasonably believes the child will be harmed if not immediately 

removed from the place or residence where the child has been found; or 
(2) when the officer has probable cause to believe that the child is a missing person and a verified 
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(2) when the officer has probable cause to believe that the child is a missing person and a verified 
missing person entry for the child can be found in the national crime information center missing person 
system. 

(c) (1) If a person provides shelter to a child whom the person knows is a runaway, such person shall 
promptly report the child's location either to a law enforcement agency or to the child's parent or other 
custodian. 

(2) If a person reports a runaway's location to a law enforcement agency pursuant to this section and a 
law enforcement officer of the agency has reasonable grounds to believe that it is in the child's best 
interests, the child may be allowed to remain in the place where shelter is being provided, subject to 
subsection (b), in the absence of a court order to the contrary. If the child is allowed to so remain, the law 
enforcement agency shall promptly notify the secretary of the child's location and circumstances. 

(d) A law enforcement officer may temporarily detain and assume temporary custody of any child 
subject to compulsory school attendance, pursuant to K.S.A. 72-1111, and amendments thereto, during the 
hours school is actually in session and shall deliver the child pursuant to subsection (g) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2232, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 26; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2232: Child under 18 taken into custody; duties of officers; referral of cases for proceedings under this 
code and interstate compact on juveniles; placed in shelter facility or with other person; application of law 
enforcement officer; release of child. (a) To the extent possible, when any law enforcement officer takes 
into custody a child under the age of 18 years without a court order, the child shall forthwith be delivered 
to the custody of the child's parent or other custodian unless there are reasonable grounds to believe that 
such action would not be in the best interests of the child. Except as provided in subsection (b), if the child 
is not delivered to the custody of the child's parent or other custodian, the child shall forthwith be 
delivered to a shelter facility designated by the court, court services officer, juvenile intake and assessment 
worker, licensed attendant care center or other person or, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 
or 17 years of age if the child has no identifiable parental or family resources or shows signs of physical, 
mental, emotional or sexual abuse, to a facility or person designated by the secretary. If, after delivery of 
the child to a shelter facility, the person in charge of the shelter facility at that time and the law 
enforcement officer determine that the child will not remain in the shelter facility and if the child is 
presently alleged, but not yet adjudicated, to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to subsection (d)(9) 
or (d)(10) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the law enforcement officer shall 
deliver the child to a juvenile detention facility or other secure facility, designated by the court, where the 
child shall be detained for not more than 24 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. No 
child taken into custody pursuant to this code shall be placed in a juvenile detention facility or other secure 
facility, except as authorized by this section and by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2242, 38-2243 and 38-2260, and 
amendments thereto. It shall be the duty of the law enforcement officer to furnish to the county or district 
attorney, without unnecessary delay, all the information in the possession of the officer pertaining to the 
child, the child's parents or other persons interested in or likely to be interested in the child and all other 
facts and circumstances which caused the child to be taken into custody. 

(b) When any law enforcement officer takes into custody any child as provided in subsection (b)(2) of 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2231, and amendments thereto, proceedings shall be initiated in accordance with the 
provisions of the interstate compact on juveniles, K.S.A. 38-1001 et seq., and amendments thereto, or 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-1008, and amendments thereto, when effective. Any child taken into custody 
pursuant to the interstate compact on juveniles may be detained in a juvenile detention facility or other 
secure facility. 

(c) Whenever a child under the age of 18 years is taken into custody by a law enforcement officer 
without a court order and is thereafter placed as authorized by subsection (a), the facility or person shall, 
upon written application of the law enforcement officer, have physical custody and provide care and 
supervision for the child. The application shall state: 

(1) The name and address of the child, if known; 
(2) the names and addresses of the child's parents or nearest relatives and persons with whom the 

child has been residing, if known; and 
(3) the officer's belief that the child is a child in need of care and that there are reasonable grounds to 
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(3) the officer's belief that the child is a child in need of care and that there are reasonable grounds to 
believe that the circumstances or condition of the child is such that the child would be harmed unless 
placed in the immediate custody of the shelter facility or other person. 

(d) A copy of the application shall be furnished by the facility or person receiving the child to the 
county or district attorney without unnecessary delay. 

(e) The shelter facility or other person designated by the court who has custody of the child pursuant 
to this section shall discharge the child not later than 72 hours following admission, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays and legal holidays, unless a court has entered an order pertaining to temporary custody or 
release. 

(f) In absence of a court order to the contrary, the county or district attorney or the placing law 
enforcement agency shall have the authority to direct the release of the child at any time. 

(g) When any law enforcement officer takes into custody any child as provided in subsection (d) of 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2231, and amendments thereto, the child shall forthwith be delivered to the school in 
which the child is enrolled, any location designated by the school in which the child is enrolled or the 
child's parent or other custodian. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 27; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 3; July 1. 

38-2233: Filing of petition on referral by SRS or other person; filing by individual. (a) Whenever the 
secretary or any other person refers a case to the county or district attorney for the purpose of filing a 
petition alleging that a child is a child in need of care, the county or district attorney shall review the facts, 
recommendations and any other evidence available and determine if the circumstances warrant filing a 
petition. 

(b) Any individual may file a petition alleging a child is a child in need of care and the individual may be 
represented by the individual's own attorney in the presentation of the case. 

(c) When a petition is filed alleging an infant surrendered pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2282, and 
amendments thereto, is a child in need of care, the petition shall include a request that the court find that 
reintegration is not a viable alternative. Such petition also shall include a request to terminate the parental 
rights of the parents of such infant. An expedited hearing shall be granted on any petition filed pursuant to 
this subsection. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 28; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2234: Pleadings. (a) Filing and contents of petition. (1) A petition filed to commence an action pursuant 
to this code shall be filed with the clerk of the district court and shall state, if known: 

(A) The name, date of birth and residence address of the child; 
(B) the name and residence address of the child's parents; 
(C) the name and address of the child's nearest known relative if no parent can be found; 
(D) the name and residence address of any persons having custody or control of the child; and 
(E) plainly and concisely in the language of the statutory definition, the basis for the petition. 
(2) The petition shall also state the specific facts which are relied upon to support the allegation 

referred to in the preceding paragraph including any known dates, times and locations. 
(3) The proceedings shall be entitled: "In the Interest of ______________." 
(4) The petition shall contain a request that the court find the child to be a child in need of care. 
(5) The petition shall contain a request that the parent or parents be ordered to pay child support. The 

request for child support may be omitted with respect to a parent already ordered to pay child support for 
the child and shall be omitted with respect to one or both parents upon written request of the secretary. 

(6) If the petition requests custody of the child to the secretary or a person other than the child's 
parent, the petition shall specify the efforts known to the petitioner to have been made to maintain the 
family and prevent the transfer of custody, or it shall specify the facts demonstrating that an emergency 
exists which threatens the safety to the child. 

(7) If the petition requests removal of the child from the child's home, in addition to the information 
required by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2234 (a)(6), and amendments thereto, the petition shall specify the facts 
demonstrating that allowing the child to remain in the home would be contrary to the welfare of the child 
or that placement is in the best interests of the child and the child is likely to sustain harm if not removed 
from the home. 
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from the home. 
(8) The petition shall contain the following statement: "If you do not appear in court the court will be 

making decisions without your input which could result in: 
(A) The permanent or temporary removal of the child from the custody of the parent or present legal 

guardian; 
(B) an order requiring one or both parents to pay child support until the permanent termination of one 

or both of the parents parental rights; 
(C) the permanent termination of one or both of the parents parental rights; and 
(D) the appointment of a permanent custodian for the child. 
If you cannot attend the hearing you may send a written response to the petition to the clerk of the 

court." 
(9) The petition shall contain the following statement: "You may receive further notices of other 

hearings, proceedings and actions in this case which you may attend. These notices will be sent to you by 
first class mail to your last known address or an address you provide to the court. It is your responsibility to 
keep the court informed of your current address." 

(b) Motions. Motions may be made orally or in writing. The motion shall state with particularity the 
grounds for the motion and shall state the relief or order sought. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 29; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2235: Procedure upon filing of petition. (a) Upon the filing of a petition under this code the court shall 
proceed by one of the following methods: 

(1) The court shall issue summons pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2236, and amendments thereto, 
setting the matter for hearing within 30 days of the date the petition is filed. The summons, with a copy of 
the petition attached, shall be served pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto. 

(2) If the child has been taken into protective custody under the provisions of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2242, and amendments thereto, and a temporary custody hearing is held as required by K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2243, and amendments thereto, a copy of the petition shall be served at the hearing on each 
party and interested party in attendance and a record of service made a part of the proceedings. The court 
shall announce the time of the next hearing. Process shall be served on any party or interested party not at 
the temporary custody hearing pursuant to subsection (a)(1). Upon the written request of the petitioner or 
the county or district attorney, separate or additional summons shall be issued to any party and interested 
party. 

(b) If the petition requests custody to the secretary, the court shall cause a copy of the petition to be 
provided to the secretary upon filing. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 30; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2236: Summons; persons to be served; notice of hearing. (a) Persons to be served. The summons and a 
copy of the petition shall be served on: 

(1) The child alleged to be a child in need of care by serving the guardian ad litem appointed for the 
child; 

(2) the parents or parent having legal custody or who may be ordered to pay child support by the 
court; 

(3) the person with whom the child is residing; and 
(4) any other person designated by the county or district attorney. 
(b) A copy of the petition and notice of hearing shall be mailed by first class mail to the child's 

grandparents with whom the child does not reside. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 31; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2237: Service of process. Summons, notice of hearings and other process may be served by one of the 
following methods: 

(a) Personal and residence service. Personal and residence service is completed by service in 
substantial compliance with the provisions of K.S.A. 60-303, and amendments thereto. Personal service 
upon an individual outside the state shall be made in substantial compliance with the applicable provisions 
of K.S.A. 60-308, and amendments thereto. 
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of K.S.A. 60-308, and amendments thereto. 
(b) Service by return receipt delivery. Service by return receipt delivery is completed upon mailing or 

sending only in accordance with the provisions of subsection (c) of K.S.A. 60-303, and amendments 
thereto. 

(c) First class mail service. Service may be made by first class mail, addressed to the individual to be 
served at the usual place of residence of the person with postage prepaid, and is completed upon the 
person appearing before the court in response thereto. If the person fails to appear, the summons, notice 
or other process shall be delivered by personal service, residential service, certified mail service or 
publication service. 

(d) Service upon confined parent. If a parent of a child who is the subject of proceedings under this 
code is confined in a state or federal penal institution, state or federal hospital or other institution, service 
shall be made by return receipt delivery to addressee only to both the person in charge of the institution 
and the confined parent in care of the person in charge of the institution or that person's designee. 
Personal service on a confined parent who is present in the courtroom cures any defect in notice to the 
person in charge of the institution. 

(e) Service by publication. If service cannot be completed after due diligence using any other method 
provided in this section, service may be made by publication in accordance with this subsection. Before 
service by publication, the petitioner, or someone on behalf of the petitioner, shall file an affidavit which 
shall state the affiant has made an attempt, but unsuccessful, with due diligence to ascertain the names or 
residences, or both, of the persons. The notice shall be published once a week for two consecutive weeks 
in the newspaper authorized to publish legal notices in the county where the petition is filed. If a parent 
cannot be served by other means and due diligence has revealed with substantial certainty that the parent 
is residing in a particular locality, publication shall also be in a newspaper authorized to publish legal 
notices in that locality. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 32; L. 2007, ch. 36, § 1; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 5; July 1. 

38-2238: Proof of service. Proof of service shall be made as follows: 
(a) Personal or residential service. (1) Every officer to whom summons or other process is delivered for 

service within the state shall make written report of the place, manner and date of service of the process. 
(2) Every officer to whom summons or other process shall be delivered for service outside this state 

shall make written report of the place, manner and time of service. 
(3) If the process is, by order of the court, delivered to a person other than an officer for service that 

person shall report the place, manner and time of service by affidavit. 
(b) Service by mail. The clerk or a deputy clerk shall make a written report of service by mail. 
(c) Publication service. Service by publication shall be reported by an affidavit showing the dates upon 

and the newspaper in which the notice was published. A copy of the published notice shall be attached to 
the affidavit. 

(d) Amendment of report. The judge may allow an amendment of a report of service at any time and 
upon terms as are deemed just to correctly reflect the true manner of service. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 33; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2239: Service of other pleadings. (a) Proceedings upon filing. Upon the filing of a subsequent pleading, 
other than a petition, indicating the necessity for a hearing, the court shall fix the time and place for the 
hearing. 

(b) Notice. The notice of hearing shall be given by the clerk, unless otherwise ordered by the court. The 
notice shall be dated the day it is issued, contain the name of the court and the caption in the case. 

(c) Notification by first class mail. Unless other provisions of this code expressly require service of 
process, notice of motions and other pleadings filed subsequent to the petition in connection with the case 
and any hearings to be held on such motions or other pleadings may be provided by first class mail, 
postage prepaid, to any party or interested party who has been served in accordance with K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto. Such notice shall be sent to the last address provided to the 
court by the party or interested party in question. Failure to appear shall not invalidate notice by first class 
mail. Notice by mail is not required if the court orally notifies a party or interested party of the time and 
place of the hearing. 
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place of the hearing. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 34; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2240: Subpoenas; witness fees. (a) Subject to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2241, and amendments thereto, a 
party or interested party shall be entitled to the use of subpoenas and other compulsory process to obtain 
the attendance of witnesses. Except as otherwise provided by this code, subpoenas and other compulsory 
processes shall be issued and served in the same manner and the disobedience thereof punished the same 
as in other civil cases. 

(b) The court shall have the power to compel the attendance of witnesses from any county in the state 
for proceedings under this code. 

(c) Only witnesses who have been subpoenaed shall be allowed witness fees and mileage. No witness 
shall be entitled to be paid fees or mileage before the witness' actual appearance at court. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 35; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2241: Additional parties. (a) Jurisdiction of the court. Parties and interested parties in a child in need of 
care proceedings are subject to the jurisdiction of the court. 

(b) Rights of parties. Subject to the authority of the court to rule on the admissibility of evidence and 
provide for the orderly conduct of the proceedings, the rights of parties to participate in a child in need of 
care proceeding include, but are not limited to: 

(1) Notice in accordance with K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2236 and 38-2239, and amendments thereto; 
(2) present oral or written evidence and argument, to call and cross-examine witnesses; and 
(3) representation by an attorney in accordance with K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2205, and amendments 

thereto. 
(c) Grandparents as interested parties. (1) A grandparent of the child shall be made an interested party 

to a child in need of care proceeding if the grandparent notifies the court of such grandparent's desire to 
become an interested party. Notification may be made in writing, orally or by appearance at the initial or a 
subsequent hearing on the child in need of care petition. 

(2) Grandparents with interested party status shall have the participatory rights of parties pursuant to 
subsection (b), except that the court may restrict those rights if the court finds that it would be in the best 
interests of the child. A grandparent may not be prevented under this paragraph from attending the 
proceedings, having access to the child's official file in the court records or making a statement to the 
court. 

(d) Persons with whom the child has been residing as interested parties. (1) Any person with whom the 
child has resided for a significant period of time within six months of the date the child in need of care 
petition is filed shall be made an interested party, if such person notifies the court of such person's desire 
to become an interested party. Notification may be made in writing, orally or by appearance at the initial 
or a subsequent hearing on the child in need of care petition. 

(2) Persons with interested party status under this subsection shall have the participatory rights of 
parties pursuant to subsection (b), except that the court may restrict those rights if the court finds that it 
would be in the best interests of the child. 

(e) Other interested parties. (1) Any person with whom the child has resided at any time, who is within 
the fourth degree of relationship to the child, or to whom the child has close emotional ties may, upon 
motion, be made an interested party if the court determines that it is in the best interests of the child. 

(2) Any other person or Indian tribe seeking to intervene that is not a party may, upon motion, be 
made an interested party if the court determines that the person or tribe has a sufficient relationship with 
the child to warrant interested party status or that the person's or tribe's participation would be beneficial 
to the proceedings. 

(3) The court may, upon its own motion, make any person an interested party if the court determines 
that interested party status would be in the best interests of the child. 

