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This report provides a brief comparison of nonprofit hospital 

conversion laws in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island.   

SUMMARY 
 
Generally, certain states require a nonprofit hospital to obtain state 

approval before entering into an agreement to sell, lease, or transfer a 
substantial amount (typically 20% or more) of its assets or operations. 
The application and review processes vary across states. Connecticut, 
Massachusetts, and Rhode Island each require the attorney general (AG) 
to review and approve such an agreement. Connecticut and Rhode Island 
also require the Department of Public Health’s (DPH) and Department of 
Health’s (DOH) approval, respectively, whereas Massachusetts requires 
the Supreme Judicial Court’s approval.  

 
Prior to entering into such an agreement, all three states require (1) 

one or both transacting parties (i.e., the hospital and purchaser) to 
submit an application to the appropriate state entities detailing the 
proposed conversion and (2) a public hearing or public informational 
meeting to solicit public input.  
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Each state’s law sets out the criteria and time periods for review. Both 
Connecticut and Rhode Island require the AG and DPH to approve, 
conditionally approve, or disapprove an application within 120 days of 
accepting it. Massachusetts law does not specify a timeframe. All three 
states require entities reviewing an application to consider numerous 
factors, such as detailed financial statements, the impact of the 
conversion on health care costs and services in the affected communities, 
and conflicts of interest. Massachusetts and Rhode Island require the 
purchaser to pay the state for any consultants or experts it hires to help 
conduct the review; Connecticut requires the purchaser to pay up to 
$500,000 for this purpose.  

 
Connecticut and Rhode Island allow a transacting party aggrieved by 

the AG’s or health department’s final decision to appeal to the Superior 
Court. Massachusetts requires the Supreme Judicial Court to approve 
the conversion. 

 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island specify requirements for monitoring 

approved conversions (Connecticut has no such requirement). 
Massachusetts requires the AG, in consultation with DPH, to determine 
if the purchaser needs an independent health care access monitor. If so, 
the purchaser must pay DPH to hire the person for three years after the 
conversion’s effective date. The monitor must report quarterly to the AG, 
DPH, and legislature on community health care access. 

 
Similarly, Rhode Island requires the AG and DOH to monitor and 

evaluate an approved conversion for three years after its effective date at 
the purchaser’s expense. During this period, the purchaser must also 
annually report to the AG and DOH on its compliance with the 
agreement.    

 
Table 1 provides a comparison of the application, review, appeal, and 

monitoring requirements in these three states. For a description of each 
state’s nonprofit hospital conversion laws, please see OLR Reports 2013-
R-0322, 2013-R-0321, and 2012-R-0031.  

 
 



 

   
October 22, 2013 Page 3 of 9 2013-R-0324 

 

Table 1: Comparison of Nonprofit Hospital Conversion Laws in 
Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island 

 
  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 

Statutory 
Authority 

CGS §§ 19a-486 to 
486h 
 

Massachusetts General 
Laws, Chapter 180, 
Section 8(A)(d) 
 

Rhode Island General 
Laws, Title 23, 
Chapter 17.14 
 

Review and 
Approval 
Requirements 

The Department of 
Public Health (DPH) 
commissioner or her 
designee and the 
attorney general 
(AG) must review 
and approve a 
hospital’s agreement 
to sell or otherwise 
transfer a material 
amount of its assets 
or operations or to 
change control of its 
operations to a for-
profit entity. 

The AG must review 
and the Supreme 
Judicial Court must 
approve a hospital’s 
agreement to sell, lease, 
exchange, or otherwise 
dispose of a substantial 
amount (generally 20% 
or more) of its assets or 
operations. 

DOH and the AG 
must review and 
approve a hospital’s 
agreement to transfer 
20% or more of its 
ownership, assets, 
membership interest, 
authority, or control. 

Notice and 
Application 
Requirements 

The hospital and 
purchaser must 
concurrently submit 
a certificate of need 
determination letter 
to DPH and the AG 
who must then send 
an application if the 
agreement requires 
approval. The 
hospital and 
purchaser must file 
the application with 
DPH and the AG 
within 60 days after 
receiving it. 

