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STATEWIDE MOTOR VEHICLE PROPERTY TAXES  

  

By: John Rappa, Chief Analyst 

 
You asked us to update OLR Report 2012-R-0086, which identifies 

states imposing statewide motor vehicle property taxes.  

SUMMARY  
 
A computer search found at least 18 states that impose statewide 

motor vehicle taxes or fees based on a vehicle’s value, but only Kansas 
and Mississippi refer to the tax as a property tax. (Mississippi refers to its 
tax as an ad valorem tax, the term usually associated with property 
taxes.) All the states specify the portion of a vehicle’s value subject to the 
tax (i.e., the assessment or base value) and the rate at which that value 
is taxed, but differ on whether the state or localities levy the tax and keep 
the revenue. Based on these differences, we divided the states into three 
groups:  

 
1. states where counties or municipalities levy the tax or fee at a 

state-determined rate and keep the revenue (Kansas, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Rhode Island, 
and Utah); 
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2. states that levy the tax or fee and redistribute the revenue to 
counties and municipalities according to statutory formulae 
(Arizona, California, Georgia, Indiana, and Kentucky); and  

 
3. states that levy the tax or fee and keep the revenue generated 

(Colorado, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, and Nevada). 

STATE SETS RATE AND MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES LEVY TAX  
 
Kansas 
 

Kansas law requires each county to levy a tax on motor vehicles 
weighing less than 12,000 pounds unless specifically exempted by law. 
The tax is based a vehicle’s depreciated value, determined according to a 
statutory schedule, and the average tax rate for the county where the 
vehicle is registered, which is also determined by statutory formula. The 
minimum tax is $24 (Kan. Stats. Ann., § 79-5105).  

 
Maine 

 
Maine imposes an annual motor vehicle excise tax based on the auto 

maker’s list price and a statutorily-determined mill rate that decreases 
over six years, as Table 1 shows.  

 
Table 1: Maine Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Rates 

 
Model Year Mills per $1 

of list price 
First or current 24.0
Second 17.5
Third 13.5
Fourth 10.0
Fifth 6.5
Sixth and succeeding 4.0

 
The tax equals the vehicle’s list price times the applicable mill rate. 

For example, the first-year tax on a $20,000 vehicle equals $480 (i.e., 
$20,000 times .024). The tax drops to $80 in the sixth and subsequent 
years (i.e., $20,000 times .004). The minimum tax is $5 (36 Maine Rev. 
Stats., §1482). 
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Massachusetts  
 

Massachusetts requires local governments to levy an excise tax on 
motor vehicles based on their value and a statutorily-determined tax 
rate—$25 per $1,000 of value (2.5%). The motor vehicles commissioner 
determines a vehicle’s value based on the manufacturer’s list price for a 
vehicle’s model, make, and year. The 2.5% tax rate is applied to that 
portion of the value (i.e., base value) specified by a statutory schedule.  

 
As Table 2 shows, the base value starts at 50% for a vehicle 

purchased before its designated model year (e.g., a brand new 2013 
Honda Accord released in 2012), jumps to 90% in the vehicle’s model 
year, and drops to 10% after five years. The minimum tax is $5 (Mass. 
Gen. Laws, Chap. 60A, § 2).  

 
Table 2: Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Rates 

 
Model Year Assessment Rate  

(% of List Price) 
Year preceding manufacturer’s design 
year 

50%  

Model Year  90% 
Second 60% 
Third 40% 
Fourth 25% 
Fifth and succeeding 10% 

 
Mississippi 
 

Mississippi’s counties and municipalities levy ad valorem motor 
vehicle property taxes, which owners must pay when paying the state 
“road and bridge privilege license tax.” Counties and municipalities set 
the tax rate, but the State Tax Commission sets a uniform statewide 
assessment rate (i.e., the portion of value subject to the tax), which is 
currently 30% of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price, reduced for 
depreciation over 10 years. The minimum assessed value for passenger 
vehicles is $100. (Miss. Code, §§ 27-51-7 to 19). 

 



   
February 27, 2013 Page 4 of 8 2013-R-0170 

 

Montana 
 
Montana allows counties to tax registered motor vehicles based on 

their value or a flat fee. Those choosing the former may set a rate of up to 
0.7% of value, depreciated according to a statutory schedule. Counties 
must keep half the tax or fee revenue and distribute the rest to their 
respective municipalities according to a statutory formula (Mont. Code 
Ann. § 61-3-537).  

