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HAIRDRESSER LICENSURE 
  

By: James Orlando, Associate Analyst 

 
 
You asked for information regarding Connecticut’s hairdresser and 

cosmetologist licensure, including (1) licensing requirements, (2) 
requirements for transferring licenses from other jurisdictions, and (3) 
bills considered by the legislature since 2003 regarding hairdresser 
apprenticeship programs or similar initiatives.  

SUMMARY 
 
By law, hairdressers and cosmeticians must be licensed by the 

Department of Public Health (DPH) (CGS Chapter 387). Hairdressers and 
cosmeticians are one licensure category. In general, initial licensure 
applicants must have successfully completed (1) eighth grade or passed 
an equivalency exam and (2) at least 1,500 hours of study in an 
approved hairdressing and cosmetology school. They must also pass a 
DPH-prescribed examination and pay a $100 fee. 

 
The law generally allows a person licensed in another state or U.S. 

territory or possession to become licensed by endorsement (i.e., without 
examination) if the other jurisdiction required an exam, education, and 
training for a license.  The fee for such applicants is $50. Applicants 
trained in other countries must show that they have similar training to 
Connecticut’s requirements and pass an exam.  
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We did not find any bills considered by the legislature since 2003 
regarding hairdresser apprenticeship programs. (Special Act 13-12 
requires the Connecticut State Apprenticeship Council, in consultation 
with the DPH commissioner, to study the feasibility of establishing a 
barbershop apprenticeship program within the Labor Department.)  
There have been numerous bills affecting hairdressers considered since 
2003, including bills in 2003, 2004, and 2010 concerning hairdressers 
who are licensed or trained outside of Connecticut. Each of these was 
enacted into law; we summarize the relevant provisions below.  

HAIRDRESSER LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 
 
Below, we summarize the licensure requirements for hairdressers and 

cosmeticians.  More information is available on DPH’s website. 
  

Definition 
 
The law defines “hairdressing and cosmetology” as, for pay: 
 
1. dressing, arranging, curling, waving, weaving, cutting, singeing, 

bleaching, and coloring the hair and treating the scalp of any 
person; 
 

2. massaging, cleansing, stimulating, manipulating, exercising, or 
beautifying with the use of the hands, appliances, cosmetic 
preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams, powders, oils, or 
clays; and  

 
3. doing similar work on the face, neck, and arms, and manicuring 

fingernails.  
 
But nothing in this definition prohibits an unlicensed person from 

performing facials, eyebrow arching, shampooing, manicuring the 
fingernails, braiding hair, or for cosmetic purposes only, trimming, filing, 
and painting healthy toenails, excluding cutting nail beds, corns, and 
calluses or other medical treatment involving the foot or ankle (CGS § 20-
250). 

 
Licensure Requirements 
 

By law, hairdressers and cosmeticians must be licensed by DPH. 
(While some provisions of the law refer to the profession as “registered 
hairdresser and cosmetician,” these individuals must be licensed.)  
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In order to obtain a license, an applicant must: 
 
1. have graduated eighth grade or its equivalent (DPH’s website 

explains how a person can show equivalency, including passing 
the General Educational Development (GED) test or other specified 
examinations); 
 

2. have successfully completed at least 1,500 hours of study in a 
hairdressing and cosmetology school meeting specified 
requirements, under the supervision of the State Board of 
Education, or if trained outside of the state, in a school with 
equivalent requirements to those of a Connecticut school; 
 

3. pass a written examination, prescribed by DPH with the advice and 
assistance of the Examining Board for Barbers, Hairdressers, and 
Cosmeticians; and 

 
4. pay a $100 fee (CGS § 20-252, 20-253). 

 
The application form is available online.  

  
Licenses must be renewed every two years for the same fee (CGS § 20-

253). 
 
Licensure By Endorsement, Foreign-Trained Applicants, and Guest 
Permits 

  
A person licensed as a hairdresser and cosmetician or to perform 

similar services in another state, the District of Columbia, or a U.S. 
commonwealth or territory can be licensed without examination, if the 
other jurisdiction required education, training, and an exam for 
licensure.  The applicant must pay a $50 fee.  This option is not available 
to an applicant against whom professional disciplinary action is pending 
or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint (CGS § 20-254). 

