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Most of the time, children are unable to speak out for themselves because they do not
know how harmful second hand smoking is. Thus, this bill intends to ban smoking in cars
while a minor passenger is present.

According to research, a car is a confined space which makes second hand smoking even
more dangerous for children in the car. Children are at greater risk to exposure to second
hand smoke due to their fast breathing rates, less developed immune system and inability
to move away from the source at home or in the car,

According to OLR report 2013-R-0078 which is attached, there are only four states that
prohibit smoking in the car where children are present, Currently, Connecticul’s statues
indicate that there is no law protecting children from second hand smoking. Therefore, 1
ask the Transportation Committee to draft and approve this bill which would ban
smoking in the car where children are present. Let’s make Connecticut the fifth state that
protects its children and their health.
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January 31, 2013 2013-R-0078

EFFECTIVENESS OF MAINE LAW BANNING SMOKING IN VEHICLES
WITH MINOR PASSENGERS

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst

You asked about the effectiveness of a Maine law that bans smoking in cars carrying
minor passengers,

SUMMARY

The Maine law, effective September 1, 2008, prohibits a driver or passenger in a
motor vehicle from smoking when a child age 15 or younger is present. Violators are
subject to a $50 fine or a written warning. According to the Maine Judicial Branch,
police cited nine people for violating this law in 2011 and 12 in 2012.

A study of the law conducted for a 2011 master's thesis found a 44% decrease in the
prevalence of smoking in a vehicle in which a child was present between the time the
law took effect and the fall of 2010.

BACKGROUND

Exposure to second-hand smoke is linked to many child health issues, including
sudden infant death, lower respiratory infection, middle ear disease, wheeze, asthma,
and meningitis. Children are likely to be at greater risk from exposure due to their
faster breathing rates, less developed immune system, and inability to move away
from the source in many home and car settings

(hitp:/ /tobaccocontrol.bmj.com/content/early /2012/01/04/tobaccocontrol-2011-
050197). Researchers say that second-hand smoke can be particularly hazardous in
the relatively confined space of a car. Opening car windows or vents reduces, but
does not eliminate, the danger

(hitp:/ /apps.nced.cde.gov/statesystem /common /File Download.aspx).

Maine is one of four states that have enacted laws banning smoking in vehicles where
children are present. The other states are Arkansas, California, and Louisiana. Please
see OLR Report 2012-R-0541 for more information about these laws,

The Maine law bars smoking in a motor vehicle by an operator or a passenger when a
child age 15 or younger is present, regardless of whether the windows are open or
closed. Violators are subject to a $50 fine, but a law enforcement officer may instead
issue a written warning (22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 1549).

OBSERVATIONAL STUDY OF SMOKING IN VEHICLES TRANSPORTING MINORS

hitp://www.cga.ct.gov/2013/rpt/2013-R-0078.htm 2/20/2013
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A 2011 thesis, written by a student in San Diego State University's Master of Public
Health program, examined the effectiveness of the Maine law. According to the thesis,
the study “is the first to assess the factors associated with smoking in vehicles with
children” (http://sdsu-

dspace.calstate.edu/bitstream/handle/10211.10/1041 /Callahan Katie,pdf?

sequence=1).

The study was conducted by teams of researchers who observed vehicles during
different times of day and in different seasons at seven observation sites in
Farmington, Maine. The researchers watched for vehicles carrying children age 13 or
younger. (The thesis author chose 13, rather than 16, as the age cut-off to reduce the
likelihood of mistakenly identifying passengers age 16 or older as minors.}

Findings and Conclusion

The study recorded observations of 3,937 adults in 3,346 vehicles. Of these adults,
325 (8.26%) were smoking, or riding with a smoker. It found a significantly greater
likelihood of seeing people smoking in a vehicle with children in the fall of 2008 than
in the fall of 2010. Specifically, it found that the instances of adults seen smoking in
vehicles with minor passengers decreased from 13.08% in the fall of 2008 to 7.4% in
the fall of 2010, a decline of 44%. Among other things, the study also found that the
prevalence of smoking varied by season, with more smoking taking place in colder

weather,

The thesis noted that the decrease in smoking in vehicles with children present was
unexpected. “Originally, it was hypothesized that there would be a minimal decrease
from 2008 to 2010,” the author wrote, “The large significant decrease over time could
be a representation of the effectiveness of the law and its impact on behavior change.”

While the study was the first to evaluate the Maine law, the author noted that it had
some limitations. For one thing, the data was collected only by observation, and not
by questioning vehicle occupants, which would have provided more reliable
information. It also was possible that non-smoking vehicle occupants could have
been smoking immediately before or after they were observed.

PF:ro

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2013/rpt/2013-R-0078.htm 2/20/2013
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Referred to Committee on TRANSPORTATION

Introduced by:

REP. GENGA, 101 Dist. REP. MUSHINSKY, 85 Dist.
REP. HEWETT, 39" Dist., SEN. MAYNARD, 18T Dist.
REP, BARAM, 15 Dist. SEN, MEYER, 12 Dist.

REP. LARSON, 11 Dist.

AN ACT PROHIBITING SMOKING IN MOTOR VEHICLES WITH MINOR
CHILDREN. ‘

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly
convened:

That the general statutes be amended to: (1) Prohibit any person from smoking in
a motor vehicle when there is a child six years of age or younger or weighing less
than sixty pounds and required under subsection (d) of section 14-100a of the
general statutes to be secured in a child restraint system in such vehicle; (2}
create a rebuttable presumption that a person who holds a cigarette, cigar, pipe
or similar device to, or in the immediate proximity of, his or her mouth while
such vehicle is in motion or at rest is presumed to be smoking; (3) establish that
any person found in violation of such prohibition shall be deemed to have
committed an infraction, unless such person is found in violation of such
prohibition for the first time during the first year after the effective date of this

hitp://cgalites/2013/TOB/H/2013HB-05380-R00-HB.htm 2/20/2013
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act; and (4) establish that any person found in violation of such prohibition for
the first time during the first year after the effective date of this act shall be
issued a warning.

Statement of Purpose:

To protect children from secondhand smoke.

http://cgalites/2013/TOB/H/2013HB-05380-R00-HB . htm 2/20/2013