 
Nebraska 

 
Nebraska’s statewide motor vehicle tax is based on a vehicle 

manufacturer’s list price, which is depreciated over 14 years according to 
a statutory schedule. The annual tax equals the amount set by law for 
that value. For example, the tax on a new car listing for $22,000 equals 
100% of that value. According to the statutory schedule, the tax on a 
$22,000 car is $340. In the third year, the vehicle’s depreciated value is 
80% of its list price or $17,600. The tax on vehicle valued at that amount 
is $220. The annual tax amounts range from $25 for vehicles valued up 
to $3,999 to $1,900 for vehicles valued over $99,999.99 (Neb. Code, §§ 
60-3,184-3, 60-3, 188). 

  
Rhode Island 

 
The state and municipalities administer Rhode Island’s annual motor 

vehicle excise tax, which, by law, is in lieu of local property taxes. The 
state’s Vehicle Values Commission annually determines motor vehicle 
values and municipalities tax vehicles based on those values at locally 
set rates (R.I. General Laws § 44-34-1).  

 
In 1998, the state began phasing out the tax by annually exempting a 

portion of the values from taxation and reimbursing municipalities for 
the revenue loss. The exemptions ranged from $1,500 in 2000 to $6,000 
in 2010. But the exemptions dropped to $500 in 2011 and subsequent 
years. The legislature appropriated $10 million annually in 2010-2013 
and, consequently, prorated the reimbursement amounts (R.I. General 
Laws § 44-34.1-1) 
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Utah 
 

In lieu of a property tax on motor vehicles, Utah counties may impose 
a statewide uniform fee based on a vehicle’s weight and age. The fee for 
cars and other vehicles 12,000 pounds or less ranges from $150 for new 
vehicles to $10 for vehicles 12 years or older. The fee for campers, 
trucks, and other vehicles over 12,000 pounds is 1.5% of the vehicle’s 
fair market value, as determined by the Utah State Tax Commission’s 
depreciation schedules (Utah Code, § 59-2-405 et seq.). 

STATE LEVIES TAX OR FEE AND REDISTRIBUTES REVENUE TO 
MUNICIPALITIES  

 
Arizona 

 
Arizona levies a motor vehicle license tax and shares the revenue with 

counties and cities. The tax on most passenger vehicles is 60% of the 
manufacturer’s base retail price (i.e., the tax base) for the first year after 
initial registration and is reduced by 16.25% in each succeeding year. As 
Table 3 shows, each vehicle is taxed at four rates, each for a different 
purpose or jurisdiction. (Arizona imposes a separate flat rate tax on 
trailers, semi-trailers, and all-terrain vehicles.)  

 
Table 3: Arizona Motor Vehicle License Tax Rates  

 
Tax Rates Recipient First Year Subsequent Years 

Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund 1.26% 1.30% 
County General Fund 0.69 0.71 
Arizona Counties Highway User 
Revenue Fund 0.16 0.17 
Cities and Towns 0.69 0.71 
Total  2.80 2.89 

 
 
Revenue from the tax is distributed according to a statutory formula 

to the state, counties, and incorporated cities and towns (Arizona Rev. 
Stats, §§ 28-5801, 28-5808).  

 
California 

 
California imposes a basic 0.65% annual vehicle license fee on 

noncommercial vehicles’ fair market value depreciated over 11 years 
according to a statutory schedule. The state redistributes most of the 
revenue to cities and towns (Cal. Rev. & Tax Code, §§ 10751 to 10760). 
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Georgia  
 

In 2013, Georgia began phasing out its local motor vehicle property 
tax (and state motor vehicle sales tax), replacing it with a one-time title 
fee on vehicles purchased on or after March 1, 2013.  The fee equals the 
product of vehicle’s value multiplied by a statutory rate, which starts at 
6.5% in 2013, increases to 6.75% in 2014, and levels off at 7% in 2015.  
The state and municipalities split the fee revenue, with the latter 
guaranteed a base amount plus 2% growth per year for 10 years. Motor 
vehicles titled before March 1, 2013 are still subject to the local property 
tax (2012 Act 607). 

