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This report describes the penalties for the possession or sale of illegal 
drugs or drug paraphernalia under Connecticut law.  It also describes 
the penalties under Connecticut law for the use of drug paraphernalia 
and related offenses.  We do not discuss collateral consequences 
associated with certain convictions, such as restrictions on some types of 
employment.  

CONNECTICUT DRUG POSSESSION CRIMES AND OFFENSES  

It is illegal for any person to possess or have under his or her control 
any narcotic, hallucinogenic, or other controlled substance unless 
otherwise authorized by law (e.g., controlled substances obtained 
pursuant to a prescription).  The penalty for personal drug possession in 
Connecticut depends on a number of different factors, including the 
amount and type of drug, where the criminal act takes place, and 
whether the criminal act was a first or repeat offense.  
 

For drug possession offenses, the statutorily authorized penalties 
range from (1) a $150 fine for a first offense of possession of less than ½ 
ounce of marijuana to (2) up to 25 years imprisonment, up to a $250,000 
fine, or both for three or more convictions for possession of narcotics. 
Penalties for drug possession crimes are generally enhanced when they 
occur within 1,500 feet of a school or licensed day care center. Table 1 
below shows the drug possession offenses, the Connecticut General 
Statutes citation for each offense, and the authorized penalties. 
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The law generally prohibits prosecuting a person for possessing drugs 
solely on discovery of evidence arising from efforts to seek medical 
assistance for a drug overdose (see CGS § 21a-279(g)). 
 

The possession of less than ½ ounce of marijuana is not a crime, but 
is punishable by fines (and other penalties in certain circumstances). 
Also, under specified conditions, the law provides protections from 
prosecution or other penalties related to marijuana for medical 
marijuana patients, their primary caregivers, and their doctors (CGS § 
21a-408 et seq).  For more information on Connecticut’s medical 
marijuana program, including the recently approved regulations for the 
program, see the Department of Consumer Protection’s (DCP) website: 
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/mmp.  For information on DCP’s Drug Control 
Division (such as information on controlled substances practitioner 
registration), see the division’s website: www.ct.gov/dcp/drugcontrol.  

  
Table 1: Drug Possession 

 
Offense Descriptions Authorized Penalties  

Less than ½ oz. marijuana 
Cite: CGS § 21a-279a 

First offense: $150 fine 
 
Subsequent offenses: $200 to $500 fine (three-time violators must 
attend drug education, at their own expense) 
 
Violators follow the procedures the law sets for infractions (e.g., they 
can pay the fine by mail) (CGS § 51-164n) 
 
60-day suspension of the driver’s license or nonresident operating 
privileges of anyone under age 21 who is convicted of a violation (if 
the person does not have a license, he or she is ineligible for one for 
150 days after meeting all licensing requirements) (CGS § 14-111e)  
 
Burden of proof is preponderance of the evidence (rather than 
beyond a reasonable doubt) (CGS § 51-164n(i)) 

Narcotics (i.e., heroin, cocaine, and crack) 
Cite: CGS § 21a-279(a) 

First offense: up to 7-year prison term, up to a $50,000 fine, or both 
 
Second offense: up to 15-year prison term, up to a $100,000 fine, or 
both 
 
Subsequent offenses: up to 25-year prison term, up to a $250,000 
fine, or both 
 
Alternative sentence: up to 3-year indeterminate prison term with 
conditional release by correction commissioner (CGS § 21a-279(e)) 



Table 1 (continued)  
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Offense Descriptions Authorized Penalties  
At least 4 oz. of marijuana or any quantity of 
other hallucinogens 
Cite: CGS § 21a-279(b) 

First offense: up to 5-year prison term, up to a $2,000 fine, or both.  
Effective October 1, 2013, the penalty is a class D felony, punishable 
by up to 5-year prison term, up to a $5,000 fine, or both (PA 13-258, 
§ 88).  
 
Subsequent offenses: up to 10-year prison term, up to a $5,000 fine, 
or both.  Effective October 1, 2013, the penalty is a class C felony, 
punishable by 1- to 10-year prison term, up to a $10,000 fine, or both 
(PA 13-258, § 88). 
 
Alternative sentence: up to 3-year indeterminate prison term with 
conditional release by correction commissioner (CGS § 21a-279(e)) 

Any other illegal drug or at least ½ oz. but less 
than 4 oz. of marijuana 
Cite: CGS § 21a-279(c) 

First offense: up to 1-year prison term, up to a $1,000 fine, or both 
 
Subsequent offenses: up to 5-year prison term, up to a $3,000 fine, or 
both.  Effective October 1, 2013, the penalty is a class D felony, 
punishable by up to 5-year prison term, up to a $5,000 fine, or both 
(PA 13-258, § 88). 
 
