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You asked how Connecticut compares to other states regarding gun 

permit fees. 
 

SUMMARY 

Statutory gun permit requirements and associated fees vary greatly by 
state and often within each state. To obtain a permit to carry handguns 
in Connecticut, applicants must pay (1) an initial $140 fee and (2) for a 
background check, fingerprinting, and photos. The permit is valid for five 
years and the renewal fee is $70. A handgun eligibility certificate, which 
allows an individual only to acquire a handgun in Connecticut, requires 
a $35 fee and is valid for five years. Many elements contribute to the total 
cost of obtaining a gun permit, so it is difficult to make a complete 
comparison. In general, Connecticut’s gun permit fees appear to be 
higher than most other states’. 

 
In Table 1 we have listed the permits required to purchase, possess, 

or carry guns as well as the associated fees in each of the 50 states and 
the District of Columbia. Additionally, we have included data on the 
duration and expiration of each permit, the renewal fee, and other 
relevant information that could affect the fee amount. When known, we 
have included additional fees, including those for fingerprinting and 
criminal history checks. We note where such fees are in addition to, or 
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included with, the standard application fee. The chart also includes the 
relevant statutory citations and links to official state websites providing 
fee information. We have not included all existing fee reductions (i.e., 
many states offer reduced fees to seniors as well as current and retired 
law enforcement officials). Nor have we listed the handful of states that 
limit the number of firearms that may be purchased or carried with each 
permit.  

 
The following list provides a description of the information contained 

in each column in the chart: 
 
1. State and Link to State Website: This includes the name of the 

state, district, or city, if applicable. New York City has its own row 
because its permit scheme differs from the rest of the state. It also 
provides a link to the state’s official website that displays 
information on gun permit fees.  
 

2. Permit Type: This column designates the type of permit, including 
permits to purchase, permits to carry, or required safety 
certificates that effectively act as permits. 

 
3. Fee: This lists the fee required to obtain a permit. 

 
4. Required?: This designates whether the permit is required to 

purchase or carry a firearm. (Some states offer an optional permit 
to carry to allow citizens to satisfy recipricocity agreements and 
carry guns in other states.) 

 
5. Expiration and Renewal: Notes how long the initial permit is valid 

and if the renewal fee differs from the initial permit fee. 
 

6. Notes and Additional Fees: Provides additional information that 
may further the reader’s understanding. 

 
7. Citations: Provides citations to the relevant state statute or 

regulation.
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TABLE 1: STATE GUN PERMIT FEES 

 
State and Link 

to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Alabama License to carry 
concealed handgun 

Varies by county, 
generally $10-$30 

Yes 1 year  Ala. Code § 13A-11-75 
 

Alaska Concealed handgun 
permit 

No more than $99 
(currently set at $40 
by regulation) 

No 5 years, renewal fee of no 
more than $30 (currently 
set at $25) 

Applicant must also pay for fingerprinting Alaska Stat. § 18.65.720; 
Alaska Admin. Code tit. 13, 
§ 30.040 

Arizona Concealed weapons 
permit (handguns) 

$60 No 5 years, $43 renewal fee   Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 13-3102 
and -3112; Ariz. Admin. 
Code § R13-9-102 
 

Arkansas Concealed handgun  
carry license 

$141.50 Yes 5 years, $35 renewal fee  Fee breakdown: $100 application fee, $25 
state background check, $16.50 FBI 
background check. Applicant must also pay 
for fingerprinting. 

Ark. Code §§ 5-73-302, -
311, -313 
 

Handgun safety 
certificate (required 
before purchase) 

$25 Yes 5 years $25 fee allows applicant to take test twice. 
Additional fees required for background 
checks. 

Cal. Penal Code §§ 26840, 
27540, 31615, 31650 

California 
 

License to carry 
concealed weapons 
(handguns) 

$44 state fee (plus 
local authority fee of 
up to $100, 
fingerprinting, and 
background check 
fees. Typical total fee: 
$200 or more) 

Yes 2 years, $44 renewal fee 
(not including local 
authority fees) 

$44 state fee is for a 2-year resident license. 
California has other types of concealed carry 
permits, including 90 day employment ($22), 
3-year judicial ($66), and 4-year reserve 
peace officer ($88).  Local authority may also 
require psychological testing (up to $150). 

Cal. Penal Code § 26190; 
Cal. Code Regs. tit. 11, § 
4006 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Colorado Concealed handgun 
permit 

$52.50 (plus local 
authority fee of up to 
$100) 

Yes 5 years, renewal fee varies 
($13 or $52.50, depending 
on whether fingerprints 
already submitted, plus 
local authority fee of up to 
$50) 

$52.50 fee includes fingerprints and 
background check. 

