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NOTICE TO READERS 
 

 
This report summarizes the laws enacted during the 2013 regular 

session (i.e., public acts (PAs)) that affect the ability of many different 
kinds of businesses to expand and create jobs. It does not summarize 
acts that affect only specific types of businesses.    

 
In summarizing acts affecting business and jobs, the report provides 

enough information to help readers decide whether to obtain the more 
detailed OLR analysis of an act or its full text. Readers can obtain the 
former at www.cga.ct.gov/olr; they can obtain the act’s full text at 
www.cga.ct.gov or from the Connecticut State Library or the House 
Clerk’s Office.  
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ARMED FORCES SERVICE 
MEMBERS AND VETERANS 
Military Leave 

 
Employees serving in the state 

armed forces taking time from 
their jobs to perform ordered 
military duty now enjoy the same 
protections as those serving in 
the U.S. armed forces reserves or 
the National Guard. Ordered 
military duty now includes any 
such duty, not just meetings and 
drills.  

(PA 13-49, effective October 1, 
2013)  
 
Veterans STEP Expanded 

 
Employers hiring any 

honorably discharged U.S. armed 
forces members who served for at 
least 90 days, regardless of 
whether that time was spent in 
combat, now qualify for wage 
subsidies and training grants 
under the Labor Department’s 
Unemployed Armed Forces 
Subsidized Training and 
Employment Program.  

(PA 13-63, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Veteran-Owned Small Business 
Registry 

 
DECD must establish and 

maintain a registry of small 
businesses owned and controlled 
by veterans, including those with 
service-related disabilities. 

(PA 13-247, § 134, effective 
upon passage) 

BUSINESS LAW AND PRACTICE 
Professional Engineer Licenses 

 
Consumer Protection 

Department regulations must 
now allow licensed professional 
engineers to (1) surrender their 
licenses to the State Board of 
Examiners for Professional 
Engineers and Land Surveyors 
while living and working outside 
Connecticut and (2) get a new 
license without having to pay the 
annual $225 renewal fee for the 
hiatus period if they return and 
want to resume working here.  

(PA 13-216, effective upon 
passage)  
 
Diesel Sales  

 
Under a new law, anyone 

selling diesel must publicly 
display and maintain the 
minimum cetane number on 
each diesel pump or other 
dispensing device intended as 
fuel for motor boats or vehicles or 
risk paying a fine that can range 
from $50 to $250.  

(PA 13-270, effective January 
1, 2014) 
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Citing Statutory Authority for 
Regulatory Actions  

 
All state agencies taking 

certain regulatory actions under 
the Uniform Administrative 
Procedure Act must cite the legal 
authority for their actions.  

(PA 13-279, effective October 
1, 2013)  

CAMPAIGN FINANCING 

The changes made to the 
campaign finance laws include:  

1. authorizing persons, not 
only individuals, entities, 
and committees, to make 
unlimited independent 
expenditures (IEs);  

2. authorizing persons to 
accept unlimited covered 
transfers;  

3. changing reporting and 
disclaimer requirements for 
IEs and establishing them 
for covered transfers;  

4. specifying that political 
committees do not have to 
register with State 
Elections Enforcement 
Commission (SEEC) if they 
will make only IEs;  

5. expanding contribution 
and expenditure 
exemptions;  

6. raising various 
contribution limits; 

7. increasing maximum 
penalties for failure to file 
IE reports and knowing 
and willful campaign 
finance violations; and  

8. authorizing SEEC to waive 
penalties associated with 
certain reports that were 
due in January 2012 and 
modifing what constitutes 
a timely filing.  

(PA 13-180, effective upon 
passage) 

CONSUMER PROTECTION 

Price Gouging  
 
The legislature extended the 

ban on excessive price increases 
to goods and services sold during 
any state-proclaimed weather 
emergency. The ban applies to 
goods and services necessary for 
consumer health, safety, or 
welfare and used primarily for 
personal, family, or household 
purposes.  The ban does not 
apply to gasoline stations and 
other energy resource sellers 
already covered under a different 
price gouging law.  

