
Office of Legislative Research 
Connecticut General Assembly 

 

 OLR ACTS AFFECTING 
 

   

 
Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 

Sandra Norman-Eady, Director 
Phone (860) 240-8400 
FAX (860) 240-8881 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

 

Room 5300 
Legislative Office Building 

Hartford, CT 06106-1591 
Olr@cga.ct.gov 

 

 

TOWN CLERKS 
 

 
 

2013-R-0311 
 

Terrance Adams, Legislative Analyst II 
 

August 14, 2013 



   
August 14, 2013 Page 2 of 11 OLR Special 

 

NOTICE TO READERS 
 

This report provides highlights of new laws affecting town clerks 
enacted during the 2013 regular legislative session.  

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries 

of all 2013 public acts passed will be available when OLR’s Public Act 
Summary book is published; some are already available on OLR’s 
webpage: http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 
General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 
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ELECTIONS 
 
Amended Election Returns 

A new law requires head 
moderators, registrars of voters, 
and town clerks in towns with 
more than one voting district to 
meet within seven days after a 
regular state election to identify 
any errors in the moderator’s 
“election night returns” (i.e., 
returns showing total town votes 
for each candidate). It also 
requires moderators to correct 
any error and file an amended 
return with the secretary of the 
state and registrars no later than 
14 days after the election. 

(PA 13-296, effective January 
1, 2014) 

 
Ballots 

A new law prohibits a 
candidate from being cross- 
endorsed by a major or minor 
party unless a candidate for 
statewide office, belonging to the 
endorsing minor party, received 
at least 15,000 votes at the 
previous state election. It also 
requires the word “party” to 
appear after the names of 
political parties and party 
designations on the ballot. For 
cross-endorsement purposes, 
statewide office candidates are 
those for governor, secretary of 
the state, treasurer, comptroller, 
and attorney general. 

(PA 13-180, §§ 38-40, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Campaign Finance 

By law, town clerks are the 
filing repository for campaign 
finance statements from certain 
political committees (known as 
PACs) and municipal office 
candidates. 

This year the legislature made 
numerous changes to campaign 
finance laws. Among other 
things, the act: 

1. authorizes persons, not 
only individuals, entities, 
and committees, to make 
unlimited independent 
expenditures (IEs); 

2. authorizes persons to 
accept unlimited covered 
transfers, which the act 
defines; 

3. changes reporting and 
disclaimer requirements for 
IEs and establishes them 
for covered transfers; 

4. specifies that political 
committees do not have to 
register with the State 
Elections Enforcement 
Commission (SEEC) if they 
will make only IEs; 

5. expands contribution and 
expenditure exemptions; 

6. raises various contribution 
limits;  

7. eliminates certain periodic 
campaign finance reporting 
requirements for specified 
candidates and 
committees; and 

8. extends the deadline by 
which treasurers must 
deposit contributions in 
their committee’s 
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depository account from 14 
to 20 days after receiving 
them. 

(PA 13-180, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Delivery of Absentee Ballots 

Existing law requires town 
clerks to deliver absentee ballots 
to registrars of voters for 
checking at specified times (e.g., 
12 p.m. and 6 p.m.) throughout 
the day of a primary, election, or 
referendum. A new law 
authorizes clerks and registrars 
to mutually agree on a later time 
or times, as long as the ballots 
are delivered by the close of polls 
(i.e., 8:00 p.m.). If they do not 
agree on a later time, the clerks 
must deliver the ballots 
according to the schedule 
existing law sets. 

(PA 13-295, effective July 1, 
2013) 

 
Electors’ Changes of Address 

A new law requires electors 
who move within the same 
municipality and want to transfer 
their voter registration to their 
new address to submit to the 
registrars of voters a new voter 
registration application. 
Previously, they had to submit a 
signed request that included 
their new and old addresses and 
the date they moved. 

(PA 13-290, effective July 1, 
2013) 

 

No Excuse Absentee Voting and 
Moderator’s Returns 

The legislature passed a 
resolution that proposes a 
constitutional amendment to (1) 
remove restrictions on voting by 
absentee ballot and (2) permit a 
person to vote without appearing 
at a polling place on Election 
Day. The resolution also lifts the 
constitutional deadlines by which 
the lists of results (i.e., 
moderator’s returns) for state 
officers and General Assembly 
members must be delivered to 
town clerks and the secretary of 
the state (within three and 10 
days after an election, 
respectively). The statutory 
deadlines remain in place (CGS § 
9-314). 

