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You asked for a summary of Maine’s law on the treatment of bedbugs 

in residential rental properties.  

SUMMARY 
 
Maine law establishes a statutory framework for identifying and 

treating bedbug infestations in residential rental properties. It sets 
separate duties and responsibilities for landlords and tenants, including 
notice, inspection, and treatment requirements. It also gives landlords 
and tenants remedies when the other party fails to comply with these 
duties and responsibilities (ME. REV. STAT. tit. 14, § 6021-A).  

 
Generally, the law requires landlords to hire and pay for certified pest 

control agents to treat bedbug infestations. However, it makes tenants 
financially responsible for treatment costs if they fail to provide 
reasonable access to their unit or comply with reasonable treatment 
measures (e.g. moving furniture, laundering clothing). 

 
In addition, the law prohibits landlords from renting units that they 

know or suspect are infested. 
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LANDLORD’S DUTIES 
 
Under Maine’s bedbug law, landlords must: 
 
1. inspect a unit for bedbugs within five days after receiving notice 

from a tenant that his or her unit may be infested; 
 

2. contact a pest control agent no later than 10 days after 
determining that a unit is infested; 
 

3. take reasonable measures, as determined by a pest control agent, 
to effectively identify and treat the infestation; 

 
4. use state-certified and insured pest control agents to treat 

infestations;  
 

5. disclose to prospective tenants whether adjacent units are infested 
or being treated for bedbugs; 

 
6. disclose the last date when the rental unit or adjacent units were 

inspected and found free of bedbug infestation, upon request from 
a current or prospective tenant; 

 
7. offer reasonable assistance to a tenant who is not able to comply 

with inspection or control measures that are requested by the 
landlord or pest control agent;  

 
8. disclose to the tenant potential costs for complying with the 

requested inspection or control measures; and 
 

9. provide reasonable notice (i.e., at least 24 hours), including the 
reasons for and scope of the request for access, each time the 
landlord or pest control agent enters the unit for bedbug inspection 
or control purposes. 

TENANT’S DUTIES 
 

Under the law, tenants must 
 

1. promptly notify their landlord, orally or in writing, when they know 
or suspect their unit is infested with bedbugs;  
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2. grant their landlord or pest control agent access to the unit, after 
receiving reasonable notice, to search for and treat any bedbug 
infestation; and 
 

3. comply with reasonable measures to to eliminate and control the 
infestation.  

INSPECTIONS AND FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY  
 
During an initial inspection, landlords or pest control agents may only 

visually or manually inspect a tenant’s bedding and upholstered 
furniture. Pest control agents may inspect other items when they deem it 
reasonable. They may also inspect personal belongings if they find 
bedbugs in the unit or any adjacent unit.  

 
Generally, the law requires landlords to hire and pay for certified pest 

control agents to treat bedbug infestations. Tenants are responsible for 
preparing the unit for treatment (e.g. moving or covering furniture). The 
law authorizes, but does not require, landlords to financially assist 
tenants with these preparations. They may charge tenants a reasonable 
amount for this assistance and set a repayment schedule of up to six 
months, unless both parties agree to an extension.  
 

Landlords are not responsible for (1) providing tenants with 
alternative accommodations during treatment or (2) replacing tenants’ 
personal property. Tenants who unreasonably fail to comply with 
treatment procedures may be held financially responsible for treatment 
costs.  

REMEDIES 
 

Tenants 
 
Any tenant can sue a landlord in Maine for breach of the lease’s 

implied warranty of habitability if a condition exists that renders the 
dwelling unit unfit for human habitation. In order to prevail in such an 
action, the tenant must be current in rental payments and show that: 

 
1. the condition endangers or materially impairs his or her health or 

safety;  
 
2. the condition was not caused by the tenant or another person 

acting under his or her control; 
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3. he or she gave written notice of the condition without 
unreasonable delay to the landlord or person who customarily 
collects rent; and 

 
4. the landlord unreasonably failed under the circumstances to take 

prompt, effective steps to repair or remedy the condition (ME. REV. 
STAT. tit. 14, § 6021).  

 
A landlord’s failure to comply with the bedbug law automatically 

satisfies the first and fourth conditions listed above in any suit such a 
tenant brings for breach of implied warranty of habitability.  

 
If the court finds the allegations true, it may (1) order the landlord to 

fix anything that endangers or materially impairs the tenant’s health or 
safety or (2) determine fair market value for the unit (i.e., rental amount 
free from any condition rendering it unfit) and declare what, if any, 
money the tenant owes the landlord or rebate the landlord owes the 
tenant.  

 
A landlord who fails to comply with the bedbug law is additionally 

liable for a $250 penalty, or actual damages, whichever is greater, plus 
reasonable attorney’s fees. 

 
Finally, there is a rebuttable presumption that a tenant is being 

retaliated against if a landlord starts eviction proceedings within six 
months after a tenant brings an action under this provision, unless the 
tenant caused substantial damage to the unit or is in arrears.   
 
Landlords 

 
If a tenant refuses to give the landlord or pest control agent access to 

his or her unit, or fails to comply with reasonable treatment procedures 
or control measures, a landlord may ask the court to provide relief, 
including: (1) granting the landlord access to the unit, (2) granting the 
landlord the right to treat the infestation, and (3) requiring the tenant to 
comply with control measures or charging them for the costs of 
noncompliance. Any order granting the landlord access to the premises 
must be served on the tenant at least 24 hours beforehand.  
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