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May 7, 2013  2013-R-0232

SALE OF ASSAULT WEAPONS 
  

By: Veronica Rose, Chief Analyst 

 
You asked if someone who legally possessed one of the assault 

weapons banned under PA 13-3 before April 4, 2013 can legally sell the 
weapon now and if so, how. 
 

This office is not authorized to give legal opinions and this report 
should not be construed as such. 

SUMMARY 
 

It appears that anyone who legally possessed one of the newly banned 
assault weapons before April 4, 2013 may sell it, but only to a gun dealer 
in Connecticut and only after obtaining a certificate of possession for the 
weapon from the Department of Emergency Services and Public 
Protection (DESPP). (This report sometimes uses the term register when 
describing an assault weapon for which a certificate was issued.)  

 
Effective April 4, 2013, PA 13-3 expanded the assault weapons ban. 

But anyone who legally possessed any of the newly banned weapons and 
applies to register it with DESPP by January 1, 2014 may continue to 
possess it, under defined circumstances.  Effective April 4, 2013, the act, 
with exceptions, also banned the sale of assault weapons. The sale ban, 
unlike the possession ban, contains no exemptions for people who legally 
possessed assault weapons before April 4 to sell or otherwise  
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dispose of them (e.g., sell to someone out of state.) But a separate 
provision allows such possessors to sell registered firearms to 
Connecticut gun dealers. It does not authorize them to sell unregistered 
weapons.  

ASSAULT WEAPONS BAN 
Possession Prohibited 

 
PA 13-3 expanded the assault weapons ban. Effective April 4, 2013, 

this act, with exceptions (described below), banned possession of the 
newly added weapons (see Appendix 1). But anyone who lawfully 
possessed any of them before April 4, 2013 may apply to DESPP by 
January 1, 2014 for a certificate of possession to keep the weapon (CGS 
§ 53-202c, as amended by PA 13-3).  Lawful possession means (1) actual 
possession or (2) constructive possession under a lawful purchase 
transacted before April 4, 2013, even if the weapon is delivered after that 
date (CGS § 53-202a, as amended by PA 13-3). Members of the U.S. 
Military or Navy (servicemembers) unable to apply for the certificate by 
January 1, 2014 because they were deployed out of state have 90 days 
after returning to Connecticut to apply for one. Other people who move 
here in lawful possession of an assault weapon have 90 days to 
permanently disable it, sell it to a gun dealer, or take it out of state (CGS 
§ 53-202d, as amended by PA 13-3).  

 
 Illegal possession of an assault weapon is a class D felony, 

punishable by a prison term of one to five years, with a one-year 
mandatory minimum; a fine of up to $5,000; or both. But if a first-time 
violator can prove he or she lawfully possessed the weapon before April 
4, 2013 and otherwise complied with the provisions governing possession 
of registered weapons, it is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by 
imprisonment of up to one year, a fine of up to $2,000, or both (CGS § 
53-202c, as amended by PA 13-3).  

 
Sales and Other Transfers Prohibited 

 
Effective April 4, 2013, the act, with exceptions (described below) 

prohibited giving any of the newly banned weapons to anyone; 
distributing or transporting them; bringing them into Connecticut; or 
keeping, offering, or exposing them for sale. The exceptions, outlined 
below, do not include current owners. A violation is a class C felony, 
punishable by a fine of  up to $10,000;  one to 10 years imprisonment, 
with a mandatory minimum two-year term; or both, or in the case of 
sales or other transfers to people under age 18, an additional six-year 
mandatory minimum (CGS § 53-202b, as amended by PA 13-3).  
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Exceptions to the Assault Weapons Ban 
 
The act exempts the following from the ban on possession of assault 

weapons for use in the discharge of their official duties: (1) members and 
employees of DESPP, the Department of Correction (DOC), police 
departments, and the state or U.S. military or naval forces and (2) 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) employees or any corporation, 
contractor, or subcontractor providing security at a Connecticut nuclear 
power plant (CGS § 53-202c, as amended by PA 13-3).  

