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March 17, 2014
Testimony in Support H,B, 5344
“An Act Concerning Child Endangerment While Operating a Motor Vehicle While Under the
Influence of Intoxicating Liquor or Drugs”

My name is Janice Heggie Margolis, Executive Director for Mothers Against Drunk Driving
(MADD) Connecticut. Thank you for the opportunity to submit testimony before the Judiciary
Committee on H.B. 5344, “AN ACT CONCERNING CHILD ENDANGERMENT WHIL OPERATING A
MOTOR VEHICLE WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OFINTOXICATING LIQUOR OR DRUGS.

MADD CT believes this Committee should support a revision of the Risk of Injury to a Minor law
currently in place. We respectfully request that it be named a Child Endangerment Law and that
it be inserted into the current DUI Statue under section 14-227j making it Class C Felony
punishable up to 5 years in prison. Every child deserves a sober designated driver.

Driving drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle is a form of child abuse. For those who are
convicted of driving drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle or for injuring or killing a child

passenger in a vehicle, it is time for the punishment to fit the crime.
The DUI child endangerment penalties in Connecticut would include:

> First time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or more)
or impaired by drugs while a child of younger than 16 years old is in the vehicle may be
charged with a class C felony punishable to by up to 5 years in prison.

» Individuals charged with driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater and with a
child under the age of 16 in the vehicle would automatically have their license

suspended pending prosecution.




» Courts must order all drivers convicted of Child Endangerment install and maintain an
ignition interlock on any vehicle owned and operated by such driver for at least 1 year.

» Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause the death of a child
younger than 16 in the car may be charged with a Class B felony, punishable by up to 20
years in prison.

» Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause serious physical
injury to a child in the vehicle may be charged with the Class C felony, punishable by up
to 10 years in prison.

> Individuals who are a parent, guardian, custodian or otherwise legally responsible for a
child who are charged with driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs while that child is
a passenger in the car would be reported to the CT Department of Children and

Families.

In conclusion, MADD respectfully requests that the Judiciary Committee take a hard look at the
current Risk of Injury to a Minor law and revise it to include Child Endangerment language.

Thank you.
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Child Endangerment

In 2012, 20 percent of the children age 14 and younger who were killed in motor vehicle crashes
were killed in alcohol-impaired crashes. Of the 239 children 0 to 14 years old who were killed in
alcohol-impaired driving crashes during 2012, 124 (52 percent) of those killed were passengers
in vehicles with drivers had a BAC level of .08 or higher. '

A child in a vehicle with a drinking driver is not only at risk from the impaired driver, but also
from the lack of safety restraint use (like a seat belt or child safety seat), as drinking drivers are
much less likely to make sure a child is properly restrained. Specifically, in fatal crashes, sober
drivers had restrained their children 30.5 percent of the time, compared with only 18 percent for
drinking drivers.

MADD believes that driving under the influence of alcohot or other drugs is criminal and
irresponsible. Having a child in the car elevates this criminal act to child abuse.

Black’s Law Dictionary defines child abuse as:

When a child's parent or custodian, by reason of cruelty, mental incapacity,
immorality or depravity, is unfit to properly care for him or her, or neglects or
refuses to provide necessary physical, affectional, medical, surgical or
institutional care for him or her or is under such improper care or control as to
endanger his or her morals or health.

Clearly, driving under the influence with a child in the vehicle — child endangerment — is
“improper care... so as to endanger his or her morals or health” and thus constitutes child abuse.

Thus, additional sanctions should be placed on those who drive under the influence with a child
in the vehicle — regular sanctions and treatment are not enough.

46 states and the District of Columbia have laws enhancing penalties for those who drive drunk
with a child passenger in a vehicle. The laws vary widely in severity and definition of a child
passenger. For example in New York it is a felony to drive drunk with a child passenger under
the age of 16. In Wisconsin, the same offense is a misdemeanor,
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New York’s Leandra’s Law:

National Model for DUI Child Endangerment Law

In November 2009, New York enacted comprehensive DUI Child endangerment laws including
making it a felony to drive drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle. Only five other states
besides New York have laws have similar felony laws for those who drive drunk with a child
passenger in a vehicle: Alaska, Arizona, Indiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Key provisions of Leandra’s Law.

>

First time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or
more) or impaired by drugs while a child of younger than 16 years old is in the vehicle
may be charged with a class E felony punishable by up to 4 years in State prison.

Individuals charged with driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater and with a
child under the age of 16 in the vehicle would automatically have their license suspended
pending prosecution.

