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Public Health Committee 

 

AN ACT CONCERNING VARIOUS REVISIONS TO THE PUBLIC 
HEALTH STATUTES 

SUMMARY:  This act makes numerous substantive changes to Department of 

Public Health (DPH)-related statutes and programs.  For example, the act requires 

at least one automatic external defibrillator (AED) at each higher education 

institution’s athletic department, and at least one person trained in AED use and in 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) to be on premises during intercollegiate 

sport practices, training, or competition. 
The act increases the maximum penalty, from $100 to $10,000 per violation, 

for violations of laws relating to installers and cleaners of subsurface sewage 

disposal systems (e.g., septic systems). The act allows advanced practice 

registered nurses (APRNs) to certify, sign, or otherwise document medical 

information in specified situations that previously required a physician’s 

signature, certification, or documentation. It creates an advisory council on organ 

and tissue donation education and awareness. 

The act also makes changes affecting vital records; the Connecticut Tumor 

Registry; tuberculosis patients; the Oral Public Health director; rape crisis centers; 

private residential well testing; out-of-state physicians at youth camps; massage 

therapist licensure; the Interagency and Partnership Advisory Panel on Lupus; 

dentists’ continuing education; alcohol and drug counselor licensure; physiatrists 

(rehabilitation physicians); high school water treatment courses; acupuncturists; 

the Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee; the Health Information 

Technology Exchange of Connecticut; physician assistants; APRN licensure; and 

Department of Developmental Services (DDS) self-advocates. It also makes 

minor, technical, and conforming changes. 

A section-by-section analysis appears below. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2012, except where noted below.  

§ 1 – FETAL DEATH CERTIFICATES 

The act eliminates the requirement that fetal death certificates conform to the 

same standards and requirements as birth certificates regarding the mother’s 

marital status and acknowledgement of paternity. These requirements include, 

among other things, that (1) information about the mother’s marital status be 

recorded on a confidential portion of the birth certificate; (2) acknowledgement of 

paternity be filed in DPH’s paternity registry; and (3) the father’s name be entered 

on the birth certificate or birth record when the mother is not married.  
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§ 2 – MARRIAGE LICENSES 

The act provides that if a marriage license is signed and sworn to by the 

applicants on different dates, the application date is deemed to be the later date, 

rather than the earlier one (by law, marriage licenses expire after 65 days). 

§ 3 – TUMOR REGISTRY 

The act requires that reports to the Connecticut Tumor Registry include 

pathology reports, along with other information required by law. 

By law, the Connecticut Tumor Registry includes reports of all tumors and 

conditions that are diagnosed or treated in the state for which DPH requires 

reports. Hospitals, health care providers, and clinical laboratories must provide 

such reports to DPH for inclusion in the registry. 

§ 4 – TUBERCULOSIS PATIENTS 

The act allows the DPH commissioner to enter into a reciprocal agreement 

with another state for the interstate transportation and treatment of patients with 

tuberculosis. 

§ 5 – ORAL PUBLIC HEALTH DIRECTOR 

The act eliminates the requirement that the Office of Oral Public Health 

director have a graduate degree in public health, instead requiring experience in 

public health.  By law, the director must also be a dentist or dental hygienist 

licensed in Connecticut. 

§ 6 – RAPE CRISIS CENTERS 

The act eliminates a reference to rape crisis centers needing to meet DPH 

criteria for service provision in the statute on confidential communications 

between sexual assault counselors and victims.  Prior law included this reference 

but did not specifically authorize DPH to set such criteria.  

§ 7 – RADIONUCLIDES IN PRIVATE RESIDENTIAL WELLS  

The act eliminates local health directors’ authority to require private 

residential well testing for all radionuclides (i.e., radioactive contaminants), 

instead allowing them to require testing for specific substances: arsenic, radium, 

uranium, radon, or gross alpha emitters.   

By law, local health directors can only require such testing if there are 

reasonable grounds to suspect that contaminants are present in groundwater, 

including deposits in bedrock or proximity to areas where such substances are 

present in groundwater.  The law also allows local health directors to require 

testing of private residential wells for pesticides, herbicides, or organic chemicals. 

