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STATE FINANCIAL AID AND LOAN REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAMS 

  

By: Terrance Adams, Legislative Analyst II 

 
 
You asked for a summary of (1) state financial aid programs available 

to Connecticut residents attending an instate public or private higher 
education institution and (2) legislation that established current 
statutory student loan reimbursement or forgiveness programs. 

SUMMARY 

The primary state financial aid program for Connecticut residents 
attending instate institutions (both public and private) is the Governor’s 

Scholarship, which was established in 2013. The program replaced the 
state’s previous undergraduate student aid programs and is available to 
Connecticut residents enrolled in at least six semester credit hours and 
pursuing their first associate or bachelor degree. The Office of Higher 
Education (OHE) administers the program. 

 
OHE also administers the Minority Teacher Incentive, a program for 

minority college students who intend to teach in a Connecticut public 
school after graduation. The program provides both grants and loan 
reimbursements. (OHE also administers the Weisman Scholarship, a 
similar, privately funded award.) 

 
Concerning loan forgiveness and reimbursement programs, the state 

has a number of programs in statute, but only the Minority Teacher 
Incentive is currently operational. Other loan forgiveness and 
reimbursement programs in statute but not operational (primarily due to  
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not being funded) include those for people employed in teaching 
English language learners; engineering; green technology, life science, or 
health information technology; and nursing, among others. 

 

Connecticut residents (and others) may also obtain loans from the 
Connecticut Higher Education Supplemental Loan Authority (CHESLA). 
The loans are available to (1) students attending a non-profit college or 
university in Connecticut or (2) Connecticut residents attending a 
nonprofit college or university in the U.S. CHESLA loans have a fixed 
interest rate and are made in amounts ranging from $2,000 up to the 
cost of education per academic year, with a cumulative maximum of 
$125,000. The current annual percentage rate ranges from 6.35% to 
6.5% over the life of the loan. 

GOVERNOR’S SCHOLARSHIP 

PA 13-247 (§§ 174-185) establishes the Governor’s Scholarship 
program as a single, consolidated state financial aid program for 
Connecticut residents who are undergraduates at in-state public and 
private higher education institutions. The program replaces the state’s 
previous undergraduate student aid programs: Connecticut Aid to Public 
College Students, Connecticut Independent College Student Grant, the 
Capitol Scholarship, and Connecticut Aid to Charter Oak. 

 

The Governor’s Scholarship has four award categories: a (1) need and 
merit-based (merit) award, (2) need-based award, (3) performance 
incentive pool, and (4) Charter Oak Grant. Eligibility is limited to 
Connecticut residents enrolled in at least six semester credit hours and 
pursuing their first associate or bachelor degree. The awards are based 
on a student's expected family contribution, as determined by the federal 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid. 

 
The eligible costs to which recipients may apply Governor’s 

Scholarship awards are (1) tuition and required fees, as published by the 
institution and (2) required books and educational supplies, in a fixed 
amount as determined by OHE. 

 
Merit Award 

 
OHE determines eligibility for the merit award based on (1) financial 

need, as measured by the federally determined expected family 
contribution and (2) merit, as measured by either high school academic 
achievement or performance on standardized academic aptitude tests.  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
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OHE requires students to have (1) a high school junior year class rank 
that is in the top 20% or (2) an SAT score of at least 1800 or ACT score of 
at least 27. 
 

OHE must make awards according to a sliding scale, annually 
determined by the office, up to a maximum family contribution and 
based on available appropriations and eligible students. The act requires 
that the merit awards be higher than the need awards and prohibits 
merit recipients from receiving a need or incentive award. 

 
In 2013-2014, the maximum merit award is $4,500 for full-time 

attendance at a four-year institution and $3,500 for full-time attendance 
at a two-year institution. Applications are available at high school 
guidance offices and must be submitted by February 15. 