 
The act exempts from the ban on sales and other transfers of assault 

weapons, sales to (1) DESPP, DOC, police departments, and the state or 
U. S. military or naval forces, for use in the discharge of their official 
duties or when off duty and (2) NRC nuclear power plant employees or 
other person, firm, corporation, contractor, or subcontractor providing 
security at the plant, for use in the discharge of their official duties (CGS 
§ 53-202b, as amended by PA 13-3). It also exempts manufacturers who 
manufacture and transport assault weapons in Connecticut for sale (1) 
to these exempt entities or (2) out of state (CGS § 53-202i, as amended 
by PA 13-3). 

 
The act allows (1) estate executors or administrators, as authorized by 

the probate court, to possess and dispose of registered assault weapons 
in certain ways if such disposition is otherwise permitted and (2) owners 
to transfer registered assault weapons by bequest or intestate succession 
(CGS §§ 53-202b(b)(2), 53-202c(e), as amended by PA 13-3). 

REGISTERED ASSAULT WEAPONS 
 
PA 13-3 (1) exempts owners of weapons legally possessed before April 

4, 2013 from the ban on possessing assault weapons, if they apply to 
register them by January 1, 2014, and (2) specifies circumstances under 
which they can possess or dispose of the registered weapons. But the act 
does not exempt such owners from the sale ban, which took effect on 
April 4, 2013. Thus, it does not appear that such owners can sell 
unregistered weapons. But under an existing law, which this act did not 
change, it appears that they may arrange to relinquish an unregistered 
weapon to a police department (CGS § 53-202e). 

 
With regard to registered weapons, the act, beginning April 4, 2013, 

prohibits (1) selling or transferring these weapons in Connecticut to 
anyone except a licensed gun dealer or (2) otherwise transferring the 
weapon except by bequest or intestate succession. Anyone who inherits a 
registered assault weapon has 90 days to register it, sell it to a gun 
dealer, permanently disable it, or take it out of state. 
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Under the law and act, anyone who possesses a registered assault 

weapon may possess it only at the following locations: 
 
1. at his or her home, business place, other property he or she owns, 

or on someone else’s property with the owner’s permission; 
 

2. while on the premises of a target range of a public or private club 
or organization organized for practicing target shooting; 
 

3. while at a target range that holds a regulatory or business license 
for practicing target shooting; 
 

4. while on the premises of  a licensed shooting club; 
 

5. while attending a firearms exhibition, display, or educational 
project sponsored by, conducted under the auspices of, or 
approved by a law enforcement agency or a national- or state-
recognized entity that fosters proficiency in, or promotes education 
about, firearms; or 
 

6. while transporting the assault weapon, in compliance with law, 
between any of the above places, or to a gun dealer for servicing or 
repair (CGS § 53-202d(f) as amended by PA 13-3). 

 
In addition to the above uses, the act allows gun dealers to (1) 

transport registered assault weapons to other dealers or out of state, (2) 
display them at state- or local government-licensed shows, or (3) sell 
them to out-of-state residents. It also allows them to accept such 
weapons for repair and servicing and to transfer them for repair to 
licensed gunsmiths they employ or with whom they contract for 
gunsmithing services (CGS § 53-202f, as amended by PA 13-3). 

 
Also, existing law, unchanged by the act, allows the temporary 

transfer and possession of registered assault weapons for out-of-state  
shooting competitions or exhibitions, display, or educational projects 
about firearms sponsored by, conducted under the auspices of, or 
approved by a law enforcement agency or a national- or state- recognized 
entity that fosters proficiency in, or promotes education about, firearms.  



   
May 7, 2013 Page 5 of 9 2013-R-0232 

 

 

APPENDIX 1 
 

PA 13-3 made a number of changes to expand the number and types 
of weapons designated as assault weapons. 
 