(f) Procedure for determining, denying or terminating interested party status. (1) Upon the request of 
the court, the secretary shall investigate the advisability of granting interested party status under this 
section and report findings and recommendations to the court. 

(2) The court may deny or terminate interested party status under this subsection if the court 
determines, after notice and a hearing, that a person does not qualify for interested party status or that 
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determines, after notice and a hearing, that a person does not qualify for interested party status or that 
there is good cause to deny or terminate interested party status. 

(3) A person who is denied interested party status or whose status as an interested party has been 
terminated may petition for review of the denial or termination by the chief judge of the district in which 
the court having jurisdiction over the child in need of care proceeding is located, or a judge designated by 
the chief judge. The chief judge or the chief judge's designee shall review the denial or termination within 
30 days of receiving the petition. The child in need of care proceeding shall not be stayed pending 
resolution of the petition for review. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 36; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 6; July 1. 

38-2242: Ex parte orders of protective custody; application; determination of probable cause; period of 
time; placement; procedures; orders for removal of child from custody of parent, limitations. (a) The court, 
upon verified application, may issue ex parte an order directing that a child be held in protective custody 
and, if the child has not been taken into custody, an order directing that the child be taken into custody. 
The application shall state for each child: 

(1) The applicant's belief that the child is a child in need of care; 
(2) that the child is likely to sustain harm if not immediately removed from the home; 
(3) that allowing the child to remain in the home is contrary to the welfare of the child; and 
(4) the facts relied upon to support the application, including efforts known to the applicant to 

maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary removal of the child from the child's home, or the 
specific facts supporting that an emergency exists which threatens the safety of the child. 

(b) (1) The order of protective custody may be issued only after the court has determined there is 
probable cause to believe the allegations in the application are true. The order shall remain in effect until 
the temporary custody hearing provided for in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2243, and amendments thereto, 
unless earlier rescinded by the court. 

(2) No child shall be held in protective custody for more than 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays 
and legal holidays, unless within the 72-hour period a determination is made as to the necessity for 
temporary custody in a temporary custody hearing. The time spent in custody pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2232, and amendments thereto, shall be included in calculating the 72-hour period. Nothing in 
this subsection shall be construed to mean that the child must remain in protective custody for 72 hours. If 
a child is in the protective custody of the secretary, the secretary shall allow at least one supervised visit 
between the child and the parent or parents within such time period as the child is in protective custody. 
The court may prohibit such supervised visit if the court determines it is not in the best interest of the 
child. 

(c) (1) Whenever the court determines the necessity for an order of protective custody, the court may 
place the child in the protective custody of: 

(A) A parent or other person having custody of the child and may enter a restraining order pursuant to 
subsection (e); 

(B) a person, other than the parent or other person having custody, who shall not be required to be 
licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto; 

(C) a youth residential facility; 
(D) a shelter facility; or 
(E) the secretary, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child has no 

identifiable parental or family resources or shows signs of physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse. 
(2) If the secretary presents the court with a plan to provide services to a child or family which the 

court finds will assure the safety of the child, the court may only place the child in the protective custody of 
the secretary until the court finds the services are in place. The court shall have the authority to require 
any person or entity agreeing to participate in the plan to perform as set out in the plan. When the child is 
placed in the protective custody of the secretary, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to 
place the child with a parent or to make other suitable placement for the child. When the child is presently 
alleged, but not yet adjudicated, to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to subsection (d)(9) or (d)(10) 
of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the child may be placed in a juvenile detention 
facility or other secure facility pursuant to an order of protective custody for a period of not to exceed 24 
hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. 
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hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. 
(d) The order of protective custody shall be served pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 

38-2237, and amendments thereto, on the child's parents and any other person having legal custody of the 
child. The order shall prohibit the removal of the child from the court's jurisdiction without the court's 
permission. 

(e) If the court issues an order of protective custody, the court may also enter an order restraining any 
alleged perpetrator of physical, sexual, mental or emotional abuse of the child from residing in the child's 
home; visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating the child, other family member or witness; or 
attempting to visit, contact, harass or intimidate the child, other family member or witness. Such 
restraining order shall be served by personal service pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2237, and amendments thereto, on any alleged perpetrator to whom the order is directed. 

(f) (1) The court shall not enter an order removing a child from the custody of a parent pursuant to this 
section unless the court first finds probable cause that: (A)(i) the child is likely to sustain harm if not 
immediately removed from the home; 

(ii) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; or 
(iii) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and 
(B) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary 

removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists which threatens the safety to the 
child. 

(2) Such findings shall be included in any order entered by the court. If the child is placed in the 
custody of the secretary, the court shall provide the secretary with a written copy of any orders entered 
upon making the order. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 37; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 4; July 1. 

38-2243: Orders of temporary custody; notice; hearing; procedure; findings; placement; orders for removal 
of child from custody of parent, limitations. (a) Upon notice and hearing, the court may issue an order 
directing who shall have temporary custody and may modify the order during the pendency of the 
proceedings as will best serve the child's welfare. 

(b) A hearing pursuant to this section shall be held within 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and 
legal holidays, following a child having been taken into protective custody. 

(c) Whenever it is determined that a temporary custody hearing is required, the court shall 
immediately set the time and place for the hearing. Notice of a temporary custody hearing shall be given to 
all parties and interested parties. 

(d) Notice of the temporary custody hearing shall be given at least 24 hours prior to the hearing. The 
court may continue the hearing to afford the 24 hours prior notice or, with the consent of the party or 
interested party, proceed with the hearing at the designated time. If an order of temporary custody is 
entered and the parent or other person having custody of the child has not been notified of the hearing, 
did not appear or waive appearance and requests a rehearing, the court shall rehear the matter without 
unnecessary delay. 

(e) Oral notice may be used for giving notice of a temporary custody hearing where there is insufficient 
time to give written notice. Oral notice is completed upon filing a certificate of oral notice. 

(f) The court may enter an order of temporary custody after determining there is probable cause to 
believe that the: (1) Child is dangerous to self or to others; (2) child is not likely to be available within the 
jurisdiction of the court for future proceedings; or (3) health or welfare of the child may be endangered 
without further care. 

(g) (1) Whenever the court determines the necessity for an order of temporary custody the court may 
place the child in the temporary custody of: 

(A) A parent or other person having custody of the child and may enter a restraining order pursuant to 
subsection (h); 

(B) a person, other than the parent or other person having custody, who shall not be required to be 
licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto; 

(C) a youth residential facility; 
(D) a shelter facility; or 
(E) the secretary, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child has no 
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(E) the secretary, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child has no 
identifiable parental or family resources or shows signs of physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse. 

(2) If the secretary presents the court with a plan to provide services to a child or family which the 
court finds will assure the safety of the child, the court may only place the child in the temporary custody 
of the secretary until the court finds the services are in place. The court shall have the authority to require 
any person or entity agreeing to participate in the plan to perform as set out in the plan. When the child is 
placed in the temporary custody of the secretary, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to 
place the child with a parent or to make other suitable placement for the child. When the child is presently 
alleged, but not yet adjudicated to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to subsection (d)(9) or (d)(10) 
of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the child may be placed in a juvenile detention 
facility or other secure facility, but the total amount of time that the child may be held in such facility 
under this section and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2242, and amendments thereto, shall not exceed 24 hours, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. The order of temporary custody shall remain in effect 
until modified or rescinded by the court or an adjudication order is entered but not exceeding 60 days, 
unless good cause is shown and stated on the record. 

(h) If the court issues an order of temporary custody, the court may also enter an order restraining any 
alleged perpetrator of physical, sexual, mental or emotional abuse of the child from residing in the child's 
home; visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating the child; or attempting to visit, contact, harass or 
intimidate the child, other family members or witnesses. Such restraining order shall be served by personal 
service pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, on any alleged 
perpetrator to whom the order is directed. 

(i) (1) The court shall not enter an order removing a child from the custody of a parent pursuant to this 
section unless the court first finds probable cause that: (A)(i) the child is likely to sustain harm if not 
immediately removed from the home; 

(ii) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; or 
(iii) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and 
(B) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary 

removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists which threatens the safety to the 
child. 

(2) Such findings shall be included in any order entered by the court. If the child is placed in the 
custody of the secretary, upon making the order the court shall provide the secretary with a written copy. 

(j) If the court enters an order of temporary custody that provides for placement of the child with a 
person other than the parent, the court shall make a child support determination pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2277, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 38; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 7; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 5; July 1. 

38-2244: Order for informal supervision; restraining orders. (a) At any time after filing a petition, but prior 
to an adjudication, the court may enter an order for continuance and informal supervision without an 
adjudication if no party objects. Upon granting the continuance, the court shall include in the order any 
conditions with which the parties and interested parties are expected to comply and provide the parties 
and interested parties with a copy of the order. The conditions may include appropriate dispositional 
alternatives authorized by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2255, and amendments thereto. 

(b) An order for informal supervision may remain in force for a period of up to six months and may be 
extended, upon hearing, for an additional six-month period for a total of one year. For a child under an 
order for informal supervision who remains in the custody of such child's parent, such one-year period may 
be extended if no party objects, upon hearing, for up to an additional one year, with reviews by the court 
occurring at least every six months. 

(c) The court after notice and hearing may revoke or modify the order with respect to a party or 
interested party upon a showing that the party or interested party, being subject to the order for informal 
supervision, has substantially failed to comply with the terms of the order, or that modification would be in 
the best interests of the child. Upon revocation, proceedings shall resume pursuant to this code. 

(d) Persons subject to the order for informal supervision who successfully complete the terms and 
period of supervision shall not again be proceeded against in any court based solely upon the allegations in 
the original petition and the proceedings shall be dismissed. 
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the original petition and the proceedings shall be dismissed. 
(e) If the court issues an order for informal supervision pursuant to this section, the court may also 

enter an order restraining any alleged perpetrator of physical, mental or emotional abuse or sexual abuse 
of the child from residing in the child's home, visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating the child, other 
family member or witness; or attempting to visit, contact, harass or intimidate the child, other family 
member or witness. The restraining order shall be served by personal service pursuant to subsection (a) of 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, on any alleged perpetrator to whom the order is 
directed. 

(f) Lack of service on a parent shall not preclude an informal supervision under the provisions of this 
section. If an order of informal supervision is entered which effects change in custody, any parent not 
served pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, who has not consented to the 
informal supervision, may request reconsideration of the order of informal supervision. The court shall 
hear the request without unnecessary delay. If the informal supervision order effects a change in custody, 
efforts to accomplish service pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, shall 
continue. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 39; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 8; July 1. 

38-2245: Discovery. (a) After a hearing and a finding that discovery procedures, as described in K.S.A. 
60-226 through 60-237, and amendments thereto, will expedite the proceedings, the judge may allow 
discovery subject to limitations. 

(b) Upon request of any party or interested party, any other party or interested party shall disclose the 
names of all potential witnesses. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 40; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2246: Continuances. All proceedings under this code shall be disposed of without unnecessary delay. 
Continuances shall not be granted unless good cause is shown. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 41; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2247: Attendance at proceedings; confidentiality. (a) Adjudication. Proceedings prior to and including 
adjudication under this code shall be open to attendance by any person unless the court determines that 
closed proceedings or the exclusion of that person would be in the best interests of the child or is 
necessary to protect the privacy rights of the parents. 

(1) The court may not exclude the guardian ad litem, parties and interested parties. 
(2) Members of the news media shall comply with supreme court rule 10.01. 
(b) Disposition. Proceedings pertaining to the disposition of a child adjudicated to be in need of care 

shall be closed to all persons except the parties, the guardian ad litem, interested parties and their 
attorneys, officers of the court, a court appointed special advocate and the custodian. 

(1) Other persons may be permitted to attend with the consent of the parties or by order of the court, 
if the court determines that it would be in the best interests of the child or the conduct of the proceedings, 
subject to such limitations as the court determines to be appropriate. 

(2) The court may exclude any person if the court determines that such person's exclusion would be in 
the best interests of the child or the conduct of the proceedings. 

(c) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b) of this section, the court shall permit the attendance at the 
proceedings of up to two people designated by the parent of the child, both of whom have participated in 
a parent ally orientation program approved by the judicial administrator. 

(1) Such parent ally orientation program shall include, but not be limited to, information concerning 
the confidentiality of the proceedings; the child and parent's right to counsel; the definitions and 
jurisdiction pursuant to the Kansas code for care of children; the types and purposes of the hearings; 
options for informal supervision and dispositions; placement options; the parents' obligation to financially 
support the child while the child is in the state's custody; obligations of the secretary of social and 
rehabilitation services; obligations of entities that contract with the department of social and rehabilitation 
services for family preservation, foster care and adoption; the termination of parental rights; the 
procedures for appeals; and the basic rules regarding court procedure. 

(2) The court may remove the parent's ally or allies from a proceeding if such ally becomes disruptive 
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(2) The court may remove the parent's ally or allies from a proceeding if such ally becomes disruptive 
in the present proceeding or has been found disruptive in a prior proceeding. 

(d) Preservation of confidentiality. If information required to be kept confidential by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2209, and amendments thereto, is to be introduced into evidence and there are persons in attendance 
who are not authorized to receive the information, the court may exclude those persons during the 
presentation of the evidence or conduct an in camera inspection of the evidence. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 42; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 9; July 1. 

38-2248: Stipulations and no contest statements. (a) In any proceedings under this code, parents, persons 
with whom the child has been residing pursuant to subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2241, and 
amendments thereto, and guardians ad litem may stipulate or enter no contest statements to all or part of 
the allegations in the petition. 

(b) Prior to the acceptance of any stipulation or no contest statement, other than to names, ages, 
parentage or other preliminary matters, the court shall ask each of the persons listed in subsection (a) the 
following questions: 

(1) Do you understand that you have a right to a hearing on the allegations contained in the petition 
(2) Do you understand that you may be represented by an attorney and, if you are a parent and 

financially unable to employ an attorney, the court will appoint an attorney for you, if you so request 
(3) One of the following: (A) Do you understand that a stipulation is an admission that the statements 

in the petition are true or (B) Do you understand that a no contest statement neither admits nor denies the 
statement in the petition but allows the court to find that the statements in the petition are true 

(4) Do you understand that, if the court accepts your stipulation or no contest statement, you will not 
be able to appeal that finding, the court may find the child to be a child in need of care and the court will 
then make further orders as to the care, custody and supervision of the child 

(5) Do you understand that, if the court finds the child to be a child in need of care, the court is not 
bound by any agreement or recommendation of the parties as to disposition and placement of the child 

(c) Before accepting a stipulation the court shall find that there is a factual basis for the stipulation. 
(d) Before an adjudication based on a no contest statement, the court shall find from a proffer of 

evidence that there is a factual basis. 
(e) In proceedings other than termination of parental rights proceedings under this code if all persons 

listed in subsection (a) do not stipulate or enter no contest statements, the court shall hear evidence as to 
those persons, if they are present. The case may proceed by proffer as to persons not present, unless they 
appear by counsel and have instructed counsel to object. 

(f) In evidentiary hearings for termination of parental rights under this code, the case may proceed by 
proffer as to parties not present, unless they appear by counsel and have instructed counsel to object. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 43; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 10; July 1. 

•

38-2249: Rules of evidence. (a) In all proceedings under this code, the rules of evidence of the code of civil 
procedure shall apply, except that no evidence relating to the condition of a child shall be excluded solely 
on the ground that the matter is or may be the subject of a physician-patient privilege, psychologist-client 
privilege or social worker-client privilege. 

(b) The judge presiding at all hearings under this code shall not consider or rely upon any report not 
properly admitted according to the rules of evidence, except as provided by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2219, 
and amendments thereto. 