 
Indiana 
 

Indiana imposes an annual license excise tax mostly on passenger 
motor vehicles based on their value when first offered for sale in the 
state. It divides vehicles into 17 classes based on price and taxes each 
class according to a different 10-year, descending statutory rate 
schedule. For example, the annual tax on a $22,000 car (Class XIII) is 
$300 when new, $150 after five years, and $30 after 10 years. The 
minimum tax is $12. The tax revenue is distributed to counties (Indiana 
Rev. Code §§ 6-6-5-1 to 6-6-5-10). 
 
Kentucky 

 
Kentucky’s Revenue Services Department imposes an annual fee on 

trucks, tractors, and buses and redistributes the revenue to counties and 
municipalities (Ky. Rev. Stat. § 136.188). It determines the fee by 
multiplying a vehicle’s fair market value by a statutory tax rate that 
incorporates local property tax rates for commercial and industrial 
personal property.  

STATE LEVIES AND RETAINS TAX OR FEE 
 
Colorado 
 

Colorado imposes an annual ownership tax on most types of motor 
vehicles. The tax is based on 85% of a vehicle’s suggested retail price, 
excluding federal excise taxes, transportation or shipping costs, and 
preparation and delivery costs. This value, as shown in Table 4, is taxed 
according to a statutory, 10-year descending rate schedule (Col. Rev. 
Stats., § 42-3-107).  
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Table 4: Colorado Annual Ownership Tax Rates for Passenger Vehicles 
 

Age of Vehicle Tax Rate 
1st year 2.10%
2nd year 1.50%
3rd year 1.20%
4th year 0.90%
5th through 9th years 0.45%
10th year or older $3.00

 
Iowa 

 
Iowa’s motor vehicle transit fee for passenger vehicles is based on a 

vehicle’s value (i.e., base value), as determined by the Motor Vehicles 
Department, and weight (Iowa Code, §§ 321.109; 321.113). For vehicles 
less than eight years old, the tax equals 1% of the base value plus $0.40 
for each 100 pounds of weight. The value base drops for vehicles over 
seven years old, as Table 5 shows.  

 
Table 5: Iowa Motor Vehicle Transit Fee for Older Passenger Vehicles 

 
Vehicle Age Value Base  

8 to 9 model years old .75% or $50, whichever is more  
10 to 11 model years old .50% or $50, whichever is more 
12 model years or older  $50.00 

 
Michigan 

 
Michigan’s motor vehicle registration tax for passenger vehicles is 

based on a vehicle’s list price and age and varies according to a statutory 
schedule. For new or newly registered cars, the tax starts at $30 for cars 
priced less than $6,000 and increases to $148 for cars priced between 
$29,000 and $30,000. For cars priced over $30,000, the tax is $148 plus 
$5 for each additional $1,000 or fraction of the price.  

 
The tax decreases in each of the subsequent years. The decrease is 

based on a portion of the prior year’s fee: in the second year, the tax is 
90% of the first year’s fee; in the third year, 90% of the second year’s fee, 
and in the fourth and subsequent years, 90% of the third year’s fee 
(Mich. Compiled Laws, § 257.801). 

 
The tax on trailers and commercial vehicles is based on a vehicle’s 

weight, as specified in statute.  
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Minnesota 
 
Minnesota levies a vehicle registration tax on passenger vehicles equal 

to $10 plus 1.25% of the car’s manufacturer’s suggested retail price, 
including destination charges (i.e., base value). The tax decreases over 10 
years, from 100% of the base value in the first year to 10% in the 10th 
year. After 10 years, the tax is $25 per year. The minimum annual tax is 
$25 (Minnesota Stats. Ann., § 168.013). 

 
Minnesota also imposes the tax of farm vehicles and trailers based on 

their weight, as specified in the statute.  
 
Nevada 

 
Nevada imposes an annual 4% “basic governmental services tax” on 

motor vehicles. The 4% rate applies to 35% of a vehicle’s suggested retail 
price (i.e., base value), excluding options and extras. The Motor Vehicles 
Department decreases the base value according to statutory schedules. 
The base value for cars decreases over nine years, from 100% in the first 
year to 15% in the ninth and subsequent years. The base value for 
buses, trucks, and truck-tractors decreases over 10 years, from 100% in 
the first year to 23% in the 10th and subsequent years.  

 
Nevada also allows counties, after holding a referendum, to add 1% to 

the state car tax to finance limited access highway projects (Nev. Rev. 
Stats., §§ 371.030 to 371.060). 

 
JR: car 

 
 


