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PA 12-75—sSB 78 

Commerce Committee 
Higher Education and Employment Advancement Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 

AN ACT CONCERNING THE LEARN HERE, LIVE HERE PROGRAM 

SUMMARY:  This act allows more students to participate in the Live Here, 

Learn Here Program. PA 11-140 authorized the Department of Economic and 

Community Development (DECD) commissioner to establish the program, which, 

when operational, would help graduating students save money toward a down 

payment on their first home in Connecticut. Prior law limited the program to 

students graduating from regional-technical schools and in-state students 

graduating from state colleges and universities after January 1, 2014.   

The act opens the program to any student graduating from a public or private 

college in Connecticut or a health care training school located here. The latter 

includes medical or dental schools, chiropractic colleges, optometry schools or 

colleges, chiropody or podiatry schools or colleges, occupational therapy schools, 

hospital-based occupational schools, naturopathy schools or colleges, dental 

hygiene schools, physical therapy schools, and any other healing arts school or 

institution.  

The act requires the DECD commissioner to include recent graduates from 

these institutions in any public education program she develops to explain the 

Learn Here, Live Here Program.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

BACKGROUND 

Live Here, Learn Here Assistance 

The Live Here, Learn Here Program helps students save towards a down 

payment on their first home in Connecticut by segregating a portion of their state 

income tax payments for up to 10 years after they graduate. The law limits the 

amount that may be segregated for each student to $2,500 per year and the 

amount that may be segregated for all students to $1 million per year.  

To receive the down payment assistance, a student must apply to the DECD 

commissioner within 10 years after graduation. The payment equals the 

segregated amount, up to the amount needed for the down payment. Any balance 

remaining in a student’s account must be deposited in the General Fund.  

Students who receive the assistance and subsequently leave Connecticut may 

have to repay all or part of the assistance, depending on when they leave. Those 

who leave within the first year after receiving assistance must repay the entire 
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amount. Those who leave in any of the four subsequent years repay smaller 

amounts as follows: 80% in the second, 60% in the third, 40% in the fourth, and 

20% in the fifth.  
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