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DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE AND HIT AND RUN LAWS     

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal  Analyst 

 
 
You asked us to compare Connecticut’s hit and run and driving under 

the influence (DUI) laws with those of Maine, Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont. You also 
asked how many people were killed in Connecticut accidents involving (1) 
alcohol impairment and (2) hit and run drivers. We provide this 
information for 2011, the most recent year for which the data is readily 
available. 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut, as do the other states in our sample, requires motorists 
involved in accidents in which an injury occurs to immediately stop at or 
close to the scene, and provide others involved in the accident, and 
police, with certain information, such as the driver’s name and address 
and his or her license, registration, and insurance information. Some 
states, including Connecticut, require the driver to render reasonable 
necessary assistance to anyone injured in the crash. 

 
Connecticut and Rhode Island have the stiffest maximum monetary 

penalty for a hit and run violation, a $10,000 fine, which may be 
imposed when a death or serious injury (Connecticut) or death (Vermont) 
occurs.  Rhode Island and Vermont impose the longest prison term, 15 
years, in the event of a hit and run crash causing a death.   
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 In Connecticut, as in all other states, it is a crime to drive with a 
blood alcohol content level (BAC) at or above 0.08%. The penalties for 
violating this law in the eight states include fines, jail or prison terms, 
and license suspensions. Massachusetts’s law has both the highest 
possible fine for first offenders ($5,000) and the longest possible prison 
term (2 ½ years). 

 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s 

(NHTSA) Traffic Safety Facts, Connecticut, 2007-2011, (http://www-
nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/departments/nrd-
30/ncsa/STSI/9_CT/2011/9_CT_2011.PDF) there were 220 traffic 
fatalities in Connecticut in 2011. Of these, NHTSA classified 92, (about 
41%) as alcohol-impaired fatalities. NHTSA considers an alcohol-
impaired fatality one occuring in a crash involving a driver with a BAC of 
at least 0.08%. 

 
The NHTSA report does not specify which of the 220 deaths were 

caused by hit and run drivers. However, according to the state 
Department of Transportation, there were 10 hit and run deaths in 
Connecticut in 2011, six of whom were pedestrians. That means that just 
under one-quarter of the 26 pedestrian deaths in 2011 occurred in hit 
and run accidents.  

HIT AND RUN LAWS  

Below we summarize the hit and run penalties for crashes causing 
serious injury or death in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont. 
 
Connecticut   

 
Under Connecticut’s “evading responsibility” law, a driver knowingly 

involved in an accident which causes serious physical injury or the death 
of another must immediately stop, render necessary aid, and provide his 
or her name, address, and driver’s  license and registration information 
to the injured person, a police officer, or a person who witnessed the 
death or serious injury. If unable to do so for any reason, the driver must 
immediately report the death or injury and provide the required 
information to police or a motor vehicle inspector (CGS § 14-224 (a)). 

  
A person who fails to do so where serious injury or death occurred 

faces a fine of up to $10,000, between one and 10 years in prison, or 
both (CGS § 14-224 (f)). By law, a serious physical injury is one that  
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creates a substantial risk of death or causes serious (1) disfigurement, (2) 
impairment of  health, or (3) loss or impairment of the function of a 
bodily organ (CGS § 53a-3 (4)). There is a lesser penalty for accidents 
causing less serious injury.   

 
Maine 

 
 A driver involved in an accident resulting in a person’s injury or 

death must immediately stop at the scene or as close to it as possible 
and provide help and certain information to the injured person. Failure 
to do so is punishable by up to one year in prison. The prison term can 
be for up to five years if the driver intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly 
failed to comply with the law (Maine Rev. Stat. Title 29-A, § 2252 and 17-
A § 1252). 

 
Massachusetts 

 
 A driver who leaves the scene of an accident after knowingly colliding 

with or injuring another person faces, in the event of a person’s death, a 
(1) fine of between $1,000 and $5,000 and a state prison term of between 
2 ½ and 10 years or (2) fine of between $1,000 and $5,000 and a county 
jail term of between one and 2 ½ years. In either case there is a 
mandatory minimum sentence of one year. In the case of an injury, the 
driver faces imprisonment for between six months and two years and a 
fine of between $500 and $1,000 (Mass. Rev. Stat. Chapter 90, § 24 
(a1/2)). 