§§ 8 & 9 – SEPTIC SYSTEM INSTALLERS AND CLEANERS 
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The act increases the maximum penalty, from $100 to $10,000 per incident, 

for violations of laws governing installers and cleaners of septic systems and other 

subsurface sewage disposal systems. 

The act also removes the condition in prior law defining such systems’ 

installers or cleaners as people who ―regularly‖ offer such work to the general 

public. This explicitly allows DPH to take action against someone who violates 

these laws even if the person is not regularly engaged in such work. 

§ 10 – PHYSICIANS AT YOUTH CAMPS  

The act allows any physician or surgeon licensed in good standing in another 

state to practice in Connecticut as a youth camp physician for up to nine weeks, 

without a Connecticut license.  Prior law required them to be board-certified in 

pediatrics or family medicine if the other state’s licensure standards were not 

equivalent to ours.  

§§ 11-14 – LEADINGAGE CONNECTICUT  

The act makes technical changes reflecting that the Connecticut Association 

of Not-For-Profit Providers for the Aging has been renamed LeadingAge 

Connecticut, Inc. 

§ 15 – MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSES  

By law, to receive a massage therapist license, the applicant must have 

graduated from a school of massage therapy meeting certain requirements.  The 

act requires the school to have had, upon the applicant’s graduation, a current 

school code assigned by the National Certification Board for Theurapeutic 

Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). 

Licensure applicants must also have passed the National Certification 

Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, an exam offered by 

NCBTMB.  The act specifies that NCBTMB’s national examination for state 

licensing option (a different exam) does not satisfy the law’s examination 

requirement for licensure. 

§ 16 – AED AT HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS  

The act requires at least one AED at each athletic department of higher 

education institutions. The AED must be provided and maintained in a central 

location not more than ¼ mile from the premises used by the athletic department 

(i.e., those premises used for intercollegiate sport practice, training, or 

competition, such as athletic buildings or rooms, gymnasiums, athletic fields, or 

stadiums).  

The act also requires higher education athletic departments to:  

1. make the AED’s location known and accessible to its employees and 

student-athletes during all hours of intercollegiate sport practice, training, 

and competition;  

2. ensure that at least one licensed athletic trainer or other person who is 
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trained in CPR and AED use, in accordance with the standards of the 

American Red Cross or American Heart Association, is on the athletic 

department premises during all hours of intercollegiate sport practice, 

training, and competition;  

3. maintain and test the AED according to the manufacturer’s guidelines;  

4. promptly notify a local emergency medical services provider after each 

use of such an AED; and 

5. by January 1, 2013, develop and implement a policy consistent with these 

provisions concerning the availability and use of an AED during 

intercollegiate sport practice, training, and competition.  

The act defines ―intercollegiate sport‖ as a sport played at the collegiate level 

with eligibility requirements for student-athletes’ participation that are established 

by a national association for the promotion or regulation of collegiate athletics. 

§ 17 – INTERAGENCY AND PARTNERSHIP ADVISORY PANEL ON 

LUPUS 

The act extends, from October 1, 2012 to July 1, 2013, the deadline for the 

Interagency and Partnership Advisory Panel on Lupus to submit to DPH and the 

Public Health Committee its initial comprehensive lupus education and awareness 

plan.  

§ 18 – CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR DENTISTS 

By law, with some exceptions, licensed dentists must complete at least 25 

hours of qualifying continuing education every two years.  

Prior law required the DPH commissioner, in consultation with the Dental 

Commission, to biennially issue a list of up to five mandatory topics for 

continuing education activities licensed dentists must complete during the 

following two-year registration period.  The act requires the DPH commissioner’s 

list to include 10 topics, rather than up to five, and requires licensees’ continuing 

education to include at least one contact hour of training or education in any five 

of these 10 topics.  

