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SMOKE DETECTORS AND THE SELLER’S OBLIGATIONS  

  

By: Duke Chen, Legislative Analyst II 

 
 
You asked if Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, or Rhode Island 

require sellers to install smoke detectors before selling a home. 

SUMMARY 

 
Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island all require sellers to have 

working smoke detectors in certain residential homes before selling 
them.   

 
Connecticut does not require sellers to install smoke detectors, but it 

requires them to disclose certain information on smoke detectors in the 
Residential Property Condition Disclosure Report Form that residential 
property owners, with minor exceptions, must complete when they sell 
property.  By law, (1) single family homes built on or after October 1, 
1978 and (2) multifamily homes are required to have smoke detectors 
(CGS § 29-292).   Sellers of these homes must disclose if the home has 
had smoke detector problems.  PA 12-122 requires the consumer 
protection consumer to update the disclosure form, by January 1, 2013, 
to include questions on whether the home has smoke detectors and, if 
so, how many.  The seller must explain any problem with the detectors.  
A seller who does not furnish the disclosure form must give the buyer a 

$500 credit (CGS § 20-327c as amended by PA 12-122). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_541.htm#Sec29-292.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_392.htm#Sec20-327c.htm
http://cgalites/2012/SUM/2012SUM00122-R02HB-05087-SUM.htm
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MASSACHUSETTS 

 
Massachusetts law requires sellers to install smoke detectors in 

residences built or modified before January 1, 1975 (the year the state 
building code was adopted) when they are being sold or transferred 
(Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 148, § 26F).  The fire department head is 
responsible for inspecting and certifying these homes for compliance.  
For homes built after January 1, 1975, the state building code 
determines the smoke detector requirements.  (For more information, see 
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/consumers-
guide-w-sell-1-and-2-fam.pdf.)  

 
Anyone who violates the smoke detector requirement may be fined 

$100 or, for a continuing offense after notice, a fine of $100 for every day 
the violation continues (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 148, § 34). 

NEW YORK 

 
New York law requires the seller of a one- or two-family home or 

condominium unit to provide the buyer with an affidavit indicating the 
residence has a working smoke detector.  The buyer then has 10 days 
after the property is transferred to notify the seller if the smoke detector 
is inoperable.  Upon notification, the seller must pay for any installation 

cost (N.Y. Exec. Law § 378(5-b)). 
 
The law allows local governments to order sellers to fix an inoperable 

smoke detector.  Anyone who fails to fix the detector is subject to a fine 
of up to $1,000 per day or violation, up to a year imprisonment, or both 
(N.Y. Exec. Law § 382). 

RHODE ISLAND 

 
The Rhode Island Fire Safety Code requires sellers of occupied 

residential properties, including mobile homes, to install smoke detectors 
before transferring the property (R.I. Fire Safety Code § 24.3.1).   

 
At the time title transfers, the seller must provide the buyer with a 

certificate from the fire department stating that the smoke detector 
system has been inspected within 60 days of the sale (R.I. Fire Safety 
Code § 24.3.1.4).  The fire department may charge the seller a $30 fee for 
the inspection (R.I. Fire Safety Code § 24.3.1.3.1). 
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http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/pubed/flyers/consumers-guide-w-sell-1-and-2-fam.pdf
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