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You asked for a concise summary of the law governing the civil 

commitment of mentally ill children.  
 
Connecticut law establishes procedures for the involuntary 

commitment of children (defined as those under age 16) with psychiatric 
disabilities who are dangerous to themselves or others, either by a court 
or health professionals on an emergency basis. Table 1 briefly outlines 
the procedures for both. A concise summary of the civil commitment law 
for adults is available in OLR Report 2013-R-0087. 
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Table 1: Connecticut Law on Involuntary Commitment of Children under Age 16 with Mental 
Illness 

 
Issue Law 

Grounds for 
involuntary 
commitment 

Mental or emotional condition, other than intellectual disability, that substantially and 
adversely affects a child’s health, safety, or welfare or that of others (CGS § 17a-75) 

Commitment Process 
(requires probate or 
superior court order) 

Who may initiate: Anyone may file an application with probate court. The application 
must include certain things, including the name of the hospital to which the child would 
be committed. Any legal party, except the petitioner, can move to transfer the case to 
superior court (CGS § 17a-76(a)) 
 

• Hearing: Required within 10 business days of the court’s receipt of application. 
Child and his or her parents or guardian have the right to (1) notice; (2) be 
present , however the court may exclude the child if testimony would be 
detrimental to his or her health; (3) present evidence; (4) cross-examine 
witnesses; and (5) counsel. 

• Hospital for mental illness named in the application must also be notified and 
notice must include hearing time and place 

 
1. Court appoints attorney from a panel on the next business day after receiving 

the application. The attorney may serve as the child’s guardian ad litem.  
2. Parents or guardians have a right to counsel, which will be court-appointed if 

they are indigent. 
3. Counsel have access to all records, including hospital records if a child is 

hospitalized. 
4. The probate court administrator must appoint a three-judge court to conduct the 

hearing (CGS §§ 17a-76 and -77). 
  

• If child is hospitalized, the hearing must be held there if travel would present a 
danger to the child or others or would be detrimental to child’s health and 
welfare (CGS § 17a-77) 
 

Examination: At least two court-appointed physicians (including one psychiatrist) must 
examine the child “within 10 days of the hearing” (which, in practice, according 
to the probate court, means no more than 10 days before the hearing). If child 
refuses to be examined, the court can issue a warrant to have the police deliver 
him or her to the nearest hospital for examination (CGS § 17a-77(b) and (c)) 

 
Standard of proof to commit: The court must find clear and convincing evidence that the 

child suffers from a mental disorder, is in need of hospitalization to treat the 
disorder, treatment is available, and hospitalization is the least restrictive 
available alternative (CGS § 17a-77(e)) 

 
Commitment period: Up to six months unless extended by the court for an additional six 

months based upon a petition for recommitment received no later than 10 days 
before initial commitment expires. The hospital must release the child when it 
concludes he or she is no longer in need of hospitalization (CGS § 17a-77(e)). 



Table 1 (continued)  
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Issue Law 
Emergency Hold 
(without prior court 
order except as 
noted) 

Who may initiate:  
• Physicians issue “emergency or diagnostic certificate” 

 
• Licensed clinical social workers, advanced practice registered nurses, or 

professional counselors who have received at least eight hours of specialized 
training as a member of a Department of Children and Families-contracted 
Emergency Mobile Psychiatric Services (EMPS) team issue “emergency 
certificate” (CGS §§ 17a-78(a) and -78(f)) 
 

Grounds for Hold: (1) For physician, when he or she determines that a child is in need of 
immediate hospitalization for evaluation or treatment of a mental disorder (2) For other 
clinicians, when they have reasonable cause to believe, based upon their evaluation, 
that the child (A) has psychiatric disabilities, (B) is dangerous to himself or others or 
gravely disabled, and (C) is in need of immediate care and treatment (CGS §§ 17a-78(a) 
and (f)). 
 
Examination: By psychiatrist. Required within 24 hours of admission; within 24 hours of 
other clinicians issuing emergency certificate (CGS §§ 17a-78 (b) and (f)) 
 
Probable cause hearing: Within 72 hours of receipt of written request (CGS § 17a-78(d)) 
 
Duration of emergency hold: 

• Immediate discharge if, after examination, psychiatrist does not believe 
hospitalization necessary 

• Up to 15 days if physician has ordered hold; up to 72 hours if EMPS clinicians 
have issued emergency certificate  

• If commitment petition has been filed, hospitalization continues until earlier of an 
additional 15 days or 25 days (if transferred to superior court) or completion of 
commitment proceedings  

• If court finds probable cause, confinement continues for the remainder of 
emergency certificate or completion of commitment proceedings (CGS  §§ 17a-
78(b), (d), (e), (f))  

Procedures following 
commitment 

None 

Penalties for 
conspiring to commit 
a child  

Anyone who (1) willfully files or attempts to file or conspires with anyone else to file a 
fraudulent or malicious application, order, or request for commitment, hospitalization, or 
treatment (2) certifies falsely to the mental disorder of a child, or (3) willfully reports 
falsely to any court or judge that a child is mentally disordered is subject to a fine of up to 
$1,000, five years in prison, or both (CGS § 17a-83).  

Source: CGS §§ 17a-75, et. seq. 
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