§ 19 – ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS 

The act changes certain requirements for licensure as an alcohol and drug 

counselor. Prior law generally required someone seeking licensure to have a 

master’s degree from an accredited institution of higher education, with a 

minimum of 18 graduate semester hours in counseling or related subjects.  The act 

retains the general requirement for a master’s degree and 18 such graduate 

semester hours, but no longer requires the 18 hours to be completed as part of the 

master’s program (in other words, it allows someone who has a master’s degree in 

another field to become licensed, if he or she also has 18 graduate semester hours 

related to counseling). The act also makes a conforming change.  

Prior law also required someone seeking licensure as an alcohol and drug 

counselor to be certified by DPH as an alcohol and drug counselor or meet the 
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certification requirements. The act instead allows someone to become licensed 

even if he or she has not met one of the requirements for certification—

specifically, the requirement to complete 360 hours of commissioner-approved 

education, including at least 240 hours relating to the knowledge and skill base 

associated with the practice of alcohol and drug counseling. 

To become licensed, the person still must meet the other certification 

eligibility requirements, which include:  

1. completing 300 hours of supervised practical training in alcohol and drug 

counseling that the commissioner deems acceptable,  

2. completing three years of supervised paid work or an unpaid internship 

that the commissioner deems acceptable that involved working directly 

with alcohol and drug clients (a master’s degree can be substituted for one 

year of such experience), and  

3. passing a DPH-prescribed examination. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 20 & 21 – PHYSIATRISTS AS PAIN MANAGEMENT SPECIALISTS 

By law, certain individual and group health insurance policies that are 

delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, amended, or continued in Connecticut 

must provide access to a pain management specialist and coverage for pain 

management treatment ordered by such specialist. 

For this purpose, the law defines a ―pain management specialist‖ as a 

physician credentialed by the American Academy of Pain Management or a 

board-certified anesthesiologist, neurologist, oncologist, or radiation oncologist 

with additional training in pain management. The act adds board-certified 

physiatrists with such additional training to this list. (Physiatrists are physicians 

who specialize in physical medicine and rehabilitation.) 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 22-41 – APRN CERTIFICATIONS 

The act allows an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) to certify, sign, 

or otherwise document medical information in specified situations that, under 

prior law, generally required a physician’s signature, certification, or 

documentation. Several of the certifications covered by the act involve situations 

where someone must provide medical information to establish an exemption from 

otherwise applicable requirements (e.g., certifications that someone is ill or 

incapacitated and thus needs an extension for applying for certain tax relief 

programs).  

Specifically, the act allows APRNs to do the following:  

1. certify that a high school student’s participation in physical education is 

medically contraindicated because of the student’s physical condition, thus 

excusing the student from physical education requirements (§ 22);  

2. certify that a student enrolling in a higher education institution has had a 

confirmed case of measles, rubella, mumps, or varicella, or that 

immunization would be medically contraindicated, thus exempting the 
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student from the requirement to show proof of having been immunized 

against such diseases (§ 23);  

3. certify that a student’s presence at a higher education institution, although 

the student is not immunized against measles or rubella, would not present 

a clear health danger to others, thus preventing the student from being 

excluded from school or confined in an infirmary or other medical facility 

at the school (§ 24);  

4. certify that a student’s physical condition medically contraindicates 

vaccination against meningitis, thus exempting the student from the 

general requirement that students who live in on-campus housing at public 

or private colleges or universities be vaccinated against the disease (§ 25);  

5. certify that someone is totally disabled and thus unable to appear before 

the town assessor to provide evidence of eligibility for property tax 

exemptions available to service members, veterans, blind or totally 

disabled persons, and certain family members of such people (§ 26);  

6. certify that someone is ill or incapacitated, for purposes of the person 

applying for an extension related to various tax relief or tax credit 

programs, including the property tax freeze program for the elderly (§ 27), 

elderly or disabled renters’ tax relief program (§ 28), municipal optional 

property tax freeze for seniors program (§ 29), and ―circuit breaker‖ 

property tax program for the elderly or disabled (§ 30);  