(c) In any proceeding in which a child less than 13 years of age is alleged to have been physically, 
mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused, a recording of an oral statement of the 
child, or of any witness less than 13 years of age, made before the proceeding began, is admissible in 
evidence if: 

(1) The court determines that the time, content and circumstances of the statement provide sufficient 
indicia of reliability; 

(2) no attorney for any party or interested party is present when the statement is made; 
(3) the recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film, videotape or by other electronic 

means; 
(4) the recording equipment is capable of making an accurate recording, the operator of the 
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(4) the recording equipment is capable of making an accurate recording, the operator of the 
equipment is competent and the recording is accurate and has not been altered; 

(5) the statement is not made in response to questioning calculated to lead the child to make a 
particular statement or is clearly shown to be the child's statement and not made solely as a result of a 
leading or suggestive question; 

(6) every voice on the recording is identified; 
(7) the person conducting the interview of the child in the recording is present at the proceeding and 

is available to testify or be cross-examined by any party or interested party; and 
(8) each party or interested party to the proceeding is afforded an opportunity to view the recording 

before it is offered into evidence. 
(d) On motion of any party to a proceeding pursuant to the code in which a child less than 13 years of 

age is alleged to have been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused, the 
court may order that the testimony of the child, or of any witness less than 13 years of age, be taken: 

(1) In a room other than the courtroom and be televised by closed-circuit equipment in the courtroom 
to be viewed by the court and the parties and interested parties to the proceeding; or 

(2) outside the courtroom and be recorded for showing in the courtroom before the court and the 
parties and interested parties to the proceeding if: 

(A) The recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film, videotape or by other electronic 
means; 

(B) the recording equipment is capable of making an accurate recording, the operator of the 
equipment is competent and the recording is accurate and has not been altered; 

(C) every voice on the recording is identified; and 
(D) each party and interested party to the proceeding is afforded an opportunity to view the recording 

before it is shown in the courtroom. 
(e) At the taking of testimony under subsection (d): 
(1) Only an attorney for each party, interested party, the guardian ad litem for the child or other 

person whose presence would contribute to the welfare and well-being of the child and persons necessary 
to operate the recording or closed-circuit equipment may be present in the room with the child during the 
child's testimony; 

(2) only the attorneys for the parties may question the child; and 
(3) the persons operating the recording or closed-circuit equipment shall be confined to an adjacent 

room or behind a screen or mirror that permits such person to see and hear the child during the child's 
testimony, but does not permit the child to see or hear such person. 

(f) If the testimony of a child is taken as provided by subsection (d), the child shall not be compelled to 
testify in court during the proceeding. 

(g) (1) Any objection to a recording under subsection (d)(2) that such proceeding is inadmissible must 
be made by written motion filed with the court at least seven days before the commencement of the 
adjudicatory hearing. An objection under this subsection shall specify the portion of the recording which is 
objectionable and the reasons for the objection. Failure to file an objection within the time provided by 
this subsection shall constitute waiver of the right to object to the admissibility of the recording unless the 
court, in its discretion, determines otherwise. 

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any objection to admissibility for the reason that 
the recording has been materially altered. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 44; L. 2007, ch. 57, § 1; Apr. 5. 

38-2250: Degree of proof. The petitioner must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the child is a 
child in need of care. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 45; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2251: Adjudication. (a) If the court finds that the child is not a child in need of care, the court shall enter 
an order dismissing the proceedings. 

(b) If the court finds that the child is a child in need of care, the court shall enter an order adjudicating 
the child to be a child in need of care and may proceed to enter other orders as authorized by this code. 

(c) A finding that a child subject to this code is a child in need of care shall be entered without undue 
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(c) A finding that a child subject to this code is a child in need of care shall be entered without undue 
delay. If the child has been removed from the child's home, an order of adjudication shall be entered as 
soon as practicable but not more than 60 days from the date of removal unless an order of informal 
supervision or an order of continuance for good cause has been entered. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 46; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 11; July 1. 

38-2252: Predispositional alternative; placement with person other than child's parent; conference; 
recommendations; immunity. (a) Before placement pursuant to this code of a child with a person other 
than the child's parent, the secretary, the court or the court services officer, at the direction of the court, 
may convene a conference of persons determined by the court, the secretary or the court services officer 
to have a potential interest in determining a placement which is in the best interests of the child. Such 
persons shall be given any information relevant to the determination of the placement of the child, 
including the needs of the child and any other information that would be helpful in making a placement in 
the best interests of the child. After presentation of the information, such persons shall be permitted to 
discuss and recommend to the secretary or the court services officer the person or persons with whom it 
would be in the child's best interest to be placed. Unless the secretary or the court services officer 
determines that there is good cause to place the child with a person other than as recommended, the child 
shall be placed in accordance with the recommendations. 

(b) A person participating in a conference pursuant to this section shall have immunity from any civil 
liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed as a result of the person's participation. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 47; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2253: Dispositional hearing; purpose; time. (a) At a dispositional hearing, the court shall receive 
testimony and other relevant information with regard to the safety and well being of the child and may 
enter orders regarding: 

(1) Case planning which sets forth the responsibilities and timelines necessary to achieve permanency 
for the child; and 

(2) custody of the child. 
(b) An order of disposition may be entered at the time of the adjudication if notice has been provided 

pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2254, and amendments thereto, but shall be entered within 30 days 
following adjudication, unless delayed for good cause shown. 

(c) If the dispositional hearing meets the requirements of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2265, and amendments 
thereto, the dispositional hearing may serve as a permanency hearing. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 48; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2254: Same; notice. (a) Unless waived by the persons entitled to notice, the court shall require notice of 
the time and place of the dispositional hearing be given to the parties. 

(b) The court shall require notice and the right to be heard as to proposals for living arrangements for 
the child, the services to be provided the child and the child's family, and the proposed permanency goal 
for the child to the following: 

(1) The child's foster parent or parents or permanent custodian providing care for the child; 
(2) preadoptive parents for the child, if any; 
(3) the child's grandparents at their last known addresses or if no grandparent is living or if no living 

grandparent's address is known, to the closest relative of each of the child's parents whose address is 
known; 

(4) the person having custody of the child; and 
(5) upon request, by any person having close emotional ties with the child and who is deemed by the 

court to be essential to the deliberations before the court. 
(c) The notice required by this subsection shall be given by first class mail, not less than 10 business 

days before the hearing. 
(d) Individuals receiving notice pursuant to subsection (b) shall not be made a party or interested party 

to the action solely on the basis of this notice and the right to be heard. The right to be heard shall be at a 
time and in a manner determined by the court and does not confer an entitlement to appear in person at 
government expense. 
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government expense. 
(e) The provisions of this subsection shall not require additional notice to any person otherwise 

receiving notice of the hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2239, and amendments thereto. 
History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 49; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 12; July 1. 

38-2255: Authorized dispositions. (a) Considerations. Prior to entering an order of disposition, the court 
shall give consideration to: 

(1) The child's physical, mental and emotional condition; 
(2) the child's need for assistance; 
(3) the manner in which the parent participated in the abuse, neglect or abandonment of the child; 
(4) any relevant information from the intake and assessment process; and 
(5) the evidence received at the dispositional hearing. 
(b) Placement with a parent. The court may place the child in the custody of either of the child's 

parents subject to terms and conditions which the court prescribes to assure the proper care and 
protection of the child, including, but not limited to: 

(1) Supervision of the child and the parent by a court services officer; 
(2) participation by the child and the parent in available programs operated by an appropriate 

individual or agency; and 
(3) any special treatment or care which the child needs for the child's physical, mental or emotional 

health and safety. 
(c) Removal of a child from custody of a parent. The court shall not enter an order removing a child 

from the custody of a parent pursuant to this section unless the court first finds probable cause that: (1)(A) 
The child is likely to sustain harm if not immediately removed from the home; 

(B) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; or 
(C) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and 
(2) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary 

removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists which threatens the safety to the 
child. 

(d) Custody of a child removed from the custody of a parent. If the court has made the findings 
required by subsection (c), the court shall enter an order awarding custody to a relative of the child or to a 
person with whom the child has close emotional ties, to any other suitable person, to a shelter facility, to a 
youth residential facility or, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child 
has no identifiable parental or family resources or shows signs of physical, mental, emotional or sexual 
abuse, to the secretary. Custody awarded under this subsection shall continue until further order of the 
court. 

(1) When custody is awarded to the secretary, the secretary shall consider any placement 
recommendation by the court and notify the court of the placement or proposed placement of the child 
within 10 days of the order awarding custody. 

(A) After providing the parties or interested parties notice and opportunity to be heard, the court may 
determine whether the secretary's placement or proposed placement is contrary to the welfare or in the 
best interests of the child. In making that determination the court shall consider the health and safety 
needs of the child and the resources available to meet the needs of children in the custody of the 
secretary. If the court determines that the placement or proposed placement is contrary to the welfare or 
not in the best interests of the child, the court shall notify the secretary, who shall then make an 
alternative placement. 

(B) The secretary may propose and the court may order the child to be placed in the custody of a 
parent or parents if the secretary has provided and the court has approved an appropriate safety action 
plan which includes services to be provided. The court may order the parent or parents and the child to 
perform tasks as set out in the safety action plan. 

(2) The custodian designated under this subsection shall notify the court in writing at least 10 days 
prior to any planned placement with a parent. The written notice shall state the basis for the custodian's 
belief that placement with a parent is no longer contrary to the welfare or best interest of the child. Upon 
reviewing the notice, the court may allow the custodian to proceed with the planned placement or may set 
the date for a hearing to determine if the child shall be allowed to return home. If the court sets a hearing 
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the date for a hearing to determine if the child shall be allowed to return home. If the court sets a hearing 
on the matter, the custodian shall not return the child home without written consent of the court. 

(3) The court may grant any person reasonable rights to visit the child upon motion of the person and 
a finding that the visitation rights would be in the best interests of the child. 

(4) The court may enter an order restraining any alleged perpetrator of physical, mental or emotional 
abuse or sexual abuse of the child from residing in the child's home; visiting, contacting, harassing or 
intimidating the child, other family member or witness; or attempting to visit, contact, harass or intimidate 
the child, other family member or witness. Such restraining order shall be served by personal service 
pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, on any alleged 
perpetrator to whom the order is directed. 

(5) The court shall provide a copy of any orders entered within 10 days of entering the order to the 
custodian designated under this subsection. 

(e) Further determinations regarding a child removed from the home. If custody has been awarded 
under subsection (d) to a person other than a parent, a permanency plan shall be provided or prepared 
pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2264, and amendments thereto. If a permanency plan is provided at the 
dispositional hearing, the court may determine whether reintegration is a viable alternative or, if 
reintegration is not a viable alternative, whether the child should be placed for adoption or a permanent 
custodian appointed. In determining whether reintegration is a viable alternative, the court shall consider: 

(1) Whether a parent has been found by a court to have committed one of the following crimes or to 
have violated the law of another state prohibiting such crimes or to have aided and abetted, attempted, 
conspired or solicited the commission of one of these crimes: Murder in the first degree, K.S.A. 21-3401, 
and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree, K.S.A. 21-3402, and amendments thereto, capital 
murder, K.S.A. 21-3439, and amendments thereto, voluntary manslaughter, K.S.A. 21-3403, and 
amendments thereto, or a felony battery that resulted in bodily injury; 

(2) whether a parent has subjected the child or another child to aggravated circumstances; 
(3) whether a parent has previously been found to be an unfit parent in proceedings under this code 

or in comparable proceedings under the laws of another state or the federal government; 
(4) whether the child has been in extended out of home placement; 
(5) whether the parents have failed to work diligently toward reintegration; 
(6) whether the secretary has provided the family with services necessary for the safe return of the 

child to the home; and 
(7) whether it is reasonable to expect reintegration to occur within a time frame consistent with the 

child's developmental needs. 
(f) Proceedings if reintegration is not a viable alternative. If the court determines that reintegration is 

not a viable alternative, proceedings to terminate parental rights and permit placement of the child for 
adoption or appointment of a permanent custodian shall be initiated unless the court finds that compelling 
reasons have been documented in the case plan why adoption or appointment of a permanent custodian 
would not be in the best interests of the child. If compelling reasons have not been documented, the 
county or district attorney shall file a motion within 30 days to terminate parental rights or a motion to 
appoint a permanent custodian within 30 days and the court shall hold a hearing on the motion within 90 
days of its filing. No hearing is required when the parents voluntarily relinquish parental rights or consent 
to the appointment of a permanent custodian. 

(g) Additional Orders. In addition to or in lieu of any other order authorized by this section: 
(1) The court may order the child and the parents of any child who has been adjudicated a child in 

need of care to attend counseling sessions as the court directs. The expense of the counseling may be 
assessed as an expense in the case. No mental health provider shall charge a greater fee for court-ordered 
counseling than the provider would have charged to the person receiving counseling if the person had 
requested counseling on the person's own initiative. 

(2) If the court has reason to believe that a child is before the court due, in whole or in part, to the use 
or misuse of alcohol or a violation of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-36a17, and amendments 
thereto, by the child, a parent of the child, or another person responsible for the care of the child, the 
court may order the child, parent of the child or other person responsible for the care of the child to 
submit to and complete an alcohol and drug evaluation by a qualified person or agency and comply with 
any recommendations. If the evaluation is performed by a community-based alcohol and drug safety 
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any recommendations. If the evaluation is performed by a community-based alcohol and drug safety 
program certified pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1008, and amendments thereto, the child, parent of the child or 
other person responsible for the care of the child shall pay a fee not to exceed the fee established by that 
statute. If the court finds that the child and those legally liable for the child's support are indigent, the fee 
may be waived. In no event shall the fee be assessed against the secretary. 

(3) If child support has been requested and the parent or parents have a duty to support the child, the 
court may order one or both parents to pay child support and, when custody is awarded to the secretary, 
the court shall order one or both parents to pay child support. The court shall determine, for each parent 
separately, whether the parent is already subject to an order to pay support for the child. If the parent is 
not presently ordered to pay support for any child who is subject to the jurisdiction of the court and the 
court has personal jurisdiction over the parent, the court shall order the parent to pay child support in an 
amount determined under K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2277, and amendments thereto. Except for good cause 
shown, the court shall issue an immediate income withholding order pursuant to K.S.A. 23-4,105 et seq., 
and amendments thereto, for each parent ordered to pay support under this subsection, regardless of 
whether a payor has been identified for the parent. A parent ordered to pay child support under this 
subsection shall be notified, at the hearing or otherwise, that the child support order may be registered 
pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2279, and amendments thereto. The parent shall also be informed that, 
after registration, the income withholding order may be served on the parent's employer without further 
notice to the parent and the child support order may be enforced by any method allowed by law. Failure to 
provide this notice shall not affect the validity of the child support order. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 50; L. 2009, ch. 99, § 6; L. 2009, ch. 143, § 16; July 1. 

38-2256: Rehearing. After the entry of any dispositional order, the court may rehear the matter on its own 
motion or the motion of a party or interested party. Upon notice, pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2254, 
and amendments thereto, and after the rehearing, the court may enter any dispositional order authorized 
by this code, except that a child support order which has been registered under K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2279, 
and amendments thereto, may only be modified pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2279, and amendments 
thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 51; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2257: Permanency planning at disposition. If a child is placed outside the child's home at the 
dispositional hearing and no permanency plan is made a part of the record of the hearing, a written 
permanency plan shall be prepared pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2263, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 52; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2258: Change of placement; removal from home of parent, findings by court. (a) Except as provided in 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2255(d)(2) and 38-2259, and amendments thereto, if a child has been in the same 
foster home or shelter facility for six months or longer, or has been placed by the secretary in the home of 
a parent or relative, the secretary shall give written notice of any plan to move the child to a different 
placement unless the move is to the selected preadoptive family for the purpose of facilitating adoption. 
The notice shall be given to: (1) The court having jurisdiction over the child; (2) each parent whose address 
is available; (3) the foster parent or custodian from whose home or shelter facility it is proposed to remove 
the child; (4) the child, if 12 or more years of age; and (5) the child's guardian ad litem. 

(b) The notice shall state the placement to which the secretary plans to transfer the child and the 
reason for the proposed action. The notice shall be mailed by first class mail 30 days in advance of the 
planned transfer, except that the secretary shall not be required to wait 30 days to transfer the child if all 
persons enumerated in subsection (a) (2) through (5) consent in writing to the transfer. 

