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You asked (1) how Connecticut regulates nurse-midwives and (2) what 

amount the state spends on Medicaid nurse-midwife services.  

SUMMARY 

The Department of Public Health (DPH) licenses nurse-midwives in 
the state. Licensure requirements include (1) eligibility for a Connecticut 
registered nurse (RN) license, (2) current certification from the American 
College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM), and (3) completion of 30 hours of 
pharmacology education. There are currently 217 licensed nurse-
midwives in the state. The department also allows individuals licensed 
under the previous category of “midwife” as of June 1983 to renew their 
license annually for a $15 fee. (There are currently no licensed midwives.) 

 
DPH regulates nurse-midwives with input from an advisory panel the 

commissioner appoints. The panel consists of three nurse-midwives in 
practice for at least five years who are not ACNM officers (CGS § 20-86d).  

 
Nurse-midwives manage all of women’s health care needs, focusing on 

family planning, gynecology, pregnancy, childbirth, and post-partum 
care of mothers and newborns. They must do this within a health care 
system and have clinical relationships with obstetrician-gynecologists 
(OB-GYNs). They have prescriptive authority for Schedule II, III, IV, and V 
controlled substances and are covered by most health insurance plans in 
the state.  
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DPH can take a variety of disciplinary actions against a licensed 
nurse-midwife for failing to conform to accepted professional standards, 
including license suspension or revocation, probation, censure, or 
imposition of a civil penalty.  

 
The Department of Social Services (DSS) reimburses midwives for 

performing a variety of obstetrical and gynecological procedures for 
Medicaid recipients. In 2011, DSS paid a total of nearly $1.7 million to 
nurse-midwives for providing prenatal, delivery, and postpartum services 
alone; in 2012, this figure rose to nearly $2.3 million. (This figure does 
not include clinics, including federally qualified health centers.)  

NURSE-MIDWIVES 

Licensure Requirements 
 
DPH may issue a nurse-midwife license to an applicant who pays a 

$100 fee and (1) is eligible for RN licensure in the state, (2) has and 
maintains current ACNM certification, and (3) completed 30 hours of 
pharmacology education for nurse-midwifery. Foreign trained nurse-
midwives not currently licensed as an RN in another state must complete 
the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools examination.  

 
DPH also allows individuals licensed as of June 1983 under the 

previous category of “midwifery” to renew their licenses annually for a 
$15 fee (CGS § 20-86g). (The department licensed “midwives” until 1983, 
when it began licensing “nurse-midwives.”) Currently, there are no 
licensed midwives in the state.  

 
By law, only a person with a DPH license can use the title “licensed 

nurse-midwife” (LNM), “certified nurse-midwife” (CNM, indicating 
national certification), or any other words or letters indicating licensure 
(CGS § 20-86e). The department cannot issue a license to a person facing 
disciplinary action or with an unresolved complaint (CGS § 20-86c).  

 
Temporary Licensure Exception 

 
The department allows a graduate of an ACNM-approved nurse-

midwife program to practice midwifery without a license in a hospital or 
other facility for up to 90 days after graduation or until learning that she 
failed the licensing exam, whichever occurs first. The facility must (1) 
verify the graduate’s successful completion of an approved program and 
(2) provide supervision the DPH commissioner determines is adequate 
(CGS § 20-86i). 
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Scope of Practice 
 
Nurse-midwives manage women’s health care needs, particularly 

family planning, gynecology, pregnancy, childbirth, and post-partum 
care of mothers and newborns. They must do this within a health care 
system and have clinical relationships with OB-GYNs that provide for 
consultation, collaborative management, or referral, as indicated by the 
patient’s health status. The law requires each nurse-midwife to provide 
(1) care consistent with ACNM standards and (2) information about, or 
referral to, other providers or services, if the patient asks or requires care 
not within the nurse-midwife’s scope of practice (CGS §§ 20-86a & 20-
86b).  