7. for purposes of laws prohibiting utility shut-offs in certain circumstances, 

(a) indicate on the hospital discharge papers for a child up to 24 months 

old that electric or gas service is a necessity for the child’s health and 

well-being (§ 31) or (b) certify that a resident at the dwelling is seriously 

ill (§ 32);  

8. certify that it would not be injurious to the health of a handicapped person 

or disabled veteran to work extended hours in manufacturing, mechanical, 

or mercantile establishments, restaurants, and various other settings (§§ 

33-35);  

9. document that someone has a physical or mental impairment that is 

chronic or expected to be long-term or permanent and that leaves the 

person unable to work full-time, for purposes of the person’s eligibility for 

unemployment compensation while only available for part-time work (§ 

36);  

10. certify that someone with partial incapacity is unable to perform his or her 

usual work but is able to perform other work, for purposes of calculating 

workers’ compensation benefits (§ 37);  

11. certify a political subdivision employee’s proposed organ or bone marrow 

donation and the probable duration of the person’s recovery, for purposes 

of the person seeking medical leave for the donation (§ 38);  

12. certify the occurrence of a qualifying event (e.g., a medical condition 

expected to result in death within a year) for purposes of accelerated 

benefits under a life insurance policy (§ 39);  

13. provide a statement that a policy owner is of sound mind and under no 

constraint or undue influence, before a life settlement provider can enter 
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into a life settlement contract with a policy owner who is also the insured 

and who is terminally or chronically ill (§ 40);  

14. determine that a policy owner’s physical or mental disability prevents the 

person from working full-time, for purposes of an exception to the general 

prohibition on someone entering into a life settlement contract before, 

when, or within two years of purchasing a life insurance policy (§ 40); and 

15. provide the APRN’s identification number, signature, and billing contact 

information on the standard Health Care Financing Administration 1500 

(HCFA 1500) health insurance claim form, for purposes of providing, 

along with various other information, the minimum information needed 

for a health care provider’s claim for payment to be complete (§ 41).  

§ 42 – WATER TREATMENT COURSE  

The act exempts students enrolled in an accredited high school small water 

system operator certification course from the $224 fee generally required for 

initial certification as a small water system operator.  

§ 43 – ACUPUNCTURISTS 

Initial Licensure Requirements 

The act increases required didactic and clinical training for acupuncturist 

licensure applicants from 1,350 hours to 1,905 hours. It also increases required 

clinical training from 500 hours to 660 hours, as part of the total 1,905 required 

training hours. These increased requirements apply to applicants who complete 

their course of study on or after October 1, 2012.  

Prior law required someone seeking acupuncturist licensure to pass a DPH-

prescribed examination. The act alternatively allows applicants to pass all 

portions of the acupuncture certification examination required by the National 

Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM). 

In practice, DPH already requires applicants to pass the NCCAOM exam. 

License Renewal  

By law, acupuncturist licenses must be renewed every two years. Under the 

act, for registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2014, 

acupuncturists seeking license renewal, after the first renewal, must (1) have 

NCCAOM certification or (2) have earned at least 30 contact hours of NCCAOM-

approved continuing education within the preceding 24 months. 

Attestation and Recordkeeping. Under the act, someone applying to renew his 

or her acupuncturist license, except for a first license renewal, must sign a 

statement, on a DPH-prescribed form, attesting that he or she has satisfied the 

act’s certification or continuing education requirements. Presumably, this 

requirement does not apply before registration periods beginning on or after 

October 1, 2014.  

The act also requires acupuncturist licensees to: 

1. keep their attendance records or certificates of completion showing 
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compliance with the continuing education or certification for at least five 

years after completing the continuing education or renewing their 

certification and 

2. submit these records to DPH for inspection within 45 days after DPH’s 

request. 

Waiver or Extension. The act allows the DPH commissioner to grant a waiver 

of, or extension for, completing these continuing education or certification 

requirements for reasons of medical disability or illness. A licensee seeking such 

a waiver or extension must submit to DPH (1) an application, on a form the 

commissioner prescribes; (2) a licensed physician’s certification of the disability 

or illness; and (3) any other documentation DPH may require.  