The resolution will appear on 
the 2014 general election ballot. 
If a majority of those voting in 
the general election approves the 
amendment, it will become part 
of the state constitution. 

(RA 13-1, referred to the 2014 
general election ballot) 
 
Timing of Certain Municipal 
Special Elections 

By law, a special municipal 
election held to fill a vacancy or a 
newly created office may be 
convened by the board of 
selectman or upon application of 
20 electors. In the latter case, a 
new public act creates an 
exception to the election 
calendar. Specifically, it 
authorizes the secretary of the 
state to combine the special 
election with a regular municipal 
election when the special election 
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would fall 30 days or fewer before 
the regular election. The act thus 
extends, from 150 to 180 days, 
the maximum length of the 
election calendar in these cases.  

The act does not otherwise 
affect special municipal election 
calendar requirements (e.g., time 
for party endorsements and a 
primary). 

(PA 13-260, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Use of Community Notification 
Systems for Upcoming 
Referenda 

A new public act authorizes 
municipalities that maintain a 
community notification system 
to, at the direction of the chief 
elected official, use it to notify 
enrolled residents of an 
upcoming referendum. The notice 
must be limited to (1) the 
referendum’s date and time, (2) 
the question that will appear on 
the ballot, and (3) any 
explanatory text that the town 
clerk prepared and municipal 
attorney approved describing the 
question’s intent and purpose. 
The act prohibits the notice from 
advocating for or against the 
success or defeat of a referendum 
question.  

Other than for the notice 
described above, the act 
prohibits people from using, or 
authorizing the use of, municipal 
funds to send residents 
unsolicited communication by 
electronic or automated means to 
remind or encourage them to 
vote in a referendum. This 
prohibition does not apply to a 

regularly published newsletter or 
similar publication. 

The act authorizes SEEC, 
after providing opportunity for a 
hearing, to impose a civil penalty 
of up to twice the amount of any 
improper expenditure or $1,000, 
whichever is greater, on a person 
who violates the prohibition on 
using municipal funds. A public 
employee who receives such a 
penalty cannot receive 
reimbursement from the state or 
municipality.  

(PA 13-247, § 386, effective 
upon passage) 

 
Voting by Members of the 
Military Serving Overseas 

A new law requires the 
secretary of the state, in 
consultation with the Military 
Department, to select a method 
for members of the armed forces 
stationed abroad and their family 
members living with them to 
return their voted overseas 
absentee ballots for any election 
or primary held after September 
1, 2014. The method must (1) 
give due consideration to ballot 
security and privacy and (2) 
ensure that the municipality 
receives the ballot before the 
polls close, when the voter 
properly uses the method.  

The secretary must submit a 
report to the Veterans’ Affairs 
and Government Administration 
and Elections committees by 
January 1, 2014 describing the 
method and legislative changes 
necessary for its implementation. 

(PA 13-185, effective upon 
passage) 
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LAND RECORDS 
 
Certificate of Revocation 

A new law requires the energy 
and environmental protection 
commissioner to issue a 
certificate of revocation when he 
revokes a final order to abate 
water pollution or correct 
potential sources of the pollution. 
He must record the certificate on 
the land records in the town 
where the land at issue is located 
and send a certified copy of it to 
the landowner. Existing law 
applies the same requirements to 
certificates of compliance. 

(PA 13-209, § 11, effective 
October 1, 2013) 

 
Use Restrictions 

As an alternative to 
environmental land use 
restrictions (ELURs), a new 
public act allows property owners 
to execute and record a notice of 
activity and use limitations 
(NAUL) in municipal land 
records. Like ELURs, NAULs are 
legal instruments used to 
prohibit activities that could 
increase the risk of people being 
exposed to contamination. 

Property owners may execute 
and record ELURs in the land 
records for the same reasons as 
NAULs—to minimize human 
exposure to environmentally 
contaminated property, but the 
act allows them to do so for 
broader reasons. 