Colo. Rev. Stat. §§ 18-12-
203, -205, -211, -214 
 

Handgun eligibility 
certificate (required for 
purchase) 

$35 Yes 5 years, $35 renewal fee  Applicant also responsible for a $66.50 
fingerprint fee. In lieu of handgun eligibility 
certificate, CT resident may purchase a 
handgun with a valid permit to carry or sell a 
handgun. 

CGS § 29-36f to -36h Connecticut 
 

Permit to carry pistols or 
revolvers 

$140 Yes 5 years, $70 renewal fee  $140 fee includes $70 for temporary local 
permit and $70 for 5-year state permit. 
Applicant must also pay for fingerprints, 
photos, and background check. 

CGS §§ 29-30 
 

Delaware License to carry a 
concealed deadly 
weapon (handgun) 

$65 Yes 3 years for initial permit, 
renewals are valid for 5 
years. $65 renewal fee.  

Applicant also responsible for fingerprint fee Del. Code tit. 11, § 1441 
 

District of 
Columbia 

Firearms registration 
(required for purchase of 
firearm) 

$48 Yes 3 years District prohibits open or concealed carrying 
of firearms. $48 fee includes fingerprints and 
background check. There may also be a 
$125 fee to transfer a handgun purchased 
outside the district. 

D.C. Code §§ 7-2502.01 to 
-2502.07a 
 

Florida Concealed firearm 
license (handguns) 

$112 Yes 7 years. $60 renewal fee. Includes fingerprint fee. Open carrying 
generally prohibited in Florida (Fla. Sta. § 
790.053). 

Fla. Stat. § 790.06 
 

Georgia Weapons carry license 
(handguns) 

Varies by county, $75 
average fee  

Yes 5 years Fee includes application and fingerprints Ga. Code § 16-11-129 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Permit to acquire 
(handguns and long 
guns) 

$16.50 Yes Handguns: Expires after 
10 days. 
Long guns: Expires after 
one year. 
No renewal fee. 

Fee only charged when individuals apply for 
their first permit; covers FBI fingerprint check. 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 134-2 
 

Hawaii 
 

License to carry 
(handguns) 

$10 Yes One year, $10 renewal fee May carry  only in county where permit 
issued 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 134-9 
 

Idaho Concealed weapons 
permit (handguns) 

$20 Yes 5 years, $15 renewal fee  County sheriff may charge additional fees to 
cover fingerprinting and materials to produce 
license 

Idaho Code § 18-3302 
 

Illinois Firearm owners' 
identification card  
(required for purchase or 
possession of firearms) 

$10 Yes 10 years In Illinois, carrying of firearms in public is 
generally prohibited 

IL ST CH 430 §§ 65/5 and 
65/7  
 

Permit to carry 
(handguns) (4 year 
personal protection) 

$40 Yes 4 years Includes state and local fees. Indiana also 
offers reduced-fee permits for hunting and 
target practice purposes only. 

Ind. Code § 35-47-2-4 
 

Indiana 
 

Permit to carry 
(handguns) (lifetime 
personal protection) 

$125 (with no current 
license) 
$100 (with a currently 
valid license) 

Yes Lifetime Includes state and local fees Ind. Code § 35-47-2-4 
 

Permit to acquire 
handguns 

Varies by county 
(generally $5-$11) 

Yes 1 year, renewable each 
year 

 Iowa Code §§ 724.17 to 
724.18, 724.20 

Iowa 
 

Permit to carry handguns $50 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $25 Some county sheriffs may charge additional 
$5 for card production 

Iowa Code § 724.7; Iowa 
Admin. Code r. 661-
91.4(724) 

Kansas Permit to carry concealed 
handguns 

$132.50 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $25 $132.50 fee breakdown: $100 to state 
attorney general, $32.50 to county sheriff 

Kan. Stat. §§ 75-7c03, -
7c05, -7c08 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Kentucky Permit to carry concealed 
handguns 

$60 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $60 $60 fee breakdown: $40 to state police, $20 
to county sheriff 

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 237.110  

Louisiana Permit to carry concealed 
handguns 

$125 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $125 People age 65 and older pay half ($62.50). 
First-time applicants who have not lived in 
Louisiana during previous 15 years pay 
additional $50 fee. Individuals may request 
shorter-duration permit for proportionally 
reduced fee. 

La. Rev. Stat. § 
40:1379.3(H)(2) 
 

Maine Permit to carry concealed 
handguns 

$35 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $20 Fee for nonresidents is $60 (original and 
renewal application) 

Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 25, § 
2003 
 

Maryland Permit to carry firearms $75 Yes Initial permit expires on 
last day of holder's birth 
month following 2 years 
after date permit was 
issued. $50 renewal fee for 
3 year period. 

