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INTERSTATE BOTTLE REDEMPTION FRAUD 

  
By: Kristen L. Miller, Legislative Analyst II 

 
 
This report provides information about provisions in state bottle bills to 

prevent interstate beverage container redemption fraud. 

SUMMARY 

Ten states, including Connecticut, have a beverage container 
redemption law, also known as a bottle bill, which allows people to redeem 
certain containers purchased in the state for deposits paid at purchase. 
The types of beverage containers included in a bottle bill vary by state but 
may include containers for beer and malt beverages, soft drinks, and 
water. 
 

Six states (California, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, and 
Vermont) have provisions in statute or regulations to prevent people from 
redeeming beverage containers purchased out-of-state for deposits they 
did not pay in the state where they are redeemed. The penalties for 
violating these laws vary but may include fines, imprisonment, or both. 
The fines range from $100 to $25,000 depending on the state where the 
violation occurs and the circumstances of the violation. The terms of 
possible imprisonment also varies. 
 

The information in this report was obtained from the Container 
Recycling Institute's (CRI) Bottle Bill Resource Guide and a review of the 
states' beverage container redemption laws. CRI is a national nonprofit 
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organization that studies and promotes policies and programs to increase 
beverage container recovery and recycling. 

INTERSTATE BOTTLE REDEMPTION FRAUD  

Ten states (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, Oregon, and Vermont) have a 
beverage container redemption law. States that collect refundable deposits 
are commonly referred to as bottle bill states. 

 
One form of bottle bill fraud occurs when someone attempts to redeem 

or redeems in a bottle bill state a container purchased in a state that does 
not collect refundable deposits on beer, soft drink, or other beverage 
containers. Six states have bottle bills with provisions to prevent interstate 
bottle redemption or to provide penalties for redeeming containers 
purchased out-of-state: California, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New 
York, and Vermont. Brief summaries of these states' laws follow. 

 
California 
 

California law prohibits a person from defrauding the state by 
redeeming or attempting to redeem beverage containers purchased out-of-
state or bringing out-of-state containers to the marketplace for 
redemption. It also prohibits a person from receiving any refund for 
beverage container material that he or she knows or should know was 
brought from out-of-state (Cal. Pub. Res. Code § 14595.5). 

 
A person convicted of fraud for redeeming out-of-state containers or 

bringing out-of-state containers to the marketplace for redemption is 
subject to a fine, imprisonment, or both. The penalty for committing this 
fraud varies depending, in part, on the amount of money obtained 
illegally. A person who obtains less than $950 is subject to a fine of up to 
$1,000, imprisonment for up to six months, or both. More serious 
penalties are imposed on someone convicted of illegally obtaining more 
than $950. For a crime not involving received money, the violation is an 
infraction which subjects a violator to a fine of $100 for each initial 
violation and up to $1,000 for each subsequent violation. Additional civil 
penalties are possible and a person may be required to pay restitution 
(Cal. Pub. Res. Code § 14591 et seq.). 

 
Maine 
 

Maine law prohibits a person from trying to redeem more than 48 
empty beverage containers if they know or have reason to know that the 
containers were sold out-of-state. A violator is subject to a civil penalty of 
the greater of $100 for each container or $25,000 for each tender of 
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containers. Redemption locations must display a sign informing people of 
the prohibition and penalty (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 1866(8) to 
1866(11)). 

 
The law generally requires a person who brings over 2,500 beverage 

containers for redemption to provide the facility with his or her name, 
address, and license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the 
containers. This information is provided to the Department of Agriculture, 
Food, and Natural Resources, which retains it for at least 12 months (Me. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 1866).  

 
It is also a violation to possess over 48 improperly labeled beverage 

containers and a violator may forfeit $100 for each container over this 
number. Licensed waste facilities are not subject to this requirement. 
Manufacturers and distributors can bring a civil action against someone, 
other than a local redemption center, who possesses more than 48 
beverage containers that he or she knows or has reason to know were sold 
out-of-state. A prevailing manufacturer or distributor is entitled to 
attorney's fees and court costs (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 32 § 1872). 
 
