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May 3, 2013  2013-R-0206

PREVAILING WAGE THRESHOLDS 
  

By: Susan Price, Senior Attorney 

 
You asked for an update of OLR Report 2002-R-0257 in which we 

provided prevailing wage threshold amounts for all states having such 
laws.  For further details regarding the prevailing rates paid to 
Connecticut workers, see OLR Report 2010-R-0432. 

 
SUMMARY 

 
Thirty-two states, including Connecticut, have prevailing wage laws 

requiring contractors on state or municipally funded public works 
projects to pay their workers’ wages  and offer them benefits at least 
equal to those the Connecticut Labor Department (CT DOL) announces  
annually as  the prevailing wage) for each Connecticut town. Most 
prevailing wage states tie coverage to the value of the contract award.  
Thus, contractors working on relatively small projects do not have to 
comply with the prevailing wage laws.  

 
Contractors working on public projects in Connecticut are subject to 

both criminal and civil penalties if they fail to pay prevailing wages.  
Underpaying employees in violation of the wage and hour law is a class C 
felony and can also subject the wrongdoer to civil fines, contract 
cancellation, and a prohibition against bidding on future contracts.  
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STATES’ PREVAILING WAGE THRESHOLDS  
 
Generally, state prevailing wage laws apply when a public work 

project’s contract value meets or exceeds a pre-determined threshold 
amount.  Since 1991, Connecticut’s threshold has been $400,000 for 
new construction and $100,000 for remodeling projects.  Its new 
construction threshold is the second highest in the nation, behind only 
Maryland’s, whose is $500,000.   

 
Three states have higher thresholds than Connecticut’s for remodeling 

work (Indiana ($150,000), Kentucky ($250,000), and Vermont (no 
minimum threshold in 2002, but $10,000 for current projects).  And nine 
states (Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, 
Texas, Washington, and West Virginia) have no thresholds and generally 
apply prevailing wage laws to all their public works projects.  

 
Threshold amounts remained relatively steady between 2002 and 

2013.  There was no change in 21 states.  They increased in seven states 
(Alaska, Arkansas, Indiana, New Jersey (for municipal projects), Ohio, 
Oregon, and Wisconsin (for single-trade projects (see footnote 4)) and 
decreased in three (Nebraska, Washington, and Wisconsin) (for multi- 
trade projects).   

 
Table 1 shows prevailing wage thresholds for 2013 and 2002 and, for 

each state, how those figures changed during this period. 
 

Table 1:  Prevailing Wage Thresholds and Comparisons: 
2013 and 2002 

 
State 2013 Threshold 2002 Threshold Change (+/-) 

Alaska1 $25,000 $2,000 + $23,000

Arkansas1  75,000 5,000 + 70,000

California1 1,000 1,000 No change

Connecticut 400,000 
(new construction)  

100,000
(remodeling)  

400,000 
(new construction)  

100,000
(remodeling)  

No change



Table 1 (continued) 
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State 2013 Threshold 2002 Threshold Change (+/-) 

No change

Delaware1 100,000
(new construction)

15,000
(altering, repairing, 

renovating, 
rehabilitating, 

demolishing, or 
reconstructing)

100,000
(new construction)

15,000
(altering, repairing, 

renovating, 
rehabilitating, 

demolishing, or 
reconstructing)

No change

No change

Hawaii1 

 

2,000 2,000 No change

Illinois1,2 None None No change

Indiana 350,000 150,000 + 200,000

Kentucky1 250,000 250,000 No change

Maine1 50,000 50,000 No change

Maryland1 500,000 500,000 No change

Massachusetts1,2 None None No change

Michigan1,2 None None No change

Minnesota 25,000 
(Multi-trade projects)

2,500 
(Single-trade projects)

25,000 
(Multi-trade)

 
2,500 

(single-trade projects))

No change

No change

Missouri1,2 None None No change



Table 1 (continued) 
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State 2013 Threshold 2002 Threshold Change (+/-) 

Montana1 25,000 25,000 No change

Nebraska None 40,000 
(public school 

projects)

(Unlimited)

Nevada1 100,000` 100,000 No change

New Jersey 2,000

14,187
(municipal projects)