Alternative sentence for subsequent offenses: up to 3-year 
indeterminate prison term with conditional release by correction 
commissioner (CGS § 21a-279(e)) 

Possession of ½ oz. or more of marijuana or 
any quantity of other illegal drugs within 1,500 
feet of (1) an elementary or secondary school by 
someone who is not attending the school or (2) 
a licensed day care center identified as such by 
a sign posted in a conspicuous place 
Cite: CGS § 21a-279(d)  

Mandatory 2-year prison term running consecutively to the prison 
term imposed for the underlying possession crime 
 
Judge can depart from this sentence under certain circumstances 
(see below)* 

* Judges can impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence when no one was hurt during the crime and the defendant (1) did not use or 
attempt or threaten to use physical force; (2) was unarmed; and (3) did not threaten to use or suggest that he or she had a firearm, other deadly 
weapon (e.g., a switchblade knife), or other instrument that could cause death or serious injury. Defendants must show good cause and can invoke 
these provisions only once. Judges must state at sentencing hearings their reasons for (1) imposing the sentence and (2) departing from the 
mandatory minimum (CGS § 21a-283a). 

CONNECTICUT DRUG SALE CRIMES 

It is illegal for anyone to manufacture, distribute, sell, prescribe, 
dispense, compound, transport with intent to sell or dispense, possess 
with intent to sell or dispense, offer, give, or administer to another any 
controlled substance, except as otherwise authorized by law. As with 
possession, the penalty for these actions depends on a number of 
different factors.  These include the amount and type of drug, where the 
criminal act takes place, whether the offender is addicted to drugs, the 
offender’s age, the buyer’s age, and whether the criminal act was a first 
or repeat offense. 
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There are mandatory minimum prison terms for several crimes 
involving drug sales or related actions, although a judge can depart from 
the mandatory minimum for certain crimes under certain circumstances. 
The penalties are generally enhanced when the crimes occur within 
1,500 feet of a school, licensed day care center, or public housing 
project. 
 

Table 2 shows the drug sale crimes, the Connecticut General Statutes 
citation for each offense, and the authorized penalties. 

 
Table 2: Drug Sales 

 
Offense Descriptions Authorized Penalties 

Sale by a nonaddicted person of at least 1 oz. of 
heroin or methadone; ½ oz. of cocaine or crack; or 5 
mg. of LSD 
Cite: CGS § 21a-278(a) 

 
 

Mandatory minimum 5- to 20-year prison term with a possible 
maximum term of life imprisonment 
 
Judge can suspend the mandatory minimum if, at the time of the 
offense, the person (1) was under age 18 or (2) had significantly 
impaired mental capacity 
 
Judge can depart from the mandatory sentence under certain other 
circumstances (see below)* 

Sale by a nonaddicted person of at least 1 kg. of 
marijuana or any amount of narcotics, 
amphetamines, or other hallucinogens 
Cite: CGS § 21a-278(b) 

First offense: mandatory minimum 5- to 20-year prison term  
 
Subsequent offenses: mandatory minimum 10- to 25- year prison 
term 
 
Judge can suspend the mandatory minimum if, at the time of the 
offense, the person (1) was under age 18 or (2) had significantly 
impaired mental capacity 
 
Judge can depart from the mandatory sentence under certain other 
circumstances (see below)* 

Sale by nonaddicted adult of drugs to a minor at 
least two years younger 
Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(a) 

Mandatory 2-year prison term running consecutively to prison term 
imposed for the underlying crime 

Sale of illegal drugs within 1,500 feet of (1) an 
elementary or secondary school, (2) a licensed day 
care center identified as such by a sign posted in a 
conspicuous place, or (3) a public housing project 
Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(b) 

Mandatory 3-year prison term running consecutively to prison term 
imposed for the underlying crime 
 
Judge can depart from this sentence under certain circumstances 
(see below)* 

Hiring or persuading a minor to sell illegal drugs in 
violation of the laws prohibiting illegal drug sales 
Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(c) 

Mandatory 3-year prison term running consecutively to prison term 
imposed for the underlying drug sale crime 



Table 2 (continued)  
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Offense Descriptions Authorized Penalties 
Sale of any narcotics or hallucinogens other than 
marijuana 
Cite: CGS § 21a-277(a) 

First offense: up to 15-year prison term, up to a $50,000 fine, or both 
 
Second offense: up to 30-year prison term, up to a $100,000 fine, or 
both 
 
Subsequent offenses: up to 30-year prison term, up to a $250,000 
fine, or both 
 
Alternative sentence: up to 3-year indeterminate prison term with 
conditional release by correction commissioner (CGS § 21a-277(d)) 

Sale of any other illegal drug 
Cite: CGS § 21a-277(b) 

First offense: up to 7-year prison term, up to a $25,000 fine, or both 
 
Subsequent offenses: up to 15-year prison term, up to a $100,000 
fine, or both 
 
Alternative sentence: up to 3-year indeterminate prison term with 
conditional release by correction commissioner (CGS § 21a-277(d)) 

* Judges can impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence under the same circumstances as described above for certain drug possession 
offenses (see the footnote under Table 1). 