(PA 13-175, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Consumer Protection 

 
The legislature made many 

unrelated changes to the 
consumer protection laws, 
including:  

1. allowing online posting of 
regulations and rosters of 
certain registered or 
licensed professionals to 
fulfill certain publishing 
and distribution 
requirements,  
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2. allowing permit and license 
applicants with lapsed 
licenses to apply for 
reinstatement to the 
appropriate Department of 
Consumer Protection 
board,  

3. extending certain 
consumer protections to 
buying clubs that offer 
services, and  

4. imposing home 
improvement contractor 
penalties on people who 
propose or offer to do work 
without a certificate.  

(PA 13-196, effective upon 
passage)  

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Collateral Requirement 
 
Under a new law, businesses 

awarded grants under the Small 
Business Express and other 
economic development programs 
no longer have to provide 
collateral.  

(PA 13-45, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Electronic Business Portal 

 
Under a new law, any 

electronic business portal the 
Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) 
creates must, among other 
things, complement the online 
business assistance information 
the Connecticut Economic 
Resource Center provides and 
allow municipalities to promote 

their economic development 
resources.  

(PA 13-46, effective October 1, 
2013)  

 
Encouraging Exports 

 
DECD can give priority for 

economic development assistance 
to businesses seeking to export 
their products or services to 
foreign markets.  

(PA 13-56, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Bonds for Economic 
Development 

 
The legislature authorized up 

to (1) $100 million in bonds for 
the Small Business Express 
(Loan) Program ($50 million 
effective July 1, 2013 and $50 
million effective July 1, 2014) 
and (2) $30 million in bonds for 
brownfield remediation ($20 
million effective July 1, 2013 and 
$10 million effective July 1, 
2014).  

(PA 13-239)   
 

Bioscience Innovation  
 
The legislature established the 

Connecticut Bioscience 
Innovation Fund to finance a 
wide range of commercially viable 
bioscience projects and 
authorized up to $200 million in 
bonds over 10 years to fund 
them.  

(PA 13-239, §§ 70-73, 
effective upon passage) 
 



   
August 6, 2013 Page 9 of 19 2013-R-0249 

 

Property Tax Incentives for 
New Development 

 
The legislature reduced, from 

$25,000 to $10,000, the 
minimum investment a developer 
must make to qualify for a 
property tax exemption 
municipalities may offer, and 
made it easier for them to 
designate areas where they can 
defer increases in property values 
attributable to new construction.   

(PA 13-246, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
“First Five” Program Extension 

 
The legislature extended the 

First Five Program by two years, 
from June 30, 2013 to June 30, 
2015.  Under the program DECD 
can provide substantial financial 
assistance for business 
development projects that can 
create jobs and invest funds 
within specified timeframes.  

(PA 13-247, § 132, effective 
July 1, 2013) 
 
Filming Permit 

 
A new law allows the 

transportation commissioner to 
issue permits for filming movies 
on state highway right-of-way or 
property in Transportation 
Department custody or control. 
The state is not liable for injuries 
or damages to any person or 
property resulting from these 
activities.   

(PA 13-277, § 4, effective 
October 1, 2013) 

Brownfield Remediation  
 
A new law consolidating and 

reorganizing the state’s 
brownfield cleanup programs 
allows developers to use funds to 
reduce blight and relieves them 
of the statutory penalties for (1) 
relocating out of Connecticut 
within 10 years after receiving 
economic development assistance 
and (2) failing to create or retain 
the number of jobs stipulated in 
the assistance agreements.   

(PA 13-308, most provisions 
effective July 1, 2013; see Land 
Use and Environment for other 
brownfield related laws) 

ENERGY  

Commercial Property Assessed 
Clean Energy Program 
Expansion 

 
District heating and cooling 

and solar thermal or geothermal 
system projects now qualify for 
financing under the Commercial 
Property Assessed Clean Energy 
(C-PACE) program.  

