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CONNECTICUT LAWS ON PET SHOPS AND ANIMAL IMPORTERS 

  

By: Janet L. Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 
You asked for a summary of state laws on pet shops and animal 

importers.  We present the information in a question and answer format. 
 

What requirements does the law place on pet shops? 
 
State law defines a “pet shop” as a place at which animals not born 

and raised on the premises are kept for the purpose of sale to the public 
(CGS § 22-327(9)).  No one may maintain a pet shop until he or she has 
obtained a license from the Department of Agriculture (DoAg) 

commissioner (CGS § 22-344(b)).  DoAg will issue a license to an 
applicant upon written application and payment of a $200 fee if the 
applicant complies with applicable state regulations (see below) and 
municipal zoning regulations.  Licenses are renewable annually. 

 
The law places certain other requirements on pet shops.  For example: 

 
1. before offering a dog or cat for sale, and every 15 days until the 

animal is sold, a pet shop licensee must have the animal examined 
by a Connecticut-licensed veterinarian and the pet shop must 
maintain a record of the veterinary services for each dog and cat 
offered for sale (CGS § 22-344b(a)); 
 

2. pet shops must comply with the “pet lemon law,” under which pet 
shops must replace or refund the purchase price of a dog or cat 
that (a) within 20 days after sale becomes ill or dies of an illness 
that existed at the time of sale or (b) within six months after sale is 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-327
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344b
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diagnosed with a congenital defect that adversely affects its health 
(consumers may also request reimbursement from the pet shop of 
up to $500 for veterinarian expenses without having to return the 
animal) (CGS § 22-344b(b)); 

 
3. pet shops must post a sign on the cage of each dog offered for sale 

containing the breed of the dog, where the dog was born, and any 
identification number on the official veterinary inspection 
certificate from the state of origin (CGS § 22-344d(a)); 
 

4. for each dog sold or offered for sale, a pet shop licensee must have 
a certificate of origin identifying the name and address of the 
breeder and the person or entity that sold the dog to the pet shop 
(CGS § 22-354(b)); 
 

5. pet shops must post a sign that (a) includes DoAg’s telephone 
number for filing complaints about diseased or disabled animals 
offered for sale and (b) states: “The following information is always 
available on all our puppies: date of birth, the state of birth, breed, 
sex and color, the date the pet shop received the puppy, the names 
and registration numbers of the parents (for AKC registerable 
puppies), record of inoculations and worming treatments and any 
record of any veterinary treatment or medications received to date” 
(CGS § 22-344d(b)); and 
 

6. euthanasia by a pet shop of a warm-blooded animal offered for sale 
but not sold or transferred to another owner must be by lethal 
injection of sodium pentobarbital administered by a Connecticut-
licensed veterinarian or a person under his or her supervision 
(CGS § 22-344a). 

 
In addition, a pet shop licensee is prohibited from purchasing a dog or 

cat for resale from a breeder or other person or entity located outside of 
this state that does not possess a current license from the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture and any applicable state agency (CGS § 22-
354(b)). 

 
What do state regulations require of pet shops? 

 
DoAg has promulgated state regulations detailing further pet shop 

requirements (Conn. Agencies Regs. 22-344-16a to 25c).  For example, 
the regulations require that the facilities for housing animals be 
structurally sound and maintained in good repair to prevent injury to the  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344b
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344d
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-354
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344d
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-354
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-354
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animals.  All buildings, premises, and containers must be maintained in 
a sanitary manner and there must be proper storage and disposal of 
waste material to control vermin, insects, and obnoxious odors. 

 

The regulations require that pet enclosures be designed and 
constructed to provide adequate physical comfort to the animals.  Among 
other things, each animal must be able to turn about freely and easily 
sit, stand, or lie in a comfortable, natural position. 

 
Pet shops must be sufficiently heated to protect the animals from the 

cold and provide for their health and comfort at all times, generally 
between 65 and 78 degrees Fahrenheit.  Animal housing must be 
adequately ventilated at all times and have ample, well distributed 
lighting by natural or artificial means for a minimum of eight hours in 
each 24-hour period. 

 
Pet shops must provide animals with (1) food that is wholesome, 

palatable, and free from contamination at least once a day and (2) 
potable water at all times.  Food and water containers must be cleaned 
and sanitized regularly. 

 
Pet shop owners or their representatives must observe the animals 

daily in order to recognize general symptoms of injury, illness, or disease.  
Any dog or cat that exhibits such symptoms must be (1) isolated and 
treated by a veterinarian and (2) verified as healthy by a veterinarian 
before being offered for sale. 

 
Pet shops must remove dogs confined in cages at least once daily for 

exercise. 
 
Lastly, pet shops must maintain records on each animal for at least 

two years. 
 

Are pet shops subject to inspection by the Department of 

Agriculture? 
 

By law, the DoAg commissioner may inspect a pet shop at any time 
(CGS § 22-344(f)).  If in his judgment, the pet shop is not being 
maintained in a sanitary and humane manner or in a manner that 
protects public safety, or if he finds that contagious, infectious, or 
communicable disease or other unsatisfactory conditions exist, the 
commissioner may (1) fine the pet shop up to $500 for each affected 
animal, (2) issue orders as necessary to correct the conditions, and (3) 

quarantine the premises and animals. 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344
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Additionally, if the pet shop owner fails to comply with the 
commissioner’s orders or the state laws and regulations, the 
commissioner may revoke the pet shop’s license. 

 

What are animal importers and what requirements does the law 

place on them? 

 
The law defines an “animal importer” as someone who brings a dog or 

cat into Connecticut from another sovereign entity to offer the animal for 
sale, adoption, or transfer in exchange for any fee, sale, voluntary 
contribution, service, or other consideration.  It includes any commercial 
or nonprofit animal rescue or adoption, humane relocation, or delivery 
organization that is not otherwise required to be licensed under state law 
(CGS § 22-344(e)(3)).  

 
Among other things, the law requires animal importers to (1) annually 

register with DoAg before importing any dog or cat into the state and (2) 
notify DoAg and local zoning officials before offering the animals for sale, 
adoption, or transfer (CGS §§ 22-344(e)(1) & (2)).  But the law’s 
registration and notice requirements do not apply to an animal importer 
who offers a dog or cat for sale to a state-licensed pet shop, if the animal 
is delivered directly to the pet shop (CGS § 22-344(e)(4)). 

  
Additionally, animal importers must, within 48 hours after importing 

a dog or cat into the state and before offering it for sale, adoption, or 
transfer, and every 90 days until the transaction is complete, have a 
state-licensed veterinarian examine the animal.  The importer cannot 
sell, transfer, or give an imported animal up for adoption unless a state-
licensed veterinarian examined it within 15 days before the transaction 
and issued the importer a certificate attesting to the animal’s good 
health.  The importer must maintain records of the veterinarian services 
for three years after they were rendered (CGS § 22-344f). 
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http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-344f