 
Need Award 

 
OHE must (1) determine eligibility for the need award based on 

expected family contribution and (2) allocate funds for the need award to 
institutions for disbursement to students in accordance with 
requirements the office establishes. The institution’s allocation is 
determined by its actual eligible enrollment (i.e., the number of its 
students who are eligible for an award) during the fiscal year before the 
grant year.  

 
As with the merit award, OHE must annually establish a sliding scale 

based on available appropriations and the number of eligible students. 
Institutions must (1) adhere to this sliding scale when making awards to 
students and (2) spend their need award allocation as direct financial 
assistance for eligible educational costs. 

 
In 2013-2014, the maximum need award, for both two- and four-year 

institutions, is $3,000 for full-time attendance. 
 

Incentive Award 

 
PA 13-247 establishes an incentive pool to encourage retention and 

completion for students who (1) receive a need award, (2) return with 
sufficient credits to complete an associate degree in two years or a 
bachelor degree in four years (presumably two or four years from the 
time of initial enrollment), and (3) exceed minimum academic 
performance standards as determined by OHE. Students become eligible 
for a performance incentive award in the second year of their need 

award. The act requires that the incentive pool be distributed to 
participating institutions based on eligibility as determined by OHE.  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=11
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The act does not specify any criteria for determining which eligible 

students will receive an incentive award. This award will be implemented 
in the 2014-2015 academic year. 

 
Charter Oak Grant 

 
Unlike with the other award components, the act does not require 

OHE to determine eligibility and award levels for the Charter Oak Grant. 
Instead, it requires only that the grant (1) be awarded to students who 
demonstrate substantial financial need and (2) not exceed a student's 
eligible educational costs. 

MINORITY TEACHER INCENTIVE AND WEISMAN SCHOLARSHIP 

The Minority Teacher Incentive is a grant and loan reimbursement 
program for minority college students who intend to teach in a 
Connecticut public school after graduation. The student must be (1) a 
junior or senior in a Connecticut teacher preparation program; (2) 
completing the program’s requirements as a graduate student, so long he 
or she previously received a grant for one year at the undergraduate 
level; or (3) enrolled in the Alternate Route to Certification program. 

 
The program provides (1) grants of up to $5,000 per year for up to two 

years and (2) loan reimbursement of up to $2,500 per year for up to four 
years of teaching in a Connecticut public school. OHE requires that 
students begin teaching within 16 months of graduation in order to 
receive the loan reimbursement (CGS § 10a-168a). 

 
The Weisman Scholarship has the same eligibility requirements and 

awards as the Minority Teacher Incentive program, except that the 
scholarship is for students planning to teach math or science in a 
Connecticut public middle or high school. It is administered by OHE and 
supported with private funds. 

LOAN FORGIVENESS AND REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAMS 

The state has a number of loan forgiveness and reimbursement 
programs in statute, but only the Minority Teacher Incentive (described 
above) is currently operational. We summarize the non-operational 
programs below. Please note that eligibility for some of these programs 
extends to people who did not attend Connecticut higher education 
institutions. 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_186.htm#sec_10a-168a
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English Language Learners 

 
PA 12-1, June 12, 2012 Special Session (§ 222) established, within 

available appropriations, a loan reimbursement program for up to 20 

educators who teach bilingual education or English language learners. 
Recipients of federal or state education loans who meet the program's 
criteria may receive reimbursements of up to $5,000 per person, per 
year, for a maximum of five years.  

 
To be eligible for the program, a person must, on or after May 1, 2012:  
 
1. (a) graduate from an in-state teacher preparation program and 

complete the state’s teaching certification requirements or (b) hold 
a teaching certificate and complete an in-state program to obtain 
an endorsement in bilingual education or teaching English to 
speakers of other languages;  
 

2. obtain such an endorsement if he or she has not already done so; 
 

3. be employed at a Connecticut public school in a teaching position 
that requires such an endorsement; and 
 

4. make a written commitment to remain employed in such a position 
at a Connecticut public school for at least five years after receiving 
the endorsement.  