(PA 13-116, effective upon 
passage)  
 
Utility Law Changes  

 
The legislature made several 

unrelated energy law changes, 
including:  

1. requiring electric suppliers 
to notify residential 
customers about rate 
changes 30 to 60 days 
before their fixed term 
expires,  
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2. imposing disclosure 
requirements on suppliers 
offering power generated 
from renewable energy 
sources,  

3. transferring several 
regulatory powers from the 
Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection 
(DEEP) to the Public 
Utilities Regulatory 
Authority (PURA),  

4. extending PURA’s deadline 
for  issuing preliminary 
findings on utility company 
employees alleging 
whistleblower retaliation, 
and  

5. allowing it to hold multiple 
hearings on proposed rate 
amendments.  

(PA 13-119, effective October 
1, 2013, except for whistleblower 
protections and other specified 
provisions, which take effect 
upon passage) 

 
Electric Generation Tax 

 
The legislature extended the 

temporary tax on electric 
generation facilities for an 
additional three months, from 
July 1, 2013 to October 1, 2013.   

(PA 13-184, § 76, effective 
upon passage)  

FINANCE, INSURANCE, AND 
REAL ESTATE 
Insurance Coverage for Autism 
Spectrum Disorders 

 
A new law requires certain 

health insurance policies to at 
least maintain current benefit 
levels for insureds diagnosed 
with autism spectrum disorder 
before the (fifth) edition of the 
Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders was 
released (i.e., May 2013). This 
requirement applies to individual 
and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, 
renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut that cover (1) 
basic hospital expenses; (2) basic 
medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an 
HMO plan.  

(PA 13-84, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Connecticut Uniform 
Securities Act Changes 

 
Among other things, a new 

law alters which securities are 
exempt from registering and 
filing certain sales materials for 
prospective investors with the 
banking commissioner and 
specifies the notice and fee 
closed-end companies must 
provide to him when offering 
securities here.  

(PA 13-106, effective October 
1, 2013)  
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Property and Casualty 
Insurance Policies and Public 
Adjuster Contracts  

 
A new law (1) bans insurers 

from declining, cancelling, or 
failing to renew a homeowner 
policy or increasing its cost in 
several circumstances and (2) 
requires policies covering real 
property ensure that the replaced 
surroundings of a damaged item 
match the item’s quality and 
kind.  It also increases the time 
for insureds to rescind contracts 
with public adjusters and 
requires cancelation provisions to 
appear on a contract’s first page.  

(PA 13-138, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Deadline for Filing Enterprise 
Risk Reports  

 
Insurers have until June 1, 

2014 to file their first enterprise 
risk reports, which, by law, must 
identify any circumstance 
involving one or more of their 
affiliates that could harm an 
insurer’s financial condition or 
liquidity or that of its holding 
company system.  

(PA 13-147, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Mediation Program for 
Insurance Claim Disputes 

 
A new Insurance Department 

program allows insureds and 
insurance companies to settle 
claim disputes involving losses 

from catastrophic events 
occurring during a 
gubernatorialy declared state of 
emergency.  

(PA 13-148, effective October 
1, 2013) 

(See also Taxes and Fees for 
more laws affecting insurance)  

GOVERNMENT CONTRACTING 

Municipal Contracting  
 
A new law gives municipalities 

more flexibility when procuring 
goods and services by increasing, 
from $7,500 to $25,000, the 
maximum value of contracts or 
purchases they can exempt, by 
ordinance, from sealed bidding 
procedures.  

(PA 13-71, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Metropolitan District 
Commission (MDC) Set-aside 
Contracts 

 
The Hartford region MDC 

must now participate in the 
state’s small and minority 
business set-aside program, and 
MDC contracts must include the 
same nondiscrimination 
provisions used in state 
contracts. 

(PA 13-247, § 24, effective 
July 1, 2013) 



   
August 6, 2013 Page 12 of 19 2013-R-0249 

 

HOUSING 

Paying Rent by Electronic 
Transfer 

 
For residential leases or rental 

agreements executed on or after 
October 1, 2013, landlords 
cannot require tenants to pay 
rent or security deposits by 
electronic funds transfer. 