By law, property owners 
cannot record an ELUR unless 
each person holding an interest 
in the property irrevocably 

subordinates their interest in it. 
Under the act, a property owner 
can record a NAUL without the 
interest holders agreeing to 
subordinate their interest, but 
must notify them before 
recording a NAUL.  

Another difference concerns 
recording deadlines. By law, 
property owners must record an 
ELUR within seven days after its 
execution. The act imposes no 
deadline on recording NAULs. 
Lastly, foreclosures, by law, do 
not extinguish ELURs, while 
such actions, under the act, 
extinguish NAULs. 

(PA 13-308, §§ 33-36, 
effective October 1, 2013) 

PROPERTY ACQUISITIONS 
 
Surplus State Property 

Under prior law, if state 
property were determined to be 
surplus, the state had to first 
offer to sell it to the municipality 
in which it is located, subject to 
conditions of sale acceptable to 
the state. A new law instead 
requires that the state offer to 
convey the property to the 
municipality (e.g., sell, lease, 
exchange, or enter into 
agreements concerning it) and 
establishes procedures and 
deadlines for completing the 
transaction. To accept the 
property, the municipality must 
(1) by a vote of its legislative 
body, accept the conveyance and 
(2) deliver a resolution of the 
action, verified by the town clerk, 
to the administrative services 
commissioner. 
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The new law also requires that 
the municipality receive at least 
six months’ notice of state 
property that is expected to 
become surplus. 

(PA 13-263, § 1, effective July 
1, 2013) 

RECORDS 
 
Birth Certificates 

A new law allows certified 
homeless youth and emancipated 
minors to access or receive their 
birth certificates. The youth must 
appear in person, accompanied 
by the person certifying him or 
her as homeless, and present a 
written request to:  

1. the town clerk’s office in 
the town where the youth 
was born;  

2. the town clerk’s office in 
the town where the youth’s 
mother resided at the time 
of birth;  

3. any town clerk in the state 
with access to the 
electronic vital records 
system, if the birth 
certificate was filed 
electronically; or 

4. the Department of Public 
Health’s Vital Records 
Office.  

The act requires the certified 
homeless youth to present to 
DPH or the clerk sufficient 
identifying information as DPH 
regulations may require. The 

person certifying the youth as 
homeless must also present 
sufficient identifying information 
to indicate that he or she meets 
the certification requirements. 

(PA 13-142, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Department of Consumer 
Protection (DCP) Boards 

The law requires certain DCP 
boards to (1) biennially furnish a 
copy of a roster with everyone 
licensed or registered by them to 
each town clerk and (2) notify the 
clerks of any deletion from the 
roster within five days of the 
deletion. A new law allows the 
boards to fulfill these 
requirements by posting the 
rosters and deletions on DCP’s 
website. 

The boards are those for 
Electrical Work; Heating, Piping, 
Cooling, and Sheet Metal Work; 
Plumbing and Piping Work; 
Elevator Installation, Repair, and 
Maintenance; Fire Protection 
Sprinkler Systems; and 
Automotive Glass and Flat Glass 
Work. 

(PA 13-196, § 3, effective 
upon passage) 

TAXES AND FEES 
 
Board of Assessment Appeals 

Existing law allows a taxpayer 
aggrieved by a board of 
assessment appeals’ decision to 
appeal to the Superior Court. 
Under prior law, if the court 
reduced the taxpayer’s 
assessment, the town had to 
reimburse the taxpayer or grant 
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a tax credit for the overpayment, 
plus interest and costs. A new 
law excludes from this 
reimbursement or tax credit 
recording fees assessed by the (1) 
tax collector for preparing the tax 
lien certificate and (2) town clerk 
for recording the liens on the 
land records. 

(PA 13-276, § 5, effective 
October 1, 2013) 

 
Notice of Tax Sale 

The law requires a tax 
collector selling property though 
a tax sale to provide a series of 
notices of the sale. Prior law 
required the collector to (1) file a 
notice with the town clerk, who 
recorded it in the land records; 
(2) post it on a signpost, if any, in 
the town where the real estate is 
located or at some other exterior 
place near the town clerk’s office; 
and (3) publish a notice at least 
once a week for three consecutive 
weeks in a newspaper published 
in the town, or, if one was not 
available, in a newspaper 
published in the state having 
general circulation in the town.  