Courts must order all drivers convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI(regardless if
child passenger was in the vehicle) to install and maintain an ignition interlock on any
vehicle owned and operated by such driver for at least 6 months, in addition to any term
imprisonment. The Department of Probation and Correctional Alternatives will issue
regulations that will provide counties with different options for supervising the use of
interlocks, so as to ensure that they can determine the most appropriate mechanism for
their needs.

Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause the death of a child
younger than 16 in the car may be charged with a Class B felony, punishable by up to 25
years in State prison.

Drivers. who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause serious physical
injury to a child in the vehicle may be charged with the Class C felony, punishable by up
to 15 years in State prison.

Individuals who are a parent, guardian, custodian or otherwise legally responsible for a
child who are charged with driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs while that child is
a passenger in the car would be reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse
and Maltreatment by the arresting agency.

Leandra’s Law in New York is a national model for other states to follow when improving their
DUI Child Endangerment Laws. Such improvements are necessary given the patchwork of DUI
laws relating to child endangerment.




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Alabama

if passenger is under 14 and driver is over 21, sentenced to double the minimum
sanctions that would be given if chiid not present. The offender’s license will be
suspended for 90 days, after which an ignition interlock will be installed in their car
for 2 years.

AL ST § 32-5A-191(n) and (p}

Alaska

A person commits the crime of endangering the welfare of a minor {under 16 years
of age) in the first degree (a felony) if the person transports a child in a motor
vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft while impaired.
a) A person commits the offense of endangering the welfare of a child in the
second degree if the person, while caring for a child under 10 years of age,

(1) causes or allows the child to enter or remain in a dwelling or vehicle in
which a controlled substance is stored in violation of AS 11.7%; or

{2} is impaired by an intoxicant, whether or not prescribed for the person
under AS 17.30, and there is no third person who is at least 12 years of age and not
impaired by an intoxicant present to care for the child.

AK 5T Sec. 1.51.100. & 11,51.110.

Arizona

Person commits a class 6 Felony to drive drunk with a child under the age of 15 in
a vehicle. Sanctions: Imprisonment -first offense- one year; with one prior felony
conviction-one to 2.5 years, with two or more prior felony convictions-three to 4.5
years; fine-$150,000.

AZ Rev. Stat. Ann. §§13-604(A),(C) (U), 13-701{(C), 13-801, 28-1383(A)} (3), (F), (G)
and (L} (2)

Arkansas

if Person Under 16 Years Old Is Passenger: First offense — Not less than 7 days or
more than 1 year; Second offense (within 5 years) — Not less than 30 days or more
than 1 year or no fewer than 60 days community service; Third offense {within 5
years of 1st offense) — Not less than 120 days or more than 1 year or no fewer than
120 days community service; Fourth offense {within 5 years of 1st offense} (Felony)
— At least 2 years but not more than 6 vears or not less than 2 years community
service; Fifth or subsequent offense {within 5 years of 1st offense} (Felony) — At
least 3 years but not more than 10 years or not less than 3 years community
service,

AR ST § 5-65-111; AR ST § 5-65-112

California

If passenger is under 14, the following jail sanctions are imposed: First offense-48
continuous hours. Second offense-10 days. Third offense-30 days. Fourth offense-
90 days.

Cal. Vehicle Code §23572




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Colorado

Knowingly or reckiessly committing an act that either kills or injures a child under
16 years old) is child abuse. If death results, it is a Class 2 felony, which carries a
term of 8-24 years in prison and/or a fine of $5,000 — $1,000,000. If injury resuits, it
is a Class 3 felony, which carries a term of 4-12 years in prison and/or a fine of
$3,000 - $750,000. Mandatory parole is 5 years for both felonies.

COST §18-1.3-401; CO ST § 18-6-401(1}, (2}, (7){a}{l), (ill); People v. Deskins, 927 P.
2d 368 (Colo 1996}

Connecticut

None

Delaware

If passenger is under 17: 1} 40 hours community service and $230-51,150 fine.
Subsequent convictions: 80 hours community service and $575-52,300 fine. These
sanctions do not apply to first offenders who are participating in the probation
before judgment program.

Del. Code Ann. 21 §4177(d) (5) 21 §41778

D.C.

For any drunk-driving offense conviction where there was a passenger < 17 years
old, the driver is subject to an additional fine of not less than $500 or more than
$1,000 per minor and 5 days of incarceration if the child is properly restrained and
10 days if the child is not properly restrained

DC ST § 50-2201.05(b){1){D).