(c) Within 10 days after receipt of the notice, any person receiving notice as provided above may 
request, either orally or in writing, that the court conduct a hearing to determine whether or not the 
change in placement is in the best interests of the child concerned. When the request has been received, 
the court shall schedule a hearing and immediately notify the secretary of the request and the time and 
date the matter will be heard. The court shall give notice of the hearing to persons enumerated in 
subsection (a) (2) through (5). The secretary shall not change the placement of the child, except for the 
purpose of adoption, unless the change is approved by the court. 
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purpose of adoption, unless the change is approved by the court. 
(d) When, after the notice set out above, a child in the custody of the secretary is removed from the 

home of a parent after having been placed in the home of a parent for a period of six months or longer, the 
secretary shall request a finding that: (1)(A) The child is likely to sustain harm if not immediately removed 
from the home; 

(B) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; or 
(C) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and 
(2) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary 

removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists which threatens the safety to the 
child. 

(e) The secretary shall present to the court in writing the efforts to maintain the family unit and 
prevent the unnecessary removal of the child from the child's home. In making the findings, the court may 
rely on documentation submitted by the secretary or may set the date for a hearing on the matter. If the 
secretary requests such finding, the court, not more than 45 days from the date of the request, shall 
provide the secretary with a written copy of the findings by the court for the purpose of documenting 
these orders. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 53; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 13; July 1. 

38-2259: Emergency change of placement; removal from home of parent, findings of court. (a) When an 
emergency exists requiring immediate action to assure the safety and protection of the child or the 
secretary is notified that the foster parents or shelter facility refuse to allow the child to remain, the 
secretary may transfer the child to another foster home or shelter facility without prior court approval. The 
secretary shall notify the court of the action at the earliest practical time. When the child is removed from 
the home of a parent after having been placed in the home for a period of six months or longer, the 
secretary shall present to the court in writing the specific nature of the emergency and reasons why it is 
contrary to the welfare of the child to remain in the placement and request a finding by the court whether 
remaining in the home is contrary to the welfare of the child. If the court enters an order the court shall 
make a finding as to whether an emergency exists. The court shall provide the secretary with a copy of the 
order. In making the finding, the court may rely on documentation submitted by the secretary or may set 
the date for a hearing on the matter. If the secretary requests such a finding, the court shall provide the 
secretary with a written copy of the finding by the court not more than 45 days from the date of the 
request. 

(b) The court shall not enter an order approving the removal of a child from the home of a parent 
pursuant to this section unless the court first finds probable cause that: (1)(A) The child is likely to sustain 
harm if not immediately removed from the home; 

(B) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; or 
(C) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and 
(2) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary 

removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists which threatens the safety to the 
child. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 54; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 14; July 1. 

•

38-2260: Placement; order directing child to remain in present or future placement, application for 
determination that child has violated order; procedure; authorized dispositions; limitations on facilities 
used for placement; computation of time limitations. (a) Valid court order. During proceedings under this 
code, the court may enter an order directing a child who is the subject of the proceedings to remain in a 
present or future placement if: 

(1) The child and the child's guardian ad litem are present in court when the order is entered; 
(2) the court finds that the child has been adjudicated a child in need of care pursuant to subsections 

(d)(6), (d)(7), (d)(8), (d)(9), (d)(10) or (d)(12) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, and 
that the child is not likely to be available within the jurisdiction of the court for future proceedings; 

(3) the child and the guardian ad litem receive oral and written notice of the consequences of violation 
of the order; and 

(4) a copy of the written notice is filed in the official case file. 

•
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(4) a copy of the written notice is filed in the official case file. 
(b) Application. Any person may file a verified application for determination that a child has violated 

an order entered pursuant to subsection (a) and for an order authorizing holding the child in a secure 
facility or juvenile detention facility. The application shall state the applicant's belief that the child has 
violated the order entered pursuant to subsection (a) without good cause and the specific facts supporting 
the allegation. 

(c) Ex parte order. After reviewing the application filed pursuant to subsection (b), the court may enter 
an ex parte order directing that the child be taken into custody and held in a secure facility or juvenile 
detention facility designated by the court, if the court finds probable cause that the child violated the 
court's order to remain in placement without good cause. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2237, and 
amendments thereto, the order shall be served on the child's parents, the child's legal custodian and the 
child's guardian ad litem. 

(d) Preliminary hearing. Within 24 hours following a child's being taken into custody pursuant to an 
order issued under subsection (c), the court shall hold a preliminary hearing to determine whether the 
child admits or denies the allegations of the application and, if the child denies the allegations, to 
determine whether probable cause exists to support the allegations. 

(1) Notice of the time and place of the preliminary hearing shall be given orally or in writing to the 
child's parents, the child's legal custodian and the child's guardian ad litem. 

(2) At the hearing, the child shall have the right to a guardian ad litem and shall be served with a copy 
of the application. 

(3) If the child admits the allegations or enters a no contest statement and if the court finds that the 
admission or no contest statement is knowledgeable and voluntary, the court shall proceed without delay 
to the placement hearing pursuant to subsection (f). 

(4) If the child denies the allegations, the court shall determine whether probable cause exists to hold 
the child in a secure facility or juvenile detention facility pending an evidentiary hearing pursuant to 
subsection (e). After hearing the evidence, if the court finds that: (A) There is probable cause to believe 
that the child has violated an order entered pursuant to subsection (a) without good cause; and (B) 
placement in a secure facility or juvenile detention facility is necessary for the protection of the child or to 
assure the presence of the child at the evidentiary hearing pursuant to subsection (e), the court may order 
the child held in a secure facility or juvenile detention facility pending the evidentiary hearing. 

(e) Evidentiary hearing. The court shall hold an evidentiary hearing on an application within 72 hours 
of the child's being taken into custody. Notice of the time and place of the hearing shall be given orally or 
in writing to the child's parents, the child's legal custodian and the child's guardian ad litem. At the 
evidentiary hearing, the court shall determine by a clear and convincing evidence whether the child has: 

(1) Violated a court order entered pursuant to subsection (a) without good cause; 
(2) been provided at the hearing with the rights enumerated in subsection (d)(2); and 
(3) been informed of: 
(A) The nature and consequences of the proceeding; 
(B) the right to confront and cross-examine witnesses and present evidence; 
(C) the right to have a transcript or recording of the proceedings; and 
(D) the right to appeal. 
(f) Placement. (1) If the child admits violating the order entered pursuant to subsection (a) or if, after 

an evidentiary hearing, the court finds that the child has violated such an order, the court shall 
immediately proceed to a placement hearing. The court may enter an order awarding custody of the child 
to: 

(A) A parent or other legal custodian; 
(B) a person other than a parent or other person having custody, who shall not be required to be 

licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto; 
(C) a youth residential facility; or 
(D) the secretary, if the secretary does not already have legal custody of the child. 
(2) The court may authorize the custodian to place the child in a secure facility or juvenile detention 

facility, if the court determines that all other placement options have been exhausted or are inappropriate, 
based upon a written report submitted by the secretary, if the child is in the secretary's custody, or 
submitted by a public agency independent of the court and law enforcement, if the child is in the custody 

   KS Page 43    



submitted by a public agency independent of the court and law enforcement, if the child is in the custody 
of someone other than the secretary. The report shall detail the behavior of the child and the 
circumstances under which the child was brought before the court and made subject to the order entered 
pursuant to subsection (a). 

(3) The authorization to place the child in a secure facility or juvenile detention facility pursuant to this 
subsection shall expire 60 days, inclusive of weekend and legal holidays, after its issue. The court may grant 
extensions of such authorization for two additional periods, each not to exceed 60 days, upon rehearing 
pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2256, and amendments thereto. 

(g) Payment. The secretary shall only pay for placement and services for a child placed in a secure 
facility or juvenile detention facility pursuant to subsection (f) upon receipt of a valid court order 
authorizing secure care placement. 

(h) Limitations on facilities used. Nothing in this section shall authorize placement of a child in an adult 
jail or lockup. 

(i) Time limits, computation. Except as otherwise specifically provided by subsection (f), Saturdays, 
Sundays and legal holidays shall not be counted in computing any time limit imposed by this section. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 55; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 15; July 1. 

38-2261: Reports made by foster parents. The secretary shall notify the foster parent or parents that the 
foster parent or parents have a right to submit a report. Copies of the report shall be available to the 
parties and interested parties. The report made by foster parents shall be on a form created and provided 
by the department of social and rehabilitation services. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 56; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2262: Placement; testimony of certain children. At any hearing under the code, the court, if requested 
by the child, shall hear the testimony of the child as to the desires of the child concerning the child's 
placement, if the child is 10 years of age and of sound intellect. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 57; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2263: Permanency planning. (a) The goal of permanency planning is to assure, in so far as is possible, 
that children have permanency and stability in their living situations and that the continuity of family 
relationships and connections is preserved. In planning for permanency, the safety and well being of 
children shall be paramount. 

(b) Whenever a child is subject to the jurisdiction of the court pursuant to the code, an initial 
permanency plan shall be developed for the child and submitted to the court within 30 days of the initial 
order of the court. If the child is in the custody of the secretary, or the secretary is providing services to the 
child, the secretary shall prepare the plan. Otherwise, the plan shall be prepared by the person who has 
custody or, if directed by the court, by a court services officer. 

(c) A permanency plan is a written document prepared, where possible, in consultation with the child's 
parents and which: 

(1) Describes the permanency goal which, if achieved, will most likely give the child a permanent and 
safe living arrangement; 

(2) describes the child's level of physical health, mental and emotional health, and educational 
functioning; 

(3) provides an assessment of the needs of the child and family; 
(4) describes the services to be provided the child, the child's parents and the child's foster parents, if 

appropriate; 
(5) includes a description of the tasks and responsibilities designed to achieve the plan and to whom 

assigned; and 
(6) includes measurable objectives and time schedules for achieving the plan. 
(d) In addition to the requirements of subsection (c), if the child is in an out of home placement, the 

permanency plan shall include: 
(1) A plan for reintegration of the child's parent or parents or if reintegration is determined not to be a 

viable alternative, a statement for the basis of that conclusion and a plan for another permanent living 
arrangement; 

•

   KS Page 44    



arrangement; 
(2) a description of the available placement alternatives; 
(3) a justification for the placement selected, including a description of the safety and appropriateness 

of the placement; and 
(4) a description of the programs and services which will help the child prepare to live independently 

as an adult. 
(e) If there is a lack of agreement among persons necessary for the success of the permanency plan, 

the person or entity having custody of the child shall notify the court which shall set a hearing on the plan. 
(f) A permanency plan may be amended at any time upon agreement of the plan participants. If a 

permanency plan requires amendment which changes the permanency goal, the person or entity having 
custody of the child shall notify the court which shall set a permanency hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2264 and 38-2265, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 58; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2264: Permanency hearing; purpose; procedure; time for hearing. (a) A permanency hearing is a 
proceeding conducted by the court or by a citizen review board for the purpose of determining progress 
toward accomplishment of a permanency plan as established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2263, and 
amendments thereto. 

(b) The court or a citizen review board shall hear and the court shall determine whether and, if 
applicable, when the child will be: 

(1) Reintegrated with the child's parents; 
(2) placed for adoption; 
(3) placed with a permanent custodian; or 
(4) if the secretary has documented compelling reasons why it would not be in the child's best 

interests for a placement in one of the placements pursuant to paragraphs (1), (2) or (3) placed in another 
planned permanent arrangement. 

(c) The court shall enter a finding as to whether the person or entity having custody of the child has 
made reasonable efforts to accomplish the permanency plan in place at the time of the hearing. 

(d) A permanency hearing shall be held within 12 months of the date the court authorized the child's 
removal from the home and not less frequently than every 12 months thereafter. 

(e) If the court determines at any time other than during a permanency hearing that reintegration may 
not be a viable alternative for the child, a permanency hearing shall be held no later than 30 days following 
that determination. 

(f) When the court finds that reintegration continues to be a viable alternative, the court shall 
determine whether and, if applicable, when the child will be returned to the parent. The court may rescind 
any of its prior dispositional orders and enter any dispositional order authorized by this code or may order 
that a new plan for the reintegration be prepared and submitted to the court. If reintegration cannot be 
accomplished as approved by the court, the court shall be informed and shall schedule a hearing pursuant 
to this section. No such hearing is required when the parents voluntarily relinquish parental rights or 
consent to appointment of a permanent custodian. 

(g) If the court finds reintegration is no longer a viable alternative, the court shall consider whether: (1) 
The child is in a stable placement with a relative; (2) services set out in the case plan necessary for the safe 
return of the child have been made available to the parent with whom reintegration is planned; or (3) 
compelling reasons are documented in the case plan to support a finding that neither adoption nor 
appointment of a permanent custodian are in the child's best interest. If reintegration is not a viable 
alternative and either adoption or appointment of a permanent custodian might be in the best interests of 
the child, the county or district attorney or the county or district attorney's designee shall file a motion to 
terminate parental rights or a motion to appoint a permanent custodian within 30 days and the court shall 
set a hearing on such motion within 90 days of the filing of such motion. 

(h) If the court enters an order terminating parental rights to a child, or an agency has accepted a 
relinquishment pursuant to K.S.A. 59-2124, and amendments thereto, the requirements for permanency 
hearings shall continue until an adoption or appointment of a permanent custodian has been 
accomplished. If the court determines that reasonable efforts or progress have not been made toward 
finding an adoptive placement or appointment of a permanent custodian or placement with a fit and 
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finding an adoptive placement or appointment of a permanent custodian or placement with a fit and 
willing relative, the court may rescind its prior orders and make others regarding custody and adoption 
that are appropriate under the circumstances. Reports of a proposed adoptive placement need not contain 
the identity of the proposed adoptive parents. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 59; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 16; July 1. 

38-2265: Same; notice. (a) The court shall require notice of the time and place of the permanency hearing 
be given to the parties and interested parties. The notice shall state that the person receiving the notice 
shall have the right to be heard at the hearing. 

(b) The court shall require notice and the right to be heard to the following: 
(1) The child's foster parent or parents or permanent custodian providing care for the child; 
(2) preadoptive parents for the child, if any; 
(3) the child's grandparents at their last known addresses or, if no grandparent is living or if no living 

grandparent's address is known, to the closest relative of each of the child's parents whose address is 
known; 

(4) the person having custody of the child; and 
(5) upon request, by any person having close emotional ties with the child and who is deemed by the 

court to be essential to the deliberations before the court. 
(c) The notices required by this subsection shall be given by first class mail, not less than 10 business 

days before the hearing. 
(d) Individuals receiving notice pursuant to subsection (b) shall not be made a party or interested party 

to the action solely on the basis of this notice and the right to be heard. The right to be heard shall be at a 
time and in a manner determined by the court and does not confer an entitlement to appear in person at 
government expense. 

(e) The provisions of this section shall not require additional notice to any person otherwise receiving 
notice of the hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2239, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 60; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 17; July 1. 

•

38-2266: Request for termination of parental rights or appointment of permanent custodian. (a) Either in 
the original petition filed under this code or in a motion made in an existing proceeding under this code, 
any party or interested party may request that either or both parents be found unfit and the parental 
rights of either or both parents be terminated or a permanent custodian be appointed. 

(b) Whenever a pleading is filed requesting termination of parental rights or appointment of a 
permanent custodian, the pleading shall contain a statement of specific facts which are relied upon to 
support the request, including dates, times and locations to the extent known. 

(c) In any case in which a parent of a child cannot be located by the exercise of due diligence, service 
by publication notice shall be ordered upon the parent. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 61; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2267: Procedure upon receipt of request. (a) Upon receiving a petition or motion requesting 
termination of parental rights or appointment of permanent custodian, the court shall set the time and 
place for the hearing, which shall be held within 90 days. A continuance shall be granted only if the court 
finds it is in the best interests of the child. Upon motion of a party, the chief judge shall reassign a petition 
or motion requesting termination of parental rights from a district magistrate judge to a district judge 
pursuant to subsection (e) of K.S.A. 20-302b, and amendments thereto. 

(b) (1) The court shall give notice of the hearing: (A) To the parties and interested parties, as provided 
in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2236 and 38-2237, and amendments thereto; (B) to all the child's grandparents at 
their last known addresses or, if no grandparent is living or if no living grandparent's address is known, to 
the closest relative of each of the child's parents whose address is known; (C) in any case in which a parent 
of a child cannot be located by the exercise of due diligence, to the parents nearest relative who can be 
located, if any; and (D) to the foster parents, preadoptive parents or relatives providing care. 