A new law (1) specifies that 
the recording serves as 
constructive notice equivalent to 
a lis pendens (a notice of an 
impending lawsuit affecting the 
property that is filed in the land 
records and binds future 
property owners to the suit’s 
consequences) for all purposes; 
(2) requires the collector to post 
the notice on a bulletin board in 
or near his or her office, rather 
than on a signpost; and (3) 

allows the collector to publish the 
notice in either type of 
newspaper. 

(PA 13-276, §§ 30-34, 
effective October 1, 2013) 
 
Notices of Taxes Due 

A new law requires tax 
collectors to post notice of the 
time and place at which they will 
receive taxes on a signpost, 
bulletin board, or the 
municipality’s website. Prior law 
required them to post the notice 
on a signpost located in the 
municipality, or, if there was no 
such signpost, (1) on a signpost 
located in the town within which 
the municipality is located or (2) 
at some other exterior place near 
the town clerk’s office. By law, 
they must also publish the notice 
in a newspaper. 

(PA 13-276, § 22, effective 
October 1, 2013) 
 
Recording Fees 

A new public act (1) increases 
the fees a “nominee of a 
mortgagee” must pay to town 
clerks when recording certain 
documents, including warranty 
deeds, quitclaim deeds, mortgage 
deeds, or mortgage assignments, 
and (2) specifies how the fee 
revenue must be allocated. Under 
prior law, anyone recording these 
documents paid $10 for 
recording the first page and $5 
for each additional page. They 
also paid $2 for each mortgage 
assignment after the first two 
assignments. The recording party 
had to pay separate $3 and $40 
recording surcharges, a portion 
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of which is remitted to the state 
and used to capitalize various 
accounts.  

The act establishes, for 
nominees, a new recording fee 
schedule that depends on 
whether or not the nominee 
either appears as the assignor in 
the mortgage assignment or 
releases the mortgage. If the 
nominee appears as the assignor 
or releases the mortgage, there is 
a flat $159 fee for the entire 
assignment or release, including 
the fees required under prior law. 
For any other document, the fee 
is $116 for the first page, $5 for 
each additional page, $2 for each 
mortgage assignment after the 

first two assignments, plus a $43 
recording surcharge. The act also 
specifies how the fees collected 
from nominees must be 
allocated, as Table 1 shows. 

Under the act, a “nominee of a 
mortgagee” is any person who (1) 
serves as mortgagee for a 
mortgage loan that is registered 
in a national electronic database 
that tracks changes in mortgage 
servicing and ownership interests 
in residential mortgage loans on 
behalf of its members and (2) is a 
nominee or agent for the 
promissory note’s owner or the 
note’s subsequent buyer, 
transferee, or owner. 

 
 

Table 1: Nominee Fee Revenue Allocation Requirements 
 

Document State Share Municipal Share 
Any document recorded by a 
nominee, except mortgage 
assignments in which nominee 
appears as assignor or releases 
the mortgage 

$110, of which: 
1. $74 goes to the General 

Fund and  
2. $36 to the Community 

Investment Account  

$49, of which: 
1. $39 goes to the 

municipality’s general 
revenue and  

2. $10 to the town clerk’s fund 
 
Town also keeps any fees  
for additional pages 

Mortgage assignment in which 
nominee appears as assignor or 
releases the mortgage 

$127, of which:  
1. $31 goes to the General 

Fund,  
2. $36 to the Community 

Investment Account, and  
3. $60 to the State Banking 

Fund for Foreclosure 
Mediation Program until 
October 1, 2014 

$32, which goes to the  
municipality’s general  
revenue 

(PA 13-247, §§ 81 & 82, effective July 15, 2013. Please note that PA 
13-184, §§ 97 & 98 made nearly identical changes effective July 1, 
2013.) 
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Tax Account Numbers 
A new act conforms law to 

practice by requiring that the tax 
assessor or rate maker, rather 
than the town clerk or rate 
maker, assign a number for each 
tax account. 

(PA 13-276, § 13, effective 
October 1, 2013) 
 
TA:ro 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 