(PA 13-35, effective October 1, 
2013)  

LABOR 

Income Tax Withholding 
 
A Connecticut employer can 

now withhold a portion of an 
employee’s wages as required by 
another state’s income tax laws if 
the employee (1) works for the 
employer in the other state or (2) 
resides in the other state, 
regardless of whether the other 
state has a reciprocal agreement 
with Connecticut.  

(PA 13-8, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Expanded Mandated Reporter 
Protections 

 
The legislature extended 

mandated reporter protections by 
prohibiting employers from 
hindering or preventing, or 
attempting to hinder or prevent, 
covered employees from making 
good faith efforts to report child 
abuse or neglect or testify in a 
proceeding regarding such 
allegations. It also prohibits 
employers from discharging, 

disciplining, or otherwise 
penalizing such employees for 
reporting suspected child abuse 
or neglect.  

(PA 13-53, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Minimum Wage Increase  

 
The legislature increased the 

hourly minimum wage from 
$8.25 to $8.70 on January 1, 
2014 and from $8.70 to $9.00 on 
January 1, 2015. It also 
increased the “tip credit” in each 
of those years to keep the 
employer’s share of (1) hotel and 
wait staff's wages at its current 
$5.69 and (2) bartenders’ wages 
at its current $7.34.  

(PA 13-117, effective July 1, 
2013) 

 
Miscellaneous Labor Law 
Changes 

 
Changes to the labor laws 

include:  
1. requiring the Labor 

Department to share 
unemployment information 
with nonpublic entities 
hired to administer the 
unemployment system and 
third parties with the 
written consent of the 
individual or employer to 
whom the information 
pertains; 

2. eliminating the ban on 
awarding state contracts to 
people or businesses the 
Labor Department listed as 
volating the National Labor 
Relations Act or being in 
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contempt of court for 
failing to remedy violations 
at least three times over 
five years; and  

3. eliminating several 
reporting requirements, 
including employer reports 
on the Family Medical 
Leave Act’s effects.  

(PA 13-140, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Electronically Filing Quarterly 
Unemployment Tax Returns  

 
Beginning with 2014’s first 

calendar quarter, all employers 
subject to the state’s 
unemployment law, or their 
reporting agents, must submit 
their quarterly wage reports to 
the Labor Department on 
magnetic tape, diskette, or other 
electronic means the department 
prescribes. Employers or agents 
that directly reimburse the 
unemployment system for 
benefits paid to former employees 
(e.g., state and local 
governments) must pay 
electronically.  

(PA 13-141, effective January 
1, 2014) 

 
Employee Access to Personnel 
Files  

 
The legislature set some new 

ground rules regarding employee 
files and records. It specified how 
quickly employers must provide 
access to personnel files and 
required them to give employees 
copies of documents pertaining 
to any disciplinary action or 

termination. It also required 
employers to notify employees 
that they can place in their files 
statements disagreeing with any 
information in a disciplinary, 
termination, or evaluation 
document. Businesses violating 
these ground rules face penalties 
of up to $500 for first violations 
and up to $1,000 for subsequent 
ones.  

(PA 13-176, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Employer Electronic 
Notification 

 
Employers must electronically 

notify the labor commissioner 
within 30 days (1) after becoming 
subject to the state’s 
unemployment law and (2) 
acquiring substantially all of the 
assets of an another employer 
subject to that law. Employers 
failing to comply with these 
notice requirements face a $50 
per violation civil penalty. 

(PA 13-288, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Quarterly Wage Reports 

 
Employers must pay a $25 fee 

if they fail to submit their 
required quarterly wage reports 
under a proper state 
unemployment compensation 
registration number. They must 
already pay a $25 fee if they fail 
to submit these reports in a 
timely manner.   
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(PA 13-288, effective October 
1, 2013) 

(See Workforce Development 
for more labor related laws)  

LAND USE AND ENVIRONMENT 

Selling Locally Grown Poultry 
in Connecticut Food Markets  

 
A new law allows certain 

poultry facilities to sell poultry to 
grocery stores and other retail 
food establishments. 

