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FLORIDA'S “10-20-LIFE” LAW 
 

  

 
You asked for a summary of Florida's “10-20-Life” law. 
 
Florida's “10-20-Life” law is a law that requires courts to impose a 

minimum sentence of 10 years, 20 years, or 25 years to life for certain 
felony convictions involving the use or attempted use of a firearm or 
destructive device. If the firearm is an assault weapon or machine gun, 
they must impose a sentence of 15 years, 20 years, or 25 years to life.  
The penalty is in addition and consecutive to the sentence for the 
underlying felony conviction (Fla. Stat. § 775.087). 

 
Courts must impose the mandatory minimum sentences in 

convictions for committing or attempting to commit any of the following 
felonies, regardless of whether the use of the weapon was an element of 
the crime:   

 
1. murder; 
 
2. sexual battery; 
 
3. robbery; 
 
4. burglary; 
 
5. arson; 
 
6. aggravated assault; 
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7. aggravated battery; 
 
8. kidnapping; 
 
9. escape; 
 
10. aircraft piracy; 
 
11. aggravated child abuse; 
 
12. aggravated abuse of an elderly person or disabled adult; 
 
13. unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive 

device or bomb; 
 
14. carjacking; 
 
15. home invasion robbery; 
 
16. aggravated stalking; 
 
17. drug trafficking and capital importation of cocaine and other 

illegal drugs; and 
 
18. possession of firearm by a felon.  
 
Under the “10-20-life” law, courts must impose a: 
 
1. 10-year prison sentence on anyone convicted of committing or 

attempting to commit any of the above felonies (with certain 
exceptions), while armed with a  firearm or destructive device; 
 

2. 20-year prison term if the accused fired the firearm; and  
 

3. 25-year to life term if the accused discharged the firearm and killed 
or seriously hurt someone.   

The courts must impose a minimum three-year term, instead of a 10-
year term, if the defendant is convicted for aggravated assault, 
possession of a firearm by a felon, or burglary of a conveyance (i.e., car, 
boat, or other vessel). 
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 If the firearm used in the felony is a semiautomatic with a high-
capacity box magazine or a machine gun, the minimum mandatory 
prison terms are 15 years, 20 years, and 25 years to life.  

The three-year minimum sentence provision for certain crimes does 
not apply in cases involving these firearms. Also, the enhanced penalties 
for convictions involving these firearms do not apply if the underlying 
crime was possession of a firearm by a felon. 

Courts must impose the minimum sentence regardless of any 
mitigating circumstance. No part of the sentence may be suspended, 
deferred, or withheld, and defendants are not eligible for any 
discretionary early release, other than pardon or clemency, or conditional 
medical release, before serving the minimum sentence. 

VR: car 

 
 