CONNECTICUT DRUG PARAPHERNALIA CRIMES AND OFFENSES  

It is illegal for anyone to use or possess with intent to use drug 
paraphernalia for various drug-related purposes (e.g., growing, 
preparing, ingesting, or inhaling controlled substances).  It is also illegal 
to deliver, possess with intent to deliver, or manufacture with intent to 
deliver drug paraphernalia knowing, or under circumstances where one 
reasonably should know, that it will be used for the same purposes. 
These actions are generally subject to criminal misdemeanor penalties. If 
the actions are done in connection with less than ½ ounce of marijuana, 
they are punishable as infractions, not crimes.   

 
Penalties for the drug paraphernalia crimes described above are 

generally enhanced when they occur within 1,500 feet of a school by 
someone who is not a student there. 

 
As with drug possession, the law generally prohibits prosecuting a 

person for possessing drug paraphernalia solely on discovery of evidence 
arising from efforts to seek medical assistance for a drug overdose (see 
CGS § 21a-267(e)). 

 
The law also prohibits the knowing possession of drug paraphernalia 

in a drug factory situation for the unlawful mixing, compounding, or 
otherwise preparing of any amount of a controlled substance for  
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purposes of violating drug laws.  This is a felony, and there is a 
mandatory minimum prison term if a minor is hired or otherwise used to 
commit the offense.  
 

The law’s definition of “drug paraphernalia” lists several specific 
examples (see CGS § 21a-240(20)(A)).  The law also sets out factors 
courts or other authorities must consider when determining whether an 
object or material is drug paraphernalia (see CGS § 21a-270).   

 
Table 3: Drug Paraphernalia 

 
Offense Descriptions Authorized Penalties 

Use, possess with intent to use, or deliver, possess 
with intent to deliver, or manufacture with intent to 
deliver, in connection with less than ½ oz. of marijuana 
Cite: CGS § 21a-267(d)   

Infraction (punishable by fines of between $35 and $90, plus a 
surcharge and additional fee based on the amount of the fine; the 
current total amount due for violating § 21a-267(d) is $136) 
 
60-day suspension of the driver’s license or nonresident operating 
privileges of anyone under age 21 who is convicted of this infraction 
(if the person does not have a license, he or she is ineligible for one 
for 150 days after meeting all licensing requirements) (CGS § 14-
111e)  
 
Burden of proof is preponderance of the evidence (rather than 
beyond a reasonable doubt) (CGS § 51-164n(h)) 

Use or possess with intent to use in connection with ½ 
oz. or more of marijuana or any amount of another 
controlled substance  
Cite: CGS § 21a-267(a) 

Class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to three months in prison, 
up to a $500 fine, or both 

Deliver, possess with intent to deliver, or manufacture 
with intent to deliver in connection with ½ oz. or more 
of marijuana or any amount of another controlled 
substance  
Cite: CGS § 21a-267(b) 

Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1-year prison term, up to 
a $2,000 fine, or both 

Commit the above acts in connection with ½ oz. or 
more of marijuana or any amount of another controlled 
substance, within 1,500 feet of an elementary or 
secondary school by someone who is not attending the 
school 
Cite: CGS § 21a-267(c)  

Mandatory 1-year prison term running consecutively to prison term 
imposed for the underlying crime 
 
Judge can depart from this sentence under certain circumstances 
(see below)* 

Knowing possession of drug paraphernalia in drug 
factory situation 
Cite: CGS § 21a-277(c) (see CGS § 21a-255(b)) 

First offense: up to 2-year prison term, up to a $1,000 fine, or both 
 
Subsequent offense: up to 10-year prison term, up to a $10,000 
fine, or both 

Hiring or persuading a minor to possess drug 
paraphernalia in drug factory situation  
Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(c) 

Mandatory 3-year prison term running consecutively to prison term 
imposed for the underlying crime 

* Judges can impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence under the same circumstances as described above for certain drug possession 
offenses (see the footnote under Table 1). 
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