(PA 13-38, effective upon 
passage)  

 
Mattress Stewardship Program  

 
A new law requires mattress 

producers to take the lead in 
managing discarded mattresses. 
Producers must form a nonprofit 
recycling council for this purpose 
and cover its costs with the 
proceeds of a new fee the state 
imposes on mattresses sold in 
Connecticut. Producers that do 
not participate in this program 
cannot sell mattresses here.  

(PA 13-42, effective October 1, 
2014, except for the fee 
requirement, which takes effect 
July 1, 2014) 

 
Promoting Connecticut Food 
Products 

 
When purchasing or 

contracting for beef, pork, lamb, 
or farm-raised fish, the 
administrative services 
commissioner can now give 
preferences to such products 
produced or grown in 

Connecticut that cost about the 
same as those produced or grown 
out of state.  Also, the agriculture 
commissioner can promote, upon 
request, individual farmers’ 
markets.  

(PA 13-72, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Gasoline Vapor Recovery 
Systems  

 
In line with new technologies 

and federal regulatory changes, 
gas stations and other gasoline 
dispensing facilities no longer 
have to install stage II vapor 
recovery systems and must 
decommission the ones they have 
installed. Facilities with vapor I 
recovery systems must annually 
test them for pressure decay and 
comply with DEEP notice 
requirements. 

(PA 13-120, effective upon 
passage)  

 
Genetically Engineered Food  

 
Genetically engineered foods 

intended for human consumption 
and the seed or seed stock used 
to produce them must now be 
labeled as such under a new law, 
which goes into effect the 
October following the enactment 
of similar laws in four other 
states meeting specified criteria.  
After the law takes effect, 
violators face a daily fine of up to 
$1,000 per product, but retailers 
are liable only under certain 
conditions.  

(PA 13-183, effective October 
1, 2013) 
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Aquaculture and Seaweed 
Cultivation 

 
Aquaculture producers can 

now cultivate seaweed and other 
aquatic plants in Connecticut’s 
coastal waters, subject to 
Department of Agriculture 
licensing and inspection 
requirements.   

(PA 13-238, effective upon 
passage) 

 
On-site Sewage Disposal 
Systems  

 
A new law extends the permit 

and approval validity period to 
nine years for certain septic 
systems with a daily capacity of 
less than 5,000 gallons issued 
before July 1, 2011 and that 
have not expired by July 1, 2013.   

(PA 13-257, effective upon 
passage)  

 
Recycling  

 
Changes to the state’s solid 

waste management laws include: 
1. exempting certain solid 

waste and used material 
transporters from 
registration and reporting 
requirements applicable to 
solid waste collectors, 

2. increasing the information 
scrap metal processors 
must provide to the DEEP 
commissioner to be exempt 
from needing a solid waste 
facility permit, and  

3. broadening the scope of 
the law requiring certain 
organic materials 
generators to separate the 
materials from other solid 
waste and recycle them at 
composting facilities.   

(PA 13-285, most provisions 
effective October 1, 2013) 

 
Mitigating Environmental 
Hazards  

 
Among other things, a new 

law: 
1. expands the requirements 

for notifying DEEP and 
other parties about 
different types of 
environmental hazards,  

2. allows property owners to 
execute and record in local 
land records a notice of 
activity and use 
restrictions,  

3. establishes a new program 
protecting brownfield 
developers from liaiblity 
under specified conditions,  

4. sets conditions under 
which the DEEP 
commissioner must 
shorten his deadline for 
deciding whether he will 
audit a remediated site, 
and 

5. requires him to evaluate 
DEEP’s methods for 
assessing the risks 
environmental hazards 
pose.   