Florida

If passenger is under 18: first offense: Up to nine months in prison and a fine range
from $1,000 to $2,000. Anignition interlock Is required for six months too. Second
offense: up to 12 months in prison and $2,000-54,000 fine, An ignition interlocks is
required for at least twe years.

FL ST § 316.193 (4)

Georgia

It is a separate offense to transport a child under the age of 14 years while driving
under the influence. The sanctions for this offense are as follows: first or second
offense {misdemeanor) ~ imprisonment for not more than 12 months and/or a fine
of not more than $1,000; third or subsequent offense {felony) — imprisonment for
not less than | year or more than 3 years and/or a fine of not less than $1,000 or
more than $5,000. This offense shall not be merged with the offense of driving
under the influence of alcohol/drugs, for purposes of prosecution and sentencing.

GA ST § 16-12-1(d); GA ST § 40-6-391(1)

Hawalii

Offenders older than 18 years old who were operating a motor vehicle with a
passenger younger 15 years old at the time of the offense are subject to the
following additional mandatory sanctions: (1) A mandatory fine of $500; and (2) 48
consecutive hours of imprisonment. However, the total imprisonment time
imposed for first, second or third offenses cannot exceed the maximum term of
imprisonment provided for first, second and subsequent DUI offenses. {1), {2), or
(3).

HI ST § 291E-61(b}{5)




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Idaho

it is an offense for a person older than 18 years old to operate a métor vehicle in
violation of the drunk-driving laws while transporting a “minor.” No injury/death
{misdemeanor) — Not more than 6 months and may be fined not more than $1000;
Injury or death (felony) —~ Not mare than 10 years {unless a more severe penalty is

atherwise prescribed by law).

IDST § 18-113; 1D ST § 18-1501(3)

illinois

Jail Sanctions are enhanced as follows if the driver was transporting anyone
younger than age 16. A person age 21 or older convicted of DU! while transporting
a person under the age 16 is subject to six months of imprisonment, an additional
mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and an additional mandatory minimum 140
hours of community service which shall include 40 hours of community service in a
program benefiting children. Second viclaticns with no bodily harm within 10 years
is a Class 4 felony, and is subject to one year imprisonment, 25 days of mandatory
comimunity service in a program benefiting children, and a mandatory fine of
$2,500. Penalties are increased if bodily harm to child under age 16 being
transported by the person. The violation is a Class 4 felony and is subject to one
year of imprisonment, a mandatory fine of $2,500 and 25 days of community
service in a program benefiting children. If repeated within 10 years, 18 months of
imprisonment and mandatory fine of $5,000, and 25 days of community service in
a program benefiting children. The imprisonment or assignment of community
service for any child endangerment violations is not subject to suspension, nor is
the person eligible for a reduced sentence.

625 1LCS 5/11-501 {c-5)

Indiana

Any person operating while intoxicated under is elevated to Class D Felony if at
least one occupant is under 18 years old. This enhancement brings the
misdemeanor charge to a felony.

indiang Code 9-30-5-3(a}{2){c)

lowa

If passenger is under 14: no injury: 2 years, fine not more than $5,000; injury; not
more than 10 years and $1,000-510,000 fine. If there are more than 3 offenses
with the same child in the same year with one offense resulting in an injury: up to
50 years,

{case law}

Kansas

If passenger is under 14 years; offender’s punishment is enhanced by one month of
imprisonment which must be served consecutively to any other minimum
mandatory penalty imposed for a violation of this section or an ordinance which
prohibits the acts that this section prohibits. During the service of the enhanced
penalty, the judge may order the person on house arrest, work release or other
conditional release.

KS ST § 8-1567(h}

Kentucky

Operating a vehicle while transporting a passenger under the age of 12 is an
aggravating circumstance and the mandatory minimum prison term will be
increased.

KY ST § 189A.010(5)(a)-(d)




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Louisiana

A DWI offender is subject to the following mandatory sanctions if a child age 12 or
younger was a passenger in a vehicle driven by the offender at the time of the
offense: First offense-10 days jail/$125 fine; second offense-30 days jail/$300 fine;
third offense-30 days jail; fourth and subsequent offense-two years jail.

LAR.S. § 14:98(])

Maine

An offender with a passenger under the age of 21 shall have an additional 275 days
of suspension. The licensing agency has the authority to suspend a driver's license
for a longer period of time than indicated above for either an administrative per se
viofation or a drunk driving offense conviction.