 
 New Hampshire 
 

A driver found guilty of failing to immediately stop and provide the 
required information at the scene of an accident in New Hampshire that 
resulted in death or personal injury faces up to seven years in prison 
(N.H. Stat. Title XXI Ch. 264:25, 264: 29 and Title LXII, Ch. 651:2).   
 
New Jersey 

 
Under New Jersey law, a driver knowingly involved in an accident 

resulting in injury or death must stop and provide information and 
assistance to the victim, including bringing an injured person for medical 
treatment. A driver who fails to do so faces a fine of between $2,500 and 
$5,000, imprisonment for up to 180 days, or both. The driver also loses 
his right to drive for one year for a first offense. A subsequent offense 
results in permanent loss of the driver’s license (N.J. Stat. § 39:4-129). 
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New York  

 
A driver who leaves the scene of an accident in New York that resulted 

in serious physical injury faces a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000 and 
up to four years in prison. A driver who leaves the scene of a crash where 
a death occurred faces a fine of between $2,000 and $5,000 and up to 
seven years in prison. There is a lesser penalty if the only violation a 
driver committed is failing to provide the required information  (N.Y. 
Vehicle and Traffic Laws § 600 and Penal Laws § 70). 
 
Rhode Island 

 
A driver who fails to stop and provide the required information and 

render aid where a serious injury occurred faces, for a first offense, a fine 
of between $1,000 and $5,000 and between one and 10 years in prison. 
In addition, his or her driver’s license may be revoked for up to two 
years. A driver who leaves the scene of an accident where there was a 
death faces a fine of between $5,000 and $10,000, a prison term of 
between two and 15 years, and revocation of his or her license for three 
years (R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 31-26-1 and 31-26-3).   
 
Vermont 

 
A driver who fails to stop, render any reasonable necessary assistance 

and provide the required information faces, in the case of a serious 
injury, a fine of up to $3,000, a prison term of five years, or both; in the 
case of a death, a fine of up to $3,000, one to 15 years in prison, or both 
(Vt. Stat. Title 23 § 1128). 

DUI LAWS 

According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), all 50 
states have laws making it a crime to drive with a BAC at or above 
0.08%. IIHS’s summary of state DUI laws as of May 2013 is available at:  
http://www.iihs.org/laws/dui.aspx. 

 
Below we briefly describe Connecticut’s DUI law and those of the 

other states in our sample. The descriptions for the other states generally 
include the penalties for first, second, and third offenses. In the interests 
of brevity, we do not include such aspects of DUI laws as alternative 
dispositions, administrative suspensions, alcohol and drug treatment  
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programs, ignition interlock requirements, specific penalties for drivers 
younger than age 21, or increased penalties for drivers with elevated BAC 
levels. We would be happy to provide you this information if you wish. It 
is also available in the links provided to the laws of each state.  
 
Connecticut   

 
Connecticut’s DUI law (CGS § 14-227a) prohibits a person from 

driving (1) while “under the influence” of alcohol or drugs or (2) with an 
“elevated” BAC. A person is under the influence if his or her ability to 
drive is affected to an appreciable degree. Whether a person has an 
elevated BAC depends on the driver’s age and the type of vehicle he or 
she is operating. Drivers over age 21 have an elevated BAC if it is found 
to be .08% or more. Drivers operating a commercial motor vehicle (e.g., a 
large truck) have an elevated BAC if it is .04% or more. Under CGS § 14-
227g, people younger than 21 have an elevated BAC if it is found to be 
.02% or more. The DUI law applies to drivers operating motor vehicles 
anywhere, including on their own property, and to people operating 
snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles (CGS § 14-227a (a)).   