Massachusetts 
 

Massachusetts law prohibits a person from trying to redeem more than 
240 empty beverage containers that he or she knows or has reason to 
know were not sold in the state (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 94, § 323). The law 
subjects violators to a civil penalty of the greater of $100 for each 
container or $25,000 for each tender of containers (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 
94, § 327).  
 
Michigan 
 

Michigan law prohibits returning or attempting to return a beverage 
container that a person knows or should know was purchased out-of-
state. It subjects the person to a civil fine and possible imprisonment 
depending upon the number of nonreturnable containers involved and 
whether the action is a first or subsequent offense.  

 
For example, returning 25 to 100 nonreturnable containers subjects a 

person to a fine of up to $100. If someone returns more than 100 but 
fewer than 10,000 nonreturnable containers or is a repeat offender of 
returning 25 to 100 nonreturnable containers, he or she may be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and subject to a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up 
to 93 days, or both. Felony convictions with higher fines and lengths of 
imprisonment are possible (i.e., up to $5,000, up to five years, or both).  
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Dealers and distributors are generally subject to similar penalties for 
knowingly accepting nonreturnable containers and paying deposits on 
them. Courts must order a person found guilty for violating this law to pay 
restitution (Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.574a). 

 
Dealers must post a sign where returnable containers are redeemed 

informing the public that someone who returns out-of-state containers for 
a refund is subject to penalties including imprisonment and civil fines 
(Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.574b).  

 
In 2008, several bills to prevent the fraudulent redemption of out-of-

state containers became law. Among other things, the new laws required a 
machine-readable, unique state-specific mark on certain beverage 
containers (Mich. Comp. Laws § 445.572a(10)). The mark had to indicate 
whether the container was redeemable. Violators of this requirement were 
subject to possible fines and imprisonment. But in November 2012, the 
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals determined this requirement was 
unconstitutional because it violated the U.S. Constitution's Commerce 
Clause. Specifically, the court ruled that it created an impermissible 
extraterritorial effect by requiring manufacturers and distributors to adopt 
the unique labeling system without considering less burdensome 
alternatives (American Beverage Association v. Snyder, 2012 WL 5954834 
(C.A.6 (Mich.))).  
 
New York 
 

New York law prohibits knowingly redeeming an empty beverage 
container that was not sold in the state. Dealers (retailers) must post a 
sign at the point of sale to inform customers that, among other things, it 
is illegal to return beverage containers for a refund if the containers were 
not purchased in New York (N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. § 27-1007).  

 
A violation of the law is a public nuisance and violators are subject to a 

civil penalty of up to $500 and up to $500 for each day the violation 
continues. A distributor who violates the law is subject to a civil penalty of 
up to $1,000 and up to $1,000 for each day that the violation continues. 
The law also provides a specific civil penalty that may be assessed against 
a person who willfully tenders more than 48 empty beverage containers for 
redemption when the person knows or should reasonably know that the 
containers were not sold in the state. This penalty is a fine of up to $100 
for each container or up to $25,000 for each tender of containers. 
Redemption locations must have a sign warning people of this penalty 
(N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. § 27-1015).  
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The law also contains a provision requiring beverage container labels to 
be registered and bear a unique Universal Product Code (UPC) specific to 
New York. The unique UPC would identify the product as being offered for 
sale in the state and prevent illegal redemption of containers purchased 
out-of-state. But this provision is permanently enjoined and not 
enforceable as the result of stipulated final judgments in IBWA v. Paterson 
(N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. § 27-1012(12)). (In IBWA, the plaintiffs alleged, 
among other things, that the unique UPC requirement violated the 
Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution.) 

 
Vermont 
 

Vermont law prohibits a person from knowingly trying to redeem a 
container purchased out-of-state with a retailer or redemption center. The 
law subjects a violator to a fine of up to $1,000 for each violation (Vt. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 10 §§ 1525 and 1527). Similarly, the law prohibits knowingly 
trying to redeem a container that is improperly labeled. Redemption 
centers and retailers can also be penalized for redeeming foreign (i.e., 
unlabeled) containers (Vt. Code R. §§ 10-103 and 10-110). 

HYPERLINKS 

The Container Recycling Institute's Bottle Bill Resource Guide, 
http://www.bottlebill.org/, last visited January 11, 2013. 
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