(PA 13-308, various effective 
dates) 
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TAXES AND FEES 

Business Tax Credits and 
Exemptions     

 
New laws made many changes 

to the state’s business tax credit 
programs. They: 

1. eliminate the credit for 
hiring temporary family 
assistance program 
recipients (PA 13-140, 
effective upon passage); 

2. extend to 2013 and 2014 
the temporary cap on the 
maximum insurance 
premium tax liability that 
an insurer may offset 
through tax credits, thus 
reimposing the lower cap 
on the film production and 
entertainment 
infrastructure credits that 
applied under existing law 
in 2011 (PA 13-184, § 70, 
effective July 1, 2013);  

3. with one exception, 
establish a two-year 
moratorium on film 
production tax credits for 
motion pictures for FYs 14 
and 15 (PA 13-247, § 129, 
effective July 1, 2013 and 
applicable to credits issued 
on or after that date);  

4. allows the DECD 
commissioner to pay 
taxpayers holding urban 
and industrial sites 
reinvestment tax credits for 
their credit eligibility 
certificates and authorizes 
up to $40 million in bonds 
for this purpose, $20 

million of which is 
available on July 1, 2014. 
(PA 13-184 § 95, effective 
July 1, 2013); 

5. exempts from the 
petroleum products gross 
earnings tax the (a) first 
sale of cosmetic grade 
mineral oil sold on or after 
July 1, 2013 (PA 232, §§ 
3&4, effective July 1, 2013) 
and (b) propane gas used 
for school bus fuel (PA 13-
247, § 66, effective July 1, 
2013);  

6. extends a credit against 
the petroleum products 
gross earnings tax to the 
first sale of petroleum 
products to a purchaser 
who then incorporates 
them into paint, coating, or 
adhesive material for use 
or sale outside Connecticut 
(PA 13-232, §§ 3&4, 
effective July 1, 2015 and 
applicable to quarterly 
periods beginning on or 
after than date); 

7. establishes the order in 
which insurers must claim 
multiple credits in a 
calender year (PA 13-232, 
§ 7, effective upon passage 
and applicable to calender 
years beginning on and 
after January 1, 2013); 

8. extend, from 15 years to 25 
years, the maximum period 
for carrying forward the 
credit for donating land for 
educational purposes (PA 
13-232, §§ 8&9, effective  
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July 1, 2013 and 
applicable to income years 
beginning on or after 
January 1, 2013); 

9. allows taxpayers to whom 
film infrastructure tax 
credits were assigned to 
carry them forward for up 
to three years (PA 13-232, 
§ 10, effective upon 
passage);   

10. allows the DECD 
commissioner to limit the 
period for claiming the 
three-year job expansion 
tax credits and imposes an 
aggregate credit cap for the 
years they may be claimed 
(PA 232, § 11, effective 
July 1, 2013); 

11. increases the credit for 
hiring manufacturing 
trades apprentices, from 
$4 to $6 per hour and 
raises the annual cap on 
the amount of credits 
businesses can claim per 
apprentice, from $4,800 or 
50% of the actual 
apprentice wages, 
whichever is less, to 
$7,500 or 50% of such 
wages, whichever is less 
(PA 13-265, effective July 
1, 2015 and applicable to 
income years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2015); 
and  

12. makes it easier for 
individuals and nonrprofit 
organizations to access the 
historic home 
rehabilitation tax credit, 
which they assign to 
businesses in exchange for 

contributrions (PA 13-266, 
effective July 1, 2015, and 
applicable to income years 
beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015). 

 
Tax Administration 

 
The legislature enacted 

several laws changing how the 
state administers various tax 
laws. PA 13-150:  

1. increases, from $500 to 
$1,000, the threshold for 
penalty waivers requiring 
Penalty Review Committee 
review and approval;  

2. imposes, on anyone 
conducting business 
without a sales tax permit, 
a civil penalty of $250 for 
the first day, and $100 for 
each subsequent day; and  

3. bars the commissioner 
from issuing or renewing 
certain permits and 
licenses for anyone he 
determines owes state 
taxes for which all 
administrative or judicial 
remedies have expired or 
been exhausted.  

(Effective July 1, 2013) 
PA 13-184, § 70, authorizes 

tax amnesty for individuals, 
business, and other types of 
taxpayers that owe Connecticut 
taxes (other than motor carrier 
road taxes) from September 16, 
2013 to November 15, 2013, 
applicable to any taxable period 
ending on or before November 
30, 2012.  