Fingerprint charges not included in original or 
renewal fees 

Md. Code, Public Safety, 
§§ 5-304, -309 
 

Class A license to carry 
(purchase, possession, 
and carrying of large 
capacity guns) 

$100 Yes 6 years Class A license is only license in 
Massachusetts that allows concealed 
carrying of handguns. 

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, 
§ 131 
 

Class B license to carry 
(purchase, possession, 
and carrying of non-large 
capacity guns) 

$100 Yes 6 years  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, 
§ 131 

Massachusetts 
 

Firearms identification 
card (purchase, 
possession, and carrying 
of non-large capacity 
rifles and shotguns only 

$100 (age 18+), $25 
(minors) 

Yes 6 years  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, 
§ 129B 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

License to purchase 
handguns 

No state fee, but 
applicant may be 
charged notary fee 
and $1 by sheriff 
providing copy of 
information 

Yes Valid for 30 days Not required if purchaser already has valid 
Michigan concealed pistol license 

Mich. Comp. Laws § 
28.422 
 

Michigan 
 

Concealed pistol license $105 Yes Valid until applicant's 
birthday that falls between 
4 and 5 years after license 
issued. Validity and cost of 
renewal is same as 
original. 

Fee breakdown: $46 to county, $59 to state. 
Fingerprinting and background check 
included in fee. If applicant chooses to be 
fingerprinted at local police agency rather 
than county sheriff, local police may charge 
up to $15. 

Mich. Comp.  
Laws §§ 28.425b and 
28.425l 
 
 

Permit to purchase or 
transfer handguns or 
assault weapons 

No fee No One year, no fee for 
renewal 

Permit to carry also constitutes a permit to 
purchase or transfer. If no purchase permit, 
applicant can apply to purchase directly with 
dealer, and dealer may charge background 
check fee. 

Minn. Stat. § 624.7131 
 

Minnesota 
 

Permit to carry a 
handgun 

Varies by county, not 
to exceed $100 

Yes 5 years, renewal fee not to 
exceed $75 

 Minn. Stat.  § 624.714 
 

Mississippi License to carry 
concealed handguns 

$100 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $50 Fees do not include $32 cost of required 
fingerprint processing 

Miss. Code. § 45-9-101 
 

Missouri Permit to carry concealed 
firearms 

Varies by county, but 
no more than $100 

Yes 3 years, renewal fee not to 
exceed $50 

 Mo. Stat. § 571.101 
 

Montana Permit to carry concealed 
weapons 

$50 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $25 Permit not required for a person outside the 
official boundaries of a city or town. County 
sheriff may charge applicant additional $5 for 
fingerprinting. 

Mont. Code §§ 45-8-317 
and -322 
 

Handgun certificate 
(required to purchase or 
transfer) 

$5 Yes 3 years Certificate not required if applicant has valid 
carry permit 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 69-2404 
and -2407 
 

Nebraska 
 

Permit to carry a 
concealed handgun 

$100 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $50  Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2436 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Nevada Permit to carry concealed 
firearms 

Up to $60 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $25  Nev. Rev. Stat. §§ 
202.366, 202.3657, 
202.3677  

New 
Hampshire 

Permit to carry concealed 
handguns 

$10 (NH residents); 
$100 (non-residents) 

Yes 4 years NH resident fees go to local law enforcement, 
non-resident fees go to state 

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 159:6 
 

Firearms purchaser 
identification card 
(required to purchase, 
possess, and carry long 
guns) 

$5 Yes Indefinite Does not include $60.25 fingerprint fee 
required for initial application for ID card 

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-3; 
N.J. Admin. Code §§ 
13:54-1.4 and -1.9 

Permit to purchase a 
handgun 

$2 Yes 90 days, may be renewed 
for an additional 90 days 
for good cause. 

Does not include $60.25 fingerprint fee 
required for initial permit application 

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-3; 
N.J. Admin. Code §§ 
13:54-1.4 and -1.9 

New Jersey 

Permit to possess and 
carry a handgun 

$20 Yes 2 years, $20 renewal fee 
for subsequent 2-year 
periods 

Does not include $60.25 fingerprint fee 
required for initial permit application and each 
subsequent renewal 

N.J. Stat. § 2C:58-4 
 

New Mexico Concealed handgun 
license 

$100 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $75  N.M. Stat. §§ 29-19-3, -5 to 
-6 

New York License to purchase, 
possess, and carry 

Generally, not to 
exceed $10 for 
application 
processing. 

Yes Handgun owners must 
“recertify” every 5 years, 
no cost for recertification. 