2,000

10,743 
(municipal projects)

No change

+ 3,453
(municipal projects)

New Mexico1 60,000 20,000 + 40,000

New York1,2 None None No change

Ohio3 

 
200,000

(new construction)

60,000
(remodeling)

62,549
(new construction)

18,764
(remodeling)

+ 137,451
(new construction)

+ 41,236
(remodeling)

Oregon 50,000 25,000 + 25,000

Pennsylvania1 25,000 25,000 No change

Rhode Island1 1,000 1,000 No change

Tennessee1 50,000 50,000 No change

Texas1,2 None None No change

Vermont 100,000 None + 100,000

Washington1,4 None 17,500
(state college 
construction)

No limit (state college 
construction)

West Virginia1 50,000
(W. Va. Infrastructure 

and Jobs 
Development Council 

projects only)

50,000 
(W.Va. Infrastructure 

and Jobs 
Development Council 

projects only)

No change



Table 1 (continued) 
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State 2013 Threshold 2002 Threshold Change (+/-) 

Wisconsin5 100,000
(multi-trade projects)

48,000
(single trade)

175,000
(multi-trade projects)

36,000
(single-trade)

-75,000
(multi-trade projects)

+12,000
(single-trade)

Wyoming1 25,000 25,000 No change

 
Source:  U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division:  Dollar Threshold Amount for 

Contract Coverage (Jan. 1, 2013). 
 
1 New construction and remodeling thresholds are the same in these states. 
2 These states do not tie their prevailing thresholds to the project’s cost.  They generally 

require all contractors to pay workers the same prevailing wages for all new construction and 
remodeling work. 

3 Ohio has district thresholds for work that involves roads, streets, alleys, sewers, ditches, 
and work connected to road or bridge construction.  The threshold for new construction for these 
projects is $78,258.  The threshold for remodeling is $23,447. 

4 A separate Washington law applies only to state college and university construction 
projects; their threshold is $25,000. 

5 In Wisconsin, a single-trade project is one in which one trade, such as electricians, 
completes most of the work.  A multiple-trade project is one in which no single trade accounts for 
85% or more of the total labor costs.  Where a multiple-trade project is involved, a threshold of 
$234,000 applies if the project involves erection, construction, repair, remodeling, or demolition 
for a (1) city or village with fewer than 2,500 residents or (2) town. 

 

CONNECTICUT’S PENALTIES FOR NON-COMPLIANCE 
Larceny 

 
Under Connecticut law, non-compliant contractors are subject to 

criminal and civil penalties.  Underpaying a person working on a public 
works project is a form of larceny, a class C felony.  The offense is 
punishable by imprisonment for up to 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000 
or both (CGS §53a-123)). Larceny is also classified as a crime of moral 
turpitude, thus disqualifying people with such convictions from certain 
jobs and professional licenses. 
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Administrative Sanctions 
 
Mandatory. Violators of the prevailing wage law are also subject to 

administrative sanctions and orders of restitution.  They must be: 
  
1. fined between $2,500 and $5,000 per violation; 

 
2. reported to the CT DOL  by the Department of Administrative 

Services (DAS) or municipal contracting authority by (a) name; (b) 
project and location; (c)  type of violation; (d) date on which DAS or 
a local contracting agency terminated their contract, if applicable; 
and (e) steps either agency took to collect the unpaid wages; 
 

3. for first offenses, disqualified from bidding on state and local 
government contracts for an additional six months after making 
full restitution; and 

 
4. for subsequent offenses, disqualified for an additional two years 

after making full restitution (CGS §31-53(b)). 
 

Discretionary.  If a DOL investigator determines that a contractor is, 
or has been, paying any worker less than the wage specified in its public 
works contract, the department may (a) terminate some or all of the 
contract and arrange for someone else to complete the work, at the 
original contractor’s expense, or (b) withhold payment (CGS §31-53(b)). 

 
Also, the law gives DOL discretion to debar such contractors (Id.) 

Contractors who bid for public works or highway contracts or perform 
such work during the debarment period are subject to a $1,000 civil 
penalty for each full or partial day of work (CGS §31-53(b)(4)).  

 
SP: car 


