PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE
February 1, 2013

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) is Connecticut’s statewide association of towns and cities
and the voice of local govermment - your partners in governing Connecticut. Our members represent over 92%
of Connecticut’s population. We appreciate the opportunity to testify on bills of interest to towns and cities.

We appreciate this opportunity to testify before this joint committee on the important issue of tenant evictions.
CCM supports HB5295, “An Act Concerning the Possessions af Evicted Tenants”.
This bill would relieve towns and cities from the mandate to store the possessions of evicted residential tenants.

Although some relief was provided in 2010 by eliminating the mandate that requires towns and cities transport
the possessions of evicted tenants — the existing mandate to store items continues to drain local finances and
resources. While municipalities are. allowed to.try. to recoup some of the costs by auctioning off the items,
municipalities must incur costs associated with conducting an auction (including publicizing the auction, etc.).
And, usually the possessions are not sellable — ultimately, the municipality receives little or no reimbursement.

CCM urges the Committee to examine the enclosed Office of Legislative Research’s “Research Report”,
Number 2006-R-0164. Entitled, “State Laws on Landlord’s Treatment of Abandoned Property”, the report
shows that, of the 37 states researched, Connecticut is the only state that mandates that municipalities remove
and store the possessions of evicted tenants. In other states, landlords or sheriffs have the responsibility.

This is a mandate that frustrates and befuddles municipal officials because there’s no real reason towns should
be placed into what is essentially a landlord-tenant issue. During a time of record deficits, cuts in services and
layoffs, towns and cities just can’t afford mandates like this.

The tenant evictions mandate is costly to municipalities. 1t is estimated that there are about 2,500 residential
evictions per year.

And, storage costs average $10 per day, per eviction, for an average of 15 days. The costs — excluding staff,
vehicles and other administrative costs — can range from approximately $9,000 to $147,900.

The mandate takes up considerable time on the munmicipal level. When a person has been evicted,

municipalities must store the possessions for at least 15 days. Municipalities are allowed to try to recoup some
of the costs by auctioning off the items. However, municipalities must incur costs associated with conducting
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an auction (including publicizing the auction, etc.). And, usually the possessions are not sellable, According to
one municipal official involved in this pmcess the belongmgs are reclaimed in only about 10% of the cases.

; Last -yoar; New Haven pald mere thau $250 000 fm the labor, storage tiansportatlon and dlsposal of propetrty
~ from evicted tenants‘ An auction doesn’t usually take place because the items have no monetary value.

- Bridgeport estimates that the mandate costs this struggling city upwards to $129,000 per year.
| Waterbury spends $70,000 a year to store evictees’ possessions.

. East Hartford esthn%fteé that it will pay $40,000 regarding the tenant evictions mandate: $20,000‘ in labor,
$3,000 in storage, $2,000 in building maintenance, and $15,000 in disposal costs,

The mandate is projected to cost Norwich $17,000 in FY 13.

CCM urges the Committee to begin the process of providing meaningful mandates relief by drafting and
SJavorably reporting H.B. 5295,

* K ok ok ok

If you have any questions, please contact Ron Thomas, Director of Public Policy & Advocacy,
at rthomas(@ccm-ct.org or (203} 498-3000.

Enclosure




February 21,2006 . o 2006-R-0164

STATE LAWS ON LANDLORDS’ TREATMENT OF ABANDONED
PROPERTY

By: Sandra Norman-Eady, Chief Attorney
Ryan O’Neil, Research Assistant
Margarita Maslyukova-Malova, Research Fellow

You asked for a summary of laws in the 50 states regulating how landlords must handle
personal property that tenants leave in their dwelling unit after an eviction. We could not
locate a secondary source for this information so we summarized the law in as many states
as we could within your timeframe.

SUMMARY

In the overwhelming majority of the 37 states that we researched, a landlord may
dispose of personal property that a tenant leaves in dwelling units by selling it after first
notifying the tenant-of his intent and storing the property for a period prior to the:sale.
Colorado is the only state we identified where landlords have no duty to store property that
tenants leave behind. Connecticut, Virginia, and Washington are the only states that we
found that permit tenants’ property to be placed on a street, sidewalk, or other public

property.

dwellmg units give them the discretion to destroy or r otherwise dlSpOSC of property they
determine to be worth less than the total cost to move, store, and sell it at a public sale.
Some states, like California, Florida, Maine, and Nebraska, set a monetary threshold below
which property may he destroyed or otherwise disposed of without a public sale.