 
According to DPH’s website, foreign trained applicants may qualify for 

licensure if they meet the requirements for licensure by examination or 
by endorsement.  According to a representative of DPH’s licensing 
division, an applicant licensed in another country would have to provide 
information verifying his or her training or education; if it was 
determined to be inadequate compared to Connecticut’s requirements, 
the applicant would need to take additional training or education. The 
applicant must also complete a Connecticut exam.   
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The law also allows someone licensed by another state, the District of 
Columbia, a U.S. territory, or another country to obtain a temporary 
guest permit to work at a hairdressing or cosmetology educational show 
or demonstration limited to Connecticut licensees. The permit is valid for 
the duration of the show or demonstration and cannot exceed one week. 
The permit fee is $25 (CGS § 20-255a). 
 
Other Provisions; Disciplinary Action and Penalties 

 
The hairdresser and cosmetician law contains provisions on other 

matters, such as license renewal by armed forces members (CGS § 20-
256); inspections of hairdressing shops (CGS § 20-258); and approval of 
hairdressing and cosmetology schools (CGS § 20-262).  (PA 13-208 (§ 64) 
adds to the requirements for such schools.)  

 
Anyone who practices without a license, or violates other provisions of 

the hairdresser and cosmetician law for which no other penalty is 
provided, is subject to a $100 fine for a first offense.  A subsequent  
offense is a class D misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in prison, 
a fine of up to $250, or both (CGS § 20-265).   

 
DPH can revoke the license of a person convicted of violating any 

provision of the hairdresser and cosmetician law.  The department can 
also take its full range of disciplinary action against a licensee for (1) 
fraud or deception in obtaining a license; (2) drug or alcohol abuse; (3) 
fraud or material deception in professional services or activities; (4) 
physical, emotional, or mental illness or loss of motor skill; and (5) 
illegal, incompetent, or negligent conduct in professional activities.  DPH 
must give notice and an opportunity for a hearing before revoking or 
suspending a license (CGS § 20-263).   

BILLS CONCERNING HAIRDRESSERS LICENSED OR TRAINED OUT-
OF-STATE 

 
There were three bills introduced since 2003 concerning hairdressers 

licensed or trained out-of-state; all three were enacted into law. In 2003, 
proposed bill HB 6359 allowed cosmeticians licensed in a U.S. 
commonwealth to be licensed without examination.  The bill was drafted 
as a committee bill and enacted into law as PA 03-32.  The act allowed 
currently practicing hairdressers and cosmeticians licensed in any U.S. 
commonwealth or territory to obtain a Connecticut license without taking 
the state’s licensing exam if the commonwealth or territory (1) had 
licensing requirements at least equivalent to Connecticut’s and (2) 
provided reciprocal privileges to Connecticut licensees. 
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In 2004, PA 04-221 (SB 569) changed the requirements for 
hairdressers and cosmeticians licensed out-of-state seeking licensure by 
endorsement.  If the test the applicant took in the other jurisdiction was 
not in English, the act required him or her to pass an English proficiency 
exam DPH prescribed. It allowed applicants who trained in a jurisdiction 
that required fewer than the 1,500 hours that Connecticut requires to 
substitute up to 500 hours of licensed work.  

 
The act also removed requirements that (1) a licensure by 

endorsement applicant be currently practicing and competent and (2) the 
other jurisdiction extend licensure by endorsement to Connecticut 
hairdressers and cosmeticians.  

 
The act specified that, for applicants who were trained out-of-state 

and seeking licensure by examination, the school’s requirements had to 
at least equal those required by Connecticut schools. It repealed a 
provision that granted license applicants who trained in out-of-state 
schools equivalent to Connecticut’s credit for that training and for their 
licensed work.  

 
In 2010, SB 429 was enacted into law as PA 10-117.  The act removed 

the requirement that applicants currently licensed as a hairdresser and 
cosmetician in another state, the District of Columbia, or a U.S. 
commonwealth or territory complete at least 1,500 hours of formal 
education and training in order to obtain a Connecticut license. It 
instead required these applicants to have successfully completed a 
hairdressing and cosmetician education and training program. It 
retained the existing requirement that applicants also successfully pass 
an examination in the jurisdiction in which they are currently licensed.  

LINKS 
 
DPH, Hairdresser Licensure (last visited August 13, 2013): 

http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389338&dphNav_GID
=1821 
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