Definition of Assault Weapon 
  
Prior law defined an “assault weapon” as:  
 
7. any selective-fire firearm capable of fully automatic, 

semiautomatic, or burst fire at the user’s option; 
 

8. any of a list of named semiautomatic firearms; 
 

9. any unlisted semi-automatic rifle or pistol that can accept a 
detachable magazine (one that can be removed without 
disassembling the firearm action) and has at least two of five 
specified features (commonly called the two-feature test); 
 

10. any semiautomatic shotgun that has at least two of four 
specified features; or 
 

11. a part or combination of parts designed or intended to 
convert a firearm into an assault weapon if the parts may be 
rapidly assembled and are in the possession or under the control 
of the same person. 
 

The act changes each part of his definition (except # 5), retained the 
list of named semi-automatic weapons and banned additional ones by 
name. 
 
Rifles  

 
Semiautomatic Centerfire Rifles Banned by Name. The act adds 

the following semiautomatic centerfire rifles, or copies or duplicates of 
them that have the same capability, in production on or before April 4, 
2013 to the list of banned weapons (see Table 1). 
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Table 1: Semiautomatic Centerfire Rifles Banned by Name 
 

AK-47 or -74 Fabrique Nationale/FN 308 
Match and L1A1 Sporter 

Remington Tactical Rifle Model 
7615 

AKM Galil and Galil Sporter Rock River Arms LAR-15 or LAR-47 
AKS-74U Hi-Point Carbine Rifles SA 85 or SA 93 
AR-10 or -15 HK USC SAR-8, SAR-4800 and SR9 

ARM HK-PSG-1 SIG Sauer 551-A1, 556, 516, 716 
and M400 Rifles 

Armalite M15 IZHMASH Saiga AK SLG 95 or SLR 95 or 96 

Barrett M107A1 or REC7 Kel-Tec Sub-2000, SU Rifles, 
and RFB Smith and Wesson M&P15 Rifles 

Beretta Storm MAADI AK47 TNW M230 and M2HB 
Bushmaster Carbon 15, 
XM15, ACR Rifles, MOE 
Rifles 

MAK90 Valmet M62S, M71S and M78S 

Calico Liberty 50, 50 Tactical, 
100, 100 Tactical, I, I Tactical, 
II and II Tactical Rifles 

MISR Vector Arms AK-47 or UZI 

Colt Match Target Rifles NHM90 and NHM91 VEPR 
Daewoo AR 100 and AR 
110C Norinco 56, 56S, 84S and 86S WASR-10 

Doublestar AR Rifles 
Olympic Arms AR-15, A1, CAR, 
PCR, K3B, K30R, K16, K48, K8 
and K9 Rifles 

Wilkinson Arms Linda Carbine 

DPMS Tactical Rifles Poly Technologies AKS and 
AK47 WUM 

 
Semiautomatic Centerfire Rifles Banned by Features. Prior law 

banned semiautomatic rifles that can accept a detachable magazine and 
have at least two of five specified features. The act replaces the two-
feature test with a one-feature test, banning all semiautomatic centerfire 
rifles that can accept a detachable magazine and have at least one of five 
specified features. The act’s ban applies regardless of the date the 
firearm was produced (see Table 2). 

 
Table 2: Semiautomatic Centerfire Rifles Banned by Feature 

 
Prior Law (two-feature test) The Act (one-feature test) 

A folding or telescoping stock A folding or telescoping stock 
A pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously 
beneath the action of the firearm 

Any grip of the weapon, including a pistol grip, 
thumbhole stock, or other stock that would allow an 
individual to grip the weapon, resulting in any finger 
on the trigger hand in addition to the trigger finger 
being directly below any portion of the action of the 
weapon when firing 

 A forward pistol grip 
A flash suppressor or threaded barrel 
designed to accommodate a flash 
suppressor 

A flash suppressor 

Grenade launcher A grenade or flare launcher 
Bayonet mount  
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Semiautomatic Rifles Banned by Bullet Capacity and Length. 

The act also bans semiautomatic, centerfire rifles that (1) have a fixed 
magazine and can accept more than 10 rounds of ammunition or (2) are 
less than 30 inches long.   
 
Pistols  

 
Semiautomatic Pistols Banned by Name. The act also bans the 

following semiautomatic pistols, or copies or duplicates of them that have 
the same capability, in production before or on April 4, 2013 (see Table 
3).  