ME ST T129-A §§2411(5) (G) and 2451 (5)

Maryland

If passenger is a under 18 and driver Is intoxicated per se, first offense: 2 years and
§2000 fine. Second offense: 3 years and $3,000 fine. Third or subsequent: 4 years
and $4,000 fine. If passenger is a “minor” and driver is under the influence: 1) 6
months and 51,000 fine 2+) 1 year and $2,000.

MD TRANS § 27-101

Massachusetts

If passenger is under 14: first offense, 90 days-2.5 years in jail and a fine between
$1000-$5000. For repeat offenders, imprisonment for not less than six months nor
more than 2.5 years and a fine between $5000-$10,000.

MA ST 90 § 24(1){a){1); MA ST 90 § 24L; MA ST 90 § 24V: MA ST 274 § 1

Michigan

A person who commits a DUI while a passenger under the age 16 is in the vehicle
must pay a fine of $200 to $1000 and are subject to a term of imprisonment of up
to one year, 30 to 90 days of community service or both. A person who commits a
second DUI with a passenger under 16 in the vehicle within seven years of a first
convictions or within 10 years or two or more prior convictions for DUI is guilty of a
felony. Offenders must pay a fine of $500 to $5000. Offenders are also subject to:
a) a term of imprisonment of one to 5 years; or b) probation with imprisonment in
a county jail for 30 days to one year and 60 to 180 days of community service.

Mich. Comp. Laws. §257.625

Minnesota

having a child under 16 in the motor vehicle at the time of the offense and such
child is more than 36 months younger than the offender is considered an
aggravating factor or gross misdemeanor.

MN 5T ¢ 169A.03




Mississippi

DUI Child Endangerment Laws

If passenger is under 16, an offender shall be fined not more than $1000 and/or
imprisoned not more than to twelve months, For a second conviction, an offender
shall be fined not less than $1000 or more than $5000 and/or shall be imprisoned
for one year. For a third conviction, an offender shall be charged with a felony and
shall be fined not less than $10,000 and/or shall be imprisoned not less than one
year nor more than five years. If death or serious injury result, the offender shall
be guilty of a felony and be punished with a fine of not less than $10,000 and shall
be imprisoned not less than five years nor more than twenty-five years

MS § 63-11-30

Missouri

Driving drunk with a while a child less than seventeen years old present in the
vehicle is a class A misdemeanaor.,
MO § 568.045 and 568.050

Montana

If passenger is under 16, penalty of imprisonment for not less than 48 consecutive
hours nor more than 20 consecutive days and a fine of not less than $600 or
greater than $2000. For a Second Offense, the penalty not less than 14 days or
more than 12 months and not less than $1,200 or more than $2,000. For a third
offense, the penalty is not less than 60 days or more than 12 months and a fine of
not less than $2,000 or more than $10,000.

MT Code Ann. §61-8-714

Nebraska

It is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable separately from any other offense, to
operate a vehicle under the influence if a passenger under the age of 17 is present
in the vehicle.

NE ST. §2 Section 28-101

Nevada

If passenger is under 15: court shall consider this an aggravating factor in
sentencing.

NV ST. §§484.3792(7) and 484.3795{4)

New
Hampshire

if the DWI offender was transporting a person under 16 years old at the time of the
offense, the offender must have their driving privileges revoked for the maximum
time period provided by law.

NH ST § 265A-18(Xl)

New Jersey

if passenger is 17 years old or younger, person is guilty of a “disorderly persons
offense” and will incur for the first offense a fine between $25 and $100 and no
jail, for a second offense no more than 90 days in jail, and community service for 5
days to 6 months.

NI ST § 39:4-50.15

New
Mexico

None




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

New York

Individuals charged with driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater and
with a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle would automatically have their
license suspended pending prosecution. Drivers who drive while intoxicated or
impaired by drugs and cause the death of a child younger than 16 in the car may be
charged with a Class B felony, punishable by up to 25 years in State prison. Drivers
who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause serious physical injury
to a child in the vehicle may be charged with the Class C felony, punishable by up
to 15 years in State prison. Individuals who are a parent, guardian, custodian or
otherwise legally responsible for a child who are charged with driving while
impaired by alcohol or drugs while that child is a passenger in the car would be
reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment by the
arresting agency.

N.Y. Vehicle and Traffic Law §11921. Subdivison 2-a

North
Carolina

If passenger is under 16: 7 days-12 months, fine no more than $2,000; with
mitigating circumstances-30 days-24 months, fine no more than $4,000.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-179(c)

North
Dakota

If impaired driver Is under 21 with “minor” in car: prison no more than 1 year, fine
no more $1,000.