The act allows the commissioner to grant a waiver or extension for up to one 

registration period (two years). She can grant additional waivers or extensions if 

the disability or illness continues beyond this period and the licensee reapplies to 

DPH. 

License Reinstatement  

The act also requires anyone whose acupuncturist license became void due to 

failure to renew it within 90 days after its expiration, and who applies to DPH for 

license reinstatement, to submit evidence documenting (1) valid NCCAOM 

acupuncture certification or (2) successful completion of 15 contact hours of 

continuing education within the year before applying for reinstatement. 

§ 44 – ORGAN AND TISSUE DONATION ADVISORY COUNCIL 

The act creates an advisory council on organ and tissue donation education 

and awareness. The council consists of government officials, health care 

professionals, representatives from donation and related organizations, and people 

with experience in organ and tissue donation and transplants, including a donor 

and a recipient. Among other things, the council must determine ways to increase 

the number of organ and tissue donations and set goals for increasing the number 

of registered donors. The council must annually report on its actions and 

recommendations.  

Advisory Council 

Under the act, the members of the council include:  

1. the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner or her designee; 

2. the DPH commissioner or her designee;  

3. Donate Life Connecticut’s executive director, or his or her designee;  

4. a representative of each in-state organization that is a member of the 

Association of Organ Procurement Organizations;  

5. a health care professional representing each in-state transplant center that 

is a member of the federal Organ Procurement and Transplantation 

Network;  

6. the Connecticut Hospital Association’s chief executive officer, or his or 

her designee; and 
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7. five people with experience involving organ and tissue donation or 

transplants, including a recipient of a donated organ or tissue, a living 

donor, and a deceased donor’s family member; one each appointed by the 

governor, the Senate President Pro Tempore, and the House Speaker, one 

appointed jointly by the House and Senate majority leaders, and one 

appointed jointly by the House and Senate minority leaders.  

The act provides that council members serve without pay. The governor 

appoints the council’s chairperson from among its members. Appointed members 

serve three-year terms, and may not serve more than two consecutive terms. 

Vacancies of appointed members are filled by the appointing authority.  

The act requires the council to hold its first meeting by December 1, 2012. 

The council must meet (1) at least four times per year and (2) as requested by the 

chairperson or a majority of council members. 

Council Duties and Reporting  

The act requires the council to:  

1. analyze education on organ tissue donation in the state, 

2. determine the rate of organ and tissue donation registration in the state and 

establish periodic goals for increasing that rate (the DMV commissioner 

must provide the council with data on registered organ donors on a 

quarterly basis), and  

3. advise the DPH and DMV commissioners on ways to increase organ and 

tissue donation rates in the state. 

The act requires the council to report annually to the Public Health and 

Transportation committees, with the first report due July 1, 2013. The report must 

concern organ and tissue donation awareness in the state, and, at a minimum, (1) 

indicate what the council has done to increase donations and (2) recommend how 

to increase donation rates. 

§ 45 – PHARMACEUTICAL AND THERAPEUTICS COMMITTEE 

The act adds a child psychiatrist and an oncologist to the membership of the 

Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics (P & T) Committee, increasing the committee’s 

membership from 14 to 16. The P & T committee, established pursuant to federal 

law, oversees the development and maintenance of the Department of Social 

Services’ preferred drug list for Medicaid.  The governor appoints P & T 

committee members, who serve two-year terms. 

The act also reduces the frequency of required committee meetings, from at 

least quarterly to at least biannually. By law, the committee may also meet at 

other times at the discretion of the chairperson and committee members. 

§ 46 – HEALTH INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY EXCHANGE OF 

CONNECTICUT (HITE-CT)  

Annual Report 

HITE-CT is a quasi-public agency designated as the state’s lead agency for 
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health information exchange. Existing law requires the HITE-CT chief executive 

officer to annually, from February 1, 2011 until February 1, 2016, report to the 

governor and the General Assembly on (1) any private or federal funds received 

during the preceding year and how they were spent, (2) grant recipients and 

amounts, and (3) the current status of health information technology and exchange 

in the state. The act requires the report to also include information on the 

development of privacy practices and procedures to notify patients about the 

collection and use of patient health information in the statewide health 

information exchange.  