The level of detail in the notice that landlords must provide tenants vary by state. While
all states that require notice require it to inform the tenant that the property wili be
disposed of unless he claims it in a specified number of days, some states (e.g., California,
Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Massachusetts, and Nebraska) require the landlord to describe the
property in sufficient detail for the tenant to identify it. Most states require the notice to be
mailed or personally delivered, but Kansas landlords must instead publish the notice in a

local newspaper.



The vast majority of the states allow landlords to recover costs associated with
removing, storing, advertising, and selling personal property from sale proceeds. Generally,
tenant owners are entitled to. any residual proceeds. :
H H !

- Most of the states have laws that are specific to post-eviction handling of tenants’
property. However the law in some states {e.g., Arizona, lowa, Minnesota, Missouri,
Nevada, and New Jersey) applies to property that a tenant “abandons” either pre- or post-
eviction. These states generally establish a presumption that property is abandoned (1)
after a specified number of days if the tenant has not informed the landlord of an extended
absence or (2) if the tenant does not respond to the notice of disposition. Although a
person who has been evicted from a dwelling unit is no longer a “tenant”, we have used this

term throughout for ease of understanding.
ABANDONED PROPERTY

Most states regulate the way landlords must handle personal property left behind by
departed tenants. Many require landlords to notify tenants of the status of the property,
including.the landlord’s intention to dispose of it on a specified date unless it is reclaimed.
Most states require landlords to store the property before disposing of it and allow them to
recover removal and storage costs from any proceeds they realize after selling the property.
Table 1 shows the process for handling abandoned property in 37 states.

TABLE 1: DISPOSAL OF ABANDONED PROPERTY BY STATE

Alaska A landlord must notify his tenant that unless he removes the property within at least 15
§ 34.03.260 days, the landlord will sell it or, if vatueless, otherwise dispose of it. If the tenant
appears to remove property, he must pay storage costs. If the tenant does not remove it,
the landlord may sell, destroy, or otherwise dispose of it,

Arkansas All praperty left in and about the premises after termination of a lease are presumed

§ 18-16-108 abandoned and may be disposed of as the landlord sees fit. The property is subject to a
lien in the landlord’s favor for payment of agreed upon sums.

Arizona When property is abandoned, the landlord must mail the tenant notice of his intention to

§ 33-1370 take the property. The landlord must store it for at least 10 days. If the tenant does not

attempt to recover it, the landlord may sell it and apply the proceeds towards any
outstanding rent, costs the landlord occurred, and any other costs provided in the lease
;1 agreement, The landlord must mail excess proceeds to the tenant at his last know

address.

If provided in the rental agreement, a landlord may destroy or otherwise dispose of
property that is worth less than the total cost to move, store, and dispose of it at a public
sale.

The landlord must keep adequate records and any excess proceeds for 12 months after a

sale,
California The landlord must send a notice to the place the tenant is expected to receive it that (1)
Civil Code § 1983 et describes the property in sufficient detail for the tenant to identify it, (2) advises him that
seq, he has 15 days (18 days if the notice is mailed) to claim it, {3) appraises hiimn of

reasonable storage costs, and (4) tells him where to claim the property.

The notice must also inform him that unclaimed property of value will be sold at a
public sale and property believed {o be worth less than $300 will be kept, sold, or

destroyed.

After deductions for storage, advertising, and the sale, landlords must turn over to the




county any residual proceeds.

Colorado
§ 13-40-122

A sheriff may remove a tenant’s personal property when executing a writ of restitution.
A landlord has no duty to store or inventory the property, or to determine its condition or
ownership, Ifhe elects to do so, he may charge the tenant for reasonable storage costs.