 
OHE must administer the program and may adopt regulations for this 

purpose. The office’s executive director must seek repayment of the 
reimbursement from any recipient who does not fulfill the five-year 
employment requirement. For each year that the person does not meet 
the employment requirement, he or she must repay at least 20% of the 
reimbursement (e.g., a recipient who teaches for only three years must 
repay at least 40% of the reimbursement). The executive director 
determines the manner of repayment (CGS § 10a-19j). 
 
Green Technology, Life Science, and Health Information 

Technology 
 
PA 10-75 (§ 1) authorized student loan reimbursements for 

Connecticut residents graduating from instate colleges and universities, 
based on their educational fields, subsequent occupations, and incomes. 
(PA 11-140 (§ 1) amended the program’s provisions.) 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6001&which_year=2012
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_185.htm#sec_10a-19j
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=75&which_year=2010&SUBMIT1.x=5&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=8
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Residents qualify for reimbursements if they (1) graduated from a 
Connecticut college or university on or after May 1, 2010 with a degree 
related to life science, green technology, or health information 
technology; (2) are employed in jobs related to the eligible academic fields 

for at least two years after graduation; and (3) have a federal adjusted 
gross income of no more than $150,000 for the year before the initial 
reimbursement year.  

 
Residents with a bachelor’s degree may qualify for annual 

reimbursements of up to $2,500 or 5% of the loan amounts, whichever is 
less, for up to four years. Those with an associate’s degree may qualify 
for the same reimbursement, but for up to two years only. The law caps 
the total value of reimbursements a resident can receive under this and 
any other state program at $10,000 for those holding a bachelor’s degree 
and $5,000 for those holding an associate’s degree (CGS § 10a-19i). 

 
“Engineering Connecticut” and “You Belong” 

 
PA 06-83 (§§ 15 & 16) established two programs to repay student 

loans, one for certain engineers and the other for certain people with 
doctoral degrees. Candidates for the engineers’ program (“Engineering 
Connecticut”) must have an undergraduate or graduate degree in 
engineering from any college or university and have started working as 
an engineer in Connecticut after December 31, 2005. Candidates for the 
doctoral degrees program (“You Belong”) must (1) hold a doctorate from 
any college or university, (2) have started working in Connecticut in an 
“economically valuable field” after December 31, 2005, and (3) be 
employed by a company or university registered with or qualified by the 
Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD). The 
DECD commissioner determines the economically valuable fields.  

 
OHE must develop eligibility requirements for reimbursement 

recipients, consulting with DECD on those for the doctoral degree 
program. The requirements can include income guidelines. OHE must 
also prescribe application dates and procedures and determine the 
annual reimbursements for qualifying student loan payments. A 
recipient can receive reimbursement grants only for loan payments he or 
she makes while employed in Connecticut (1) as an engineer or (2) if 
holding a doctoral degree, in an economically valuable field by a 
qualifying company or by a college or university in a research capacity 
(CGS §§ 10a-19e and -19f). 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_185.htm#sec_10a-19i
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=83&which_year=2006&SUBMIT1.x=3&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_185.htm#sec_10a-19e
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_185.htm#sec_10a-19f
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Primary Care Provider Loan Repayment Program 

 
PA 91-274 allowed the Department of Public Health to establish a 

program to provide three-year grants to community-based primary care 

service providers in order to expand access to health care for the 
uninsured. The grants may be used for, among other things, recruiting 
and retaining primary care clinicians and registered nurses through a 
loan repayment program (CGS § 19a-7d). 

 
Nursing Education 

 
PA 88-207 (§ 3) established a program that (1) provides state loans for 

Connecticut residents entering into or advancing in the nursing 
profession and (2) forgives loans for candidates who worked as nurses in 
the state for at least five years (CGS § 10a-162a) 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

CHESLA: http://www.chesla.org/ 
 
Office of Higher Education: http://www.ctohe.org/SFA/default.shtml 

 
 

TA:ts 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=274&which_year=1991&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368a.htm#sec_19a-7d
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_186.htm#sec_10a-162a
http://www.chesla.org/
http://www.ctohe.org/SFA/default.shtml