(2) This notice shall be given by return receipt delivery not less than 10 business days before the 
hearing. Individuals receiving notice pursuant to this subsection shall not be made a party or interested 
party to the action solely on the basis of this notice. 
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party to the action solely on the basis of this notice. 
(3) The provisions of this subsection shall not require additional service to any party or interested 

party who could not be located by the exercise of due diligence in the initial notice of the filing of a petition 
for a child in need of care. 

(c) At the beginning of the hearing the court shall determine that due diligence has been used in 
determining the identity and location of the persons listed in subsection (b) and in accomplishing service of 
process. 

(d) Prior to a hearing on a petition, a motion requesting termination of parental rights or a motion for 
appointment of a permanent custodian, the court shall appoint an attorney to represent any parent who 
fails to appear and may award a reasonable fee to the attorney for services. The fee may be assessed as an 
expense in the proceedings. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 62; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2268: Voluntary relinquishment; voluntary permanent custodianship; consent to adoption. (a) Prior to a 
hearing to consider the termination of parental rights, if the child's permanency plan is either adoption or 
appointment of a custodian, with the consent of the guardian ad litem and the secretary, either or both 
parents may relinquish parental rights to the child, consent to an adoption or consent to appointment of a 
permanent custodian. 

(b) Relinquishment of child to secretary. (1) Any parent or parents may relinquish a child to the 
secretary, and if the secretary accepts the relinquishment in writing, the secretary shall stand in loco 
parentis to the child and shall have and possess over the child all rights of a parent, including the power to 
place the child for adoption and give consent thereto. 

(2) All relinquishments to the secretary shall be in writing, in substantial conformity with the form for 
relinquishment contained in the appendix of forms following K.S.A. 59-2143, and amendments thereto, 
and shall be executed by either parent of the child. 

(3) The relinquishment shall be in writing and shall be acknowledged before a judge of a court of 
record or before an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments. If the relinquishment is 
acknowledged before a judge of a court of record, it shall be the duty of the court to advise the 
relinquishing parent of the consequences of the relinquishment. 

(4) Except as otherwise provided, in all cases where a parent has relinquished a child to the agency 
pursuant to K.S.A. 59-2111 through 59-2143, and amendments thereto, all the rights of the parent shall be 
terminated, including the right to receive notice in a subsequent adoption proceeding involving the child. 
Upon such relinquishment, all the rights of the parents to such child, including such parent's right to inherit 
from or through such child, shall cease. 

(5) If a parent has relinquished a child to the secretary based on a belief that the child's other parent 
would relinquish the child to the secretary or would be found unfit, and this does not occur, the rights of 
the parent who has relinquished a child to the secretary shall not be terminated. 

(6) A parent's relinquishment of a child shall not terminate the right of the child to inherit from or 
through the parent. 

(c) Permanent custody. (1) A parent may consent to appointment of the secretary or an individual as 
permanent custodian and if the secretary or individual accepts the consent, the secretary or individual 
shall stand in loco parentis to the child and shall have and possess over the child all the rights of a legal 
guardian. When the consent is to the secretary, the secretary shall have the right to place the child in the 
permanent custody of an individual who is appointed permanent custodian. 

(2) All consents to appointment of a permanent custodian shall be in writing and shall be executed by 
either parent of the child. 

(3) The consent shall be in writing and shall be acknowledged before a judge of a court of record or 
before an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments. If the consent is acknowledged before a 
judge of a court of record, it shall be the duty of the court to advise the consenting parent of the 
consequences of the consent. 

(4) If a parent has consented to appointment of a permanent custodian based upon a belief that the 
child's other parent would so consent or would be found unfit, and this does not occur, the consent shall 
be null and void. 

(d) Adoption. If the parental rights of one parent have been terminated or that parent has relinquished 
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(d) Adoption. If the parental rights of one parent have been terminated or that parent has relinquished 
parental rights to the secretary, the other parent may consent to the adoption of the child by persons 
approved by the secretary or approved by the court. The consent shall follow the form contained in the 
appendix of forms following K.S.A. 59-2143, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 63; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 18; July 1. 

38-2269: Factors to be considered in termination of parental rights; appointment of permanent custodian. 
(a) When the child has been adjudicated to be a child in need of care, the court may terminate parental 
rights or appoint a permanent custodian when the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the 
parent is unfit by reason of conduct or condition which renders the parent unable to care properly for a 
child and the conduct or condition is unlikely to change in the foreseeable future. 

(b) In making a determination of unfitness the court shall consider, but is not limited to, the following, 
if applicable: 

(1) Emotional illness, mental illness, mental deficiency or physical disability of the parent, of such 
duration or nature as to render the parent unable to care for the ongoing physical, mental and emotional 
needs of the child; 

(2) conduct toward a child of a physically, emotionally or sexually cruel or abusive nature; 
(3) the use of intoxicating liquors or narcotic or dangerous drugs of such duration or nature as to 

render the parent unable to care for the ongoing physical, mental or emotional needs of the child; 
(4) physical, mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse of a child; 
(5) conviction of a felony and imprisonment; 
(6) unexplained injury or death of another child or stepchild of the parent or any child in the care of 

the parent at the time of injury or death; 
(7) failure of reasonable efforts made by appropriate public or private agencies to rehabilitate the 

family; 
(8) lack of effort on the part of the parent to adjust the parent's circumstances, conduct or conditions 

to meet the needs of the child; and 
(9) whether the child has been in extended out of home placement as a result of actions or inactions 

attributable to the parent and one or more of the factors listed in subsection (c) apply. 
(c) In addition to the foregoing, when a child is not in the physical custody of a parent, the court, shall 

consider, but is not limited to, the following: 
(1) Failure to assure care of the child in the parental home when able to do so; 
(2) failure to maintain regular visitation, contact or communication with the child or with the 

custodian of the child; 
(3) failure to carry out a reasonable plan approved by the court directed toward the integration of the 

child into a parental home; and 
(4) failure to pay a reasonable portion of the cost of substitute physical care and maintenance based 

on ability to pay. 
In making the above determination, the court may disregard incidental visitations, contacts, 

communications or contributions. 
(d) A finding of unfitness may be made as provided in this section if the court finds that the parents 

have abandoned the child, the custody of the child was surrendered pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2282, and amendments thereto, or the child was left under such circumstances that the identity of the 
parents is unknown and cannot be ascertained, despite diligent searching, and the parents have not come 
forward to claim the child within three months after the child is found. 

(e) If a person is convicted of a felony in which sexual intercourse occurred, or if a juvenile is 
adjudicated a juvenile offender because of an act which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony in 
which sexual intercourse occurred, and as a result of the sexual intercourse, a child is conceived, a finding 
of unfitness may be made. 

(f) The existence of any one of the above factors standing alone may, but does not necessarily, 
establish grounds for termination of parental rights. 

(g) (1) If the court makes a finding of unfitness, the court shall consider whether termination of 
parental rights as requested in the petition or motion is in the best interests of the child. In making the 
determination, the court shall give primary consideration to the physical, mental and emotional health of 
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determination, the court shall give primary consideration to the physical, mental and emotional health of 
the child. If the physical, mental or emotional needs of the child would best be served by termination of 
parental rights, the court shall so order. A termination of parental rights under the code shall not terminate 
the right of a child to inherit from or through a parent. Upon such termination all rights of the parent to 
such child, including, such parent's right to inherit from or through such child, shall cease. 

(2) If the court terminates parental rights, the court may authorize adoption pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2270, and amendments thereto, appointment of a permanent custodian pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 
Supp. 38-2272, and amendments thereto, or continued permanency planning. 

(3) If the court does not terminate parental rights, the court may authorize appointment of a 
permanent custodian pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2272, and amendments thereto, or continued 
permanency planning. 

(h) If a parent is convicted of an offense as provided in subsection (a)(7) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2271, 
and amendments thereto, or is adjudicated a juvenile offender because of an act which if committed by an 
adult would be an offense as provided in subsection (a)(7) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2271, and amendments 
thereto, and if the victim was the other parent of a child, the court may disregard such convicted or 
adjudicated parent's opinions or wishes in regard to the placement of such child. 

(i) A record shall be made of the proceedings. 
(j) When adoption, proceedings to appoint a permanent custodian or continued permanency planning 

has been authorized, the person or agency awarded custody of the child shall within 30 days submit a 
written plan for permanent placement which shall include measurable objectives and time schedules. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 64; L. 2008, ch. 169, § 19; July 1. 

38-2270: Custody for adoption. (a) When parental rights have been terminated and it appears that 
adoption is a viable alternative, the court shall enter one of the following orders: 

(1) An order granting custody of the child, for adoption proceedings, to the secretary or a corporation 
organized under the laws of the state of Kansas authorized to care for and surrender children for adoption 
as provided in K.S.A. 38-112 et seq., and amendments thereto. The person, secretary or corporation shall 
have authority to place the child in a family home, and give consent for the legal adoption of the child 
which shall be the only consent required to authorize the entry of an order or decree of adoption. 

(2) An order granting custody of the child to proposed adoptive parents and consenting to the 
adoption of the child by the proposed adoptive parents. 

(b) In making an order under subsection (a), the court shall give preference, to the extent that the 
court finds it is in the best interests of the child, first to granting such custody for adoption to a relative of 
the child and second to granting such custody to a person with whom the child has close emotional ties. 

(c) Discharge upon adoption. When an adoption decree has been filed with the court in the child in 
need of care case, the secretary's custody shall cease, the court's jurisdiction over the child shall cease and 
the court shall enter an order to that effect. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 65; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2271: Presumption of unfitness, when; burden of proof. (a) It is presumed in the manner provided in 
K.S.A. 60-414, and amendments thereto, that a parent is unfit by reason of conduct or condition which 
renders the parent unable to fully care for a child, if the state establishes, by clear and convincing 
evidence, that: 

(1) A parent has previously been found to be an unfit parent in proceedings under K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2266 et seq., and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another 
jurisdiction; 

(2) a parent has twice before been convicted of a crime specified in article 34, 35, or 36 of chapter 21 
of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or comparable offenses under the laws of 
another jurisdiction, or an attempt or attempts to commit such crimes and the victim was under the age of 
18 years; 

(3) on two or more prior occasions a child in the physical custody of the parent has been adjudicated a 
child in need of care as defined by subsection (d)(1),(d)(3), (d)(5) or (d)(11) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2202, 
and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction. 

(4) the parent has been convicted of causing the death of another child or stepchild of the parent; 
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(4) the parent has been convicted of causing the death of another child or stepchild of the parent; 
(5) the child has been in an out-of-home placement, under court order for a cumulative total period of 

one year or longer and the parent has substantially neglected or willfully refused to carry out a reasonable 
plan, approved by the court, directed toward reintegration of the child into the parental home; 

(6) (A) the child has been in an out-of-home placement, under court order for a cumulative total 
period of two years or longer; (B) the parent has failed to carry out a reasonable plan, approved by the 
court, directed toward reintegration of the child into the parental home; and (C) there is a substantial 
probability that the parent will not carry out such plan in the near future; 

(7) a parent has been convicted of capital murder, K.S.A. 21-3439, and amendments thereto, murder 
in the first degree, K.S.A. 21-3401, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree, K.S.A. 21-3402, 
and amendments thereto, or voluntary manslaughter, K.S.A. 21-3403, and amendments thereto, or 
comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction or, has been adjudicated a juvenile 
offender because of an act which if committed by an adult would be an offense as provided in this 
subsection, and the victim of such murder was the other parent of the child; 

(8) a parent abandoned or neglected the child after having knowledge of the child's birth or either 
parent has been granted immunity from prosecution for abandonment of the child under subsection (b) of 
K.S.A. 21-3604, and amendments thereto; or 

(9) a parent has made no reasonable efforts to support or communicate with the child after having 
knowledge of the child's birth; 

(10) a father, after having knowledge of the pregnancy, failed without reasonable cause to provide 
support for the mother during the six months prior to the child's birth; 

(11) a father abandoned the mother after having knowledge of the pregnancy; 
(12) a parent has been convicted of rape, K.S.A. 21-3502, and amendments thereto, or comparable 

proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction resulting in the conception of the child; or 
(13) a parent has failed or refused to assume the duties of a parent for two consecutive years next 

preceding the filing of the petition. In making this determination the court may disregard incidental 
visitations, contacts, communications or contributions. 

(b) The burden of proof is on the parent to rebut the presumption of unfitness by a preponderance of 
the evidence. In the absence of proof that the parent is presently fit and able to care for the child or that 
the parent will be fit and able to care for the child in the foreseeable future, the court shall terminate 
parental rights in proceedings pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2266 et seq., and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 66; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2272: Appointment of permanent custodian. (a) A permanent custodian may be appointed: 
(1) With the consent and agreement of the parents and approval by the court; 
(2) after a finding of unfitness pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2269, and amendments thereto; or 
(3) after termination of parental rights pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2270, and amendments 

thereto. 
(b) Upon the appointment of a permanent custodian, the secretary's custody of the child shall cease. 

The court's jurisdiction over the child shall continue unless the court enters an order terminating 
jurisdiction. 

(c) Subject to subsection (d), a permanent custodian shall stand in loco parentis and shall exercise all of 
the rights and responsibilities of a parent except the permanent custodian shall not: 

(1) Consent to an adoption of the child; and 
(2) be subject to court ordered child support or medical support. 
(d) When the court retains jurisdiction after appointment of a permanent custodian, the court, in its 

order, may impose limitations or conditions upon the rights and responsibilities of the permanent 
custodian including, but not limited to, the right to: 

(1) Determine contact with the biological parent; 
(2) consent to marriage; 
(3) consent to psychosurgery, removal of a bodily organ or amputation of a limb; 
(4) consent to sterilization; 
(5) consent to behavioral and medical experiments; 
(6) consent to withholding life-prolonging medical treatment; 
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(6) consent to withholding life-prolonging medical treatment; 
(7) consent to placement in a treatment facility; or 
(8) consent to placement in a psychiatric hospital or an institution for the developmentally disabled. 
(e) Absent a judicial finding of unfitness or court-ordered limitations pursuant to subsection (d), a 

permanent custodian may share parental responsibilities with a parent of the child as the permanent 
custodian determines is in the child's best interests. Sharing parental responsibilities does not relieve the 
permanent custodian of legal responsibility for the child. 

(f) Parental consent to appointment of a permanent custodian shall be on the record or executed by 
the parent of the child and acknowledged before a judge of a court of record. It shall be the duty of the 
court before which the consent is acknowledged to advise the consenting parent of the consequences of 
the consent, including the following: 

(1) Do you understand that your parental rights are not being terminated and you can be ordered to 
pay child support and medical support for your child 

(2) Do you understand that to get the rights you still have with your child, you must keep the court up 
to date about how to contact you? This means that the court needs to always have your current address 
and telephone number. 

(3) Do you understand that if your child is ever placed for adoption, the court will try to let you know 
by using the information you have given them? If your address and telephone number are not up to date, 
you might not know your child is placed for adoption. 

(4) Do you understand that if you want information about your child's health or education, you will 
have to keep the information you give the court about where you are up to date because the information 
will be sent to the latest address the court has 

(5) Do you understand that you may be able to have some contact with your child, but only if the 
permanent custodian decides it is in the child's best interests and if the court allows the contact 

(6) Do you understand that unless the court orders differently, the permanent custodian has the right 
to make the following decisions about your child: The amount and type of contact you have with the child; 
consent to your child's marriage; consent to medical treatment; consent to mental health treatment; 
consent to placement in a psychiatric hospital or an institution for the developmentally disabled; consent 
to behavioral and medical experiments; consent to sterilization and consent to withholding life-prolonging 
medical treatment 

(g) (1) A consent is final when executed, unless the parent whose consent is at issue, prior to issuance 
of the order appointing a permanent custodian, proves by clear and convincing evidence that the consent 
was not freely and voluntarily given. The burden of proving the consent was not freely and voluntarily 
given shall rest with that parent. 

(2) If a parent has consented to appointment of a permanent custodian based upon a belief that the 
child's other parent would so consent or would be found unfit, and this does not occur, the consent shall 
be null and void. 

(h) If a permanent custodian is appointed after a judicial finding of parental unfitness without a 
termination of parental rights, the parent shall retain only the following rights and responsibilities: 

(1) The obligation to pay child support and medical support; and 
(2) the right to inherit from the child. 
(3) The right to consent to adoption of the child. 