NDCC $ 12.1-32-01; NDCC § 39-08-01.4

Chio

If passenger is under 18, First offense prison no more than 6 months and/or fine no
more than $1,000. First offense with serious injury: 6-12 months and/or fine no
more than $2,500; subsequent child endangerment offense with serious injury or
serious injury where impaired driver has previous drunk driving offense
convictions: 6-18 months and/or fine no more than $5,000 and no more than 200
hours of community service and license suspension for 90 days.

OH ST § 2919.22(C)(1), (E); OH ST § 2929.14; OH ST § 2929.18; OH ST § 2929.21.

Oklahoma

Any person age 18 or older who violates a DUI law while transporting or having any
child less than 18 years old shall be subject to an enhanced penalty in the form of a
doubled fine. Said driver may also be prosecuted for Felony Child Endangerment.

OKSTTI47 § 11-902(M); OKST TI 21 § 852.1

Oregon

In addition to other penalties, if an offender commits a DUI while a passenger
under the age of 18 is in the vehicle and minor passenger is at least three years
younger than the driver, the maximum fine is $10,000.

OR ST §813.010

Pennsylvania

If the passenger is under 18; for first offense, fine not less than $1000 and
complete 100 hours of community service. For second offense, fine not less than
$2500 and one month to six months imprisonment, For third offense, six months to
two years imprisonment

PA Title 75 Section 3803(b)




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Rhode An offender who is over 18 years old is subject to an imprisonment term of not
tsland more than 1 vear if he/she was transporting a passenger under 13 years old at the
time of the offense.
RIST § 31-27-2{d}{4)
If driver is under 18 and drives impaired or had a death/serious badily injury driving
Sout.h offense while transporting a child under 16: subject to additional jail and fine
Carolina sanctions which are equal to not more than half maximum jail and fine sanctions
for these offenses. Sanctions are mandatory if the jail or fine sanctions have been
imposed for the originat offense. Driving privileges must be suspended for 60 days.
SCST § 56-5-2947
South
Dakota None
If passenger is under 18: no injury or death 30 days-11 months 29 days; injury- 2-12
Tennessee | Years, fine no more than $5,000; death- 3-15 years, fine no more than $10,000.
Any convicted drunk driver is required to use an interlock if a child passenger under
the age of 18 is in the vehicle upon DUT arrest.
TN ST §40-35111(b), 55-10-403{a}(1)(B) and 37-1-403(d)(2)
Texas If passenger is under 15 years of age— Not less than 180 days or more than 2 years
and a fine of not more than $10,000 may he 1mposed This offense is considered a
state jail fefony.
TX Penal § 12.35; TX Penal § 49.045
First or second DWI, where there 1) is an injury related to negligent action or 2) a
Utah passenger is younger than 16 (child endangerment) or 3) the driver is 21 or older
and driving with a passenger younger than 18--Class A misdemeanor-not more
than cne year in jail.
UT ST §41-6-44, 76-3-203(3) and 76-3-204
Vermont None
If passenger is under 17: $500-51,000 fine and a mandatory minimum of five days
in jail. Subsequent offense: mandatory fine of $500 to $1000 and community
Virginia service of mandatory 80 hours benefiting children,
VAST § 18.2-270(D)




DUI Child Endangerment Laws

Washington

If passenger is under 16: interlock for an additional six menths and $100 fine for a
first offense, up to $5000 for a second offense within seven years. For each child
passenger under 16, an additional 12 months shall be added to a sentence for
vehicular homicide.

RCW 46.61.5055 and RCW 9.94A.533

West
Virginia

If passenger is under 16, Not less than 2 days or more than 12 months {with 43
hours of actual confinement mandatory) and not less than $200 or more than
$1,000.

WV ST § 17¢C-5-2(i}

Wisconsin

If passenger is under 16 or an unborn child: maximum imprisonment and fine

sanctions are doubled and the revocation period is 10 years. Driving drunk with a
child passenger under the age of 16 is a criminal misdemeanor with a fine of $350
to $1,110 and imprisonment for not less than five days nor more than six months.

WI ST § 343.31(3) (c) and 94.09(1b), 346.65{2} {f} and (3), 346.65 (2} (f} 1

Wyoming

If DUI offender is 18 years old or older with a child passenger, for a first offense, be
imprisoned for up to a year, and fined up to $750, or both

WY ST § 31-5-233(m) and (i}