(Effective July 1, 2013) 
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Among other things, PA 13-
232: 

1. reduces the period during 
which the state must pay 
interest on overpayments 
of gift, estate, and gross 
earnings taxes (§§ 1&2 and 
5&6, effective July 1, 2013 
and applicable to refunds 
issued on or after that 
date); 

2. requires captive insurance 
companies to pay premium 
taxes on assumed 
reinsurance premiums by 
March 1 annually, rather 
than in March (§ 15, 
effective July 1, 2013); and  

3. permits insurance 
companies and HMOs to 
transfer to their affiliates 
an insurance premium tax 
credit that, under prior 
law, could not be 
transferred or assigned (§ 
17, effective July 1, 2015 
and applicable to calender 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015).  

(See Finance, Insurance, and 
Real Estate section for other laws 
affecting insurance.)  

 
Corporation Income Tax 
Surcharge 

 
The legislature extended the 

temporary 20% corporation 
income tax surcharge for two 
additional years, to the 2014 and 
2015 income years.  

(PA 13-184, §§ 73-74, 
effective upon passage) 

 

Sales and Use Tax on Boats 
 
The legislature (1) exempted 

from the sales and use tax boats 
docked in Connecticut for 60 
days or less and (2) reduced, 
from 7% to 6.35%, the sales and 
use tax rate on boats costing 
more than $100,000.  

(PA 13-184, §§ 77-78, 
effective July 1, 2013) 
 
Sales and Use Tax Exemption 
for Clothing and Footwear 

 
Starting June 1, 2015, the 

legislature exempted from the 
6.35% sales and use tax most 
clothing and footwear costing 
less than $50.  

(PA 13-184, § 79, effective 
July 1, 2013)  

 
Sales Tax Remittance Program 

 
For the taxable periods from 

October 1, 2013, to April 1, 
2014, the revenue services 
commissioner can require 
retailers and other taxpayers who 
fall behind in paying sales taxes 
to electronically remit the tax due 
on sales transacted with credit or 
debit cards or electronic transfer.  

(PA 13-184, §§ 80-81, 
effective July 1, 2013) 

 
Recording Fees 

 
A new law increases the fees a 

“nominee of a mortgage” must 
pay town clerks when recording 
warranty deeds, quitclaim deeds, 
mortgage deeds, and other 
mortgage documents.  
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(PA 13-184, §§ 97-98, 
effective July 1, 2013) 

TRANSPORTATION  

Vehicles Hauling Agricultural 
Commodities 

 
A new law potentially 

increases the maximum 
allowable weight of certain 
commercial vehicles traveling in 
Connecticut if Congress also 
allows this.  It specifically allows 
both (1) bulk milk tankers and 
(2) trucks hauling feed, seed, and 
other agricultural commodities, 
to have a gross vehicle weight of 
up to 100,000 pounds.  

(PA 13-277, effective October 
1, 2013) 

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT  

Individual Development 
Account (IDA) Program 
Changes 

 
People participating in the IDA 

program can use their accounts 
for more purposes, including 
education or job training and 
starting or joining a business. 
The program helps low-income 
people build assets by matching 
the amounts they save up to 
$3,000 per participant.  

(PA 13-140, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Incumbent Worker Training 
Program 

 
The legislature renamed the 

former Twenty-First Century Skill 
Training Program the Incumbent 

Worker Training Program and 
required half the program’s funds 
go to businesses that did not 
receiving funding during the 
three previous years.  

(PA 13-140, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Janitorial Work Pilot Program  

 
The legislature made 

permanent the 2006 janitorial 
work pilot program for people 
with a disability or a 
disadvantage, extending with 
some modifications, the pilot 
program’s existing requirements 
and establishing new ones and 
opening the program to the 
Board of Regents for Higher 
Education and the Judicial 
Branch.  

(PA 13-227, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Next Generation Connecticut  

 
A new law authorizing $1.551 

billion in bonds for capital 
improvements at UConn requires 
the university to consult with 
science, technology, engineering, 
and math-based industry leaders 
on where and how to spend these 
funds. 

(PA 13-233, effective July 1, 
2013)   

 
JR:ts 