All other parental rights transfer to the permanent custodian. 
(i) If a permanent custodian is appointed after termination of parental rights, the parent retains no 

right or responsibilities to the child. 
(j) Prior to appointing a permanent custodian, the court shall receive and consider an assessment of 

any potential permanent custodian as provided in K.S.A. 59-2132, and amendments thereto. In making an 
order appointing a permanent custodian the court shall give preference, to the extent that the court finds 
it in the child's best interests, to first appointing a permanent custodian who is a relative of the child or 
second a person with whom the child has close emotional ties. 

(k) If permanent custodians are divorced, such custodian's marriage is annulled or the court orders 
separate maintenance, the court in that case has jurisdiction to make custody determinations between the 
permanent custodians. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 67; Jan. 1, 2007. 
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History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 67; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2273: Appeals; procedure; verification. (a) An appeal may be taken by any party or interested party 
from any order of temporary custody, adjudication, disposition, finding of unfitness or termination of 
parental rights. 

(b) An appeal from an order entered by a district magistrate judge shall be to a district judge. The 
appeal shall be heard on the basis of the record within 30 days from the date the notice of appeal is filed. If 
no record was made of the proceedings, the trial shall be de novo. 

(c) Procedure on appeal shall be governed by article 21 of chapter 60 of the Kansas Statutes 
Annotated, and amendments thereto. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, appeals under this section shall have 
priority over all other cases. 

(e) Every notice of appeal, docketing statement and brief shall be verified by the appellant if the 
appellant has been personally served at any time during the proceedings. Failure to have the required 
verification shall result in the dismissal of the appeal. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 68; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2274: Temporary orders pending appeal; status of orders appealed from. (a) Pending the determination 
of the appeal, any order appealed from shall continue in force unless modified by temporary orders as 
provided in subsection (b). 

(b) The court on appeal, pending a hearing, may modify the order appealed from and may make any 
temporary orders concerning the care and custody of the child that the court considers advisable. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 69; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2275: Fees and expenses. (a) When an appeal is taken pursuant to this code, fees if the guardian ad 
litem or of an attorney appointed to represent a parent shall be fixed by the district court. The fees, 
together with the costs of transcripts and records on appeal, shall be taxed as expenses on appeal. The 
court on appeal may assess the fees and expenses against a party or interested party or order that they be 
paid from the general fund of the county. 

(b) When the court orders the fees and expenses assessed against a party or interested party, such 
fees shall be paid from the county general fund, subject to reimbursement by the party or interested party 
against whom the fees were assessed. The county may enforce the order as a civil judgment, except the 
county shall not be required to pay the docket fee or fee for execution. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 70; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2276: Prohibiting detainment or placement of child in jail. No child under 18 years of age shall be 
detained or placed in any jail pursuant to the code. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 71; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2277: Determination of child support. (a) In determining the amount of a child support order under the 
code, the court shall apply the Kansas child support guidelines adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 20-165, and 
amendments thereto. 

(b) If the appropriate amount of support under the Kansas child support guidelines cannot be 
determined because any necessary fact is not proven by evidence or by stipulation of the appropriate 
parent, the court shall apply one or more of the following presumptions: 

(1) Both parents have only gross earned income equal to 40 hours per week at the federal minimum 
wage then in effect; 

(2) neither parent's income is subject to adjustment for any reason; 
(3) the number of children is as alleged in the petition; 
(4) the age of each child is as alleged in the petition or, if unknown, is between seven and 15 years; 
(5) no adjustment for child care, health or dental insurance or income tax exemption is appropriate; or 
(6) neither parent is entitled to any other credit or adjustment. 
(c) If the county or district attorney determines that: (1) A parent will contest the amount of support 

resulting from application of the guidelines; (2) the parent is or may be entitled to an adjustment pursuant 

•
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resulting from application of the guidelines; (2) the parent is or may be entitled to an adjustment pursuant 
to the guidelines; and (3) it is in the child's best interests to resolve the support issue promptly and with 
minimal hostility, the county or district attorney may enter into a stipulation with the parent as to the 
amount of child support for that parent. The amount of support may be based upon one or more of the 
presumptions in subsection (b). Except for good cause or as otherwise provided in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 
38-2279, and amendments thereto, a stipulation under this subsection shall be binding upon the court and 
all parties or interested parties. The criteria for application of this subsection shall be incorporated into the 
journal entry or judgment form. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 72; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2278: Journal entry for child support. When child support is ordered pursuant to the code, a separate 
journal entry or judgment form shall be made for each parent ordered to pay child support. The journal 
entry or judgment form shall be entitled: 
"In the matter of ____________________ and ____________________"

(obligee's name) (obligor's name) 
and shall contain no reference to the privileged official file or social file in the case except the facts 
necessary to establish personal jurisdiction over the parent, the name and date of birth of each child, and 
findings of fact and conclusions of law directly related to the child support obligation. If the court issues an 
income withholding order for the parent, it shall be captioned in the same manner. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 73; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2279: Withholding order for child support; filing; service. (a) A person entitled to receive child support 
under an order issued pursuant to the code may file with the clerk of the district court in the county in 
which the judgment was rendered the original child support order and the original income withholding 
order, if any. If the original child support or income withholding order is unavailable for any reason, a 
certified or authenticated copy of the order may be substituted. The clerk of the district court shall number 
the child support order as a case filed under chapter 60 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and 
amendments thereto, and enter the numbering of the case on the appearance docket of the case. 
Registration of a child support order under this section shall be without cost or docket fee. 

(b) If the number assigned to a case under the code appears in the caption of a document filed 
pursuant to this section, the clerk of the district court may obliterate that number and replace it with the 
new case number assigned pursuant to this section. 

(c) The filing of the child support order shall constitute registration under this section. Upon 
registration of the child support order, all matters related to that order, including, but not limited to, 
modification of the order, shall proceed under the new case number. Registration of a child support order 
under this section does not confer jurisdiction in the registration case for custody or visitation issues. 

(d) The person registering a child support order shall serve a copy of the registered child support order 
and income withholding order, if any, upon the party or interested parties by first-class mail. The person 
registering the child support order shall file, in the official file for each child affected, either a copy of the 
registered order showing the new case number or a statement that includes the caption, new case number 
and date of registration of the child support order. 

(e) If the secretary is entitled to receive payment under an order which may be registered under this 
section, the county or district attorney shall take the actions permitted or required in subsections (a) and 
(d) on behalf of the secretary, unless otherwise requested by the secretary. 

(f) A child support order registered pursuant to this section shall have the same force and effect as an 
original child support order entered under chapter 60 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments 
thereto, including, but not limited to: 

(1) The registered order shall become a lien on the real estate of the judgment debtor in the county 
from the date of registration; 

(2) execution or other action to enforce the registered order may be had from the date of registration; 
(3) the registered order may itself be registered pursuant to any law, including, but not limited to, the 

uniform interstate family support act, K.S.A. 23-9,101 et seq., and amendments thereto; 
(4) if any installment of support due under the registered order becomes a dormant judgment, it may 

•
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(4) if any installment of support due under the registered order becomes a dormant judgment, it may 
be revived pursuant to K.S.A. 60-2404, and amendments thereto; and 

(5) the court shall have continuing jurisdiction over the child support action and the parties thereto 
and subject matter and, except as otherwise provided in subsection (g), may modify any prior support 
order when a material change in circumstances is shown irrespective of the present domicile of the child or 
parents. The court may make a modification of child support retroactive to a date at least one month after 
the date that the motion to modify was filed with the court. 

(g) If a motion to modify the child support order is filed within three months after the date of 
registration pursuant to this section, if no motion to modify the order has previously been heard and if the 
moving party shows that the support order was based upon one or more of the presumptions provided in 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2277, and amendments thereto, or upon a stipulation pursuant to subsection (c) of 
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2277, and amendments thereto, the court shall apply the Kansas child support 
guidelines adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 20-165, and amendments thereto, without requiring a showing that 
a material change of circumstances has occurred, without regard to any previous presumption or 
stipulation used to determine the amount of the child support order and irrespective of the present 
domicile of the child or parents. Nothing in this subsection shall prevent or limit enforcement of the 
support order during the three months after the date of registration. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 74; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2280: Remedies supplemental not substitute. The remedies provided in this code with respect to child 
support are in addition to and not in substitution for any other remedy. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 75; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2281: Family services and community intervention fund; child in need of care, purpose of expenditure 
of moneys. There is hereby established in the state treasury the family services and community 
intervention fund which shall be administered by the secretary. The secretary may accept money from any 
source for the purposes for which money in the family services and community intervention fund may be 
expended. Moneys received shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of 
K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall 
deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the family services and community 
intervention fund. All moneys in the family services and community intervention fund shall be used for the 
purpose of assisting state, county or local governments or political subdivisions thereof or community 
agencies to provide services, intervention and support services to children alleged or adjudged to be a child 
in need of care, especially those youth at risk because of such child's own actions or behaviors and not due 
to abuse or neglect by a parent, guardian or other person responsible for such child's care. The purpose of 
the family services and community intervention fund shall be to enhance the ability of families and 
children to resolve problems within the family and community by the collaboration of governmental and 
local service providers that might otherwise result in a child becoming subject to the jurisdiction of the 
court. All expenditures from the family services and community intervention fund shall be made in 
accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant 
to vouchers approved by the secretary or by a person or persons designated by the secretary. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 76; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•

38-2282: Newborn infant protection act. (a) This section shall be known and may be cited as the newborn 
infant protection act. 

(b) A parent or other person having lawful custody of an infant which is 45 days old or younger and 
which has not suffered bodily harm may surrender physical custody of the infant to any employee who is 
on duty at a fire station, city or county health department or medical care facility as defined by K.S.A. 
65-425, and amendments thereto. Such employee shall take physical custody of an infant surrendered 
pursuant to this section. 

(c) As soon as possible after a person takes physical custody of an infant under this section, such 
person shall notify a local law enforcement agency that the person has taken physical custody of an infant 
pursuant to this section. Upon receipt of such notice a law enforcement officer from such law enforcement 
agency shall take custody of the infant as an abandoned child. The law enforcement agency shall deliver 

•
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agency shall take custody of the infant as an abandoned child. The law enforcement agency shall deliver 
the infant to a facility or person designated by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2232, and 
amendments thereto. 

(d) Any person, city or county or agency thereof or medical care facility taking physical custody of an 
infant surrendered pursuant to this section shall perform any act necessary to protect the physical health 
or safety of the infant, and shall be immune from liability for any injury to the infant that may result 
therefrom. 

(e) Upon request, all medical records of the infant shall be made available to the department of social 
and rehabilitation services and given to the person awarded custody of such infant. The medical facility 
providing such records shall be immune from liability for such records release. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 77; Jan. 1, 2007. 

38-2283: Application to existing cases. (a) In addition to all actions concerning a child in need of care 
commenced on or after January 1, 2007, this code also applies to proceedings commenced before January 
1, 2007, unless the court finds that application of a particular provision of the code would substantially 
interfere with the effective conduct of judicial proceedings or prejudice the rights of a party or an 
interested party, in which case the particular provision of this code does not apply and the previous code 
applies. 

(b) If a right is acquired, extinguished or barred upon the expiration of a prescribed period that has 
commenced to run under any other statute before January 1, 2007, that statute continues to apply to the 
right, even if it has been repealed or superceded. 

History: L. 2006, ch. 200, § 78; Jan. 1, 2007. 

•
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Rule 226 Kansas Rules of Professional Conduct

3.1 Advocate: Meritorious Claims and Contentions

A lawyer shall not bring or defend a proceeding, or assert or controvert an issue therein, unless there is a basis 
for doing so that is not frivolous, which includes a good faith argument for an extension, modification or reversal 
of existing law. A lawyer for the defendant in a criminal proceeding, or the respondent in a proceeding that could 
result in incarceration, may nevertheless so defend the proceeding as to require that every element of the case 
be established.

Kansas Rules of Professional Conduct 3.1 - 3.9
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Comment

[1] The advocate has a duty to use legal procedure for the fullest benefit of the client's cause, but also a duty not 
to abuse legal procedure. The law, both procedural and substantive, establishes the limits within which an 
advocate may proceed. However, the law is not always clear and never is static. Accordingly, in determining the 
proper scope of advocacy, account must be taken of the law's ambiguities and potential for change.
[2] The filing of an action or defense or similar action taken for a client is not frivolous merely because the facts 
have not first been fully substantiated or because the lawyer expects to develop vital evidence only by discovery. 
What is required of lawyers, however, is that they inform themselves about the facts of their clients' cases and 
the applicable law and determine that they can make good faith arguments in support of their clients' positions. 
Such action is not frivolous even though the lawyer believes that the client's position ultimately will not prevail. 
The action is frivolous, however, if the client desires to have the action taken primarily for the purpose of 
harassing or maliciously injuring a person or if the lawyer is unable either to make a good faith argument on the 
merits of the action taken or to support the action taken by a good faith argument for an extension, modification 
or reversal of existing law.

3.2 Advocate: Expediting Litigation

A lawyer shall make reasonable efforts to expedite litigation consistent with the interests of the client.

Comment

[1] Dilatory practices bring the administration of justice into disrepute. Delay should not be indulged merely for 
the convenience of the advocates, or for the purpose of frustrating an opposing party's attempt to obtain rightful 
redress or repose. It is not a justification that similar conduct is often tolerated by the bench and bar. The 
question is whether a competent lawyer acting in good faith would regard the course of action as having some 
substantial purpose other than delay. Realizing financial or other benefit from otherwise improper delay in 
litigation is not a legitimate interest of the client.

3.3 Advocate: Candor Toward the Tribunal

(1) make a false statement of fact or law to a tribunal or fail to correct a false statement of material fact or 
law previously made to the tribunal by the lawyer;
(2) fail to disclose to the tribunal legal authority in the controlling jurisdiction known to the lawyer to be 
directly adverse to the position of the client and not disclosed by opposing counsel; or
(3) offer evidence that the lawyer knows to be false. If a lawyer, the lawyer's client, or a witness called by 
the lawyer has offered material evidence and the lawyer comes to know of its falsity, the lawyer shall take 
reasonable remedial measures, including, if necessary, disclosure to the tribunal. A lawyer may refuse to 
offer evidence, other than the testimony of a defendant in a criminal matter, that the lawyer reasonably 
believes is false.

(a) A lawyer shall not knowingly:

(b) A lawyer who represents a client in an adjudicative proceeding and who knows that a person intends to 
engage, is engaging or has engaged in criminal or fraudulent conduct related to the proceeding shall take 
reasonable remedial measures, including, if necessary, disclosure to the tribunal.
(c) The duties stated in paragraphs (a) and (b) continue to the conclusion of the proceeding and apply even if 
compliance requires disclosure of information otherwise protected by Rule 1.6.
(d) In an ex parte proceeding, a lawyer shall inform the tribunal of all material facts known to the lawyer which 
will enable the tribunal to make an informed decision, whether or not the facts are adverse.

