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PA 12-44—sSB 205 

Insurance and Real Estate Committee 

AN ACT CONCERNING INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR THE BIRTH-
TO-THREE PROGRAM 

SUMMARY:  This act changes requirements for individual and group health 

insurance policies that provide coverage for medically necessary early 

intervention (birth-to-three) services as part of an individualized family service 

plan. 

Existing law prohibits payments for birth-to-three services from applying 

against any maximum lifetime or annual limit in the policy.  The act also prohibits 

payments from causing: 

1. a loss of benefits due to a policy limit, 

2. an insured child or family member to be denied health insurance coverage, 

and 

3. a policy rescission or cancellation. 

The act specifies that payments for birth-to-three services must be treated the 

same as other claim experience for premium rating purposes. 

The act also expands the list of policies that must provide birth-to-three 

coverage to include certain policies amended or continued in Connecticut, rather 

than only those delivered, issued, or renewed here. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2012 

APPLICABILITY 

The act applies to individual and group health insurance policies delivered, 

issued, renewed, amended, or continued in Connecticut that cover (1) basic 

hospital expenses; (2) basic medical-surgical expenses; (3) major medical 

expenses; or (4) hospital or medical services, including coverage under an HMO 

plan. 

Due to the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), state 

insurance benefit mandates do not apply to self-insured benefit plans. 

BACKGROUND 

Birth-to-Three Coverage Requirements 

Individual and group health insurance policies must cover at least $6,400 per 

child annually for medically necessary birth-to-three services, up to $19,200 per 

child over three years.  For children with autism receiving birth-to-three services, 

group health insurance policies must cover at least $50,000 per child annually, up 

to $150,000 per child over three years. 

Individual and group policies cannot impose out-of-pocket expenses (e.g., 
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coinsurance, copayments, or deductibles) for birth-to-three services, except for a 

high-deductible health plan designed to be compatible with federally qualified 

health savings accounts. 
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