Average total fee is $100-$130, including 
fingerprinting, background check, and 
photograph. $3 fee ($5) in Suffolk county) is 
charged for each firearm added to or deleted 
from license  

N.Y. Penal Law § 400.00; 
New York Secure 
Ammunition and Firearms 
Enforcement Act of 2013 
(S. 2230) 

New York City License to purchase, 
possess, and carry 

$340 (handguns), 
$140 (rifles and 
shotguns) 

Yes 3 years Does not include fingerprint fee ($91.50) Title 38 RCNY Rev. Nov. 
2010 

Handgun purchase 
permit 

$5 Yes 5 years  N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 14-403 
to -404 

North Carolina 

Concealed handgun 
permit 

$80 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $75 Does not include fingerprint fee of up to $10 
(to local sheriff's office). 
$45 of initial fee and $40 of renewal go to 
state, remainder to county sheriff 

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-
415.11, -415.16, -415.19 
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

North Dakota Concealed weapon 
license (handguns) 

$45 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $45 Fingerprints required in initial license 
application, not for renewal. Separate fee to 
obtain fingerprints may be required. 

N.D. Cent. Code § 62.1-
04-03 
 

Ohio License to carry a 
concealed handgun 

$67 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $50 Applicants who have been residents of Ohio 
for less than 5 years must also pay for cost of 
FBI background check. 

Ohio Rev. Code § 
2923.125 
 

Oklahoma Self Defense Act license 
(to carry concealed 
handguns) 

$100 (5 years) or 
$200 (10 years) 

Yes 5 or 10 years. Renewal 
fee: $85 (5 years) or $170 
(10 years) 

Additional $25 fee to local sheriff for 
fingerprints and local criminal history check 

Okla. Stat. tit. 21, §§ 
1290.5 and 1290.12 

Oregon License to carry a 
concealed handgun 

$65 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $50 Initial fee breakdown: $50 to local sheriff, $15 
to state police for background check.  
Renewal: $50 to local sheriff. 

Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 166.291 
to  166.292, 166.295 
 

Pennsylvania License to carry firearms 
(concealed handguns) 

$20 Yes 5 years  18 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6109; 
 

Rhode Island License to carry a 
concealable weapon 
(handguns) 

$40 Yes 4 years  R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-12
 

South Carolina Concealed weapons 
permit (handguns) 

$50 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $50  S.C. Code § 23-31-215 
 

South Dakota Permit to carry a 
concealed pistol 

$10 Yes 4 years Fee breakdown: $7 to state, $3 to county S.D. Codified Laws § 23-7-
8.2 
 

Tennessee Handgun carry permit $115 Yes 4 years, renewal fee $50 Sheriff may charge up to $5 to take 
fingerprints 

Tenn. Code § 39-17-1351 
 

Texas Concealed handgun  
license 

$140 Yes First birthday after 4th 
anniversary of issuance of 
license. Renewal fee $70 
for 5 years. 

 Tex. Gov't Code § 
411.183; 37 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 6.15 
 
 

Utah Concealed firearm permit 
(handguns) 

$46 (Utah residents); 
$51 (non-residents) 

Yes 5 years, renewal fee $15 Fee breakdown: $29.50 to state, $16.50 for 
FBI fingerprint processing. Additional fee for 
photo. 

Utah Code §§ 53-5-704 
and -707 

Vermont Does not issue permits      
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State and Link 
to State 
Website 

Permit Type Fee Required? Expiration and Renewal Notes and Additional Fees Citations 

Virginia Concealed handgun 
permit 

Not to exceed $50 
($100 for non-
residents) 

Yes 5 years, renewal fee same 
as initial application fee 

 Va. Code § 18.2-308 
 

Washington Concealed pistol license $52.50 Yes 5 years, renewal fee $32 Initial fee breakdown: $36 to state and local 
authorities, $16.50 for FBI processing 

Wash. Rev. Code § 
9.41.070 

West Virginia License to carry a 
concealed deadly 
weapon (handguns) 

$100 Yes 5 years, renewal fee same 
as initial application fee 

$75 due to county sheriff with application. 
Additional $25 due to state police when 
license issued. 

W. Va. Code § 61-7-4 
 

Wisconsin Carrying concealed 
weapon license 

$50 Yes 5 years, renewal fee not to 
exceed $25 

Initial fee breakdown: $37 license fee, $13 
criminal background check 

Wis. Stat. § 175.60 
 

Wyoming Concealed handgun 
permit 

$74 No 5 years, renewal fee $50 Initial fee breakdown: $50 application fee, 
$24 FBI fingerprint processing fee 

Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104 
 

 
MC:mp 