 
Under CGS § 14-227b, drivers implicitly consent to be tested for 

drugs or alcohol. The statute establishes administrative license 
suspension procedures for drivers who refuse to submit to a test or 
whose test results indicate an elevated BAC.   

 
By law, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must impose 45-day 

license suspensions for drivers convicted of DUI. At the end of the 45-day 
period, these offenders can drive only vehicles equipped with ignition 
interlock devices for specified periods of time.  

 
Criminal DUI Penalties. As Table 1 shows, criminal penalties for DUI 

include fines, prison terms, and license suspensions. In assessing these 
penalties, the law considers a subsequent conviction one that occurs 
within 10 years of a prior conviction for the same offense (CGS § 14-
227a(g)).  

 
In practice, the first conviction of a driver for DUI is usually for the 

driver’s second violation. By law, a first offender charged with DUI may 
apply to the court for admission to the Pretrial Alcohol Education 
Program.  
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Table 1: DUI Criminal Penalties (CGS § 14-227a (g)) 
 

Conviction Prison Sentence Fine License Suspension 
First Either (1) up to six months with 

a mandatory minimum of two 
days or (2) up to six months 
suspended with probation 
requiring 100 hours of 
community service 

$500- $1,000 45 days, followed by one year 
driving only a vehicle equipped 
with an ignition interlock.  

Second  Up to two years, with a 
mandatory minimum of 120 
consecutive days and 
probation with 100 hours 
community service 

$1,000- $4,000 For offenders under age 21, 45 
days or until age 21*, whichever 
is longer, followed by three years 
of driving only a vehicle equipped 
with an ignition interlock, with 
operation for the first year limited 
to travel to or from work, school, 
an alcohol or drug abuse 
treatment program, or ignition 
interlock service center. 
 
For offenders age 21 or older, 45 
days, followed by three years of 
driving only a vehicle equipped 
with an ignition interlock, with 
operation for the first year limited 
to travel to or from work, school, 
an alcohol or drug abuse 
treatment program, or ignition 
interlock service center. 

Third and Subsequent Up to three years, with 
mandatory minimum of one 
year and probation with 100 
hours community service 

$2,000- $8,000 DMV revokes the license, but the 
offender is eligible for 
reinstatement after two years. If 
reinstated, he or she must drive 
only interlock-equipped vehicles 
for as long as the offender drives, 
except that the commissioner 
may lift this requirement after 15 
years, for good cause. 

*For a driver under age 18, the suspension period lasts until he or she turns 18 or 45 days, whichever is longer (CGS § 
14-227a (h)). 

  
Administrative License Suspension. The above license suspensions 

are in addition to any previously imposed administrative license 
suspension. Administrative license suspension periods are noted in Table 
2, below.  
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Table 2: Administrative License Suspension Periods for Drivers Age 21 and Older 
 

Per Se Offense First Offense Second Offense 
Third or 

Subsequent 
Offense 

BAC of .08% or more  
 90 days 9 months 2 years 

BAC of .16% or more 120 days 10 months 2 ½ years 
Test Refused 6 months One year 3 years 

 
For more information on Connecticut’s DUI law, please see OLR 

Report 2012-R-0279. 
 
Maine 

 
In Maine, most drivers without a previous DUI offense in the previous 

10 years face up to one year in prison, a fine of at least $500 and a 
court-ordered license suspension for 90 days. A driver who commits a 
second offense within 10 years is generally subject to up to one year in 
prison, of which he or she must serve seven days, a fine of at least $700, 
and a three-year license suspension. A driver who commits his or her 
third offense within a 10 year period is subject to up to five years in 
prison, a fine of at least $1,100, at least 30 days in jail, and a six-year 
license suspension (Maine Rev. Stat. 29A § 2411).  
 
Massachusetts 

 
First offenders face a fine of between $500 and $5,000, up to 2 ½ 

years in a county jail, or both.  Second offenders face a fine of between 
$600 and $10,000, and between 60 days and 2 ½ years in prison, of 
which the offender must serve 30 days. A driver who commits a third 
offense faces a fine of between $1,000 and $15,000, and either between 
180 days and 2 ½ years in county jail, or between 2 ½ and five years in 
state prison, 150 days of which he or she must serve. In addition, first 
offenders have their driver’s license suspended for one year, second 
offenders for two years, and third offenders, eight years (Mass. Gen. Laws 
Chapter 90 § 24). 
 