Connecticut
§ 472-42

The state marshal executing the eviction must use reasonable efforts to locate and notify
the tenant and any other previous cccupants affected by the eviction of the date and time
of the removal and possible sale of the property. The marshal must also give the chief
executive officer (CEO) of the town where the rental unit is located a 24-hour netice of
the eviction, stating the date, time, and location, and general description, if known, of the
type and amount of property to be removed.

If the property is unclaimed, the marshal can set it on an adjacent
sidewalk, street, or highway. If not immediately removed, the CEQO must
remove and store the property at the tenant’s expense, The CEO can
sell, at a public auction, any properfy remaining in storage for more
than 15 days after the eviction. He must make reasonable efforts to
locate and notify the tenant of the sale, including posting a notice one
week in advance of the auction on a public sign post located near the
place of eviction or, if there is no sign post, at some exterior place near
the town clerk’s office.

Within 30 days after the auction, the CEO must turn auclion proceeds, minus a
reasonable charge for removal and storage, to a tenant who asks for them. Absent a
request, the CEO turns the proceeds over fo the town treasury.

Delaware
25§ 5715

I a tenant has not removed his property at the time the writ of possession is executed,
the landlord can immediately remove and store the property for 7 days at the tenant’s
expense. If the tenant does not claim the property and reimburse the landlord for
removal and storage at the end of this period, the property is deemed abandoned and the
landlord may dispose of it without further notice or obligation fo the tenant.

Florida

§ 715.04 et seq.

The landlord must send a notice, to the place the tenant is expected to receive it, that (1)
describes the property in sufficient detail for the tenant to identify it, (2) advises him that
he has 10 days (15 days if the notice is mailed) to claim il, (3) appraises him of
reasonable storage costs, and (4) tells him where to claim the property.

The notice must also inform him that unclaimed property of value will be sold at a
public sale and property believed to be worth less than $500 will be kept, sold, or
destroyed.

After deductions for storage, advertising, and the sale, landlords must turn over to the
county any residual proceeds.

Georgia
§ 44-7-55

A writ of possession authorizes the executing officer to remove a tenant’s personal
property and place it on some portion of the landlord’s property or on other property that
the landlord designates and the officer approves, The landlord owes no duty to the
tenant regarding it, After the writ is executed, the property is regarded as abandoned.

Hawaii
§ 521-56

The landiord may sell the propeity, store it, or donate it to a charitable organization,
Before selling or donating it, the landlord must make reasonable efforts to notify the
tenant, by mail, of the identity and location of the property and of his intention to sell or
donate it, At least 15 days after the notice is mailed, the landlord may (1} sell the
property after advertising the sate for at least three consecutive days in a daily paper of
general circulation in the area where the premises is located or (2) donate the property to
a charitable organization,

After deducting any unpaid rent and the cost of storing and selling the propeity, the
landlord must hold proceeds in trust for the tenant for 30 days, after which time the
proceeds are forfeited to the landlord.

The landlerd may use his discretion to dispose of property that he determines is without
value.

Idaho

The sheriff or constable executing the writ of possession is authorized to place any




§ 6-311C property remaining on the premises in a safe place for storage, He can place a lien on the
property to offset costs.
Indiana A landlord who is awarded possession of a dwelling unit by a cowrt may ask for an order

§§ 32-31-4-119 123 31-
R

to remove any personal property remaining on the premiseés and deliver it to'a

‘| warehouseman. Before remneving-the-property; the-landlord-must- personallrservé the

tenant at his last known address with (1) a copy of the order and (2) the identity and
location of the warechouseman.

‘The warehouseman holds a lien on non-exempt property equal to the expenses for any of
the following incurred by the warehouseman with respect to ail of the property, whether
exeinpt or not exempt: (1} storage, (2) transportation, (3) insurance, (4) labor, (5) present
or future charges related to the property, (6) expenses necessary to preserve the property,
and (7) expenses reasonably incurred in the lawful sale of the property.