Comment
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Comment

[1] This Rule governs the conduct of a lawyer who is representing a client in the proceedings of a tribunal. See 
Rule 1.0(n) for the definition of "tribunal." It also applies when the lawyer is representing a client in an ancillary 
proceeding conducted pursuant to the tribunal's adjudicative authority, such as a deposition. Thus, for example, 
paragraph (a)(3) requires a lawyer to take reasonable remedial measures if the lawyer comes to know that a 
client who is testifying in a deposition has offered evidence that is false.
[2] This Rule sets forth the special duties of lawyers as officers of the court to avoid conduct that undermines the 
integrity of the adjudicative process. A lawyer acting as an advocate in an adjudicative proceeding has an 
obligation to present the client's case with persuasive force. Performance of that duty while maintaining 
confidences of the client, however, is qualified by the advocate's duty of candor to the tribunal. Consequently, 
although a lawyer in an adversary proceeding is not required to present an impartial exposition of the law or to 
vouch for the evidence submitted in a cause the lawyer must not allow the tribunal to be misled by false 
statements of law or fact or evidence that the lawyer knows to be false.
Representations by a Lawyer
[3] An advocate is responsible for pleadings and other documents prepared for litigation, but is usually not 
required to have personal knowledge of matters asserted therein for litigation documents ordinarily present 
assertions by the client, or by someone on the client's behalf, and not assertions by the lawyer. Compare Rule 
3.1. However, an assertion purporting to be on the lawyer's own knowledge, as in an affidavit by the lawyer or in 
a statement in open court, may properly be made only when the lawyer knows the assertion is true or believes it 
to be true on the basis of a reasonably diligent inquiry. There are circumstances where failure to make a 
disclosure is the equivalent of an affirmative misrepresentation. The obligation prescribed in Rule 1.2(d) not to 
counsel a client to commit or assist the client in committing a fraud applies in litigation. Regarding compliance 
with Rule 1.2(d), see the Comment to that Rule. See also the Comment to Rule 8.4(b).
Legal Argument
[4] Legal argument based on a knowingly false representation of law constitutes dishonesty toward the tribunal. 
A lawyer is not required to make a disinterested exposition of the law but must recognize the existence of 
pertinent legal authorities. Furthermore, as stated in paragraph (a)(3), an advocate has a duty to disclose directly 
adverse authority in the controlling jurisdiction which has not been disclosed by the opposing party. The 
underlying concept is that legal argument is a discussion seeking to determine the legal premises properly 
applicable to the case.
Offering Evidence
[5] Paragraph (a)(3) requires that the lawyer refuse to offer evidence that the lawyer knows to be false, 
regardless of the client's wishes. This duty is premised on the lawyer's obligation as an officer of the court to 
prevent the trier of fact from being misled by false evidence. A lawyer does not violate this Rule if the lawyer 
offers the evidence for the purpose of establishing its falsity.
[6] If a lawyer knows that the client intends to testify falsely or wants the lawyer to introduce false evidence, the 
lawyer should seek to persuade the client that the evidence should not be offered. If the persuasion is ineffective 
and the lawyer continues to represent the client, the lawyer must refuse to offer the false evidence. If only a 
portion of a witness' testimony will be false, the lawyer may call the witness to testify but may not elicit or 
otherwise permit the witness to present the testimony that the lawyer knows is false.
[7] The duties stated in paragraphs (a) and (b) apply to all lawyers, including defense counsel in criminal cases. In 
some jurisdictions, however, courts have required counsel to present the accused as a witness or to give a 
narrative statement if the accused so desires, even if counsel knows that the testimony or statement will be 
false. The obligation of the advocate under the Rules of Professional Conduct is subordinate to such 
requirements. See also Comment [9].
[8] The prohibition against offering false evidence only applies if the lawyer knows that the evidence is false. A 
lawyer's reasonable belief that evidence is false does not preclude its presentation to the trier of fact. A lawyer's 
knowledge that evidence is false, however, can be inferred from the circumstances. See Rule 1.0(e). Thus, 
although a lawyer should resolve doubts about the veracity of testimony or other evidence in favor of the client, 
the lawyer cannot ignore an obvious falsehood.
[9] Although paragraph (a)(3) only prohibits a lawyer from offering evidence the lawyer knows to be false, it 
permits the lawyer to refuse to offer testimony or other proof that the lawyer reasonably believes is false. 
Offering such proof may reflect adversely on the lawyer's ability to discriminate in the quality of evidence and 
thus impair the lawyer's effectiveness as an advocate. Because of the special protections historically provided 
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thus impair the lawyer's effectiveness as an advocate. Because of the special protections historically provided 
criminal defendants, however, this Rule does not permit a lawyer to refuse to offer the testimony of such a client 
where the lawyer reasonably believes but does not know that the testimony will be false. Unless the lawyer 
knows the testimony will be false, the lawyer must honor the client's decision to testify. See also Comment [7].
Remedial Measures
[10] Having offered material evidence in the belief that it was true, a lawyer may subsequently come to know 
that the evidence is false. Or, a lawyer may be surprised when the lawyer's client, or another witness called by 
the lawyer, offers testimony the lawyer knows to be false, either during the lawyer's direct examination or in 
response to cross-examination by the opposing lawyer. In such situations or if the lawyer knows of the falsity of 
testimony elicited from the client during a deposition, the lawyer must take reasonable remedial measures. In 
such situations, the advocate's proper course is to remonstrate with the client confidentially, advise the client of 
the lawyer's duty of candor to the tribunal and seek the client's cooperation with respect to the withdrawal or 
correction of the false statements or evidence. If that fails, the advocate must take further remedial action. If 
withdrawal from the representation is not permitted or will not undo the effect of the false evidence, the 
advocate must make such disclosure to the tribunal as is reasonably necessary to remedy the situation, even if 
doing so requires the lawyer to reveal information that otherwise would be protected by Rule 1.6. It is for the 
tribunal then to determine what should be done--making a statement about the matter to the trier of fact, 
ordering a mistrial or perhaps nothing.
[11] The disclosure of a client's false testimony can result in grave consequences to the client, including not only 
a sense of betrayal but also loss of the case and perhaps a prosecution for perjury. But the alternative is that the 
lawyer cooperate in deceiving the court, thereby subverting the truth-finding process which the adversary 
system is designed to implement. See Rule 1.2(d). Furthermore, unless it is clearly understood that the lawyer 
will act upon the duty to disclose the existence of false evidence, the client can simply reject the lawyer's advice 
to reveal the false evidence and insist that the lawyer keep silent. Thus, the client could in effect coerce the 
lawyer into being a party to fraud on the court.
Preserving Integrity of Adjudicative Process
[12] Lawyers have a special obligation to protect a tribunal against criminal or fraudulent conduct that 
undermines the integrity of the adjudicative process, such as bribing, intimidating or otherwise unlawfully 
communicating with a witness, juror, court official or other participant in the proceeding, unlawfully destroying 
or concealing documents or other evidence or failing to disclose information to the tribunal when required by 
law to do so. Thus, paragraph (b) requires a lawyer to take reasonable remedial measures, including disclosure if 
necessary, whenever the lawyer knows that a person, including the lawyer's client, intends to engage, is 
engaging or has engaged in criminal or fraudulent conduct related to the proceeding.
Duration of Obligation
[13] A practical time limit on the obligation to rectify false evidence or false statements of law and fact has to be 
established. The conclusion of the proceeding is a reasonably definite point for the termination of the obligation. 
A proceeding has concluded within the meaning of this Rule when a final judgment in the proceeding has been 
affirmed on appeal or the time for review has passed.
Ex Parte Proceedings
[14] Ordinarily, an advocate has the limited responsibility of presenting one side of the matters that a tribunal 
should consider in reaching a decision; the conflicting position is expected to be presented by the opposing 
party. However, in an ex parte proceeding, such as an application for a temporary restraining order, there is no 
balance of presentation by opposing advocates. The object of an ex parte proceeding is nevertheless to yield a 
substantially just result. The judge has an affirmative responsibility to accord the absent party just consideration. 
The lawyer for the represented party has the correlative duty to make disclosures of material facts known to the 
lawyer and that the lawyer reasonably believes are necessary to an informed decision.
Withdrawal
[15] Normally, a lawyer's compliance with the duty of candor imposed by this Rule does not require that the 
lawyer withdraw from the representation of a client whose interests will be or have been adversely affected by 
the lawyer's disclosure. The lawyer may, however, be required by Rule 1.16(a) to seek permission of the tribunal 
to withdraw if the lawyer's compliance with this Rule's duty of candor results in such an extreme deterioration of 
the client-lawyer relationship that the lawyer can no longer competently represent the client. Also see Rule 
1.16(b) for the circumstances in which a lawyer will be permitted to seek a tribunal's permission to withdraw. In 
connection with a request for permission to withdraw that is premised on a client's misconduct, a lawyer may 
reveal information relating to the representation only to the extent reasonably necessary to comply with this 
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reveal information relating to the representation only to the extent reasonably necessary to comply with this 
Rule or as otherwise permitted by Rule 1.6.

[History: Am. effective July 1, 2007.]

3.4 Advocate: Fairness to Opposing Party and Counsel

A lawyer shall not:

(a) unlawfully obstruct another party's access to evidence or unlawfully alter, destroy or conceal a document or 
other material having potential evidentiary value. A lawyer shall not counsel or assist another person to do any 
such act;
(b) falsify evidence, counsel or assist a witness to testify falsely, or offer an inducement to a witness that is 
prohibited by law;
(c) knowingly disobey an obligation under the rules of a tribunal except for an open refusal based on an assertion 
that no valid obligation exists;
(d) in pretrial procedure, make a frivolous discovery request or fail to make a reasonably diligent effort to comply 
with a legally proper discovery request by an opposing party;
(e) in trial, allude to any matter that the lawyer does not reasonably believe is relevant or that will not be 
supported by admissible evidence, assert personal knowledge of facts in issue except when testifying as a 
witness, or state a personal opinion as to the justness of a cause, the credibility of a witness, the culpability of a 
civil litigant or the guilt or innocence of an accused; or

(1) the person is a relative or an employee or other agent of a client; and
(2) the lawyer reasonably believes that the person's interests will not be adversely affected by refraining 
from giving such information.

(f) request a person other than a client to refrain from voluntarily giving relevant information to another party 
unless:

Comment

[1] The procedure of the adversary system contemplates that the evidence in a case is to be marshalled 
competitively by the contending parties. Fair competition in the adversary system is secured by prohibitions 
against destruction or concealment of evidence, improperly influencing witnesses, obstructive tactics in 
discovery procedure, and the like.
[2] Documents and other items of evidence are often essential to establish a claim or defense. Subject to 
evidentiary privileges, the right of an opposing party, including the government, to obtain evidence through 
discovery or subpoena is an important procedural right. The exercise of that right can be frustrated if relevant 
material is altered, concealed or destroyed. Applicable law in many jurisdictions makes it an offense to destroy 
material for purpose of impairing its availability in a pending proceeding or one whose commencement can be 
foreseen. Falsifying evidence is also generally a criminal offense. Paragraph (a) applies to evidentiary material 
generally, including computerized information.
[3] With regard to paragraph (b), it is not improper to pay a witness' expenses or to compensate an expert 
witness on terms permitted by law. The common- law rule in most jurisdictions is that it is improper to pay an 
occurrence witness any fee for testifying and that it is improper to pay an expert witness a contingent fee.
[4] Paragraph (f) permits a lawyer to advise employees of a client to refrain from giving information to another 
party, for the employees may identify their interests with those of the client. See also Rule 4.2.

3.5 Advocate: Impartiality and Decorum of the Tribunal

A lawyer shall not:
(a) give or lend anything of value to a judge, official, or employee of a tribunal except as permitted by Section 
D(5) of Canon 4 of the Code of Judicial Conduct as it may, from time to time be adopted in Kansas, nor may a 
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D(5) of Canon 4 of the Code of Judicial Conduct as it may, from time to time be adopted in Kansas, nor may a 
lawyer attempt to improperly influence a judge, official or employee of a tribunal, but a lawyer may make a 
contribution to the campaign fund of a candidate for judicial office in conformity with Section C(2) and (4) of 
Canon 5 of the Code of Judicial Conduct;
(b) communicate or cause another to communicate with a member of a jury or the venire from which the jury 
will be selected about the matters under consideration other than in the course of official proceedings until after 
the discharge of the jury from further consideration of the case;

(1) in the course of official proceedings in the cause;
(2) in writing, if the lawyer promptly delivers a copy of the writing to opposing counsel or to the adverse 
party if unrepresented;
(3) orally upon adequate notice to opposing counsel or the adverse party if unrepresented;
(4) as otherwise authorized by law or court rule;

(c) communicate or cause another to communicate as to the merits of a cause with a judge or official before 
whom an adversary proceeding is pending except:

(d) engage in undignified or discourteous conduct degrading to a tribunal.

Kansas Comment

[1] Rule 3.5 has imposed an absolute prohibition upon a lawyer giving or lending anything of value to a judge or 
official; except as permitted by the Code of Judicial Conduct. In other words, a lawyer may ethically give what a 
judge may ethically receive.

[History: Am. (a) effective July 1, 2007.]

3.6 Advocate: Trial Publicity

(a) A lawyer who is participating or has participated in the investigation or litigation of a matter shall not make an 
extrajudicial statement that the lawyer knows or reasonably should know will be disseminated by means of 
public communication and will have a substantial likelihood of materially prejudicing an adjudicative proceeding 
in the matter.

(1) the claim or defense involved and, except when prohibited by law, the identity of the persons involved;
(2) information contained in a public record;
(3) that an investigation of the matter is in progress;
(4) the scheduling or result of any step in litigation;
(5) a request for assistance in obtaining evidence and information necessary thereto;
(6) a warning of danger concerning the behavior of a person involved, when there is reason to believe that 
there exists the likelihood of substantial harm to an individual or to the public interest; and

(i) the identity, residence, occupation and family status of the accused;
(ii) if the accused has not been apprehended, information necessary to aid in apprehension of that 
person;
(iii) the fact, time and place of arrest; and
(iv) the identity of investigating and arresting officers or agencies and the length of the investigation.

(7) in a criminal case, in addition to subparagraphs (1) through (6):

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) a lawyer may state:

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a lawyer may make a statement that a reasonable lawyer would believe is 
required to protect a client from the substantial undue prejudicial effect of recent publicity not initiated by the 
lawyer or the lawyer's client. A statement made pursuant to this paragraph shall be limited to such information 
as is necessary to mitigate the recent adverse publicity.
(d) No lawyer associated in a firm or government agency with a lawyer subject to paragraph (a) shall make a 
statement prohibited by paragraph (a).

Comment
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Comment

[1] It is difficult to strike a balance between protecting the right to a fair trial and safeguarding the right of free 
expression. Preserving the right to a fair trial necessarily entails some curtailment of the information that may be 
disseminated about a party prior to trial, particularly where trial by jury is involved. If there were no such limits, 
the result would be the practical nullification of the protective effect of the rules of forensic decorum and the 
exclusionary rules of evidence. On the other hand, there are vital social interests served by the free 
dissemination of information about events having legal consequences and about legal proceedings themselves. 
The public has a right to know about threats to its safety and measures aimed at assuring its security. It also has a 
legitimate interest in the conduct of judicial proceedings, particularly in matters of general public concern. 
Furthermore, the subject matter of legal proceedings is often of direct significance in debate and deliberation 
over questions of public policy.
[2] Special rules of confidentiality may validly govern proceedings in juvenile, domestic relations and mental 
disability proceedings, and perhaps other types of litigation. Rule 3.4(c) requires compliance with such Rules.
[3] The Rule sets forth a basic general prohibition against a lawyer's making statements that the lawyer knows or 
should know will have a substantial likelihood of materially prejudicing an adjudicative proceeding. Recognizing 
that the public value of informed commentary is great and the likelihood of prejudice to a proceeding by the 
commentary of a lawyer who is not involved in the proceeding is small, the rule applies only to lawyers who are, 
or who have been, involved in the investigation or litigation of a case, and their associates.
[4] Paragraph (b) identifies specific matters about which a lawyer's statements would not ordinarily be 
considered to present a substantial likelihood of material prejudice and should not in any event be considered 
prohibited by the general prohibition of paragraph (a). Paragraph (b) is not intended to be an exhaustive listing 
of the subjects upon which a lawyer may make a statement, but statements on other matters may be subject to 
paragraph (a).

(1) the character, credibility, reputation or criminal record of a party, suspect in a criminal investigation or 
witness, or the identity of a witness, or the expected testimony of a party or witness;
(2) in a criminal case or proceeding that could result in incarceration, the possibility of a plea of guilty to 
the offense or the existence or contents of any confession, admission, or statement given by a defendant 
or suspect or that person's refusal or failure to make a statement;
(3) the performance or results of any examination or test or the refusal or failure of a person to submit to 
an examination or test, or the identity or nature of physical evidence expected to be presented;
(4) any opinion as to the guilt or innocence of a defendant or suspect in a criminal case or proceeding that 
could result in incarceration;
(5) information that the lawyer knows or reasonably should know is likely to be inadmissible as evidence in 
a trial and that would, if disclosed, create a substantial risk of prejudicing an impartial trial; or
(6) the fact that a defendant has been charged with a crime, unless there is included therein a statement 
explaining that the charge is merely an accusation and that the defendant is presumed innocent until and 
unless proven guilty.