At least 90 days before 
the conversion, the 
hospital must send 
written notice to the AG 
that includes a 
summary statement of 
the proposed 
conversion. 

The hospital and 
purchaser must 
concurrently send an 
initial application to 
DOH and the AG that 
includes a detailed 
summary of the 
proposed conversion. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Application 
Review and 
Timeline 

Within 20 days of 
receiving the 
application, DPH 
and the AG must 
give written notice 
to the purchaser 
and hospital of any 
deficiencies, which 
must be fixed before 
the application is 
accepted.  

 
The AG and DPH 
must review the 
application and 
issue their decisions 
within 120 days 
after receiving the 
completed 
application. This 
deadline can be 
extended if all 
parties agree. It is 
delayed if the AG 
seeks a court order 
to enforce a 
subpoena. 

The law does not 
specify a timeframe for 
completing the review; 
presumably, the AG 
must complete it before 
the transaction’s 
effective date.  

 
Once the AG completes 
the review, the 
purchaser must file a 
motion with the 
Supreme Judicial Court 
seeking approval for the 
conversion.  
 

Within 30 days of 
receiving the 
application, DOH and 
the AG must give 
written notice to the 
purchaser and 
hospital of any 
deficiencies. The 
applicant must 
submit any required 
information within 30 
days.  

 
Once the application 
is accepted, the AG 
and DOH must notify 
the applicant. The 
AG and DOH must 
review the 
application and issue 
their decisions within 
120 days after 
accepting the 
application. 

Public Notice 
and Hearing 
Requirements 

The AG and DPH 
must jointly hold at 
least one public 
hearing before 
making their 
decision on the 
application. One 
hearing must be in 
the hospital’s 
primary service 
area. Notice of the 
hearing must be 
given at least 14 
days before by 
publication in one 
or more general 
circulation 
newspapers in the 
affected community. 

The AG must hold at 
least one public hearing 
during the course of her 
application review. The 
hospital must publish a 
hearing notice in a 
general circulation 
newspaper at least 21 
days before the hearing. 

 
The notice must offer 
for the hospital to 
provide anyone who 
requests it, a detailed 
summary of the 
conversion and copies 
of the agreement, 
except for confidential 
trade secrets or 
financial information. 

The AG and DOH 
must publish notice 
of the application in 
a general certification 
newspaper and notify 
by mail anyone 
requesting notice of 
the filing. 

 
The notice must 
include the date by 
which public 
comments are due to 
the AG and DOH and 
the date, time, and 
location of a public 
informational 
meeting, which must 
be held within 60 
days of the notice 
date. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Standards for 
Review and 
Approval 

The law requires 
DPH and the AG to 
consider numerous 
factors when 
reviewing and 
approving an 
application. Click 
here for a list of 
these factors.  

The AG must consider 
any factors she deems 
relevant, including 
whether: 

 
1. the proposal 

complies with 
applicable general 
nonprofit and 
charities law, 

 
2. due care was 

followed by the 
hospital, 

 
3. the hospital 

avoided conflicts of 
interest in all 
phases of decision 
making, 

 
4. fair value will be 

received for the 
nonprofit assets, 
and  

 
5. the proposal is in 

the public’s 
interest.  

The law requires the 
AG to consider 30 
criteria when 
reviewing an 
application. Click 
here for a list of these 
criteria.  

 
DOH must consider 
eight criteria which 
are listed here.  
 

Review Costs The purchaser must 
pay the AG up to 
$500,000 for 
experts or 
consultants he 
contracts with to 
help review the 
agreement. 

The purchaser must 
pay the AG all 
reasonable costs to 
conduct the review. 

The purchaser must 
pay the AG and DOH 
for experts or 
consultants they 
contract with to help 
review the 
agreement. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Subpoena 
Power 

Both the AG and 
DPH can issue 
written subpoenas 
and interrogatories. 
The AG can apply to 
Superior Court to 
enforce compliance. 

The AG can issue 
written subpoenas and 
interrogatories and 
apply to Superior Court 
to enforce compliance. 
 