A tenant may claim exempt property (i.e., a week’s supply of seasonable clothing,
blankets, items necessary for a minor’s care and schooling, medically necessary
property, or property used in the tenant’s frade or business) at any time without paying
costs,

At any time prior to a sale, a tenant may claim his other property by paying the
warehouseman the above-described expenses. A warehouseman may sell any
nonexempt, unclaimed property 90 days the notice described above,

Iowa
§ 555B.2

A real property owner may remove abandoned personal property and place it in storage
until a judgment of abandonment is entered or until the personal property owner pays a
fair and reasonable charge for removal; storage; or other expense incwired, including
reasonable attorneys’ fees, "The real property owner must notify the sheriff of the county
where the real property is located when the property is removed,

If the real property owner asks, the sheriff must notify the personal property owner, if
known, of the removal. If the owner cannot be determined, and the real property owner
so requests, the sheriff must give notice by one publication in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county where the personal property was abandoned. If the personal
property is not claimed within six monihs after notice, the sheriff must sell it at a public
or private sale, After deducting sale costs, the sheriff must apply the net proceeds to the
cost of removal, storage, notice, attorney fees, and any other expenses incurred for
preserving the personal property. He must pay any remaining net proceeds to the county.

Kansas
§ 5-2565

The tandlord may take possession of the property, store it at tenant’s expense, and sell
or otherwise dispose of it after 30 days. At least 15 days prior to the sale or
disposition, the landlord must publish notice of his intention at least once in a
newspaper of general circulation in thie county where the dwelling unit is located.
Within seven days after publication, the landlord must mail a copy of the published
notice to the tenant at his last known address. The notice must include the tenant’s
name, a brief description of the property, and the approximate date on which the
landlord intends to sell or otherwise dispose of it,

During the time the landlord has possession, the tenant may redeem the property after
paying the landlord for holding and preparing the property for sale and for any other
outstanding debt, including rent. :

Any proceeds from the saie or other disposition of the property must be used to offset (1)
reasonable costs to store the property and prepare it for sale or disposition, give notice,
and sell or dispose of it; and {2) any amount the tenant owes the landlord. The landlord
may retain any residual.

Maine
14 §§ 6005 and 6013

Property that remains at a dwelling 48 hours after service of a writ of possession is
deemed abandoned,

If the property is unclaimed and valued at less than $750, the landlord must place it in
storage. The landlord inust send written notice, including an itemized list of the property
and the landlord’s intent to dispose of it, to the tenant’s last known address. If the tenant




claims the property within 14 days afier the notice is sent, the landlord must continue to
store it for at least an additional 10 days to allow the tenant time to take possession. The
landlord may condition the release of the property on the tenant’s payment of all rental
arrearages, damages, and slorage costs.

If the prope}ly remains unclaimed on the 14th day after notice or 10 days after the tenant
claims it, the landiord may sell the property for a reasonable fair market price and apply
all proceeds to rental arrearages, damages, and costs of storage and sale. All remaining

"balances must be forwarded to the siate treasurer,

Abandoned tangible property valued at $750 or more must be reported to the state
treasurer, If the treasurer refuses delivery and authorizes a landlord to sell it, he must sell
it in a commercially reasonable manner,

Afier the sale, the landlord may apply any sale proceeds to unpaid rent, damages to the
premises, and the expenses of storage, notice and sale. The landlord must report any
balance and the records of the sale to the state treasurer.

Maryland A lease may not contain any provision authorizing the landlord to take possession of the

§ 8-208 leased premises or the tenant’s personal properly unless the lease has been terminated
and the tenant has abandoned the personal property.

Massachuseits At least 48 hours before executing a writ of possession, the executing officer must give

§ 239-3 and -4

the tenant written notice of the specific date and time that he will physically remove his
personal possessions.

Among other things, the notice must state (1) the name, address, and telephone number
of the storage warehouse and (2) that the warehouser may sell at auction any property
that is unclaimed after 6 months and may the proceeds necessary to compensate him for
any unpaid storage fees accrued as of the date of the auction. A defendant has the aption
of telling the officer where to store the property at any time before it is physically
removed.

The landlord must pay the removal fee, but he is entitled to reimbursement from the
tenant.

The warehouser has a lien on the property equal to the cost of storage. After the
property has been stored for at least six tmonths, the warehouser may enforce the lien by
selling or otherwise disposing of the property. The defendant may postpone the sale or
disposal of his property for three months upon payment of one half of all siorage fees
plus costs reasonably incurred in preparation for their sale.

