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BLOOD DONATIONS BY MINORS IN RHODE ISLAND 
  

By: Robin K. Cohen, Principal Analyst 

 
 
You asked a series of questions about the Rhode Island law that 

allows 16-year-olds to donate blood. Specifically, you want to know (1) if 
there are regulations governing 16-year-old donors, (2) who may draw 
the blood, (3) whether certain medical professionals must be on site, (4) if 
parental consent is required, and (5) if these children must be 
accompanied by a parent or another adult when donating. 

 
In 2009, Rhode Island passed a law allowing 16-year-olds to donate 

blood starting on February 1, 2010. Previously, only people age 17 and 
older could donate.  

 
Although Rhode Island has not adopted regulations governing who 

may draw blood, regardless of the donor's age, federal Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) regulations address blood collection. These 
regulations require that blood be drawn by a qualified physician or under 
his or her supervision by assistants trained in the procedure. The 
regulations also require a physician to be present on the premises where 
blood is collected unless the donation site (1) maintains on the premises 
and files with the FDA's Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research a 
manual of standard procedures and methods, approved by the center's 
director, that must be followed by the employees who collect the blood 
and (2) maintains records indicating the name of the person in charge of 
these employees.  
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Rhode Island's Blood Center has created a consent form (attached) 
that must be completed and presented on the day of the blood donation. 
It created a separate form that provides general information for these 
children and their parents. This includes the center's determination of 
the blood's suitability (based on answers to interview questions), the 
possibility of adverse reactions, and the testing of donated blood for viral 
agents. This information is provided to older donors as well. 

 
Sixteen-year-olds may donate only if they (1) get permission from their 

parent or guardian and (2) weigh at least 130 pounds. (Older donors can 
weigh as little as 110 pounds and do not need parental consent.) 
Typically, these children donate at school blood drives but they may 
donate at other community blood drives as well. They do not have to be 
accompanied by a parent or another adult when donating.  
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