 
In addition, a licensed nurse-midwife, in good faith and in the course 

of her practice, may prescribe, dispense, and administer Schedule II, III, 
IV, and V controlled substances. These controlled substances may also 
be administered by RNs or LPNs under the nurse-midwife’s direction and 
supervision (CGS § 21a-252(f)). 

 
By law, a nurse-midwife must sign the birth certificate of each child 

she delivered. In addition, she may certify the date of delivery and sign a 
fetal or infant death certificate under certain conditions (CGS § 20-86b).  

 
Disciplinary Action 

 
DPH can take disciplinary action against a licensed nurse-midwife or 

licensed midwife who fails to conform to accepted professional standards. 
Conduct or conditions warranting discipline include, among other things, 
a felony conviction; fraud or deceit in practice; negligent, incompetent, or 
wrongful conduct in professional activities; emotional, mental, physical, 
or substance use disorders; and willful false entries in patient records 
(CGS §§ 20-86f and 20-86h). 

 
Disciplinary actions available to DPH include license revocation or 

suspension; censure; a letter of reprimand; probation, including 
conditions or limitations DPH sets; or a civil penalty up to $25,000. The 
department can also order the licensee to undergo a reasonable physical 
or mental examination if there is an investigation about his or her 
physical or mental capacity to practice safely (CGS §§ 19a-17 and 20-
86f). 
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In addition, an RN practicing as a nurse-midwife without a license 
may also be subject to penalties under the Nurse Practice Act. Any 
person violating the act or willfully making false representations to the 
state’s Nursing Board of Examiners is subject to a fine of up to $500, 
imprisonment for up to five years, or both (CGS § 20-102). 

MEDICAID EXPENDITURES FOR NURSE-MIDWIVES:  PRENATAL, 

DELIVERY, AND POSTPARTUM ONLY 

DSS reimburses nurse-midwives for a number of prenatal, delivery, 
and postpartum procedures they perform. This includes a global 
payment (for routine obstetric care, including prenatal care, vaginal 
delivery with or without an episiotomy or forceps, and postpartum care). 
It also pays for these procedures on an individual basis and cesarean 
deliveries.  

 
Table 1 provides a comparison of DSS Medicaid OB-GYN nurse-

midwife payments for selected services for calendar years (CY) 2011 and 
2012. (In 2012, DSS completed its transition from a managed care model 
of service delivery to an administrative services organization (ASO) model. 
Hence, more providers, including nurse-midwives, are billing DSS 
directly rather than seeking payment from the managed care 
organizations.) The table does not include nurse-midwife services 
provided at clinics, including federally qualified health centers, because 
the nurse-midwives working in those clinics cannot bill DSS directly and 
instead are paid by the clinics. 

 
Table 1: Medicaid Payments for Select OB-GYN Procedures  

Performed by Nurse-Midwives in CYs 2011 and 2012 
 

Procedure CY 2011 CY 2012 
 Units of Service* Amount Paid Units of Service* Amount Paid 

Routine obstetric care 
including antepartum 
(prenatal) care, vaginal 
delivery, and postpartum care 

203 (E) and 19 (F) $648,056.74 30 (E) and 212 (F) $593,275.45 

Vaginal delivery only 166 (E) and 105 (F) 405,387.83 46 (E) and 738 (F) 791,003.00 
Cesarean delivery only 109 (E) and 67 (F) 46,275.80 14 (E) and 233 (F) 83,927.42 
Total OB-GYN Payments to 
Nurse-Midwives 

1,684,028.95 2,257,876.75 

Source: DSS 
*Key:  E=care provided by nurse midwives contracting with managed care organizations; F=care provided on fee-for-service basis 

 



   
February 27, 2013 Page 5 of 5 2013-R-0149 

 

A complete listing of all services for which Medicaid reimbursed 
nurse-midwives in CYs 2011 and 2012 is attached. 
 
ND/RC:ts 