Minnesota
§ 504B.271

A landlord must store the personal property belonging to a tenant who
abandons the premises. The landlord has a claim against the tenant for
reasonable moving and storage costs.

The landlord may sell or otherwise dispose of the property after 60 days
and may apply a rcasonable amount of the proceeds to the removal,
care, and storage costs and expenses of any sale. He must pay any
remaining proceeds to the tenant upon written demand.

The landlord must make reasonable efforts to notify the tenant at least 14 days prior to
the sale, by personal service or mail to the tenant’s last known address or usual place of
abode and by posting notice of the sale in a conspicuous place on the premises for at
least iwo weeks.

Missouri
§ 441.065

A landlord may remove or dispose of any property that remains in or at
the premises after the tenant abandons it. The property is deemed
abandoned if the:

(1) landlord has a reasonable belief that the tenant has vacated the
premises and intends not to return and posts written notice of
abandonment on the premises and mails a copy of it to the tenant’s last
known address;




{2) rent is due and has been unpaid for 30 days; and
(3) tenant fails to either pay rent or respond in writing to the landiord’s notice within 10
days. .

“fhie nofice must nclude a waming that the'landlord may dispose of the property -

remaining on the premises unless the tenant contacts the landlord within 10 days and
inforins him that the property is not abandoned.

Montana
§ 70-24-430

If a tenancy terminates and the landlord reasonably believes that the tenant has
abandoned all personal property left on the premises, the landlord may inventory and
store the property with a commercial storage company. :

The landlord must:

(a) make a reasonable attempt to notify the tenant that he plans to move the property;
(b) notify the local law enforcement office that he has the property;

{c) make a reasonable effort fo determine if the property is secured or otherwise
encumbered; and

(d) send a notice to the tenant’s last-known address stating that at a specified time, not
tess than 15 days afier mailing the notice, the property will be disposed of if not
removed,

After the 15 days, the landlord may sell, destroy, or otherwise dispose of the property.

If, after receiving notice, the tenant informs the landlord that he intends to claim the
property and does so within 7 days thereatter, the landlord is entitled to storage costs for
the period that the property remains in safekeeping, plus the cost of removal of the
properly to ihe place of storage.

If the property is sold, the landlord may deduct from the proceeds of the sale the
reasonable costs of notice, storage, labor, and sale and any delinquent rent or damages
owing on the premises and must remit the remainder to the tenant. If the tenant cannot
after due diligence be found, the reinaining proceeds must be deposited with the county
treasurer for the county where the sale occurred.

Nebraska
§§ 69-2303 10 -2314

When personal property remains on the premises after a tenancy has terminated or
expired and the premises have been vacated by the tenant, the landlord must give written
notice (1) describing the property in a manaer reasonably adequate to permit the owner
to identify it, and (2) informing the tenant that the propeity will be sold at a public sale
or (3) informing the tenant that he believes the property is worth less than $250 and will
be destroyed, sold, or otherwise disposed.

The landlord must release the property if the tenant claims it prior to a sale and pays the
reasonable costs of storage, advertising, and preparation for sale.

The landlord must give notice of the time and place of the public sale by advertising it
once a week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the
county where the sale is to be held. If there is no such newspaper in the county, the
landlord must post the advertisement for at teast 10 days before the sale in at least six
conspicuous places in the neighborhood of the proposed sale.

After deducting the reasonable costs of storage, advertising, and sale, the landlord must
remit to the stale treasurer any residual that is not claimed by the tenant.

Nevada
§§ 118A.450 and .460

If a landlord has notice that a tenant has abandoned leased premises, he may dispose of
the tenant’s personal property. In the absence of notice, a tenant is presumed to have
abandoned premises if he is absent for a period of time equal to one-half the time for
periodic rental payments, unless the rent is current or the tenant has in writing notified
the landlord of an intended absence,

The landlord may dispose of the abandoned property or property left on the premises
after an eviction by storing it for 30 days, during which time the tenant may claim if after




paying inventory, moving, and storage costs. After the 30 days, the landtord may
dispose of the property and recover his costs if he has (1} made reasonable efforts to
tocate the tenant and (2) notified the tenant in writing of his intention to dispose of the
property and 14 days have elapsed since the notice was given. The landlord must mail
the notice to the tenant’s present or fast known address.