 
Table 3: Semiautomatic Pistols Banned by Name 

 
American Spirit AR-15 Draco AK-47 Kel-Tec PLR-16 Pistol 
Bushmaster Carbon 15 DSA SA58 PKP FAL Masterpiece Arms MPA Pistols  
Calico Liberty III and III 
Tactical Pistols 

German Sport 522 PK Mini-Draco AK-47 

Chiappa Firearms Mfour-22 HCR AK-47  Olympic Arms AR-15  
Centurion 39 AK Intratec TEC-DC9 and AB-10 Rock River Arms LAR 15 
Colefire Magnum IO Inc. Hellpup AK-47 Sig Sauer P516 and P556 pistols 
Doublestar Corporation AR  I.O. Inc. PPS-43C Thompson TA5 pistols 
DPMS AR-15  Velocity Arms VMA Pistols 
  Yugo Krebs Krink 

 
Semiautomatic Pistols Banned by Features. The act bans any 

semiautomatic pistol that can accept a detachable magazine and has at 
least one, instead of two specified characteristics (see Table 4). 

 
Table 4: Semiautomatic Pistols Banned by Features 

  
Current Law (Two-Feature Test) The Act (One-Feature Test) 

An ammunition magazine that attaches to the 
pistol outside of the pistol grip 

The ability to accept a detachable ammunition 
magazine that attaches outside the pistol grip 

A threaded barrel capable of accepting a barrel 
extender, flash suppressor, forward handgrip, or 
silencer 

A threaded barrel capable of accepting a flash 
suppressor, forward pistol grip, or silencer 

A shroud attached to, or partially or completely 
encircling, the barrel and permitting the shooter 
to hold the firearm with the nontrigger hand 
without being burned 

A shroud attached to, or partially or completely 
encircling, the barrel and permitting the shooter 
to fire the firearm without being burned, except 
a slide that encloses the barrel 

A manufactured weight of 50 ounces or more 
when unloaded 

 

A semiautomatic version of an automatic firearm  
 A second hand grip 
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Semiautomatic Pistols Banned by Bullet Capacity. The act bans 
semiautomatic pistols with a fixed magazine that can accept more than 
10 rounds of ammunition. 

 
Shotguns 
  

Semiautomatic Shotguns Banned by Features. Prior law banned 
semiautomatic shotguns that have at least two of the following features: 

 
1. a folding or telescopic stock, 

 
2. a pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously beneath the action of 

the weapon, 
 

3. a fixed magazine capacity of more than five rounds, and 
 

4. the ability to accept a detachable magazine. 
 
The act instead bans semiautomatic shotguns that have both of the 

following features: 
 
12. a folding or telescoping stock and 
 
13. any grip of the weapon, including a pistol grip, a thumbhole 

stock, or any other stock, the use of which would allow an 
individual to grip the weapon, resulting in any finger on the trigger 
hand in addition to the trigger finger being directly below any 
portion of the action of the weapon when firing. 

 
Shotguns Banned by Capability. The act bans any (1) 

semiautomatic shotgun that can accept a detachable magazine and (2) 
shotgun with a revolving cylinder. 

 
Other Shotguns Banned. The act bans all semiautomatic IZHMASH 

Saiga 12 shotguns or copies, or duplicates of them that have the same 
capability and were in production before or on April 4, 2013.  

 
Assault Weapon Parts.  The act also bans any (1) part or 

combination of parts designed or intended to convert semiautomatic (a) 
centerfire rifles, (b) pistols, (c) shotguns, or (d) firearms into assault 
weapons and (2) combination of parts from which an assault weapon 
may be assembled if possessed by, or in the possession or under the 
control of, the same person. 
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Exclusions from Definition of Assault Weapon 
 
As is the case with existing assault weapons, the act excludes from 

the definition of assault weapons any firearm modified to render it 
permanently inoperable. The act also excludes any parts or combination 
of parts of an assault weapon, which are not assembled as an assault 
weapon, when possessed by a licensed gun dealer or gunsmith in the 
dealer’s employ, for purpose of servicing or repair.   
 
VR: car 