New Hampshire 

 
First offenders face a fine of at least $500 and license revocation for 

between nine months and two years. A motorist committing a second 
offense within 10 years is subject to a fine of at least $750, and 17 days 
in jail, five of which the offender must serve, and revocation of his or her  
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driver’s license for at least three years. If the offender committed the 
second violation within two years of his or previous offense, he or she 
faces the same penalties, except that he or she must serve 30 days of a 
60-day sentence. 

 
A driver who commits a third offense is subject to the same penalties 

as for a second offense, except the driver may be sentenced to 180 days 
in prison, of which he or she must serve 30 days, and his or her  license 
is revoked indefinitely and not restored for at least five years 

 
 For a first offense involving a crash that resulted in a serious injury, 

(aggravated DUI) a driver faces a fine of at least $1,000, 35 days in jail, 
14 of which the driver must serve, and license revocation for between 18 
months and two years. (NH Rev. Stat. §§ 265-A:2, A:3, and A:18).  
 
New Jersey 

 
First offenders face a fine of between $250 and $400, between 12 and 

and 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center, up to 30 days in 
jail, and a three-month license suspension. Second offenders face a fine 
of between $500 and $1,000, up to 90 days in prison, 48 hours of which 
cannot be suspended, 30 days community service and a two year license 
suspension. Drivers who commit a third offense are subject to a $1,000 
fine, up to 180 days in prison, and a 10-year license suspension. (N.J. 
Stat. § 39:4-50). 

 
New York 

 
First offenders are subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000, up 

to one year in prison, and at least a six-month license revocation. Drivers 
who commit a second offense within 10 years face a fine of between 
$1,000 and $5,000, up to four years in prison, and at least a one-year 
license revocation. Drivers who commit a third offense within 10 years 
face a fine of between $2,000 and $10,000, up to seven years in prison, 
and at least a one-year license revocation (NY VAT §§ 1192 and 1193).  
 
Rhode Island 

 
First offenders with a BAC that is 0.08% but less than .1% are subject 

to a fine of between $100 and $300; between 10 and 60 hours 
community service, imprisonment for up to one year, or both; and 
suspension of their driver’s license for between 30 and 180 days. Drivers 
who commit a second offense within five years are subject to a $400 fine, 
between 10  
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days and one year in jail, and license suspension for between one and 
two years. Drivers who commit a third offense within five years face a 
$400 fine, between one and three years in prison, and license suspension 
for between two and three years.  

 
Rhode Island imposes stricter penalties on drivers involved in a crash 

resulting in an injury. For a first offense that results in a serious bodily 
injury, a driver faces a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000 and prison 
term of between one and 10 years. The driver’s license may be revoked 
for up to two years. For a first offense that resulted in a death, the driver 
faces a fine of between $5,000 and $10,000 and imprisonment for 
between five and 15 years. The driver’s license is revoked for five years 
(R.I. Statutes §§ and 31-27-2, 2.2, and 2.6). 
 
Vermont 

 
First offenders face a maximum fine of $750, up to two years in 

prison, or both. Second offenders face a fine of up to $1,500, up to two 
years in prison or both. The offender must perform at least 200 hours of 
community service or 60 hours of the prison term. Drivers who commit a 
third offense face a fine of up to $2,500, imprisonment for up to five 
years or both. The driver must serve at least 96 hours of the prison 
sentence. Vermont law calls for a stiffer penalty where a crash causes 
serious injury or death (a maximum fine of $5,000 and up to 15 years in 
prison for serious injury; a fine of up to $10,000 and between one and 15 
years in prison, or both, where a death occurred (Vermont Stat. Ann. 23 
§§ 1201 and 1210). 
 
PF:mp 