[5] There are, on the other hand, certain subjects that are more likely than not to have a material prejudicial 
effect on a proceeding, particularly when they refer to a civil matter triable to a jury, a criminal matter, or any 
other proceeding that could result in incarceration. These subjects relate to:

[6] Another relevant factor in determining prejudice is the nature of the proceeding involved. Criminal jury trials 
will be most sensitive to extrajudicial speech. Civil trials may be less sensitive. Nonjury hearings and arbitration 
proceedings may be even less affected. The Rule will still place limitations on prejudicial comments in these 
cases, but the likelihood of prejudice may be different depending on the type of proceeding.
[7] Finally, extrajudicial statements that might otherwise raise a question under this Rule may be permissible 
when they are made in response to statements made publicly by another party, another party's lawyer, or third 
persons, where a reasonable lawyer would believe a public response is required in order to avoid prejudice to 
the lawyer's client. When prejudicial statements have been publicly made by others, responsive statements may 
have the salutary effect of lessening any resulting adverse impact on the adjudicative proceeding. Such 
responsive statements should be limited to contain only such information as is necessary to mitigate undue 
prejudice created by the statements made by others.
[8] See Rule 3.8(f) for additional duties of prosecutors in connection with extrajudicial statements about criminal 
proceedings.
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[History: Am. effective July 1, 2007.]

3.7 Advocate: Lawyer as Witness

(1) the testimony relates to an uncontested issue;
(2) the testimony relates to the nature and value of legal services rendered in the case; or
(3) disqualification of the lawyer would work substantial hardship on the client.

(a) A lawyer shall not act as an advocate at a trial in which the lawyer is likely to be a necessary witness except 
where:

(b) A lawyer may act as an advocate in a trial in which another lawyer in the lawyer's firm is likely to be called as 
a witness unless precluded from doing so by Rule 1.7 or Rule 1.9.

Comment

[1] Combining the roles of advocate and witness can prejudice the tribunal and the opposing party and can also 
involve a conflict of interest between the lawyer and client.
Advocate-Witness Rule
[2] The tribunal has proper objection when the trier of fact may be confused or misled by a lawyer serving as 
both advocate and witness. The opposing party has proper objection where the combination of roles may 
prejudice that party's right in the litigation. A witness is required to testify on the basis of personal knowledge, 
while an advocate is expected to explain and comment on evidence given by others. It may not be clear whether 
a statement by an advocate-witness should be taken as proof or as an analysis of the proof.
[3] To protect the tribunal, paragraph (a) prohibits a lawyer from simultaneously serving as advocate and 
necessary witness except in those circumstances specified in paragraphs (a)(1) through (a)(3). Paragraph (a)(1)
recognizes that if the testimony will be uncontested, the ambiguities in the dual role are purely theoretical. 
Paragraph (a)(2) recognizes that where the testimony concerns the extent and value of legal services rendered in 
the action in which the testimony is offered, permitting the lawyers to testify avoids the need for a second trial 
with new counsel to resolve that issue. Moreover, in such a situation the judge has first-hand knowledge of the 
matter in issue; hence, there is less dependence on the adversary process to test the credibility of the testimony.
[4] Apart from these two exceptions, paragraph (a)(3) recognizes that a balancing is required between the 
interests of the client and those of the tribunal and the opposing party. Whether the tribunal is likely to be 
misled or the opposing party is likely to suffer prejudice depends on the nature of the case, the importance and 
probable tenor of the lawyer's testimony, and the probability that the lawyer's testimony will conflict with that of 
other witnesses. Even if there is risk of such prejudice, in determining whether the lawyer should be disqualified 
due regard must be given to the effect of disqualification on the lawyer's client. It is relevant that one or both 
parties could reasonably foresee that the lawyer would probably be a witness. The conflict of interest principles 
stated in Rules 1.7, 1.9 and 1.10 have no application to this aspect of the problem.
[5] Because the tribunal is not likely to be misled when a lawyer acts as advocate in a trial in which another 
lawyer in the lawyer's firm will testify as a necessary witness, paragraph (b) permits the lawyer to do so except in 
situations involving a conflict of interest.
Conflict of Interest
[6] In determining if it is permissible to act as advocate in a trial in which the lawyer will be a necessary witness, 
the lawyer must also consider that the dual role may give rise to a conflict of interest that will require compliance 
with Rules 1.7 or 1.9. For example, if there is likely to be substantial conflict between the testimony of the client 
and that of the lawyer, the representation involves a conflict of interest that requires compliance with Rule 1.7. 
This would be true even though the lawyer might not be prohibited by paragraph (a) from simultaneously serving 
as advocate and witness because the lawyer's disqualification would work a substantial hardship on the client. 
Similarly, a lawyer who might be permitted to simultaneously serve as an advocate and a witness by paragraph 
(a)(3) might be precluded from doing so by Rule 1.9. The problem can arise whether the lawyer is called as a 
witness on behalf of the client or is called by the opposing party. Determining whether or not such a conflict 
exists is primarily the responsibility of the lawyer involved. If there is a conflict of interest, the lawyer must 
secure the client's informed consent, confirmed in writing. In some cases, the lawyer will be precluded from 
seeking the client's consent. See Rule 1.7. See Rule 1.0(b) for the definition of "confirmed in writing" and Rule 
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seeking the client's consent. See Rule 1.7. See Rule 1.0(b) for the definition of "confirmed in writing" and Rule 
1.0(f) for the definition of "informed consent."
[7] Paragraph (b) provides that a lawyer is not disqualified from serving as an advocate because a lawyer with 
whom the lawyer is associated in a firm is precluded from doing so by paragraph (a). If, however, the testifying 
lawyer would also be disqualified by Rule 1.7 or Rule 1.9 from representing the client in the matter, other 
lawyers in the firm will be precluded from representing the client by Rule 1.10 unless the client gives informed 
consent under the conditions stated in Rule 1.7.

3.8 Advocate: Special Responsibilities of a Prosecutor

The prosecutor in a criminal case shall:
(a) refrain from prosecuting a charge that the prosecutor knows is not supported by probable cause;
(b) make reasonable efforts to assure that the accused has been advised of the right to, and the procedure for 
obtaining, counsel and has been given reasonable opportunity to obtain counsel;
(c) not seek to obtain from an unrepresented accused a waiver of important pretrial rights, such as the right to a 
preliminary hearing;
(d) make timely disclosure to the defense of all evidence or information known to the prosecutor that tends to 
negate the guilt of the accused or mitigates the offense, and, in connection with sentencing, disclose to the 
defense and to the tribunal all unprivileged mitigating information known to the prosecutor, except when the 
prosecutor is relieved of this responsibility by a protective order of the tribunal; and

(1) the information sought is not protected from disclosure by any applicable privilege;
(2) the evidence sought is essential to the successful completion of an ongoing investigation or 
prosecution; and
(3) there is no other feasible alternative to obtain the information;

(e) not subpoena a lawyer in a grand jury or other criminal proceeding to present evidence about a past or 
present client unless the prosecutor reasonably believes:

(f) except for statements that are necessary to inform the public of the nature and extent of the prosecutor's 
action and that serve a legitimate law enforcement purpose, refrain from making extrajudicial comments that 
have a substantial likelihood of heightening public condemnation of the accused and exercise reasonable care to 
prevent investigators, law enforcement personnel, employees or other persons assisting or associated with the 
prosecutor in a criminal case from making an extrajudicial statement that the prosecutor would be prohibited 
from making under Rule 3.6 or this Rule.

Comment

[1] A prosecutor has the responsibility of a minister of justice and not simply that of an advocate. This 
responsibility carries with it specific obligations to see that the defendant is accorded procedural justice and that 
guilt is decided upon the basis of sufficient evidence. Precisely how far the prosecutor is required to go in this 
direction is a matter of debate and varies in different jurisdictions. Many jurisdictions have adopted the ABA 
Standards of Criminal Justice Relating to Prosecution Function, which in turn are the product of prolonged and 
careful deliberation by lawyers experienced in both criminal prosecution and defense. Applicable law may 
require other measures by the prosecutor and knowing disregard of those obligations or a systematic abuse of 
prosecutorial discretion could constitute a violation of Rule 8.4.
[2] In some jurisdictions, a defendant may waive a preliminary hearing and thereby lose a valuable opportunity 
to challenge probable cause. Accordingly, prosecutors should not seek to obtain waivers of preliminary hearings 
or other important pretrial rights from unrepresented accused persons. Paragraph (c) does not apply, however, 
to an accused appearing pro se with the approval of the tribunal. Nor does it forbid the lawful questioning of an 
uncharged suspect who has knowingly waived the rights to counsel and silence.
[3] The exception in paragraph (d) recognizes that a prosecutor may seek an appropriate protective order from 
the tribunal if disclosure of information to the defense could result in substantial harm to an individual or to the 
public interest.
[4] Paragraph (e) is intended to limit the issuance of lawyer subpoenas in grand jury and other criminal 
proceedings to those situations in which there is a genuine need to intrude into the client-lawyer relationship.
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proceedings to those situations in which there is a genuine need to intrude into the client-lawyer relationship.
[5] Paragraph (f) supplements Rule 3.6, which prohibits extrajudicial statements that have a substantial 
likelihood of prejudicing an adjudicatory proceeding. In the context of a criminal prosecution, a prosecutor's 
extrajudicial statement can create the additional problem of increasing public condemnation of the accused. 
Although the announcement of an indictment, for example, will necessarily have severe consequences for the 
accused, a prosecutor can, and should, avoid comments which have no legitimate law enforcement purpose and 
have a substantial likelihood of increasing public opprobrium of the accused. Nothing in this Comment is 
intended to restrict the statements which a prosecutor may make which comply with Rule 3.6(b) or 3.6(c).
[6] Like other lawyers, prosecutors are subject to Rules 5.1 and 5.3, which relate to responsibilities regarding 
lawyers and nonlawyers who work for or are associated with the lawyer's office. Paragraph (f) reminds the 
prosecutor of the importance of these obligations in connection with the unique dangers of improper 
extrajudicial statements in a criminal case. In addition, paragraph (f) requires a prosecutor to exercise reasonable 
care to prevent persons assisting or associated with the prosecutor from making improper extrajudicial 
statements, even when such persons are not under the direct supervision of the prosecutor. Ordinarily, the 
reasonable care standard will be satisfied if the prosecutor issues the appropriate cautions to law-enforcement 
personnel and other relevant individuals.

[History: Am. (e) and (f) effective July 1, 2007.]

3.9 Advocate: Advocate in Nonadjudicative Proceedings

A lawyer representing a client before a legislative or administrative tribunal in a nonadjudicative proceeding shall 
disclose that the appearance is in a representative capacity and shall conform to the provisions of Rules 3.3(a)
through (c), 3.4(a) through (c), and 3.5.

Comment

[1] In representation before bodies such as legislatures, municipal councils, and executive and administrative 
agencies acting in a rule-making or policy-making capacity, lawyers present facts, formulate issues and advance 
argument in the matters under consideration. The decision-making body, like a court, should be able to rely on 
the integrity of the submissions made to it. A lawyer appearing before such a body should deal with the tribunal 
honestly and in conformity with applicable rules of procedure.
[2] Lawyers have no exclusive right to appear before nonadjudicative bodies, as they do before a court. The 
requirements of this Rule therefore may subject lawyers to regulations inapplicable to advocates who are not 
lawyers. However, legislatures and administrative agencies have a right to expect lawyers to deal with them as 
they deal with courts.
[3] This Rule does not apply to representation of a client in a negotiation or other bilateral transaction with a 
governmental agency; representation in such a transaction is governed by Rules 4.1 through 4.4.
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Training
At the time of publication there was no clear time frame as to how much training a person needed to have in 
order to become a GAL in Kansas. According to Rule 110A a person who wants to become a Guardian ad litem in 
the state is required to complete "at least" 6 hours of education and 1 hour of professional responsibility. To 
continue with the role as a Guardian ad litem the person must complete an additional 6 years per year of 
continuing education. 

The question should be asked is if essentially 7 hours of training enough to make left altering decisions. Would 
you as a consumer want a Judge to decide a case based on 7 hours of training or a Doctor to operate on you with 
only 7 hours of training. Electricians and plumbers have years of apprenticeship before being licensed.

Further detail:
Kansas Legal Services - this is course has passed by but it does have the course materials.

return

Best Interest of the Child
At best there is no definition of the term but there is a lot of ambiguity. It is largely based on the opinion of the 
Guardian ad litem (GAL) who has a minimum of training. This opinion is going to be swayed by the cultural bias 
and prejudice that the GAL has. It can be affected by such thanks as a parent being a Republican and the GAL is a 
Democrat and as a result may view that parent as not being in the child's best interest.  This term "Best interest 
of the child" is abused. A better standard my be "Is the child safe? Is there child endangerment?" these terms are 
more easily defined. The reference material here is provided for better understanding.

Childwelfare.gov - Determining the Best Interests of the Child

State statutes frequently reference overarching goals, purposes, and objectives that shape the analysis in making 
best interests determinations. The following are among the most frequently stated guiding principles:

• The importance of family integrity and preference for avoiding removal of the child from his/her home 
(approximately 28 States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
• The health, safety, and/or protection of the child (19 States and the Northern Mariana Islands)
• The importance of timely permanency decisions (19 States and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
• The assurance that a child removed from his/her home will be given care, treatment, and guidance that 
will assist the child in developing into a self-sufficient adult (12 States, American Samoa, and Guam)

Approximately 21 States and the District of Columbia list in their statutes specific factors for courts to consider in 
making determinations regarding the best interests of the child. While the factors vary considerably from State 
to State, some factors commonly required include:

• The emotional ties and relationships between the child and his or her parents, siblings, family and 
household members, or other caregivers (15 States and the District of Columbia)
• The capacity of the parents to provide a safe home and adequate food, clothing, and medical care (nine 
States)
• The mental and physical health needs of the child (eight States and the District of Columbia)
• The mental and physical health of the parents (eight States and the District of Columbia)
• The presence of domestic violence in the home (eight States)

Return to indexTerms
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http://kansaslegalservices.org/node/1387
https://www.childwelfare.gov/systemwide/laws_policies/statutes/best_interest.cfm


Sanata Clara University - The Best Interest of the Child

Legal Match - Child's Best Interest Standard

What Factors are Used to Determine their Best Interests? 

Child custody laws vary by state, but courts will generally consider the following in order to determine what is in 
the child’s best interest:

The child’s background including age, gender, and mental and physical health•
The child’s own preference, if they are of a certain age of maturity, usually 12-14 years or older•
Environmental considerations such as quality of schools, community safety, and extra-curricular 
opportunities

•

The health and maturity of each parent•
Each parent’s ability to provide financially and emotionally for the child•
The degree of each parent’s willingness to encourage contact between the child and the other party•
Whether there are any siblings or important family members involved•
Social background and lifestyle of each parent•

return  Determining the Best Interests of the Child

Informed Consent - waiver/release

In many cases by signing a waiver/ release to a Guardian ad litem (GAL) these is little or no disclosure as to how 
that information may or may not be used against the parent signing the release. We have seen instances where 
parents are in effect testifying against themselves as a result of the information being used in court. In almost 
every case there is no "informed consent".
informed consent n. agreement to do something or to allow something to happen only after all the relevant facts 
are known. In contracts, an agreement may be reached only if there has been full disclosure by both parties of 
everything each party knows which is significant to the agreement. A patient's consent to a medical procedure 
must be based on his/her having been told all the possible consequences, except in emergency cases when such 
consent cannot be obtained. A physician or dentist who does not tell all the possible bad news as well as the 
good, operates at his/her peril of a lawsuit if anything goes wrong. In criminal law, a person accused or even 
suspected of a crime cannot give up his/her legal rights such as remaining silent or having an attorney, unless 
he/she has been fully informed of his/her rights. (See: consent, Miranda warning)

Further detail
Legal Dictionary

return

Ex Parte
[Latin, On one side only.] Done by, for, or on the application of one party alone.

Further detail
Legal Dictionary
Legal Information Institute
WikipediA - Ex parte
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http://www.scu.edu/ethics/publications/iie/v11n1/custody.html
http://www.legalmatch.com/law-library/article/childs-best-interest-standard.html
http://legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/Informed+Consent
http://legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/ex+parte
http://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/12/263.9
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ex_parte
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