HITE-CT Employees 

By law, the authority can employ assistants, agents, and other employees as 

necessary.  Under prior law, they were exempt from the classified service and not 

employees as defined in the collective bargaining law. The act instead provides 

that these individuals are not state employees as defined in the state employee 

collective bargaining, retirement, or personnel administration laws.   

The act provides that any necessary or appropriate personnel practices and 

policies the authority establishes concerning hiring, promotion, compensation, 

retirement, and collective bargaining do not have to follow state law on state 

employee retirement or personnel administration, in addition to collective 

bargaining, as under existing law. 

By law, the authority is not an employer as defined under the state employee 

collective bargaining law. The act also specifies that the authority is not an 

appointing authority as defined in the state employee personnel administration 

law.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 47 — FLUOROSCOPY AND PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

By law, physician assistants (PAs) must generally meet certain coursework 

and supervised clinical experience requirements and pass a DPH-prescribed 

examination in order to use fluoroscopy to guide diagnostic and therapeutic 

procedures. 

Under prior law, a PA engaged in the use of fluoroscopy for such purposes or 

who used a mini C-arm in conjunction with the fluoroscopy before October 1, 

2011 could continue to do so without the required coursework and experience, as 

long as he or she passed the DPH exam by July 1, 2012. The act extends this 

deadline to September 1, 2012. If the PA does not pass the required examination 

by this deadline, he or she must meet the training, experience, and testing 

requirements in order to perform these procedures.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 48 — APRN LICENSING 

Among other requirements, prior law required someone seeking APRN 

licensure, if first certified by one of certain specified national certifying bodies 

after December 31, 1994, to have a graduate degree in nursing or a related field 
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recognized for certification as a nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, or 

nurse anesthetist by one of those certifying bodies.  

The act generally requires all applicants, not just those first certified after 

December 31, 1994, to have a graduate degree in nursing or a related field as 

specified above.  It also allows someone to become licensed as an APRN without 

holding such a graduate degree if he or she (1) at the time of application, is 

currently licensed as an APRN by another state that requires a master’s in nursing 

or a related field and (2) on or before December 31, 2004, completed an APRN 

program recognized by such a national certifying body for certification as a nurse 

practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, or nurse anesthetist. 

§§ 49-52 — DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES (DDS) 

SELF-ADVOCATES 

The act makes changes regarding the eligibility of DDS self-advocates for 

paid sick, vacation, personal, and holiday leave. (DDS self-advocates work part 

time.)  Under prior law, up to 11 general workers who DDS employed as self-

advocates were eligible for paid sick, vacation, personal, and holiday leave, in 

accordance with specified provisions of law (1) requiring the Department of 

Administrative Services (DAS) commissioner to establish regulations concerning 

the accrual, granting, and prorating of sick leave with pay for part-time state 

employees and (2) allowing him to establish regulations concerning the accrual, 

prorating, and granting of vacation leave, as well as the granting of holiday pay, 

to part-time employees. 

 The act instead specifies that up to 11 such DDS self-advocates are:  

1. eligible for prorated sick leave, in accordance with DAS regulations; 

2. eligible for prorated vacation and personal leave; and 

3. must be given time off with pay, for the number of hours they would have 

been scheduled to work, for any legal holiday that falls on a day that they 

would regularly be scheduled to work. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 53 – AMENDMENTS TO VITAL RECORDS 

The act restricts the types of amendments that can be made to vital records 

concerning changes that occur after the records are prepared. It still allows 

amendments to reflect legal name changes or changes to the cause of death. It also 

continues to allow the creation of replacement birth certificates for changes to 

parentage or gender. The act does not allow other types of amendments for 

changes that occurred after the records are prepared (e.g., address changes). 

BACKGROUND 

Related Acts 

PA 12-39 contains identical provisions to section 43 of this act concerning 

acupuncturists. 
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