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SPECIAL TAXES ON GUNS, AMMUNITION, AND GUN SHOWS

By: Rute Pinho, Associate Analyst
John Rappa, Chief Analyst

You asked whether any states levy a special tax on guns, ammunition,
gun-related items, or gun shows and dedicate the revenue to specific
purposes.

SUMMARY

We located three states, Alabama, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee, that
impose special taxes on gun or ammunition purchasers or dealers.
Pennsylvania and Tennessee dedicate the revenue these taxes generate
to background checks and wildlife resource management, respectively. In
addition, Cook County, Illinois recently enacted a new $25 tax that
applies to all firearm purchases in the county. We did not locate any
states that impose special taxes on other gun-related items or gun
shows.

ALABAMA LICENSE TAX ON FIREARM AND AMMUNITION DEALERS

Alabama imposes a “license tax” on firearm and ammunition dealers
that varies according to the population of the municipality in which the
dealer operates. The tax ranges from (1) $100 to $150 for dealers that
sell pistols, revolvers, silencers, or certain knives and weapons and (2) $3
to $25 for dealers that sell shotguns, rifles, or ammunition. Licensed

Sandra Norman-Eady, Director Room 5300
Phone (860) 240-8400 . Legislative Office Building
FAX (860) 240-8881 Connecticut General Assembly Hartford, CT 06106-1591

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr Office of Legislative Research Olr@cga.ct.gov




rolling (i.e., mobile) stores that sell shotguns, rifles, or ammunition must
pay a $5 license tax to the state and county in which they operate
(Ala.Code 1975 8§88 40-12-143 and 40-12-158).

PENNSYLVANIA FIREARMS SURCHARGE

Pennsylvania imposes a $3 sales tax surcharge on firearms subject to
the sales tax and deposits the revenue in the Firearms Instant Record
Check Fund (Pa Stat. Ann. 18 § 6111.2). The fund covers the cost of
running the state’s instant check system, which provides firearm dealers
and county sheriffs information about whether an individual is eligible to
acquire a firearm or a license to carry one.

In addition, the legislature has considered proposals establishing
similar funding mechanisms. In 2009, it considered a bill adding a 1%
sales tax on firearm sales and depositing the revenue in the Violence
Reduction Fund, which the bill created. The fund would have been used
by the state police to help local police departments run violence
reduction programs (HB 1545). In 2008, the legislature considered
requiring manufacturers to encode ammunition and imposing a 5S¢ per
round tax on the retail sale of such ammunition (HB 2228). The revenue
from the tax would have been deposited in the Encoded Ammunition
Database, which the bill created.

TENNESSEE AMMUNITION TAX

Tennessee imposes a 10¢ special privilege tax on people and
organizations that buy, sell, distribute, store, receive, possess, or use
shotgun shells or metallic cartridges. The tax is in addition to all other
applicable taxes and the revenue it generates is deposited in the state’s
Wildlife Resources Fund. It applies to individual containers of center-fire
ammunition (i.e., a cartridge with a primer located in the center of the
cartridge case head), shot gun shells, and rim-fired ammunition (i.e.,
ammunition with an extended and widened percussion cap, allowing the
gun’s firing pin to ignite the gun by striking the cartridge’s rim instead of
the cartridge’s center) (Tenn. Code Ann. § 70-3-101).

COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS FIREARM TAX

Cook County, Illinois recently enacted a $25 tax on each firearm sold
in the county. The tax, which is effective April 1, 2013, applies to all
firearms sold in the county, except those sold to (1) federal, state, or
municipal agencies, including the U.S. Armed Forces and National
Guard; (2) bona fide veterans organizations that receive firearms directly
from the U.S. Armed Forces and use them solely for ceremonial purposes
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with blank ammunition; or (3) active sworn law enforcement officers for
official purposes. Purchasers must pay the tax at the time of the sale and
dealers must remit it to the county’s Department of Revenue (Cook
County, IL Ord. 12-0-64).

In addition, the Illinois legislature considered a bill in 2011 that
would have imposed a 2% sales tax surcharge on firearm ammunition to

fund grants to trauma centers in high crime areas for medical emergency
responses (HB 5167).

RP/JR:ro
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