New Hampshire
§ 540-A:3 (VID)

A landlord must maintain and exercise reasonable care in the storage of the personal
property of a tenant who has vacated the premises, either voluntarily or by eviction, for a
period of 28 days. During this period, the tenant can recover his property without paying

rent or storage fees. After the 28 days lhe landlond may dlspoqé of fhe property w1thout
notice to the tenani.” -

Néw Jersey
§§ 2A:18-72 10 -82

If a landlord believes a teénant has abandoned personal property remaining in a dwelling
unit, the landlord may dispose of it. Before the disposal, the landlord must notify the

“tenant that the property (1) is considered abandoned and that it will be stored for 30 days

(33 days if the notice is mailed) and (2) will be sold at a public or private sale or
disposed of or destroyed if believed to be of little value.

The property is presumed abandoned if the tenant (1) responds to the notice within the
30 days (or 33 days, as appropriate) bui does not claim the property or (2) does not
respound to the notice.

If the tenant claims the property, he must pay the landlord for removal and storage.,

After 30 days, the landlord may sell the property and deduct from the proceeds the
reasonable costs of notice, storage, and sale, and any unpaid rent and charges not
covered by a security deposit. After deducting these amounts, the landlord must give the
tenant the difference. If the tenant cannot be found, the landlord must turn the remaining
proceeds over to Superior Court.

North Carolina
§47-25.9 and § 42-
36.2

After an eviction and notice specifying the date a sheriff will execute a writ of
possession, a tenant has up to 10 days to contact the landlord and arrange to take
possession of the property. During the 10 days, the landlord must store the property in a
county warchouse. After 10 days (or five days if the property’s vaiue is less than $100),
the landlord may dispose of or sell the property. If the landtord chooses to sell the
property, he must give seven days notice in writing to the tenant, which may run
concwrently with the 10-day period. The landlord may use sale proceeds to offset any
remaining rent, damages, storage fees, and the cost of the sale. He must give any surplus
to a tenant who ‘asks for it or to the county where the property is located if no one asks.

If the property is worth less than $500, the {andlord may donate it to a nonprofit
organization that agrees io store it for 30 days. The landlord imust post a notice of the

property’s location at the vacated premises and mail the tenant a copy of'it. The

organization must release the property at no charge if the.tenant comes to claim if within
30 days.

North Dakota
§ 47-16-30.1

A landlord may dispose of property, without legal process, that is valued at less than
$1,500 and left for more than 30 days after a writ of possession is executed, The landlord
may recover his storage, moving, and sale expenses from either sale proceeds or the
tenant’s security depaosit.

Oklahoma
§41-130

When property is left on the premises after a tenant has been lawfully removed, the
tandlord may dispose of the property in any manner he chooses if he deterinines that it
has no asceriainable value, If the landlord determines that the property has value, he
must send the tenant notice at his last-known address of his intention te dispose of the
property after 30 days property. During that period the landlord must store the property.

If the tenant removes the property within the 30 days, he is liable to the landlord for
removal and storage costs. If he does not, the landiord may dispose of it,

Oregon
§ 90425

When property is left on the premises after a tenant has been lawfully removed, the
landlord must give the tenant written notice at his lasi-known address that the: (a)
property is considered abandoned; (b) the tenant must contact the landlord within five
days afier personal delivery (or eight days after mailed notice) to arrange for removal;
and (c¢) the property is being stored, including the storage location.




If the tenant fails to contact the landlord by the specific date, or after that contact fails to
remove the property within 15 days, the landlord may sell or dispose of the property.

The landlord may deduct from any sale proceeds the reasonable or actual cost of notice,
storage, and sale, and unpaid rent. The landlord must turn any residual over to the tenant.

South Dakota
§§ 43-32-25 to 43-32-
26

The landlord may dispose of any property valued at $100 or less that a tenant leaves in a
dwelling unit for more than 10 days after he bas vacated.

