DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Summary of Comments
Regulations concerning “Rates of Pilotage for Connecticut Marine Pilots”

A thirty-day public comment period was held by the Department of Transportation (DOT) to
solicit written views and arguments on the subject regulations as noticed in the March 5, 2013

~Connecticut Law Journal. The following is a summary of comments received by the Department
of Transportation relative to the proposed regulations concerning “Rates of Pilotage for
Connecticut Marine Pilots”, the Department’s response to the written comments submitted, and
the Department’s suggested changes to the language of the regulations.

Comment:
Opposition to the establishment of a $600.00 pilot boat fee and State administration of such fee.

The Connecticut State Pilots Pooling Agreement established three years ago by the Connecticut
State Pilots contains a negotiated $600.00 transit fee used for pilot boat repairs and emergencies.
The Pilots have a current system in place that allows for an immediate response to a pilot boat
crisis without having to go through the Department of Transportation.

Response to Comment:
While the Department feels codifying the existing practice would provide a level of protection

for what is charged and to whom, the Department agrees that the voluntary, self-administered
system does appear to currently provide Connecticut State Pilots the ability and flexibility to
immediately respond to pilot boat emergencies.

The provision of the regulation related to the $600.00 pilot boat fee is removed.