The AG and DOH 
may require any 
person related to the 
conversion to appear 
before them and 
testify or provide 
documents on any 
matters relevant to 
their review. The AG 
or DOH must notify 
the person in writing 
at least 14 days 
before they are 
required to appear. If 
the person fails to 
appear or refuses to 
provide requested 
information, the AG 
or DOH can apply to 
Superior Court to 
enforce compliance. 

Appeals After exhausting 
administrative 
remedies, the 
hospital or 
purchaser can 
appeal the AG’s or 
DPH’s decision to 
Superior Court. 

The conversion must be 
approved by the 
Supreme Judicial 
Court.  
 

A hospital or 
purchaser aggrieved 
by the decision of the 
AG or DOH can 
appeal to Superior 
Court.  
 



Table 1 (continued)  
 

   
October 22, 2013 Page 7 of 9 2013-R-0324 

 

  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Medical 
Service 
Termination 
or Reduction 

No specific 
requirement 

 

No specific requirement If the conversion will 
result in the 
elimination or 
significant reduction 
of emergency or 
primary care services 
to uninsured or 
underinsured 
people, the nonprofit 
hospital must provide 
DOH a written plan 
describing the impact 
of the conversion on 
(1) access to health 
care services for 
underserved 
populations, (2) 
healthcare delivery to 
the affected 
community, and (3) 
other licensed 
hospitals and health 
care providers in the 
affected community 
or in the state. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Conversion 
Proceeds 

The hospital’s 
assets continue to 
carry charitable 
obligations, even 
when converted to a 
for-profit entity 
unless the original 
charitable purpose 
becomes impossible 
or impractical to 
fulfill, in which case 
similar charitable 
purposes must be 
substituted. 

 
In addition, the law 
allows the precise 
terms of a charitable 
trust to change 
under certain 
circumstances (e.g., 
the “approximation 
doctrine”). 
 

If the conversion results 
in a charitable fund, its 
governance is subject to 
the same approval 
process as the 
conversion. 

The proceeds of the 
conversion and any 
of the nonprofit 
hospital’s 
endowments and 
specific purpose 
funds must be 
transferred to a 
charitable foundation 
operated by a board 
of directors.  The 
Superior Court must 
appoint the initial 
board members 
within 60 days after 
the conversion’s 
approval. 

 
The court must 
approve, modify, or 
reject proposed 
bylaws and articles of 
incorporation 
provided by the 
transacting parties 
and, subsequently, 
the initial board of 
directors.  It must 
also hold a public 
hearing on the 
foundation’s 
activities within 180 
days after creating 
the board, and 
annually thereafter.  
 
The board must 
submit an annual 
report and a copy of 
its IRS Form 990 to 
the court, governor, 
AG, and legislature. 

Conditional 
Approval 

An application’s 
approval is subject 
to any related 
conditions imposed 
by the AG or DPH. 

An application’s 
approval is subject to 
any related 
modifications imposed 
by the court. 

An application’s 
approval is subject to 
any related 
conditions imposed 
by the AG or DPH. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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  Connecticut Massachusetts Rhode Island 
Monitoring There are no specific 

requirements, but 
the AG or DPH 
could impose such 
conditions as part of 
the application’s 
approval. 

After the conversion is 
approved, the AG must 
determine, in 
consultation with DPH, 
whether the purchaser 
needs an independent 
health care access 
monitor. If she 
determines the monitor 
is necessary, the 
purchaser must pay 
DPH the funds to hire 
the person.  
 
The monitor must 
report quarterly to the 
AG, DPH, and the 
legislature’s Health 
Care Committee on 
community health care 
access, including levels 
of free care. The 
purchaser must provide 
this funding for three 
years following the 
hospital conversion. 

For three years after 
the conversion’s 
effective date, the AG 
and DPH must (1) 
monitor, assess, and 
evaluate the 
purchaser’s 
compliance with all 
conditions of 
approval and (2) 
annually review the 
conversion’s impact 
on the health care 
costs and services in 
the communities 
served. 
 
The purchaser must 
also annually report 
to the AG and DPH 
on its compliance 
with these 
conditions. The 
purchaser must pay 
the costs associated 
with such monitoring 
and evaluation in an 
amount the AG and 
DPH determine. 

 
 
ND:ro 