The landlord must store property valued-at over $100 for at least 30 days and place a lien
on it cover storage and handiing, After 30 days he may consider the property abandoned
and dispose of jt. ~ ) ' ]

Tennessee
§ 66-28-405

Property remaining on premises is considered abandoned after (1) a tenant has been
absent for at least 30 days without explanation or (2) at least 15 days have passed since
the tenant was supposed to pay rent and it appears to the landlord that he has vacated the
preises.

Under the latter circumstance only, the landlord must notify the tenant of his intention to
take possession of the property within 10 days unless he is contacted. If the tenant does
not contact him, the landlord can remove tenant’s belongings from the premises and
store them for not less than 30 days. If during this time the tenant does not recover his
possessions, the landlord can sell or otherwise dispose of the property. He can apply
sale proceeds to any unpaid rent, damages, and storage fees.

Texas
§ 24.0061

A writ of possession must order the execuiing officer to post a wrilten warning that the
properfy subject to it, if not removed, will be placed at a nearby location that does not
block a public sidewalk, passageway, or street.

The executing officer or a bonded warchouseman may remove and store the property at
no cost to himself or the landlord. The landlord is not required to stere the property.

Utah
§ 78-36-12.6

The landlord may move the property from the premises, store it and recover the costs of
moving and storage from the tenant. The landiord must make reasonable efforis to notify
the tenant about the location of the property. If'in 30 days the tenant does not recover
the property, the landlord may sell it and cover his expenses or donate the property.

Vermont
9§ 4462

If a tenant abandons his dwelling unit, the landlord must send him a written notice of his
intent to dispose of any unclaimed property after 60 days. During this time the landlord
must store the property in a safe place. After 60 days, the landlord owns the property and
may dispose of it as he sees fit,

If the tenant appears to elaim the property, he nust pay storage and other fees.

Washington -
§§ 59.18.310,
59.18.312

A landlord may store property remaining when a sheriff executes a writ of restitution
unless the tenant objects to storage. If the tenant objects, the landlord may place the
property on the nearest public properiy.

If the fandlord stores property valued at $50 or less, he must give the tenant notice that
he intends to setl or dispose of it afier seven days unless it is reclaimed. If the property
is valued at over $50, the landlord must give the tenant netice that he intends to sell or
dispose of if after 45 days unless it is reclaimed. The landlord must apply and sale
proceeds to any outstanding debts the tenant owes the landlord, including rent and
storage of the property. The tenant can claim any excess income from the sale for up to
one year. After one year, the balance becomes the landlord’s property.

West Virginia
§37-6-6

If a tenant abandons his property while he owes a landlord rent, the landlord must post a
notice on the property requiring the tenant to pay the rent within 30 days. If the rent is
not paid, the landlord may take, dispose of, or otherwise remove the property after
notice,

The notice must stale that the property is considered abandoned and the landlord’s
intentions if it is not claimed within 30 days. After the 30 days, the tandlord is the
property owner and can dispose of it. If, however, the property is valued at $300 or




more, the tenant may ask the landlord to store it for up to an additional 30 days so that he
has time to claim it.

Wisconsin If a tenant leaves property behind, the landlord can:
.§ 704.05(5) . ' : S .. :
| +._store It-and place 4 lien on it for the cost of storage. The landlord must notify the!
tenant within 10 days after storage charges are imposed. Medicine and medical
equipmeni must be promptly restoréd to the tenant and are not subject fo the kien!

* notify the tenant that the he intends to sell or otherwise dispose of the property unless
it is claimed within 30 days. The landlord can deduct sale and storage costs from the
sale proceeds. The tenant may claini any residual within 60 days after the sdle;
oilierwise the landlord must send it to the Department of Administration.

¢ store ihe property without a lien and return it to the tenant,

Wyoming Once a lease is terminated, a landlord may immediately dispose of any remaining on the
§ 1-21-1210 premises. Such property is presumed to be valueless and abandoned.

The landlord must give the tenant notice that describes the property and states his
intention to dispose of it after seven days. If the tenant informs the tandiord to reclain
the property within the seven days, the landiord must hold it for an additional seven
days, If the tenant does not claim it or does not respond to the notice, the property is
conclusively deemed abandoned and the landlord may retain or dispose of it.

The tenant is responsible to the landlord for reasonable removal and storage cosls.
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